Coach Justin Longmuir

Another interpretation would be that they hadn't done their homework before giving Lyon the boot, and now are desperately trying to find someone decent that wants the job

That’s what I’m perturbed about at the moment

Reading the thoughts and info in this thread It feels like the consensus is there are numerous competing agendas circling around this process/ opportunity and that the wrong choice right now could really set the club back for a long time to come. Doubtless some interests that have pieces in play in this game would like to see that happen (FU west Australian rag for a start )

I hope we’ve got the right folks steering the ship through these stormy seas

I hope that the S&C can make the changes or can improve based on a new coaching tenure.
Webber would have structured the program to suit the gameplan and running requirement of the previous coach.
Not saying it was necessarily bad, just that it reflected the requirements of the coaching mantra.
With better skills improvement we can possibly reduce the workload of pounding out the kms and make the footy work for us.
Aerobic capacity can be built in more ways than slapping your feet on the ground whereby the stress injuries become the biggest injury issue.

Spot on! I’m confident we will. There was a very good reason that Weber has been backed in for so long despite producing such terrible injury results - it wasn’t his fault?

I really don’t understand all the Sumich hate on here to be honest, or why so many folks seem to have convinced themselves that he should be discounted by the panel.

As I have posted before I have had quite a bit to do with him in the last few years and honestly think he’s a good guy, who is super passionate about Western Australian football. Have seen him in action with the state squad and the young players seem to really connect with him, plus his messaging is clear and simple.

I have only ever heard him speak positively about our club and he definitely doesn’t come across as though he hates Ross Lyon either. My understanding of events is that they disagreed about the strategic direction and path forward and as a result found that their working relationship was not going to work. In the cold light of day you could reasonably argue that Sumich had a point as the strategy and approach taken by Lyon and team has not proved to be effective.

Also I am intrigued all this talk about how Sumich supposedly white anted the club, is there actually any evidence of that, or is it just rumours and innuendo? Surely you don’t all think that the club would be unaware of this if it was a thing!?

I’m certainly not saying he is the guy, but I’ve seen enough to think that we would be silly to discount him, particularly with our young list and his demonstrated success connecting and communicating with young players through the state squad. I’d say the selection panel is doing right by the club to include him in the process.

I really don’t understand all the Sumich hate on here to be honest, or why so many folks seem to have convinced themselves that he should be discounted by the panel.

As I have posted before I have had quite a bit to do with him in the last few years and honestly think he’s a good guy, who is super passionate about Western Australian football. Have seen him in action with the state squad and the young players seem to really connect with him, plus his messaging is clear and simple.

I have only ever heard him speak positively about our club and he definitely doesn’t come across as though he hates Ross Lyon either. My understanding of events is that they disagreed about the strategic direction and path forward and as a result found that their working relationship was not going to work. In the cold light of day you could reasonably argue that Sumich had a point as the strategy and approach taken by Lyon and team has not proved to be effective.

Also I am intrigued all this talk about how Sumich supposedly white anted the club, is there actually any evidence of that, or is it just rumours and innuendo? Surely you don’t all think that the club would be unaware of this if it was a thing!?

I’m certainly not saying he is the guy, but I’ve seen enough to think that we would be silly to discount him, particularly with our young list and his demonstrated success connecting and communicating with young players through the state squad. I’d say the selection panel is doing right by the club to include him in the process.
Wasn't he marched to the door under escort? Or is that also rumour. If correct then that is a pretty ugly exit and clear evidence that there was a lot more than that he and Lyon disagreed about coaching.

8UWSBp2.jpg

Wasn't he marched to the door under escort? Or is that also rumour. If correct then that is a pretty ugly exit and clear evidence that there was a lot more than that he and Lyon disagreed about coaching.

I think that is absolutely nonsense. You don’t seriously think that the club would invite someone to be part of the process if they were escorted out previously. He told me he resigned.

Agreed all this bullshit about Sumich coincides with the pro-Lyon set.
People who asking absolute crap that know fcuk all.
If he was a stain on the club there is no way we would be entertaining the possibility of him as a candidate for being coach.
Don’t think he’ll get the job, but I hope is part of a development role.

an incident behind the incident maybe...heard a whisper and it would explain Sumich's stance and exit....strong wind blowing today and has taken the whisper with it:pensive:

Yeah I looked him up, and there isnt much to find. Basically seems to be Alcock's right hand man. Not very independent indeed...
And not really convinced bringing in McPharlin will make that much of a difference, feels like a token inclusion. Looking for individuals with strong relevant credentials external from the club would have been the better approach, not people that will act as yes men to Alcock.
really surprised Hardie and/or Haggers didn't get a gig on the committee since Alcock seems to trust their opinions.

^^^^^so true

What an absolute joke.

Alcock and co means by listening to the fans he’s taking this club back to the 90’s!...those were the days!!!

Hes running the club via “opinion poles”..
After all he’s s salesman.
Probably hopes to flog off a few more house out this little crusade.

It’s straight out of the vic minnow club playbook.....get all your mates in to decide who else of your mates might make a good coach /fans most popular
Coach.

I reckon sumich is a lot closer than people realise.

Reality is going to bite hard for a lot of supporters next year..

^^^^^so true

What an absolute joke.

Alcock and co means by listening to the fans he’s taking this club back to the 90’s!...those were the days!!!

Hes running the club via “opinion poles”..
After all he’s s salesman.
Probably hopes to flog off a few more house out this little crusade.

It’s straight out of the vic minnow club playbook.....get all your mates in to decide who else of your mates might make a good coach /fans most popular
Coach.

I reckon sumich is a lot closer than people realise.

Reality is going to bite hard for a lot of supporters next year..
Reality was an awful place to be this year.

Look, influential people within the WAFC are pretty keen on Summa. Super keen. You’d think Murray McHenry was getting a spotters fee.

Freo don’t have to listen to the WAFC but they will. That makes sense.

Listening to them doesn’t mean you have to do what they want.

I am reasonably happy with the way the process is unfolding - I just think one of the perspectives we are not getting on the panel, as constituted, is that of someone who knows firsthand a bit about coaching.

And that bugs me.

But fundamentally, like all recruitment processes, no matter how good your recruitment team, you are at the mercy of the market.

Weirdly I am warming to Sumich, after nearly 30 years of either hating or flat out disrespecting the hooky-footed carrot picker.

And if I can, you can.

To me the media and WAFC pushing Sumich has got my back up

Should be purely a Fremantle Decision

I hope the panel is Independant

IF..... he is the best and most Qualified for the position so be it but ....
Sumich has always been very good as an assistant, the same with M Harvey. But we have been down that
road and the difference Today is that the list has not bottomed out.
We could of made finals this year with a few more players available, Why throw the baby out?
WA media didn't pump him up for the WC job after Woosha, if he wants to help Freo I wouldn't mind him in
a development role, Peel coach would be a start.

Me not wanting Sumich because:

1. Former Eagle
2. Out of AFL football for awhile.
3. Lack of ambition (by not pursuing AFL opportunities). Reeks of 'Too hard' mentality.
4. WA Media crony

Apparently Sumich's glowing resume is all based on this year's U18 State Team. Wowee. We do not need to hire a babysitter.

Oh thank the ****ing Lords. Scott would have screwed us up more. Some of the WC fans will be upset since they were begging for us to sign him up.

Me not wanting Sumich because:

1. Former Eagle
2. Out of AFL football for awhile.
3. Lack of ambition (by not pursuing AFL opportunities). Reeks of 'Too hard' mentality.
4. WA Media crony

Apparently Sumich's glowing resume is all based on this year's U18 State Team. Wowee. We do not need to hire a babysitter.
and this years U18 state team won after a kick after the siren

Imagine picking a Fremantle FC coach on the basis of how well the Eagles supporters will receive the news. Remarkable times.
This whole process is aimed at dislodging some of the "In The Wings". WAFC wants 55K every week, not 55K one week and 42K the next. The best way to keep the owners happy is to make Freo appealing to Mr and Mrs Average WC In The Wings. Success is not the priority, crowd attendances are.

What's more appealing, an ex-WC legend or an ex-Freo player? I know who Mr and Mrs Average WC In The Wings might spend there money on.