• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Play Nice Jobe Watson hands back Brownlow Medal

He's done the right thing, not sure how can be criticized for doing so.

I would certainly question his role as a senior player throughout the doping regime, but not for agreeing to give the brownlow back.

Yes he has but all of this heaping praise on him for making a decision that was going to be forced on him in four days time is the issue.

If he had done it the day after the courts in Europe quashed the final appeal then sure well done Jobe. But it looks more like he wanted to keep his medal and has only now decided to give it up when the AFL tapped him on the shoulder and said we are going to take it off you next Tuesday, do you want to give it up or have it taken from you?

Watson, Fletcher and other senior players. They knew it stunk, but did nothing to protect the kids in the team.

Good that he handed it back, though.

Because this is BigFooty and people who don't have enough in their lives will keep being outraged to give themselves something to do.

He's handed it back, which was the right thing to do. I don't think he's an evil scumbag in the slightest, but it was the correct call. Now it's time to leave this sorry chapter behind.

Except of course, if you have nothing else to do and don't actually care about your own team much.

Yes he has but all of this heaping praise on him for making a decision that was going to be forced on him in four days time is the issue.

If he had done it the day after the courts in Europe quashed the final appeal then sure well done Jobe. But it looks more like he wanted to keep his medal and has only now decided to give it up when the AFL tapped him on the shoulder and said we are going to take it off you next Tuesday, do you want to give it up or have it taken from you?

Yep. Beautifully stage managed for maximum "nice guy" appeal with supporters and media.

Credit to him for doing it, at the last moment, though.

The matter can't end unless Essendon supporters support Cotchin and Mitchell getting the Brownlow? What a load of horse apple, mate. What any group of supporters think about this doesn't matter a jot. What will happen, will happen, regardless of what someone on the Internet says.

Personally I have no strong feeling on the matter either way, there are arguments for either outcome. Doesn't ultimately affect me though, so I don't really care.
I have complete apathy about you not caring. But Essendon are a bunch of cheats that should have been run out of the competition for several years. And despite being a "good bloke", Jobe wouldn't have got within cooyee of winning the damm medal without the drugs.

I feel sorry for Cotchin and Mitchell. They can not win here. It's like the Olympic athlete who receives the gold medal years later after they discover the original winner took drugs. He has missed out on all the accolades, potential sponsorship, possible increased wage, contract negotiation, etc but he gets the medal.

Cotchin and Mitchell could get the medal and have there names written up in the records as the 2012 Brownlow Medalists but in the end they have been robbed of the moment and everything that goes with it. So why its all good and well to feel sorry for Watson and praise him for his 'selfless act', in the end he is far from being the biggest victim in this sad and sorry Brownlow affair.

I have complete apathy about you not caring. But Essendon are a bunch of cheats that should have been run out of the competition for several years. And despite being a "good bloke", Jobe wouldn't have got within cooyee of winning the damm medal without the drugs.
Yeah well, we weren't, so deal with it. Support your own team.

Praising Watson for handing it back is like praising a thief for returning stolen property after being caught with it.

He's not handing it back because he thinks he did anything wrong - quite the opposite.

Fact is Watson is a drug cheat. He's also a brazen liar. Only in the AFL could such a person deserve praise.

Not by me. Nor by many others. Most of our supporters would rather just move on.

How can your supporters move on when the seeming majority on here refuse to accept the facts? He's a convicted drug cheat, and now we're supposed to laud praise upon him for giving back a medal he had no right to in the first place.

Your supporters havent moved on and will likely never do so. Look at the posts jn this thread. A lot of Essendon supporters are still trying to dream up scenarios where the players werent complicit in the doping. At some point, you guys are just to have to accept that the highest court in the sporting world found them guilty and then their appeal was quashed by one of the highest courts on the planet.

Its hard to feel sorry for the genuine supporters who have been hurt and utterly gutted by the EFCs actions throughout when youve got fans still carrying on about the players supposed innocence. Acknowledging them as cheats seems to be the first step in the healing process.

The thing that has dented his reputation has been his finals performances. His H&A has been excellent for years with 2012 obviously being the best.

Your assessment is spot on.

Cotchin's reputation has taken a battering due to his (and the team's) poor performance in the 3 elimination finals losses. (Especially the last 2... he was great in the first final as captain with 26 touches + 2 goals)

If Richmond win a couple of finals next year with Cotchin leading from the front while commentators keep calling him "Brownlow Medalist and Captain Trent Cotchin", I think by the end of 2017 he'll be perceived differently. And I think he's got it in him, as he really isn't the type to bend under pressure, I've been watching him closely since he was 17 and the kid typically plays better when the heat is on. Being tagged out of the final vs North killed his perception right now, but I'm confident he'll have a great game next time.

Lastly, he only needs 2 good years and he'll enter the Top 20 most Brownlow votes of all-time, and a 3rd great year puts him in the top 10.

Over the next 5, he'll likely be in the top 20 either way.

Those saying he's undeserving are placing far too much emphasis on his responsibility for the team's poor finals performance, the choice to kick against the wind against Port, and being tagged out of his last final. It's frustrating, but that's footy.

In the end, class usually rises to the top and perception eventually falls in line.

How can your supporters move on when the seeming majority on here refuse to accept the facts? He's a convicted drug cheat, and now we're supposed to laud praise upon him for giving back a medal he had no right to in the first place.

Your supporters havent moved on and will likely never do so. Look at the posts jn this thread. A lot of Essendon supporters are still trying to dream up scenarios where the players werent complicit in the doping. At some point, you guys are just to have to accept that the highest court in the sporting world found them guilty and then their appeal was quashed by one of the highest courts on the planet.

Its hard to feel sorry for the genuine supporters who have been hurt and utterly gutted by the EFCs actions throughout when youve got fans still carrying on about the players supposed innocence. Acknowledging them as cheats seems to be the first step in the healing process.
I've said my piece, I'm not arguing against a brick wall.

I've accepted we did the wrong thing, I accepted that a long time ago. So these sort of posts have no effect on me.

I'm just looking forward to following the club being free of this mess, finally, after five years. If people want to continue focusing on it so strongly that's their choice.

Will be interesting to see if any players are up for Sledging Jobe.

Mitchell had no problems a couple of years ago. Would most likely put Jobe off his game.

Mack Horton had no problem sledging a Chinese swimmer and no one at the HS seems to have a problem with it. Guess there was no "Comfortable Doubt" associated with that one. Probably wasn't a great bloke either.
Every time he runs out he will be reminded - both by the opposition players and opposition crowd. Will be at another level than what Goodes received in his last year. Least we forget.....

He could have handed it back 3 years ago, saying publicly 'I don't think that wrongdoing has been done here, but until my name is cleared the best thing for the integrity of the sport is for the AFL to look after it.' That would have been the height of integrity.

Instead, he holds it the whole way, claiming innocence. Through the AFL tribunal, WADA, the suspension and the appeal.

Now, on the eve of being stripped of the medal...he goes and gives it up?

How 'noble', beating the AFL to the punch.

What a goose Jobe is.

The discussion has shifted to the way it's being spun. Certainly didn't impress Dave Culbert, whose comments seem to have gone under the radar.
Jobe Watson is no hero. He took a performance enhancing drug (2 when you include AOD). He won Brownlow whilst on drugs & got banned. #Facts

I feel sorry for Cotchin and Mitchell. They can not win here. It's like the Olympic athlete who receives the gold medal years later after they discover the original winner took drugs. He has missed out on all the accolades, potential sponsorship, possible increased wage, contract negotiation, etc but he gets the medal.

(Olympian) Culbert again.
Congratulations to 2012 Brownlow medallists Trent Cotchin & Sam Mitchell. Pity they didn't get their moment in sun. Stolen from them. #AFL

Cotchin and Mitchell could get the medal and have there names written up in the records as the 2012 Brownlow Medalists but in the end they have been robbed of the moment and everything that goes with it. So why its all good and well to feel sorry for Watson and praise him for his 'selfless act', in the end he is far from being the biggest victim in this sad and sorry Brownlow affair.

So true - Watson is not the victim here.

Will be interesting to see if any players are up for Sledging Jobe.

Mitchell had no problems a couple of years ago. Would most likely put Jobe off his game.

Mack Horton had no problem sledging a Chinese swimmer and no one at the HS seems to have a problem with it. Guess there was no "Comfortable Doubt" associated with that one. Probably wasn't a great bloke either.

I think if it did happen, We wouldn't take it I expect a pretty big melee to ensue. When Sam did it we were shot mentally, Reckon the fight will be back now and if anyone steps over the line we will fire up.

FWIW doubt it gets to that point.

For all the shit he's been through he could take as much time to make up his mind and decide, yet despite him doing 'the right thing' you're now just finding a reason to dislike it by placing a ridiculous moment it had to happen in your mind.

You, like many others, sit there on your high horse and damn a man for having the class to make such a decision off his own bat and give it back without being asked to do so or have it being taken off him by a higher power.

Just admit that you hate him so we can put you in the 'flog' box you so desperately wanting to avoid being placed into with your ridiculous opinion.