Jobe Watson booed/cheered

Going to be ******* funny when the ASADA report reveals there is not enough evidence to hand out infraction notices

"But but he admitted to taking a failed ped!!! S0!!!!!" Bwahahahahahaha

Yep... gonna be so funny that Essendon destroyed our game and got away with it...

:rolleyes:

We'll all be laughing

As a neutral observer at the MCG this afternoon, I thought the Jobe Watson treatment, bordered on embarrassing. On one hand you had the Collingwood supporters booing Watson for admitting taking a substance that he thought was legal but may have illegal, and on the other hand you had the Essendon supporters cheering Watson for admitting taking something illegal, which he thought was legal. So basically, just like the Milne situation when playing Carlton, difference of opinion lies only on the allegiance of the team you support. Thoughts?

I thought Buckley's words about this at the presser were very well said. There are a lot of peanuts that watch footy that have a very one dimensional and partisan interpretation of rather complex issues like the Essendon banned substance investigation and the Harry O'Brian mental health episode. When you combine the ignorance of bogans and the anonymity of crowds you're always going to get people acting like dicks. I have found the bloodlust that is on show both in football crowds and on these forums for the Essendon players and in particular Jobe Watson (who I personally sympathise with in this whole dirty ordeal) really off-putting.

maybe when Watson serves HIS the booing will wane
And people will go back to recognising him as a champion of the game and treating him with the respect he deserves?

Yeah for some reason I doubt that.

Shane Warne got booed by supporters of other teams. Not by Australians.
Jobe Watson got booed by supporters of other teams. Not Essendon fans.

Hardly relevant.

Shane Warne got booed by supporters of other teams. Not by Australians.
Jobe Watson got booed by supporters of other teams. Not Essendon fans.

Hardly relevant.
When? The English love a villain. Warne, Ponting, Warner. Who else booed him? The world loved him.

Question for those saying Jobe should be booed as a drug cheat: Why is Shane Warne still treated as such a hero? Because he served his time?

You said it yourself mate, HE SERVED HIS TIME. Seems like footy is the only sport that doesn't have administrators with the balls to penalise illegal drug usage.

And people will go back to recognising him as a champion of the game and treating him with the respect he deserves?

Yeah for some reason I doubt that.

The difference is Watson was part of a systematic program over a long period of time where his greatness was achieved during that time. Warne took a banned dieuretic once in 20022 and was great before and after that with no other evidence to suggest he had otherwise taken peptides/banned substances etc. Watson had sketchy form, and was questioned in terms of ability until 2 or 3 years ago.

It was amazing to hear people cheering a suspected drug cheat, and booing someone for not being a proven drug cheat.

It was an all-round FERAL-FEST.

The difference is Watson was part of a systematic program over a long period of time where his greatness was achieved during that time. Warne took a banned dieuretic once in 20022 and was great before and after that with no other evidence to suggest he had otherwise taken peptides/banned substances etc. Watson had sketchy form, and was questioned in terms of ability until 2 or 3 years ago.
I can picture the discussions in the footy stands by drunkards

"Nahhhh mate, Watson's was systematic doping perpetuated by poor governance! He wasn't even any good until 2 years ago!"
"Didn't he win a B&F in 2009?"
".......BOOOOOOOOO"

I can picture the discussions in the footy stands by drunkards

"Nahhhh mate, Watson's was systematic doping perpetuated by poor governance! He wasn't even any good until 2 years ago!"
"Didn't he win a B&F in 2009?"
".......BOOOOOOOOO"

Winning a b and f in a weak side does not make you good automatically in the competition's eyes. James McDonnald won 2 back to back and no one rated him as an elite superstar even then.

You also don't win a B&F if you're "questioned in terms of ability".

Oh and we made the finals in 2009. Hardly a weak side.