Coach Justin Longmuir

He should read Jim Collins book “Good to Great”. Level 5 leaders employ a window mirror philosophy. When things are good, look out the window and praise the team that got the results. When things are bad, take a look in the mirror.

JLo is not a leader. He blames the players at every opportunity and takes no accountability.

Who would want to play for that? Despite all the cuddles
Great book. I have that on my shelf. Funnily enough it was Steve Harris who recommended it to me.

The biggest problem with us ATM isn't this week's team selection, or what game day instructions the coach gives to the players, or whether we should have kept Acres or Logue.

It is the utter, almost incomprehensible, failure to properly prepare the squad over the pre-season. Whatever decisions were made in October and November last year when planning the pre-season campaign is the ultimate root cause for our poor start.

That is 100% on the Senior Coach. And his boss, the Footy Manager doesnt get off lightly either.

Of course, we have seen this situation before ... back in 2016.

At least Ross Lyon had the honesty to admit that the coaching panel had failed the players. (I think it was after the Carlton loss when we went 0-4??)

But that failure in 2016 took us years to overcome. And that is the big risk here.

A losing culture sets in. Players stagnate and never recover. Good players get ichy feet for elsewhere. We end up treading water at about 12th on the ladder.

Of course the other thing that happened in 2016 is that none of the Footy Dept managers were held accountable for the terrible season.

Only stalwart players like DeBoer and Barlow lost their jobs. It was like the Board couldn't understand how important people like Bond or Lyon could be held accountable for mere performance.

I hope we have learnt our lesson from 2016 (but I doubt it).

If I was the Board I would give Bell and Longmuir until the bye to stop destroying the careers of our playing group. Otherwise they can both skulk off to the dole queue.

They must be held accountable for performance.

Mate keep this s**t to yourself.

Do you have anything worthy to bring besides stats and bets.
Nah....

It's bad enough I get no joy watching Freo lose and have their season rapidly slip away.

If you wanna sit back and watch Freos season slowly rot Infront of you... Well knock yourself out.

I'm happy to throw $20-$50 note on Freo to lose

No. He is what’s holding them back.
I disagree. ..

Next thing is your saying ken Hinkley is holding ports playing squad back lol

Brisbane went from 5 wins in 2018 to top 2 in 2019. He isn't the reason Brisbane is held back....

You look how Brisbane turned it around. They got Fagan at the hawks. Then they poached Swann from either Carlton or Collingwood. They then got David Noble who was the crows list manager at the end of 2016 or early 2017.

It is the utter, almost incomprehensible, failure to properly prepare the squad over the pre-season. Whatever decisions were made in October and November last year when planning the pre-season campaign is the ultimate root cause for our poor start.

That is 100% on the Senior Coach. And his boss, the Footy Manager doesnt get off lightly either.
Yep.

But with that you now also have to tie in list management, again ,(sigh) to it as major consequence of actions taken last October.

At least we had our first top 10 pick for quite some time to look fwd to at the end of 16.

We’ve gifted melbourne a top 5-7 pick in what’s universally regarded as not just a strong draft but one where most of the top prospects are fwds including a couple from WA .

In a full list rebuild you just don’t get enough chances to botch more than 1 draft , especially if your freo (as we don’t get any f/s gifts and academy selections are pointless now)

And we already blew ours
with the hogan debacle costing us a gun kpf

Now history’s repeating itself and we ll miss out at ANOTHER chance of getting one again this year , meaning our continued entire club history of shitfulness when it comes to fwds and kpf in particular (outside of one of course) Carry’s on

Why won’t this f***ing club ever learn?

Yze joined hawks ...next 3 years flag. He joined Demons next year flag .. but missed last year.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app
Downward trend 😉 I think he would be very handy as a head coach. I thought he would have got the GWS gig.

Pyke also had crows playing a very exciting brand at the crows and he would be my choice I reckon.

Downward trend 😉 I think he would be very handy as a head coach. I thought he would have got the GWS gig.

Pyke also had crows playing a very exciting brand at the crows and he would be my choice I reckon.
How would Pyke go with a team with a rich indigenous history like ours?

Water under the bridge??

If we had Curnow and Mckay guarantee we would look a lot better also.

Yep.

But with that you now also have to tie in list management, again ,(sigh) to it as major consequence of actions taken last October.

At least we had our first top 10 pick for quite some time to look fwd to at the end of 16.

We’ve gifted melbourne a top 5-7 pick in what’s universally regarded as not just a strong draft but one where most of the top prospects are fwds including a couple from WA .

In a full list rebuild you just don’t get enough chances to botch more than 1 draft , especially if your freo (as we don’t get any f/s gifts and academy selections are pointless now)

And we already blew ours
with the hogan debacle costing us a gun kpf

Now history’s repeating itself and we ll miss out at ANOTHER chance of getting one again this year , meaning our continued entire club history of shitfulness when it comes to fwds and kpf in particular (outside of one of course) Carry’s on

Why won’t this f***ing club ever learn?

For those of us old enough to remember ...

"You only get one Alan Bond in your lifetime and I’ve had mine" – Kerry Packer

I reckon Melbourne would be saying pretty much the same about Fremantle. Don't forget they got Langdon for SFA too. (PS sorry about the bold font, from the imported quote).

He’s got this year to adjust his coaching, which to be fair hasn’t been that bad prior to this season. These names you’re throwing around as new options are shithouse, I for one hope Longmuir takes the criticism on board & adjusts so we don’t have to go through the process again.

There’s no one out there who is a quick fix solution, there’s still some gaping holes in our playing list before we’re top 2 & any coach has us contending.