Judd gawn??

Not looking good is it.

A clutching at straws scenario could be that its all a big marketing wind up 'will he or wont he play ?" but thats gotta be far fetched.

I;m betting he's spending a fair bit of time talking with his mate Luke Ball (probably a better bloke to talk to about it than even the medico's) ...we all saw that Ball is a similar standard to Judd before he was struck down with this thing (or similar thing) but he has played through the pain and at least contributed to his club until he recovers.

Will Judd play through the problem and accept being a lesser player than he knows he is in a similar way to Luke Ball ? or will they cottonball him ?

My understanding is that the medico's told Ball he would not make it worse by playing...but that video in the sheds after the game of him in agony doesnt seem to support that.

Be a bloody shame if we lost Judd to the same/similar thing....coz there's no evidence that Ball has recovered yet and it has been 2-3 yrs now.
That was the spin coming out of the West Coast camp all year last year. Fans were asking the question of why we were continuing to play Judd and the answer was usually that he couldn't make his complaint worse by playing.

Sumich said in an interview that it was at Judds insistance that he played mostly. He said "When the premiership captain of your team comes into your office, looks you in the eyes and says he wants to play, what do you say?"

Because of that I dont feel any guilt about his injury or that we somehow made it worse, he wanted to play so most of the time he did.

I do think he has been having trouble with it for longer than anyone realises though. I re-watched the round one match from last year v Sydney the other day. Judd was walking with a definate limp and rubbing his groin at the end of the game, no-one took much notice because he kept turning up and playing well each week. In hind sight however I think his problem has been going on for a long time.

Its funny how people read what they want to read and then other people just repeat the same crap..

It clearly says Judd seeked out each player to have one on ones...
But I guess that means he is not talking to his team mates:rolleyes:

The same goes for his injury.. He clearly states that he might not ever play again but if he was a betting man he wouldnt put money on it..
He is clearly playing with the media and trying to take some pressure off as he is constantly asked the same question over and over..

And for those who are glad he is injured you are pathetic.. All it shows is the amount of fear you have of Judd and Carlton winning games and being a force again in the future..
The best games to go to and the ones where most rivalry occurs is when all the guns are playing against each other.. I love beating Essendon but its not as fun when Lloyd or Hird etc arent playing to suffer the pain of the loss..

The article isn't saying he IS injured, it's saying the surgery was a "quick fix" instead of the long term repair he needed. It's not altogether out of the question given that Judd refused to even get the injury fixed until last year AND was on the brink of signing a multi million dollar contract.

Didn't you?

What, without even knowing the reasons behind it?

You must be one hell of an impressive guy to be able to draw conclusions from something you don't even know.

I tip my hat to you sir. You're a class above the humans. :thumbsu:

So you don't rate that Cat poster.

Didn't you?

What, without even knowing the reaons behind it?

You must be one hell of a....blah blah blah.

shit post.

regards,

REB

The article isn't saying he IS injured, it's saying the surgery was a "quick fix" instead of the long term repair he needed. It's not altogether out of the question given that Judd refused to even get the injury fixed until last year AND was on the brink of signing a multi million dollar contract.

Is there a doctors quote on what shoud have been done?

The article is hogwash.. because ... it doesnt talk about the intricacies of the injury and one operation over the other.. and why what was done wont work....

Its just specualtion without having the ins and outs of the whole thing.

Judd will be ready to play in a month.

Maybe Jonathon Brown should not have had the same operation as it was a bandaid op...

i can tell you. Judd got the best advice and treatment for his injury.. which was stock standard abductor...the rest is just folly..

Is there a doctors quote on what shoud have been done?

The article is hogwash.. because ... it doesnt talk about the intricacies of the injury and one operation over the other.. and why what was done wont work....

Its just specualtion without having the ins and outs of the whole thing.

Judd will be ready to play in a month.

Maybe Jonathon Brown should not have had the same operation as it was a bandaid op...

i can tell you. Judd got the best advice and treatment for his injury.. which was stock standard abductor...the rest is just folly..
No, but the original source for this is 100% reliable. He's not the type to make up bullshit. Only thing could be if he was given bullshit information. But the only reason I'm giving this story the slightest bit of interest is because I trust the source.

Its abit like going to the dentist... do you get your tooth pulled or a root canal??

Some people do one some do the other/

Again... ill repeat.... its an abductor release.. not OP... and 99.99999999% of the time youll go the route Judd went .. under doctors advice...the ind of doctors care only Pratt money can buy....for the biggest investment the club has made on the field.

Now its not like Swann/Pratt etc splashed out to invest in a 24 year old Judd just to flog him into the ground...

.. its actually laughable....

People like Swann and Pratt dont make a living out of being morons.

Carlton doesnt have to make the top 4... Judd doesnt have to be ready if it means he will strugge later on..

We have all the money in the world... we will have a top 2 Victorian membership..anyway.... and a club still maturing.. not matured.

Judd is going according to schedule... sure Judd is frustrated... he just wants to go out and play footy...

Its abit like going to the dentist... do you get your tooth pulled or a root canal??

Again... ill repeat.... its an abductor release.. not OP... and 99.99999999% of the time youll go the route Judd went .. under doctors advice...the ind of doctors care only Pratt money can buy....for the biggest investment the club has made on the field.

Now its not like Swann/Pratt etc splashed out to invest in a 24 year old Judd just to flog him into the ground...

Carlton doesnt have to make the top 4... Judd doesnt have to be ready if it means he will strugge later on..

We have all the money in the world... we will have a top 2 Victorian membership..anyway.... and a club still maturing.. not matured.

Judd is going according to schedule... sure Judd is frustrated... he just wants to go out and play footy...
You're dead right there. Pratt makes a living by being a thieving pr#ck!!!

That must be a load off your mind.:rolleyes:

heatly you sound confident, do you know MR Judd do you? hmmmmm? OR just his aunty's cousins, brother-in-laws best mates dog who happens to converse with a doctor who knows the doctor who did the operation?

Your confidence on this subject will make you look like a tool if Judd doesnt play any games. The paper today said that Ratts confirmed he wont be playing NAB cup games let alone practice games.

What part of "Judd isn't injured now" don't you get? The article says he got quick fix surgery instead of the long term fix he needed.

We have all the money in the world...
I love the way Carlton supporters talk about Pratt's money like it's their own.

Pratt has all the money in the world, Carlton are still in debt.

Bitter much?
Probably, yes, but I have no respect for him anymore.

Her acted like the whole footballing world had to stop for his decision.

He acted like he was gods gift to football, and the way he felt he could almost hold interviews with clubs and pick and choose his favourites, and then dismiss them due for reasons such as 'oh, their facilities aren't that good', pissed me off.

I don't really care if he is gods gift to football either. He acted as though he deserved to be the centre of attention, and he seemed to naturally assume that any club would let him just walk in and pay him in excess of a million dollars.

Saying I'm glad his injured is probably a bit harsh, but I wish he would get a reality check to bring him back down to earth with the rest of us.

Probably, yes, but I have no respect for him anymore.

Her acted like the whole footballing world had to stop for his decision.

He acted like he was gods gift to football, and the way he felt he could almost hold interviews with clubs and pick and choose his favourites, and then dismiss them due for reasons such as 'oh, their facilities aren't that good', pissed me off.

I don't really care if he is gods gift to football either. He acted as though he deserved to be the centre of attention, and he seemed to naturally assume that any club would let him just walk in and pay him in excess of a million dollars.

Saying I'm glad his injured is probably a bit harsh, but I wish he would get a reality check to bring him back down to earth with the rest of us.

:thumbsu: a bit aggresive but i like the point

1) Judd wasnt an arrogant tosser last year when he was in Perth, or any of the years for that matter. The Eagles all attend a particular hospital in Perth, where they get their scans, have surgery, and have physio. Judd regularly visited sick patients, and not just kids either. An elderly patient (roughly 80) who was quite sick wrote to West Coast HQ last year asking for Judd to visit him in hospital in the middle of the season, and Judd didnt just have a quick visit - he stayed in the blokes room on the ward and chatted to him for over an hour. No media about, no PR brownie points to be gained. He just did it. As for him and his manager trying to get the best price possible for his contract - you guys do realise every player in the AFL does this....

2) The injury news is legit, however no-one can for certain determine how quickly he will recover, and to what extent he will recover. One of the orthopaedic surgeons in this particular hospital in Perth is mates with the surgeon who Judd had scans with in Melbourne. The Melbourne doc told the Perth doc that Judd should have major surgery, which consequently would have a longer rehabilitation period that would see Judd get back to match fitness several rounds into the season. Given the news, Carlton looked elsewhere, found an alternative surgery option, and rolled the dice hoping Judd doesnt break down again. People, making "matter of fact" statements is pointless. Judd might struggle and break down again in '08 or he might play all 22 games this season without any trouble. However, the major surgery was in his best long term interests, and would have given him the best possible chance of making a complete recovery.

Very interesting.

Being in Darwin I don't see many live games. I watched Judd live once, rnd 1 2007 v Swans. It was awsome. Kerr has the same aura when he gets the ball.

Judd put alot into the Eagles and last year he played hurt when he probably shouldn't have. His efforts last year were not those of a selfish or arrogant person.

Anyone who is mentally balanced would hope Judd gets back out on the field so we, the audience, can watch one of the best ever footballer's entertain us.:thumbsu:

As for Judd's personal life....give him a break FFS.:mad:

So he's 25, in a steady relationship with a :eek:HOT babe. If he or both go out in public the papparatsi will be hovering and in Melbourne everyone would follow their every move. So he doesn't want the hit the pub and club scene with the young fella's.....fair enough. Everyone deserves a bit of peace and quiet and 'me time' don't they?

Yes there are many Carlton tossers who have gloated about picking him up, and yes we dislike the crap they post but does this mean we never want Judd to play again? NO WAY!

Good luck Chris..........hope to see you cutting up the Pies and the Bombers later this year:D

How on earth do they know he'll break down in July/August? Thats a stab in the dark, sounds entirely credible :rolleyes:

Sounds a bit like the mobile mechanic servicing a car of mine some years ago, who decided I needed a new motor. "This motor won't last 6 months" he confidently spouted, while quoting me $3000 for a new motor. "Don't worry about the quote" I replied. "I'm happy to take a chance". 2 years later I sold the car & the motor hadn't missed a beat in that time (pity about the brakes, though). Moral of the story. It is just a wild guess from someone who is basing their opinion on cases they have had in the past. I'm a great believer in assessing each case/situation on its merits. I would suggest no two groin injuries are exactly the same.

If Chri$ Judd is stuffed the guy has been great for the game and deserves to coin he'll get from Carlton.

Even if he is now OK, given the quality of play we've seen from him since he debuted for the Eagles, I couldn't imagine he could continue to play at that level for as long as he did for West Coast. Remember he will get alot more attention at Carlton then he did at West Coast.

I just hope he plays against us otherwise we'll take the scum lightly again and give them a sniff.

Good. He deserves it.

He's carried himself with nothing but arrogance ever since he decided to bail on his team.

he has been arrogant ever since he first got drafted. i've never really seen an interview where he didnt come across arrogant and full of himself.

it's only now that wce supporters are admitting it.

Don't be so naive
They make money out of selling stuff
Judd's the most marketable commodity in Australian sport
You know as well as I do that even if Judd's only at 95%, he'll still sell the memberships & get a bit of bandwagon momentum going. Buying a player like that is as much about off-field as it is the on-field

he has been arrogant ever since he first got drafted. i've never really seen an interview where he didnt come across arrogant and full of himself.

it's only now that wce supporters are admitting it.
I can assure you that's absolute crap.

Judd isn't an arrogant person and has settled in well at Carlton.

There are no FIGJAM stories. :cool:

A little self confidence doesn't equal arrogance.

James Hird always came across as an arrogant person on TFS and in interviews.

Franklin is cockier than Judd. ;)