KDFL 2014

Think it has a lot to do with being competitive id reckon, which they're struggling to be at the moment. Same thing happened when they were in the hdfl, few years of poor results, plus travel, they decided to switch leagues. Surprises me that they'd want to join kdfl as the travel is almost as it was when they were in the hdfl.

I assure you Jayco that's not what happened as I was coaching the club at the time. In 2007 we last played finals with a pretty young list, we then had a heap of experienced guys leave the club in 2008 and a committee that had been in for a year or two effectively manipulated and brainwashed a heap of naive kids into thinking the RDFL was the go. Sadly a lot of us tried telling them what would happen, but what would we know :(

What would Broadford gain by playing KDFL as opposed to RDFL? All of their local rivals are in the Riddell league.

Broadford always saw their main rival as Heathcote and to a lesser extent Mt. Pleasant, the whole "rivalry" thing was a wank selling point but to be honest Kilmore, Wallan, Lancefield are ready to pounce on players if they move leagues. There have been quite a number of guys who have had a run or two at Kilmore/Wallan the past 2 summers who couldn't bring themselves to playing against Broadford (which is fair enough) but she'll be open slather I reckon if they re-locate.

If they joined the KDFL, they're not going to be perennial finalists though. It's not as though the Riddell league is a major league and they're dropping back to the KDFL.

Top 4-5 clubs in the Riddell League would've beat Murch last year, but you're right its still only district footy.

I assure you Jayco that's not what happened as I was coaching the club at the time. In 2007 we last played finals with a pretty young list, we then had a heap of experienced guys leave the club in 2008 and a committee that had been in for a year or two effectively manipulated and brainwashed a heap of naive kids into thinking the RDFL was the go. Sadly a lot of us tried telling them what would happen, but what would we know :(

Broadford always saw their main rival as Heathcote and to a lesser extent Mt. Pleasant, the whole "rivalry" thing was a wank selling point but to be honest Kilmore, Wallan, Lancefield are ready to pounce on players if they move leagues. There have been quite a number of guys who have had a run or two at Kilmore/Wallan the past 2 summers who couldn't bring themselves to playing against Broadford (which is fair enough) but she'll be open slather I reckon if they re-locate.

Top 4-5 clubs in the Riddell League would've beat Murch last year, but you're right its still only district footy.

Fair enough doon, but I had heard what I'd written. as senior coach you'd be slightly closer to what was the real reason than my hearsay... :thumbsu:

True, never said they'd play finals, but they must be thinking that they would be more competitive in our league... which they aren't in the riddell league, currently 0-6 and on the bottom of the ladder.
Pretty disappointed to see ya sprooking on here doona re broadford
Let the club do its home work
Guys let me tell you this all clubs and the kdfl board also afl victoria will be presented eventually if this is the track broadford investigate and I believe all will be quite surprised on why and what will be presented this is not about premierships or success but the longevity and survival of a club with a long history dudeligence is being done let it run it's process
Many may be quite surprised

Guys let me tell you this all clubs and the kdfl board also afl victoria will be presented eventually if this is the track broadford investigate and I believe all will be quite surprised on why and what will be presented this is not about premierships or success but the longevity and survival of a club with a long history dudeligence is being done let it run it's process

Keston you have no reason to be disappointed in me, I'm nothing to Broadford I simply follow local footy with no allegiance anywhere. Just ensure that in 10-12 years time there will be a club as an option for my boys to play at if they so wish.

After all it was pointed out by someone of note that I am regarded an "ex affiliate" of Broadford these days, so stop jumping at shadows because I doubt anyone cares what you or I think on here ...... apart from the friends/peers I have involved at KDFL clubs who have already made contact with their thoughts ;)

Keston you have no reason to be disappointed in me, I'm nothing to Broadford I simply follow local footy with no allegiance anywhere. Just ensure that in 10-12 years time there will be a club as an option for my boys to play at if they so wish.

After all it was pointed out by someone of note that I am regarded an "ex affiliate" of Broadford these days, so stop jumping at shadows because I doubt anyone cares what you or I think on here ...... apart from the friends/peers I have involved at KDFL clubs who have already made contact with their thoughts ;)
I will say you are wrong a few may have that view but the majority respect you mate you now what clubs are like always one or two have a opinion but is generally not the belief of the majority
Your work at the club is still talked about and in a positive view don't sell yourself short you have done a lot of good work in football it's respected

I'm sure u know a little somethin somethin.... Otherwise ask Sloaney at training 2moro night! They're all trying to book in a date to play ressie's together.... Wouldn't surprise me if it was for the top of the table clash next week?? ;)
Won't b able to fit them in got to many players as it is mate.. :)

From afar, Broadford's best option would seem to be going back to the HDFL

The captain and league medalist of the KDFL side Josh Pell is an unpaid player John, Josh McDonald whoever that is, most probably is paid. Instead of criticising the reality of football everywhere JC,
Maybe sort out your own club and stop sooking about everyone elses. I'm sure if Longwood were successful we would hear none of this garbage from you. I've been in a struggling club too, we solved sweet FA by worrying about anyone but ourselves. Enjoy the Shiraz.. Hypocrite.
Didly squat my lovely ... what sort of support is that meaningless diatribe you have written about your fabulous leech blood sucking concept of ripping money out of community footy when the stars of your income were comprehensively defeated by Tallangata in 2014. And the Riddell League in 2013.My sweet Dids. Benalla and District Football League beat Tallangatta in the early "Noughties with Longwoods "Varcs" in the top three BOG for Cripes Sake?? Mate .. RSVP .. Respondez Vous Silver Plate to tell me why a community district league like the KDFL should be rid of mercenary money grubbers like the flockers you support and replaced by work with sponsors .. with reason .. to attract the flies then transparent awards of money for PLAYERS WHO ACTUALLY PERFORM!! For 40 years I have seen "The Last Quarter Syndrome Awards". Some smartarsecycle know his speed the bursts into the last quarter .. maybe kicks 2 goals. The celebrators say .. "Oh yeh BoG" .. Meantime the local bloke who has busted his cracker for 4 quarters is over look. And Dids .. gets diddly squat!! Cheers Cobber John Carrot

heck them mushrooms back in the day have messed you up old timer! Nothing but constant dribble from you every post, think it's time the nursing home stop your internet privileges. Cheers you muppet.

A rough crack so far...

B: Hamilton (rush), Barca(gum), Connally(gum)
HB: Durward(ard), Kilmartin(gum), Kay(murch)
C: M. Shiels(nag) J.Pell(gum) T.Davies(lan)
HF: Edwards(stan), Barnett(LAN), Yze (gum)
F:Rennie(murch), Wellington(gum), Milne (murch)
Foll: McCarthy(ave), Cullinan(murch), J.shiels(murch).

Int(from): Duncan(ave), Jones(murch), Mason(stan), Stevens(Nag), Horsburgh (VT), Clarke (LAN), Liverton(LAN)
Gee Undera must be really flying under the radar not one mention of them in here are they just lucky to be winning with an average team?

From afar, Broadford's best option would seem to be going back to the HDFL
Travel less and better fit with 18s no 18s in hdfl where losing players to kilmore wallan etc effected longevity of club on the Hume 55 min to shep
Our juniours play up that way also makes sence

To be entirely fair, they've had a favourable draw so far.

Put some names forward that would break into that side.
Righto boys couple of very good games this week.. Murch vs nagaz.. And undera vs lancy.. And rushy vs avenel..
Think Murch will get over the line by abt 34 points, with mick shields out will b a massive loss in the midfield..
Massive game for yr mob smoothy. Undera are ticking along and have a bit of fire power up forward and without big Orry down back mite b able to kick a winning score, but can't see them stopping Barnett.. In saying that a loss to lancy would b a massive blow as they play Stanhope the week later.. But tipping the bats by 13 points.
In saying this the game for avenel is huge as they need to win to keep there finals aspirations alive along with rushy.. But think avenel will b to big and strong and win by 43 points..

I'm sure Riddell and Tallangatta Leagues don't pay anyone.. That's a win for good over evil! Maybe we should go harder with the cheque books to keep up? After all that's what really concerns you, not being able to keep up and compete.
Lots of love from diddly dack (there's ya reply ya silly old hack. Xoxo)

Righto boys couple of very good games this week.. Murch vs nagaz.. And undera vs lancy.. And rushy vs avenel..
Think Murch will get over the line by abt 34 points, with mick shields out will b a massive loss in the midfield..
Massive game for yr mob smoothy. Undera are ticking along and have a bit of fire power up forward and without big Orry down back mite b able to kick a winning score, but can't see them stopping Barnett.. In saying that a loss to lancy would b a massive blow as they play Stanhope the week later.. But tipping the bats by 13 points.
In saying this the game for avenel is huge as they need to win to keep there finals aspirations alive along with rushy.. But think avenel will b to big and strong and win by 43 points..
Yeah mate big game this week, especially with an even bigger game next week.... Yeah Orry a massive loss but unfortunately he won't be the only 1 missing! But we'll just have to chuck a team on the park & hope it gets us over the line.... We'll see by Saturday....

Who is the best midfielder in the comp? I'm going with c.cullinan from murch.

Not many mids that will come close to Pell and Cullinan. Thinking about it made me realise how many quality mids have left the comp in the last couple of years ie. Steve Thompson, Horsburgh, Lee.

Hoota is certainly still one of the gun mids, it's probably the leadership quality that holds him in high regard. Especially with guys who have played with him.

I agree DIDS pelly and cullinan are the 2 standouts But in saying that lancy could be unleashing the best mid seen in kdl for quite
a while this Saturday????
Not many mids that will come close to Pell and Cullinan. Thinking about it made me realise how many quality mids have left the comp in the last couple of years ie. Steve Thompson, Horsburgh, Lee.

Hoota is certainly still one of the gun mids, it's probably the leadership quality that holds him in high regard. Especially with guys who have played with him.

I agree DIDS pelly and cullinan are the 2 standouts But in saying that lancy could be unleashing the best mid seen in kdl for quite

he wouldnt blow wind low wind up Paul Burnett arse when he was at his best or Steve Thompson both league medalist.

Chris Varsamakis is his name a absolute gun. Played for Bundurra last year with Gary Moorcroft and Cam Cloke. They also won the flag last year which he was in there best few players

Varsamakis certainly comes
with a good CV. Let's not forget Cullinan was also a good player for Heidelberg in the Northern League. So not sure how it makes him any better that him.. Good addition to Lanky but we'll have to see about that statement swoop.

When Rigney bought Tarrant, Johnson and Kinnear to VT last year many (myself included) thought the Towners would win it all again. It seemed ludicrous that that list didn't progress past the Semi Final.. Be Careful with the hype there swoop!