Coach Justin Longmuir

Well lately he’s not much of a midfielder either …….. just saying
And out of all those you’ve listed ( other than Freddy and Noddy whom I’ve nominated as rotations ) , no one can be moved from their current roles because they don’t have depth behind them

I would actually like to see Clark on a wing TBH reckon he would be perfect
Has a good footy head and can run both ways
Yes, I am baffled why they haven't been playing Clark and Young on wings, both appeal as great options.

One bonus is the group are staying in town & that has to help galvanise the group.

JL knows his stuff, but I’ve said this before, he is over coaching the group. He has to let go of the reigns a bit & let them play, I feel he is micro managing our ball movement & the players don’t have scope to play their natural game.

The way we’re playing this year is like the Blues under Bolton, he over coached in a big way & as soon as he was sacked, Carlton went back to basics & improved no end. JL has to adjust now, we have a better list than them under Bolton & if there’s no improvement JL will go the same way.

As a coach when your team is struggling it’s difficult to pull back, but it’s exactly what’s needed here as we look tired & slow & we’re not that bad.

One bonus is the group are staying in town & that has to help galvanise the group.

JL knows his stuff, but I’ve said this before, he is over coaching the group. He has to let go of the reigns a bit & let them play, I feel he is micro managing our ball movement & the players don’t have scope to play their natural game.

The way we’re playing this year is like the Blues under Bolton, he over coached in a big way & as soon as he was sacked, Carlton went back to basics & improved no end. JL has to adjust now, we have a better list than them under Bolton & if there’s no improvement JL will go the same way.

As a coach when your team is struggling it’s difficult to pull back, but it’s exactly what’s needed here as we look tired & slow & we’re not that bad.
That's a very positive way of looking at it. I personally think he is clueless and that he ain't shit without proper assistants to think for him. If I was wrong he would have changed the gameplan by now. In fact a good coach would have implemented a faster gameplan in the preseason like every other ****ing team in the comp. Why does he always throw the players under the bus each press conference?

Ken Hinkley without the Coke Zeros. There is far too much talent on the list to be dishing efforts like today up. I don't expect premiership contention considering our age profile but after 4 years I expect to see a semblance of coherent ball movement
This is what set me off after the Saints game. It wasn't that we lost it was that we hadn't added the attacking layers JL promised. If they aren't here after 4 pre-seasons, they aren't coming.
Ok I went for the pints and Banfield, Darcy, Switta and Luke Valente are at the bar beside me lol

I suppose you saw some leprechauns there too?

Let’s just calmly think this through.
A nucleus of Darcy, brayshaw, serong, aish, Pearce, young, Brodie, Ryan, cox, Clarke, Fyfe, Walters, Switta, Shultz, Freddy are all proven AFL players. That’s 15 good AFL players. (We need another 5 or so).
Amiss needs to get played (that’s 16)
  • Not sure Hughes is an afl winger (maybe depth as a defender?).
  • tabs has been great but is devoid of confidence and his best years behind him. Not sure he’s the answer.
  • we shouldn’t just play Jackson and omera because they are good team guys or high profile recruits.
  • Chappy is still an unknown at this point.
-Treacy is still an unknown at this point.
  • Henry hasn’t done enough to prove he’s an afl player. Needs to go to peel.
  • as much as I love him, banfield is not really an AFL player.
  • let’s try Erasmus, jonno, Sturt and worner. See what they’ve got. (That’s 20).

Once again fronts up to the press conference and throws the players under the bus for not following instructions.

I still don't think I've heard him take responsibility for poor performances. Basically 23 players, four weeks in a row (seriously, the WCE win doesn't happen with a fit opposition) not performing up to his expectations or his magnificent game plan. Does that feel like the failings of individuals? Or the inability to convey a winning process that is easy for the players to execute?

He really needs to address the concept head on, that the team is poorly presented and what he's doing is not working and that's his responsibility. He should probably declare that publicly instead of trashing the players.

With the list we've got, even with a dysfunctional forward line, we should be doing way better.
Injury list as well, look at RTB's Saints FFS.
This is on the coaching staff, we should be doing way better
We keep this up he is gone.

Fans won’t tolerate it and the board won’t.

I hated his half time interview. White flag was already waving.

That right there is why he needs to * off.
He should read Jim Collins book “Good to Great”. Level 5 leaders employ a window mirror philosophy. When things are good, look out the window and praise the team that got the results. When things are bad, take a look in the mirror.

JLo is not a leader. He blames the players at every opportunity and takes no accountability.

Who would want to play for that? Despite all the cuddles

Totally agree we are small and get smashed. Erasmus and Johnson and NOD + 5kgs each give it a different look but that’s a while away yet.

Most concerning is what other options are there for short term - cupboard is bare. Already playing Hughes on a wing to mixed results. Jackson and Treacy might pinch in and out of of stoppage but not a long term solution. Young?

There's a bloke with 2 Brownlow's that has a sore foot and should be available in a week or 2..................

Should happen right now.

The game style being played is so far off what’s need in the modern game I’m genuinely not sure I’ve seen a coach misjudge it this badly.

Not like this squad is short of talent either. We’ve been the better side on paper every week. The bookies except maybe this week agree with me too so it’s not just my bias.

North Melbourne were $5.50 H2H.

PgvVNvn.png

Backing him in. Nicks have had several terrible seasons.
Hardwick took a few years. Clarkson too.

This club cannot continues the poisoned chalice and keep sacking coaches. There’s no one available.

Bell needs to go, Garlick on slippery slope. Dale Alcock is pretty s**t tbh

What do you see that gives you confidence that JLo is the man for the job?

When the TV cuts to RTB and the good coaches in the box after an error they're on the phone, they're banging the desk, they're ripping into assistant coaches. They're passionate and proactive. When the TV cuts to JLo in the box after a mistake he looks baffled and about to cry.

I reckon the strongest list we've ever had was around 2005 to 2007 and we never really had a crack at a flag because Cuddles Connolly wasn't up to it. It would be a shame for players to retire without playing in big finals because we stuck with JLo for too long because he's a nice guy. If we're not top 10 and in the mix for finals after 15 games he has to go this year IMO.

Longmuir was only assisntant to Buckley in 18 & 19.

They made a GF and a prelim during Longmuir's tenure at the pies.

Buckley struggled after Longmuir left.

So not sure about the comparison.

I will say failure to make finals this year which is very likely now means JL has lost his credits from last year and will start next year under pressure from the get go.

Forget about him being sacked this year. The board won't do it they have a long term vision. And don't seem like the board that will be irrational over a poor month of footy.

Clark especially. Put Aish down back, and Clark goes on the wing with Hughes
I am having big doubts on Clark he seems to make critical errors I know Henry is the whipping boy for this but Clark often at critical times does damage as a mate would say. Jury is out for me give him a few more games but really would like to see Johnson stay in and Erasmus geta run at it to see what we have.

Longmuir was only assisntant to Buckley in 18 & 19.

They made a GF and a prelim during Longmuir's tenure at the pies.

Buckley struggled after Longmuir left.

So not sure about the comparison.

I will say failure to make finals this year which is very likely now means JL has lost his credits from last year and will start next year under pressure from the get go.

Forget about him being sacked this year. The board won't do it they have a long term vision. And don't seem like the board that will be irrational over a poor month of footy.

2023 is shot, so let Jlo run till the end of the year and instruct to play the kids and mix things up.

Nothing to lose now jlo!

2024 is make or break.

Jury is out for me give him a few more games but really would like to see Johnson stay in and Erasmus geta run at it to see what we have.
This should be happening anyway.

Tabs should never be getting a game at Amiss/Treacy/Sturt's expense, nor Banfield over Erasmus, O'Meara over Brodie, Hughes over Johnson, Wilson over Walker. The list goes on.

Integrity in selection sure, but there should be no credits/2nd & third chances for players who won't be there to play a part in a sustained push for a flag. We're just delaying development for the sake of short term status quo. How's that working out for us?

2023 is shot, so let Jlo run till the end of the year and instruct to play the kids and mix things up.

Nothing to lose now jlo!

2024 is make or break.
Yep fair enough.

We are still a very young list. This year will probably have to be looked at 1 step forward getting more experience into the kids but 2 steps back on the ladder position. Which is dissapointing but unfortunately looks like that way.

I don't think we overachieved last year. If we made the top 4 and got into a prelim would have been a over achievement.

But we hadn't made finals 7 seasons so getting a home final and franking that with a win was a good result.