KDFL - 2012

The rankings will sort itself out over the next 4 or 5 years, but it dumbfounds me that the O&K and Picola NW were rated ahead of the Picola SE and KDL ( and not just a spot or two ahead, I think there was 6 leagues between them).

I've always wondered what the difference in standard between the KDL and O&K League is.
Has anyone seen games from both leagues?
JC perhaps...

I've always wondered what the difference in standard between the KDL and O&K League is.
Has anyone seen games from both leagues?
JC perhaps...

Yeh mate .. Are you from that beaut pub in Punt road before a game at the Gee. The Cricketers Arms? Or is it the Bricklayers? So many good many memories of Punt Road Ferals from that beaut place I still remember.. Go Tiges .. Best Club song in footy ever!! Yellow and Black! Even tho’ I barrack for the Bombers!

But I digress.

10 years ago I spent three years with a great Club called Milawa in the O&K League in my hiatus from Longwood , while my son enjoyed great club community footy. Of course, we are both now back with the Redlegs nowadays.

At the time I saw the odd VT and Avenel game and thought that O&K were about the same standard, while Longwood enjoyed the Benalla and District community footy .. until the Bonnie Mokbels got involved ...

Again I digress!

My mate Slim18 from Benalla All Blacks tells us now that the “arse is falling out of the long johns” as under 18 age players are dropping off and people don’t volunteer to do all the jobs as used to be just half a generation ago. They expect to be paid .. just like the players.

Stay tuned .. I was once challenged to say that my ideas are naive.

Cheers Cobber
John Carrot:thumbsu:
ps My nephew played in Longwood's 2000 flag then later moved to KDFL to play for the VTown. Maybe 'cos his future wife was an ace for the Towners netters!! Through family connection, while I was involved in an O&K Club thirds side called Milawa, I got to see my family and footy through the Towners. That was about eight years ago and as I say, there was not much difference between leagues O&K and KDFL. I see in the Sunday paper that O&K are rated about 27, 28? while the KD are still 32nd. Duzzin madda .. both are great leagues!!

VCFL stated that the geographics came into play with who played who as to the leagues that joined this year, not sure if they took into account a week here or there as to which leagues decided first!!, especially when the Picola League committed one side at first (not NW, combined) and then decided to have two seperate sides after the VCFL pushed for that, clutching at straws with that assumption I think Roar!
If the PDFL's second side was the last to committ then why didnt the better league of the two get rated higher?

The PDFL side which played the last entered( which was the PDFL's choice ) , I assume KDFL , was obviously given the lower ranking and considered the last side entered .
FYI there was also more like months rather than weeks in relation to when leagues agreed to join .

Fair enough, your in the know not me. Just going off VCFL's Jock Allan who said that some geographics (maybe it was just the one game) were involved in who played who for the new leagues

The argument could be made that the SE teams lower on the ladder are a lot more competitive than their NW counterparts though. I would rate the SE higher than the NW, but that's one man's opinion.
Perhaps you could argue that, but if you were the VCFL would you look that far into it? . We only have to pick 24 to play on the day. If our top 24 is better than SE top 24 but their next 20 are better than ours who will win the game? Besides my point is between the 2 PDFL, KDL and O & K in my opinion fairly even and I am talking interleague representation and players that have the "pride" in their league to stand up and play. In our team I would say 75% were home grown through our NW junior ranks - not bad.

We are all sitting down near the bottom a few placings is neither here nor there, she says smiling mischiefously as NW is placed the highest of the four, by some stroke of luck, and will stay there for a few years at least. :D

Perhaps you could argue that, but if you were the VCFL would you look that far into it? . We only have to pick 24 to play on the day. If our top 24 is better than SE top 24 but their next 20 are better than ours who will win the game? Besides my point is between the 2 PDFL, KDL and O & K in my opinion fairly even and I am talking interleague representation and players that have the "pride" in their league to stand up and play. In our team I would say 75% were home grown through our NW junior ranks - not bad.

We are all sitting down near the bottom a few placings is neither here nor there, she says smiling mischiefously as NW is placed the highest of the four, by some stroke of luck, and will stay there for a few years at least. :D

Watched most of both games on Saturday and have to say the standard of the KDFL vs S/E was a higher than the earlier game.The NW vs O&K game only became interesting because of the closness at the end, but before that was not real good to watch,lots of skill errors and turnovers.Not saying there was'nt in the later game but the ball seemed to move around a fair bit quicker and the general skills up a level.

pressure maybe?

Fair bit to do with it. Imo both teams in first game fairly even pace wise, so plenty of defensive pressure applied by both teams hard for anyone to get a clear run which often results in skill errors. I didnt see all of 2nd game but SE appeared to have bit more pace. Just my opinion tho.

May 7 JC.. You lasted 23 days without posting! Solid effort, that.

I see your point mate; very embarrassing that the KDL sits last from 32. I was reading over the placings of the leagues and not sure how accurate the system is.

Still, think a fair few that represented the KDL on Sat would be paid players, that you so detest, but while clubs have money and want to win they'll be a part of country footy.

Still don't think may KDL clubs will disappear in the short term and have done an amazing job to stay alive this long.

G’day Tav
I bit me lip for 23 days but the moment has got to me!!
Thanks for your support .. I think?

Have a read of this from the Herald Sun sports section last weekend. Quote ..
DESPERATE TOCUMWAL PAYS PLAYERS TO TRAIN
Murray Football League club Tocumwal has come up with a novel way to save itself from extinction – pay players to turn up to training on Tuesday and Thursday nights.
Senior players are paid $25 and the reserves $15 a night to train. The players must also attend club functions and running water for the juniors. President Bob Bourke said the payment plan was devised to prevent the club from failing.
He told David O’Neill of the Weekly Times that having more players at training had a ripple effect.
“Our core business is catering and we are now generating more revenue from our food and drink sales,” Bourke said.
“It has certainly raised a few eyebrows around town, but so far it is working. We have had more than 20 blokes on the park and had one session with 38 guys.”
So far the change in the club’s $80,000 player payment structure hasn’t translated into success on the field. Tocumwal is still winless after six games.

Ffffffffffffffff ................. Wha’ ????????????

Tocumwal are in a “so-called major country league”.
If a team in a major country league regularly attract near 1000 spectators a game, get direct radio broadcasts and have TV coverage then yes .. as I have always contended .. their players; like that of the AFL elite, may demand a payment to play, as the major leagues feed the “Bushwhackers” level – which leads to VFL and eventually the big time!

Payments to players have always been around. Moreso to cover their costs of travel, accommodation and feeding their family to come to a great Club, like Longwood .. and of course the drink card!!

In the thirties the Redlegs better players were paid in rabbits!! In the 50’s a footy club social event was to spend a Sunday gathering fire wood .. with a trailer load going to the best player next game .. sometimes BoG, sometimes not?

In the October hay carting days of the 70's after the Redlegs reformed were great fun to set the Club up for the finances to replace jumpers for the next year!!!

No doubt Longwood have a cost recompense program nowadays with their players, but it goes through the books and if you read their AGM reports the “payroll” bill is now an excessive major category, but not “financially challenging” for the Leggers.
Maybe there are also some things in barter ... like drink cards perhaps?

My old mate from Wangaratta, told me recently that he has joined the North-Eastern Football Board and is pushing for the introduction of the player points system, which I have been banging on about for the last two seasons.
It was reported by the AFL last year 2011, with the AFL recommending that the system be implemented state wide this year, 2012 .. I’m still holding my breath!

It is basically a default “salary cap” with nothing to do with money .. only a steady reduction in high point (highly paid) players being able to gravitate to one club – ‘specially if players are taken to district level from local major leagues reserves .. or in fact, taken from a Club in the same league.

Can any of you guys comment on this. Has anyone read the AFL/VCFL report?

A blogger put a report from the Western Australian Country Football League not long ago. Yet to hear anything from the AFL/VCFL. After reading the WACFL report I thought that I had written it myself .. for Cripes sake! ..’specially the front cover comments .. eh?

Food for thought? Stay positive .. but don't be an ostrich!!!
Cheers .. John Carrot:thumbsu:

Fair enough, your in the know not me. Just going off VCFL's Jock Allan who said that some geographics (maybe it was just the one game) were involved in who played who for the new leagues

Hank it wouldn't surprise me at all , despite rankings , if next year there is a similar format , and for good reason . Many leagues when travelling incurr a $10k + loss on top of the $6k they recieve from the Vcfl . It makes no sense to me what so ever for all four sides ,that where involved this year to travel , unnecessary distances . All leagues have a greater chance of getting their best sides together, and supporters, the less they travel .
Here's a thought next year PDFL NW V PDFL SE , O&K V KDFL .
The following year PDFL NW V KDFL , PDFLSE V O&K.
By then a truer ranking of the 4 sides could be gathered , the 3 year committment to interleague with the VCFL/AFL Vic would be completed . All sides would then be in a position to analysis there further committment without the increased risk of financial loss .

Hank it wouldn't surprise me at all , despite rankings , if next year there is a similar format , and for good reason . Many leagues when travelling incurr a $10k + loss on top of the $6k they recieve from the Vcfl . It makes no sense to me what so ever for all four sides ,that where involved this year to travel , unnecessary distances . All leagues have a greater chance of getting their best sides together, and supporters, the less they travel .
By then a truer ranking of the 4 sides could be gathered , the 3 year committment to interleague with the VCFL/AFL Vic would be completed . All sides would then be in a position to analysis there further committment without the increased risk of financial loss .

Good idea, even stay like that every year with the two winning sides playing each other the next year. Therefore rivalries will start to be produced as I think players and leagues would buy into it more especially if they found themselves with the stigma of being ranked at the bottom of the group of 4. Could maybe make it 6 sides if the Loddon Valley and Maryborough Castlemaine Leagues were interested. Didnt include Heathcote League as they seem to be going along nicely in the ranking system.

Re: KDFL - 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Roar Passion"

Hank1
Good idea, even stay like that every year with the two winning sides playing each other the next year. Therefore rivalries will start to be produced as I think players and leagues would buy into it more especially if they found themselves with the stigma of being ranked at the bottom of the group of 4. Could maybe make it 6 sides if the Loddon Valley and Maryborough Castlemaine Leagues were interested. Didnt include Heathcote League as they seem to be going along nicely in the ranking system.

Sensational stuff guys .. "makes sense!" quoting Sam Kekovich ..

Re Points System...In the Sunraysia League there has been a points system in operation for approx. 8 years. it has had the stopped teams from blowing their budgets, buying a premiership and then struggling to survive.
Strong well administered clubs still do well, as they should.
Its most positive aspect here would be that clubs must put in a big effort with their junior sides. In Sunraysia players that have come up through the ranks are worth zero points.
I can imagine organising the junior set up in the Shep. area would be a problem. G.V. clubs could poach players from lesser leagues early in their careers.
Its a much better system than the salary cap.
Not perfect just better.

Re: KDFL - 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by "Roar Passion"

Hank1

Sensational stuff guys .. "makes sense!" quoting Sam Kekovich ..

Add in Hume and Tallangatta Leagues would give us more of a GV versus O&M feel and for most clubs would be closer than Loddon and Maryborough

102 points? Well that was certainly unexpected.
Not too sure about Tally winning as unexpected but the margin certainly was. I would have thought 6 or 7 goals at most as I think Tally are travelling a bit more consistently than Lancy.
Gig drew with Lancy and Merrigum were leading Lancy late in the 3rd quater last round until Lancy kicked 5 to zip in the last...

Nagambie are cruising along nicely. They're my pick for the flag. Have recruited well this year. Pumping reasonable sides by over 100 points. I personally rate them higher than VT.
The boys at Tallygaroopna must've played like they were on crack. That result was certainly not expected at all.

Ardmona, pumped again. But Longwood continued to improve this week which is good to see.

Add in Hume and Tallangatta Leagues would give us more of a GV versus O&M feel and for most clubs would be closer than Loddon and Maryborough

Gezz Sparra .. quoting Sam Kekovich .. even YOU are making sense!! Bytheway mate I'm up late watching the French tennis as I don't have to work for my pension because I'm a WHOB - a White Haired Old Buzzard!!.

I like watching the women's tennis with sound turned down!! To stifle the screeching.. But I still like watching the women's tennis in French .. erm .. bloody old perve!!

That was not "London and Marylebone Cricket" you posted is it? I'll write soon when the TV coverage of Wimbeldon and the Aussie one dayers from England start. Although I love Lizzie I won't follow up about her son Chuck from Mansfield in 1965. Plea to your god if Charlie Windsor becomes the "Queen of Australia"!! Won't be watching that crap at all ..

Erm .. football? Loddon and Maryborough Leagues. About time I replaced my hearing aid and glasses .. didn't see it right when you spoke it cobber?

Keep them away until we can get our rankings local with inter league games in the region .. I reckon? And Hume and Tallangatta as you say mate.

Cheers John Carrot
Good morning .. enjoy your breakfast!!:thumbsu:

Nagambie are cruising along nicely. They're my pick for the flag. Have recruited well this year. Pumping reasonable sides by over 100 points. I personally rate them higher than VT.
The boys at Tallygaroopna must've played like they were on crack. That result was certainly not expected at all.

Ardmona, pumped again. But Longwood continued to improve this week which is good to see.

You can take any improvement and drop it in the pocket Tasty. Redlegs were 73 points down against the Tiges at half-time. They then out scored Rushie by a point in the second half to lose by 72 points at the final bell..WTF? Rushworth didn't take the foot of the pedal. Ex Redlegger ( a good mate) Jason Webb, now home at Rushie hung around the goals (kicked five for the day) then moved to ruck as the Leggers started to put things together. A great tough physical match to watch without any spite/punch ups. Sorta made Longwood supporters smile a little .. only a little. :)
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:
ps Premiership odds .. Nagas will Sh-It-In ..;)

You can take any improvement and drop it in the pocket Tasty. Redlegs were 73 points down against the Tiges at half-time. They then out scored Rushie by a point in the second half to lose by 72 points at the final bell..WTF? Rushworth didn't take the foot of the pedal. Ex Redlegger ( a good mate) Jason Webb, now home at Rushie hung around the goals (kicked five for the day) then moved to ruck as the Leggers started to put things together. A great tough physical match to watch without any spite/punch ups. Sorta made Longwood supporters smile a little .. only a little. :)
Cheers John Carrot:thumbsu:
ps Premiership odds .. Nagas will Sh-It-In ..;)

Yeah, It wasnt looking good for Longwood early on. It was good to see them hold on and keep it repectable. Prior to the Ardmona game, Longwood had an average loss of about 25-30 goals. Theyre gettin better. Maybe next year ay? :)