Review JLT vs West Coast - 2018

Simpson said that McGovern wanted to come back on and play but they held him back ..
So it looks like a beat up by the media.
Chris Grant went for three matches and lost a Brownlow and the guy he tackled didn't even go to the ground, was just contacted high. You can never tell what the MRP will look at. We have had players suspended when the opposition medical report was favourable to us.
I would expect Christian to look at the contact and make a decision based on that.

WE should have practiced trying to hang for a win for the last 3 minutes of the game. The fact we played some dumb basic, non existent actually, lock down footy shows we still have players who dont know how to handle tight situations. That's what's disappointing. We either didnt try to win or weren't smart enough to practice how to win a close one.

WE should have practiced trying to hang for a win for the last 3 minutes of the game. The fact we played some dumb basic non existent actually lock down footy shows we still have players who dont know how to handle tight situations. That's what's disappointing. We either didnt try to win or weren't smart enough to practice how to win a close one.

I really enjoyed the day out, sitting in the shade immediately behind the Port Adelaide bench. For those not in Perth, the day was Fn hot, humid and would have been extremely taxing in the sun.

Some observations that may not have been so obvious on the television.......

SPP hurt his shoulder in the first quarter and looked uncomfortable the hole game. In addition to his discomfort, he was gassed and calling to rotate with Atley or anyone else that would listen to his pleas to come off.

Ebert also had his injury concerns, but I couldn't tell what other than the coaches said get him off now. It was probably as much precautionary but losing SPP and Ebert probably effected our ability to run out the game in the heat.

Neade..................hmm. I really like the kid but he shouldn't get another game in power colours ever.

Dom Barry was amazing and doing everything Neade should be doing.

The Hoff was hard working and very clever.

Boak was back to his best reading the tap and most pleasing doing this from day one in 2018 and not round 14.

Dixon was a monster out there, working extremely hard.

Watts did some clever things but he's lazy as fk

Wines like SPP can't run out a game

I think we have a lot to be excited about in 2018 but our game style, speed, fitness and skills all need work. Overall a good first outing.

PS. it was extremely hard to see our players in the grey. If it's hard for spectators, it may well be hard for players. Ditch the grey and bring back the teal.

Hated the way we played today, boring stop start, kick side ways... rarely attacked

It’s weird we have such an issue with kicking inside 50s and converting. I struggle to pin point where the problems lies.. is it the midfielders kicking poorly or the forwards presenting poorly

Yeah look I'm willing to write this one off as just blowing out the cobwebs and a meaningless preseason game but the thing that concerns me is that players don't just magically turn on their skills in the real season. They don't say 'oh yeah nah it's a game for premiership points now I'll just turn on me skills to hit this 30m chest pass'. Simple kicks, handballs and marks should be executed the same whether in training, preseason or the real deal. We have failed to show any significant improvement in fundamental football skills since 2013 and that is unforgivable at the professional level.

Don't really give a shit about anything else from that game, onto the next mob of campaigners.

Hated the way we played today, boring stop start, kick side ways... rarely attacked

It’s weird we have such an issue with kicking inside 50s and converting. I struggle to pin point where the problems lies.. is it the midfielders kicking poorly or the forwards presenting poorly
In the post game interviews they've just uploaded to the website and youtube, it seems like they were focusing a bit too much on ball retention in the first 3 quarters. But late in the fourth tried a bit too hard to attack and let ourselves be far too open to be dominated on turnover.

Wanted our coaching staff to show a glimpse of change, something new, but we got more of the same and it was more of the same result..low scoring, inefficient, ineffective football.
We work so hard to get absolutely nowhere, we can dominate play for so long yet get nowhere because our style simply won't allow us to put the foot down when on top. It's only a trial but the same frustrations from today's game is the exact same frustrations we all had last year.

We have so much talent on this team, don't stifle it by playing nothing negative chippy go nowhere possession football.

Barry looked good atley showed signs, not fussed with the early form of our key midfielders, liked pittard also Dixon was really good, the combo of him and watts, throw in Marshall is going to be huge, dont waste that ken, bass...

Chris Grant went for three matches and lost a Brownlow and the guy he tackled didn't even go to the ground, was just contacted high.

I think you've got incidents mixed up m8.

Grant went for a week for a flying late spoil that resulted in Nick Holland copping his fist direct to the scone.

IMG_7523.PNG

He was initially cleared by the field umpires before the AFL FOM Ian Collins specifically intervened and applied the sanction himself, which added an extra layer of controversy when he romped away with the medal.

WE should have practiced trying to hang for a win for the last 3 minutes of the game. The fact we played some dumb basic, non existent actually, lock down footy shows we still have players who dont know how to handle tight situations. That's what's disappointing. We either didnt try to win or weren't smart enough to practice how to win a close one.
3 minutes is probably a bit long and I would much prefer us to practice not getting into that situation at all. The West Coast and Richmond games at AO and the West Coast elim were all games where we should not have been protecting a small lead, we should have kept them at least 2 goals down till the end. What we need to do is to get them to do the nervous and hurried things. This happened in the second 2014 Showdown, we were 11 points down but only had 5 minutes of real time left and we took a couple of risks which didn't come off and lost by 23.

I think you've got incidents mixed up m8.
Grant went for a week for a flying late spoil that resulted in Nick Holland copping his fist direct to the scone.
View attachment 463619
He was initially cleared by the field umpires before the AFL FOM Ian Collins specifically intervened and applied the sanction himself, which added an extra layer of controversy when he romped away with the medal.

Thanks for the picture. Didn't get the incidents mixed up. I knew it was a mistimed spoil but used the wrong word.

Hey guys, thought I would share with you what happened since I was sitting in the box next to these asshats.
I'm well aware the majority of you are normal, non-feral, passionate footy supporters.
But the main reason I want to share is because there was someone official there from Port Adelaide who knows who these guys are and knows them by name. He had a black Port polo on and wore an official Port Adelaide badge - I've no idea what his role or position may be, maybe in charge of fans or something?
The Dheads were in their 20s and you could tell they were there just for the trouble.
He was trying to calm them down the entire game - he was a few metres away. He kept calling them by name and saying "too far" or "cut it out".
They had already had run ins with several west coast supporters during and I won't lie, they were apologetic whenever confronted.
However in the second half they took it to a new level when they yelled N***** at a bunch of Sudanese West Coast supporters.
This sparked a greater verbal confrontation not only with the Sudanese guys but also with other west coast supporters coming to the Sudanese guys aid.
It was at this point he official port guy decided to turn a blind eye - he knew a line had been crossed and wanted to pretend he knew nothing about it even though a full on confrontation was going on about 3 metres away from him, after spending the entire game trying to control these guys he didn't even dare look in that direction while the confrontation over the racism was going on.
I will say that one of the Port group was dark skinned themselves and I am actually not sure whether he was the one who yelled it.

After the match ended the Sudanese guys came straight over and a bit of argy bargy carried on.
Even more disgusting to me was that other Port supporters who knew what the guys had said (and had watched them pick fights the entire game) were willing to back these douchelords up.
The official guy was involved and trying to control things at this point.

Anyway - I am letting you know there is some official Port guy who knows who these guys are and their names and could easily ban them.
I recognise they are a minority of your fan base (a good mate of mine supports Port, he is a middle easterner like me) and I can tell that you guys are disgusted by their behaviour and don't want them representing you.
I felt sad for the Sudanese guys - there was only 4 of them and they looked like they were only teenagers, how sad for them to experience that when it is so great they have adopted AFL as migrants.

The security are the most to blame in this incident as they should have thrown them out earlier or at least stationed a guard nearby when it was obvious they were out for trouble.

Apparently a Port supporter (s?) been accused of being racist to WCE supporters today ? WTF
https://www.perthnow.com.au/sport/a...al&utm_source=twitter.com&utm_campaign=buffer
Great. Just another incident from our idiotic supporter base
People just won’t learn why can’t people go to games and just support your team. Our club doesn’t need this crap.
I'm happy for these people (after appropriate investigation) to start getting lifetime bans tbh. Send the message. We don't need these people at our games.
THE AFL is investigating an alleged racist comment made by a member of the crowd during West Coast's two-point JLT Community Series win over Port Adelaide at Leederville Oval on Sunday.
Where does it say a Port supporter ..
It's a port supporter. There is footage on other articles.
Our fans are a disgrace.

3 minutes is probably a bit long and I would much prefer us to practice not getting into that situation at all. The West Coast and Richmond games at AO and the West Coast elim were all games where we should not have been protecting a small lead, we should have kept them at least 2 goals down till the end. What we need to do is to get them to do the nervous and hurried things. This happened in the second 2014 Showdown, we were 11 points down but only had 5 minutes of real time left and we took a couple of risks which didn't come off and lost by 23.
Its a practice game so you practice things in it. There is no point worrying about what we should have done in the prior 77 minutes, or what happened in other games. With 3 minutes to go we were a few pts up and we should have practiced what to do in this situation. practicing a 3 minute grind to hang on means if we are successful we should know what to do when we have 2 minutes to go or 1 minute to go and need to hang on. Hanging on doesnt mean you dont try and score, it means you eliminate dumb basic skill and decision making errors.

I'm just surprised that the "I've lost faith in Ken Hinkley" thread hasn't shown up yet
I started questioning my faith in 2015 and it's tracked the same way as our results against the neighbours ever since.
Tribey once said watching us was like watching somebody mining with their bare hands. Ken mentioned recently our ability
to turn something into nothing as a casino play. We've reached the pitiful stage of having a patented term to cover our
shitfulness. A term presumably coined by Ken or one of our coaches. Anyway he said he was the right man to make us better
and convinced KT n Kochie to extend him up to 2021 on the back of 1 finals game in 3yrs.
Still it's early days for 2018 but right now, all I can muster is a blank stare as I cling to hope and hope alone.

Hey guys, thought I would share with you what happened since I was sitting in the box next to these asshats.
I'm well aware the majority of you are normal, non-feral, passionate footy supporters.
But the main reason I want to share is because there was someone official there from Port Adelaide who knows who these guys are and knows them by name. He had a black Port polo on and wore an official Port Adelaide badge - I've no idea what his role or position may be, maybe in charge of fans or something?
The Dheads were in their 20s and you could tell they were there just for the trouble.
He was trying to calm them down the entire game - he was a few metres away. He kept calling them by name and saying "too far" or "cut it out".
They had already had run ins with several west coast supporters during and I won't lie, they were apologetic whenever confronted.
However in the second half they took it to a new level when they yelled N***** at a bunch of Sudanese West Coast supporters.
This sparked a greater verbal confrontation not only with the Sudanese guys but also with other west coast supporters coming to the Sudanese guys aid.
It was at this point he official port guy decided to turn a blind eye - he knew a line had been crossed and wanted to pretend he knew nothing about it even though a full on confrontation was going on about 3 metres away from him, after spending the entire game trying to control these guys he didn't even dare look in that direction while the confrontation over the racism was going on.
I will say that one of the Port group was dark skinned themselves and I am actually not sure whether he was the one who yelled it.

After the match ended the Sudanese guys came straight over and a bit of argy bargy carried on.
Even more disgusting to me was that other Port supporters who knew what the guys had said (and had watched them pick fights the entire game) were willing to back these douchelords up.
The official guy was involved and trying to control things at this point.

Anyway - I am letting you know there is some official Port guy who knows who these guys are and their names and could easily ban them.
I recognise they are a minority of your fan base (a good mate of mine supports Port, he is a middle easterner like me) and I can tell that you guys are disgusted by their behaviour and don't want them representing you.
I felt sad for the Sudanese guys - there was only 4 of them and they looked like they were only teenagers, how sad for them to experience that when it is so great they have adopted AFL as migrants.

The security are the most to blame in this incident as they should have thrown them out earlier or at least stationed a guard nearby when it was obvious they were out for trouble.
Hopefully this gets sorted soon and those guys get banned ASAP. So many flogs out there that shouldn't live within a society.

Review JLT vs West Coast - 2018