John Anthony - I'm worried.

ok - disregarding the hundred Big Footy quick links you've got goin' on there :eek: Is Snag suggesting "friend" might be something more than "friend"?
Come back Snag! Solve the mystery!!!

The "gay" rumours about Jack are absurd.

In the few interviews Jack has given, he has stated that he grew up in a family of girls (apart from his Dad of course), and that he didnt really have any "male" friends during his school years.

This means when he walked into Collingwood he would have been like a "fish out of water", and he is always described by those at Collingwood as "a bit different".

He's not gay, in fact the fight between him and Buddy was basically over a girl, if I remember right.

At the end of the Day who really cares If Jack is Gay or Not! As long as he keeps playing well and contributing to the team That Is all I care about! And if any Collingwood player did come out and said that they were gay I hope all collingwood supporter's would give them all the support they need cos when they put on the Collingwood Jumper they are playing for us the Collingwood Supporter!

So until Jack comes out and say's he is gay (Or for any Collingwood player for that matter) I believe he is straight!

Pie eyed has indeed singled out the photo of interest. Now Johnno is about as gay as Gregorian dirge, so I suppose they were just having a
laugh.

I wish some gay AFL player would come out publically - perhaps after retirement - and break this last taboo. I can think of at least one who has the status to carry it off well.

ok - disregarding the hundred Big Footy quick links you've got goin' on there :eek: Is Snag suggesting "friend" might be something more than "friend"?
Come back Snag! Solve the mystery!!!

I don't think she's intimating anything other than that it reads a little "open to interpretation".

On the "quick links", lucky I didn't do a DTM and have dozen or so pr0n links up there...:eek::eek::D

Pie eyed has indeed singled out the photo of interest. Now Johnno is about as gay as Gregorian dirge, so I suppose they were just having a
laugh.

I wish some gay AFL player would come out publically - perhaps after retirement - and break this last taboo. I can think of at least one who has the status to carry it off well.

They say that one in ten of us is homosexual, so there is no doubt that there are some floating around the playing group of more than one team. As for coming out, I thought if Kouta didn't, no one will! I'd put money on him. I prayed he would just come out of the closet. It would have done wonders for the image of gay men in this country. But it'll be a brave brave soul to be the first.

Yeah, good interview with JA with Harry O.

JA has a media ban on him this year so it's just about the only way you will hear from him in the media, through the cfc website.
yeah interesting interview, i really enjoyed it as opposed to some of the typical interviews you get through the media. Two blokes just having a chat so to speak, relaxed as opposed to worrying about giving away team info! no cliches woo!

i recommend all to jump on and have a look

I haven't watched much of him & didn't notice anything extremely strange about him.

What was his upbringing like, & what is he like off the field?

He grew up with 3 sisters and his real father left. His mum remarried and his step father ws good to him...???

Pretty standard up bringing in this day and age.
I don' know where 90% of these rumours arise from but he seems a normal bloke to me.

God help us if the footy world becomes a bland endless tape of young blokes indoctrinated into staying "on message".

Vive la difference!
Vive la unique!
Vive la individual!

I don't understand why people are such harsh critics of J.A. My dad passed away when i was 5 and i grew up with my mum and sister, so pretty much same situation as Jack, my mum remarried when i was 13 and i had a tough upbringing growing up with females... I was however very lucky that i played tennis internationally since 9 and my coach took me under his wing so i had a big brother like figure. So i mean cmon guys cut Jack some slack i like this guy, because his upbringing is exactly like mine...and his done it tough. I do believe though the tougher you do it in life the better you end up in the end. Ill wear your number on my back with pride Jack you are and always will be a role model to me...

He changed his grip on the ball and kicking style. Now he's kicking less goals. That's why you're all worried about him. Let's not pretend anyone gives a crap about his up bringing. He was a goal machine, now he's not and its because he changed his run up (which is not as eleborate) and his grip on the ball. Why mess with a good thing? I don't know. But I think its stupid that people start threads based on hunches, and bad feelings.

What I heartless thing to say! Did your Dad leave you when you were 4? Did you grow up with mostly females and hence not having many male friends and mostly having female friends and people making rumours that your gay because you hang around mostly woman!

Obviously looking at your statement above you have no Idea what this Kid has gone through. Look I cannot understand myself what Jack has gone through but I must say I have greater respect for Jack now then I ever had.

Jack keep you head held High mate and I hope true happiness comes your way cos you deserve it Mate!

P.S Hope you have a big one against the swans mate!:thumbsu:

I don't understand why people are such harsh critics of J.A. My dad passed away when i was 5 and i grew up with my mum and sister, so pretty much same situation as Jack, my mum remarried when i was 13 and i had a tough upbringing growing up with females... I was however very lucky that i played tennis internationally since 9 and my coach took me under his wing so i had a big brother like figure. So i mean cmon guys cut Jack some slack i like this guy, because his upbringing is exactly like mine...and his done it tough. I do believe though the tougher you do it in life the better you end up in the end. Ill wear your number on my back with pride Jack you are and always will be a role model to me...

I'm sorry to hear about your father! How tough that must of been on you and your family too loose a father at such a young age! Like a said about jack I have now Idea what you have been through as both my parents are still alive, but I hope you find all the happiness in the future!

Keep your head held high Mate!

Just because you don't give a crap doesn't mean no one else should. I don't think anyone corrolates kicking less goals with hi father leaving the family. We just show an interest in a man we cheer for every weekend.
And for the record, anyone with two eyes and a longstanding interest in Jack's style can see the run up hasn't changed one iota. Seven paces, seven jogs. I ought to know - I count him in every time.

I'm sorry to hear about your father! How tough that must of been on you and your family too loose a father at such a young age! Like a said about jack I have now Idea what you have been through as both my parents are still alive, but I hope you find all the happiness in the future!

Keep your head held high Mate!

i never posted my experience to gain sympathy votes, i thank you for your post however.... I just think that people should consider what they write before they write it and moreover what they label ppl. J.A is labelled as being a weird character.... this obviously would have some direct impact on his footy... i had my critics too and they would say you will never amount to anything etc... because of my upbringing and id be lieing if that didnt have a direct impact on my sport buti powered thru and get to the level i wanted. Furthermore if its any constellation i turned out normal and straight despite growing up with females...
i really do hope he has a successful career J.A you are a gun!!!

For the record I would never discribe Jack as a "weird" person. He seems like a very unique character - something that make me love him all the more.

Jack seems back on track now.

I think he went off in that Essendon game. Hasn't been the same since those 2 posters 15m out.

I also HATE the way he's changed his grip. Ruined his style. It's also ruined Medhursts. Caracella has taught them a new grip and now BOTH of them kick more inaccurately.

Carrots is the guy who taught Anthony his old kicking style, I don't know about the new grip though (but I think he has changed back).

My feeling is his 'weirdness' may be just another way of saying he's introspective and independent - he also seems to take himself seriously (none of which are necessarily bad things). Everyone is shaped by their upbringing and Jack would be no different. He's still young, and still developing and learning heaps as a footballer and a person. He'll get there.

Ah, finally I can post! That ban took ages to lift... I don't think a week long ban was called for, I only posted one thing on a Richmond board...

Anyway, I saw this on the Advanced Hair website and found it very interesting. Have a look:

Untitled-1.jpg

Ah, finally I can post! That ban took ages to lift... I don't think a week long ban was called for, I only posted one thing on a Richmond board...

Anyway, I saw this on the Advanced Hair website and found it very interesting. Have a look:

Untitled-1.jpg
Yeah I found that last week. I wondered if it was common knowledge for Victorians. Is this widely known a la shane warne or greg matthews?

John Anthony - I'm worried.