KDFL 2013

Have heard Whelan has OP so may miss a part of
the season & Williams is over the travel already. Wouldn't surprise at all if they were back at VT before
years end. Not sure on Russ, but if the others left it'd be unlikely he'd go up on his own.

Didn't realise there were 2 Rob Osbourne's, so cheers for the heads up on that.

Yabby said no but Why would they say they did to the paper, ???
I was there mate, they were very happy with how they went, but no, no teamsong.... :p I read the article online today hoping to get the hard copy tomorrow, but that was the only UNTRUTH in there from what i could see.
And they do tend to put crap in papers to beef up stories.

Bit slow this time Swoop, I already broke this news during the week.... U dropping off the pace mate, keep up!! :D ;)

So smooth, what was his reasons for pulling back on the boots this year do you know? It's interesting that Ozzie has changed his mind again. And with Warby writing in the Shep news booklet he was there main guy down forward. Why would he leave?

Haha yes I did forget what the date was! Hopefully is just a joke!

Didn’t mind the report in the Sunday paper about Ardie. Didn’t mind that they said that the lowest losing margin was 10 goals against Longwood while the average loss in 2012 was mega points!! What I did see was the fact that the city papers are starting to “boo hoo” crocodile tears of the fact that district footy leagues in the country are starting to die..?? Why .. firstly people who run the clubs for no recompense are absolutely sick and tired of 18 year dreamers who see the TV boys getting millions and come to a small district footy club .. at 18 year old for Cripesake!! And say yeh I’ll play for 500 bucks a game!! I rest my case your honour .. and Ardie are stuffed just like Longwood !! Despite any shite you read in the Easter newspaper.. Cheers John Carrot

There was talk at the footy at Euroa on Good Friday this may be the last year for Longwood. With no locals and nearly every player travelling from Melbourne for the senior side the question was asked why would you continue on? They cant be competitive as dont have the cash to throw around to attract better players. Might be looking at a recess, never to be seen again 2014 onwards?

Although JC's the best one to answer this, but there would be a lot of clubs around country footy that are in the same boat as Longwood & are still around (few locals players, because there just isn't the young people in the area, and the same would be the case for the netballers as well), but I at least like the fact that they are fighting the good fight, plus doing this and surviving is far better than being swallowed up by an Avenel (JC can tell you that Avenel did combine with Longwood many moons ago) or disappearing alltogether (drive past Wunghnu's ground, and tell me if that's not a depressing sight).

The cricket club (that i'm still a part of after moving away from the district) at Murchison has the same problem as Longwood has in the footy (we would love to have every local player we can but we can only do what we can do), and for the club to function, we have to get blokes living in Tat, Shepp or Mooroopna to play (Dookie & Invergordon also have this issue too).

Thankfully, the task of running a cricket club is easier because we don't have the money issues that a footy club does, but it does make training & the day to day running of the club a bit harder, that's why I know where JC's coming from (and feel for thier local committee & players who have to shoulder a lot of the burden in keeping the club going), and as someone who does a lot during the cricket season, I have nothing but respect for Longwood for trying thier best.

If the Benalla League hadn't have folded (or Thornton/Eildon found there way back in the old BDFL before they went under, potentially keeping them & the league alive), Longwood wouldn't have been in the KDFL and wouldn't have been facing these probelms, they've been the victims of circumstances beyond their making, and they've done thier best with what they have.

Tips for round one! Glad it's back!
Stanhope - will expect an improved Ardy side but Stanhope to be far to strong.
Violet Town - will be a test for Merrigum to see just how much they have improved. VT still the strongest IMO.
Nagambie - Gig will challenge more than most expect them too this season but see Nagambie taking this one out.
Rushworth - too strong for Longwood.
Lancaster - hard one to tip, Tally and Lanky have lost a few but Lanky should get the job done.
Avenel - Undera to fall back to the pack this season, probably will be the closest game of the round.

Good luck to everyone on the weekend!

I see Jac Smith-Williams who had signed at longwood is now on the move to Avenel, whats up with that?

Violet Town - will be a test for Merrigum to see just how much they have improved. VT still the strongest IMO.
Nagambie - Gig will challenge more than most expect them too this season but see Nagambie taking this one out.
Lancaster - hard one to tip, Tally and Lanky have lost a few but Lanky should get the job done.
Avenel - Undera to fall back to the pack this season, probably will be the closest game of the round.

Stanhope just think the article in the paper has ardy up and about lol
VT under lights over the gum I'm sure there will be spies checking this game
Nagambie over gig will just be too strong but gig should win the ruck contest
Rushy over longwood with Ben gill to kick 6
Lanky v tally Both been very quiet but tally have lost a few. Lanky just
Avenel v undera. Hmmmmm. Not sure home team just
Murch to get over the line just over the bye. Lol

I see Jac Smith-Williams who had signed at longwood is now on the move to Avenel, whats up with that?
It is my understanding that a contract was signed with Redfern at the helm of Longwood, Redfern has since resigned as senior Coach, prompting smitty to return home to Avenel as this year he cannot put the time in required to play GVFL footy as he did last year with Euroa.

have a read of todays shepp news wat a joke, lamaro get ya hand off it, osborne only went for money and he wouldn't of knocked on yr door? haha

Stanhope should have to much fire power for Ardy. Stanhope by 53 points

Merrigum over VT for me. i have been told that there may be a slight hangover out at VT and the gum are up and about. Merrigum by 5 points

Nagambie should have Gig but if big Roberts can give the gig boys an arm chair ride in the middle it may not be as one way as some think. Nagambie by 21 points.

Rushworth should get the job done against longwood. Longwood have 20+ ins this years so they should be a bit better off than last year one would think, and Rushy have 12 or more key players out. Tigers be 19 points

Not a lot has come out of Avenels camp over the last 3 or 4 months. They have some good ins but also a few very good outs but i think they have more than covered their outs. Looking at Undera in a praccy a few weeks back you would put a line through them this year, but looking at the amount of ins they have on the system they must have had 30 players out. I am going with the swans by 2 goals.

Murch would be happy with the week off first round as it will save the club around $10k in player payments :D

Stanhope should have to much fire power for Ardy. Stanhope by 53 points

Merrigum over VT for me. i have been told that there may be a slight hangover out at VT and the gum are up and about. Merrigum by 5 points

Nagambie should have Gig but if big Roberts can give the gig boys an arm chair ride in the middle it may not be as one way as some think. Nagambie by 21 points.

Rushworth should get the job done against longwood. Longwood have 20+ ins this years so they should be a bit better off than last year one would think, and Rushy have 12 or more key players out. Tigers be 19 points

Not a lot has come out of Avenels camp over the last 3 or 4 months. They have some good ins but also a few very good outs but i think they have more than covered their outs. Looking at Undera in a praccy a few weeks back you would put a line through them this year, but looking at the amount of ins they have on the system they must have had 30 players out. I am going with the swans by 2 goals.

Murch would be happy with the week off first round as it will save the club around $10k in player payments :D

12 or more out from last years list.

[qwerty] i think you missed a game tally vs lancy
sorry old mate

Hard to see Tally getting over Lancy IMO. How will Tally be off for a ruck? Big Jimmy told me he has finidhed up and not sure on big Nev. Take Sanders out of the middle (he was old but could find the footy) kerr out as well, Oldfield is playing down the big smoke and Arho off for a bucket load of cash. They have a few ins but find it hard to see them being better than last year. Lancy will not be down 2 years on the trot, they have had very good 3rds sides over the last few years and we should see some young kids coming up to replace some of the older stocks. Bertoli is a ripper pick up for them, very very good player. They will miss Thompson but it will give a kid a chance as a mid. I think Lancy will get up by 4 Goals.

Looks like longwood are putting up a fight to keep Jac.

Goulburn Valley Football League Longwood Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Approved 2013-02-04 2013-02-27
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-03-28 2013-03-28
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-03-29 2013-04-01
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-04-02 2013-04-03
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-04-04 2013-04-04

Goulburn Valley Football League Longwood Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Approved 2013-02-04 2013-02-27
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-03-28 2013-03-28
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-03-29 2013-04-01
Longwood Football Club Avenel Football Club Smith-Williams, Jac Denied 2013-04-02 2013-04-03
Yes I was just checking out the clearances myself and noticed Ben Kinnear to VT and Gleeson and Bailey must have had a change of mind cause they have gone back to VT.
They must be doing something right over there

tips

stanhope by 57pts
violet town by 23pts
nagambie by 44pts
rushworth by 30pts
lancaster by 77pts
avenel by 11pts

Longwoods negotiating team have been at their best today and have come to a deal with Avenel for this clearance to happen. The word is that for 2 barrells of beer he will be in a Swans jumper at 2pm tomorrow.

Yes I was just checking out the clearances myself and noticed Ben Kinnear to VT and Gleeson and Bailey must have had a change of mind cause they have gone back to VT.
They must be doing something right over there
Yep, going ok and only spent half of allocated budget. Trying to sneak under the radar..