Sep 14, 2012
Broadbeach
Brisbane Lions
Who do you think is better at the end of the year?

My mate firmly believes the Lions made a huge mistake for not taking Darling. I believe otherwise and think we have the best player from the draft.

These 2 players have been in the system for 3 preseasons now. Karnezis was pick 25 and Darling pick 26. Darling was a ready made player likened to Jonathon Brown with seemingly "bad" off field behaviour. Phantom drafts all agreed that he was a top 10 pick CHF who could play stints in the midfield (although that seems unlikely now as he seems to be rooted in the f50). Darling is acknowledged for his speed, power and attack on the football, a somewhat rare commodity for a 190 cm+ player. Being 191 cm and weighing in at 91 kg it was obvious Darling would have excelled from the start. There is but one problem, he hasn't really come on as some observers might have expected, although of course WCE supporters will beg to differ. Sure he is a good player but can he improve enough to be a great? He has only averaged 11.7 disposals over his short career and in 2012 his output declined (although obviously playing more in the deep forward he has managed to bag 2.2 goals per game in a top 4 side). There will be only one question football supporters will be asking this year. Has he peaked already?

Karnezis on the other hand was a nobody, an unknown who had everybody rushing to the phantom drafts to see who the heck he was. A very controversial pick as the Lions were expected to snap up Darling who would have "solved" the Lions forward problem for 10 years. In most phantom drafts he was not even acknowledged in the ND/Rookie or PSD. A skinny lad from a tight knit Greek family, hardly anyone knew him. Being struck down with glandular fever in his drafting years it was probably not a surprise he didn't perform to his best and thus why the media didn't hype him up like a Darling. Being extremely thin it was a surprise he even managed a few games in his first year and he was known for his 2 goal a game efforts. He finished the year out and was the surprise of the lions picks of 2010. In 2012 Voss and co. demanded more than just a few goals a game and he was dropped to work on his defensive play and running. Once known as a specialist forward, he was thrown in the midfield at reserves level to improve his running game and to the surprise of many he dominated from the get go. With 6 months of midfield training in his playing career he was likened to Pendlebury for his ability to make time stop and always choose the right option. From a 3rd tall to now one of the most important cogs in the Lions engine room. A player with unimaginable ceiling yet still very raw could. Can he reach or even surpass Pendlebury?

Darling has no doubt proven himself more to this point of time. But remember this, he is a 190cm CHF and by the looks of it won't be playing midfield any time soon. (considering he had was a dual position player in his junior days) He has peaked imo. Karnezis on the other hand has only been playing midfield for about 15 games max including reserves + NAB cup in his whole life. Now we all know he can get his 2 goals a game in the f50 but to come on as much as he has in the past 6 months is phenomenal. His NAB cup display so far playing mid/wing full time is only the beginning and he has clearly been in the top 3 players in each of his matches. From being plucked from obscurity to potentially being the next Pendlebury, even the most die hard footy fanatics will be impressed.

They're nothing alike.. If I were picking purely for a key post, Darling. If I were picking for the most versatile utility I could get my hands on, Karnezis. All depends what your team needs.

Darling has played some very solid games throughout his short career. Karnezis has played about 2 good NAB Cup games. A pointless thread until Karnezis actually shows what he can do during the season-proper.

They play different positions now first off

Also one of these players played an impressive full season while the other was learning their craft in the NEAFL

I think Karnezis could be a very good player but give him some time in the AFL playing as a wingman before comparing him to players that are already established, and preferably in the same position

No doubt that Darling is a good player. But I just can't see where any improvement from him is going to come from. He was a ready made player that probably can't reach his full potential on the simple fact that he is a 190cm CHF. Has he peaked?

I am impressed by Karnezis, offers much.

Darling stepped up in 2012 with Kennedy/LeCras/Nicoski going down - bit rich to suggest he has peaked at 20 y.o
53 goals in 2012 compared to 24 in 2011 , he stepped up.

And as stated I said who will become the better player at the end of the year. No doubt they are different players as I am not disputing that. They were picks 25 and 26 respectively in 2010 and I recall a lot of supporters thought that "Crazy Vossy" had struck again with poor list management. Just curious as to what the bigfooty "experts" thought? And clearly Darling is the most hyped by the media.

It may well be that Karnezis will be better by the end of the year.
But indications are ATM that Darling could be a top 5-7 forward by years end (barring injury).
Karnezis would have to have some massive improvement to be considered better.

The OP is judging these players on his future predictions for each of them ie Darling will not get any better and Karnezis will improve a lot. Even if this were true Karnezis would still have to improve a lot just to reach Darling's level, which I don't think he ever will get close to.

But I can't see any justification for the opinion that Darling will not get any better.