KDFL April 06 -Sept 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

roaring tiger said:
Will be interesting to see if mitchell will kick any against a quality backline this week. I do agree with you than wayman meka and mitchell will kick the magical ton this year.
An on-baller will defaintly win the league medal. At this stage i would say it would be llyod obrien, tav perry, and brenton gray probably the faviourite and maybe mitchell as an outsider.

Hard to say who'll be able to stop Troy Mitchell, but if I was a betting man I'd be giving Peter Kiss first crack - had a good record on Firebrace from Rumba. Hooda Gray appears to be red hot fave early doors for the medal, I will throw in Tom Butterworth each-way if his body holds up.

VT#23 said:
Just wondering as an ex-violet towner how the new oppostion are seeing the towners, it looks like bowser harrison is obviously still playing pretty good footy, but who are the top 5 or 6 players this year? Are they what the kd expected?

They've proberly been a bit better than expected but that is proberly due to the fact that the guy Trotter took over and rounded a few up for them.
They seem to a solid core of players that they could build on next year.
The thing that struck me about them was their lack of following being in a new competition and faring better you would think there may be more on board.

On The Money said:
They've proberly been a bit better than expected but that is proberly due to the fact that the guy Trotter took over and rounded a few up for them.
They seem to a solid core of players that they could build on next year.
The thing that struck me about them was their lack of following being in a new competition and faring better you would think there may be more on board.
Thats a shame about the support. Not so long ago the whole town would be there. But thats country footy now. Too much more on..

T.Perry said:
In terms of club B&F's, based on what I've read/heard:
Ardy: Lowe or Williams (who has been in great form on the ball)

I reckon Lloyd O'Brien has had a better start to the year than Lowie. Willo has been fantastic.

bradrowe#32 said:
I reckon Lloyd O'Brien has had a better start to the year than Lowie. Willo has been fantastic.

Good point rowey :thumbsu: O'Brien was sensational against us, I over-looked him at the time..Surely when you get your call up you'd be a chance?? Dominate the 2nd half of the year...if you can kick 3 goals on Cambo, imagine what you'd do to some of the lesser backmen in the comp:cool:

gleeso said:
Reference Tim Ritcher leaving murch to play in wollongong as he was back dooring someones missus there,well look like he has done a wayne carey there as well.Not once but twice hey tim, thought you would of learn't your lesson the first time. On a brighter note he has been named best on ground four out of five games and made the rep side so the club could'nt be happier from what i here... Best ya keep it in your pant's little man and play footy

Gleeso, THAT WAS NOT THE REASON WHY TIMMY RICHTER LEFT MURCH TO GO TO WOOLONGONG, Tim was approached by Woolongong at the end of last year, (they were scouting around this district), and basically they offered him good money, accomodation and a sweet job working with one of their sponsors (he's a qualified sparkie), of course we wanted him to stay at Murch, but this was an offer he couldn't refuse, he's a young bloke with no ties, so good luck to him, and it's great that he's doing well over in NSW.

Although I have to admit that Tim has a reputation of being quite the ladies man (the dude's got a gift, there's no doubt about it), and because of this, that's why all these rumours start about him, he's a good bloke and a bloody tough little footballer, and I hope he kicks arse at the Gong.

Tavis, I agree with most of your predictions about B&F's, except I think Wayman would be slightly ahead of Molisak, but as far as Murch in concerned, I think that it's between Shane Kay, Boozer Davies and Wille Sanders (who played pretty well last week, considering that he just got over the flu), for our B&F.

is troy mitchell that good? i seen him play a couple of times in the heathcote league and he didn't get many kicks and didin't kick any goals. for memory brian westley of elmore gave him a bath both times they met. but in saying that he must be in red hot form now. i had a look at his last three or four hauls of goals

Wayne Weideman said:
is troy mitchell that good? i seen him play a couple of times in the heathcote league and he didn't get many kicks and didin't kick any goals. for memory brian westley of elmore gave him a bath both times they met. but in saying that he must be in red hot form now. i had a look at his last three or four hauls of goals

Interesting point Weed..Mitchell is a very hard opponent to match up on as he is super quick, pretty smart and very dangerous. One thing I've noticed about him is that if you can get on top of him, he drops his head slightly and doesn't attack the ball with a lot of purpose..on the other hand, if his confidence is up his workrate lifts and he starts going for everything, and can kick goals in a hurry...which is probably also due to the fact that everytime he gets it he has a ping at the sticks...

If Westley stitched him up the first time they played, that would have helped him 2 fold in follow up meetings...

T.Perry said:
Interesting point Weed..Mitchell is a very hard opponent to match up on as he is super quick, pretty smart and very dangerous. One thing I've noticed about him is that if you can get on top of him, he drops his head slightly and doesn't attack the ball with a lot of purpose..on the other hand, if his confidence is up his workrate lifts and he starts going for everything, and can kick goals in a hurry...which is probably also due to the fact that everytime he gets it he has a ping at the sticks...

If Westley stitched him up the first time they played, that would have helped him 2 fold in follow up meetings...

well said trevor. did notice he didn't mind a goal for locky. apparently he is kevin barlets love child!!!

All this mitchell talk....he's gonna love it.

Tavis, as for your prediction of B&f'S. i'd say at Lanky it will be between steve thomson, andrew parsons and coach carver.

Have you put you're hand up for interleague?
I was speaking to patto after training and he said a few melbourne based boys were keen.

cosby said:
All this mitchell talk....he's gonna love it.

Tavis, as for your prediction of B&f'S. i'd say at Lanky it will be between steve thomson, andrew parsons and coach carver.

Have you put you're hand up for interleague?
I was speaking to patto after training and he said a few melbourne based boys were keen.

Hey Cosby - congrats on the good win! All the Mitchell talk must have been valid - looks like his 6 majors may have been the difference...

Yeh, hands up for interleague, going to training this Wednesday with my brother, Jedd, who's been killing them at the minute..Though I reckon I'll be doing well to get a game - even old mate Doona couldn't fit me into his predicted interleague side! Hoping to kneecap you at some stage to give us any kind of edge going into Saturday's game..hopefully we can give you a solid contest..

In other news I see Daniel Vance finally came through with the goods, getting best on for Gig - must have been the crisis talk..but where has Muzza gone?! After telling me round 1 he was never gonna play again, Brett Hughes kicked a goal on the weekend for Murch - is he back for good Wayde, or were you short? When is bradrowe making his much anticipated senior debut with the cats?? Surely they can't keep the gorilla caged for much longer!

T.Perry said:
Hey Cosby - congrats on the good win! All the Mitchell talk must have been valid - looks like his 6 majors may have been the difference...

Yeh, hands up for interleague, going to training this Wednesday with my brother, Jedd, who's been killing them at the minute..Though I reckon I'll be doing well to get a game - even old mate Doona couldn't fit me into his predicted interleague side! Hoping to kneecap you at some stage to give us any kind of edge going into Saturday's game..hopefully we can give you a solid contest..
Mitch had to work hard for his goals as the umnpires put the whistle away quite early. I thought he'd kicked 2 for the day but was surprised after the game to hear he'd kicked 6. I twas a good team effort and the trip was alot longer than i remembered.
The big news out of Yea was that Rusty Mcdonnell had pulled on the boots to fill a void in the two's. He kicked 3 or 4 and was back to his vintage best. 'vintage' being the operative word. sorry rud.

Doona simply must've forgotten about T.Perry for his team.
I think you'll be right. :thumbsu:

Rushy have had the wood over lanky for some time now. Going back, since 2003 i think we may have won 1 game out of a possibly 8(?).
And once again Rushy are right up there. I'm sure the game will be well fought out as usual.

cosby said:
Mitch had to work hard for his goals as the umnpires put the whistle away quite early. I thought he'd kicked 2 for the day but was surprised after the game to hear he'd kicked 6. I twas a good team effort and the trip was alot longer than i remembered.
The big news out of Yea was that Rusty Mcdonnell had pulled on the boots to fill a void in the two's. He kicked 3 or 4 and was back to his vintage best. 'vintage' being the operative word. sorry rud.

Doona simply must've forgotten about T.Perry for his team.
I think you'll be right. :thumbsu:

Rushy have had the wood over lanky for some time now. Going back, since 2003 i think we may have won 1 game out of a possibly 8(?).
And once again Rushy are right up there. I'm sure the game will be well fought out as usual.

Wasn't my team, thats what was printed in the Shepp News. Tav mighta put his hand up with his 6-goal haul though!!! Yeah I think Troy's first 3 were handballs over the top to the goalsquare but as ya's got your running game going he got his hands on it more - number six was special as he was bumped off it about 40m out it still sailed thru.

How many did ya's have out, how bad were the injuries? Lancy are certainly the team to beat for me - put Dipper Wilson, James Stephens, Groves, Mayne and a ruckman into the side and Yea would run better, but to me Lancaster look a month ahead of em in general fitness and skill level. Saturday's 2nd half was pretty impressive by Lancy with Orr, Perella, Pryde running hard and big Morgan had an influence.

For me Yea looked a wee bit slow in the back half, but Im sure if 5-1 was offered in March you'd take it any day of the week. Every club has a bad one, and I can only remember Yea putting a worse effort twice in the 3 years I saw them first hand.

Doona2 said:
How many did ya's have out, how bad were the injuries?
We were probably missing 4 blokes all up.
Andrew Parsons was working, then we lost Thomo (Andrew Thomas) in the first ten minutes with a slight hammy strain and Phil Hunter copped a pretty ordinary hit while attempting a mark in the third and was vomitting and in alot of discomfort after the game. Poor bugger couldn't have been further away from home.
Best showers in the league, btw Doona.

cosby said:
We were probably missing 4 blokes all up.
Andrew Parsons was working, then we lost Thomo (Andrew Thomas) in the first ten minutes with a slight hammy strain and Phil Hunter copped a pretty ordinary hit while attempting a mark in the third and was vomitting and in alot of discomfort after the game. Poor bugger couldn't have been further away from home.
Best showers in the league, btw Doona.

I knew someting just might happen when #11 (Thomas??) left the park, just felt Lancy then decided their best bet was to run run run, it took em til almost half time to get that style going, but must admit for a large chunk of the day it looked effective as Yea had little players capable of matching the Wombats with legspeed.

with violet town now at 3-3 there season is back on track.
With players such as frankie macak, bo harrison and ryan trotter dominant through the midfield they are improving each week.
wat do you think the chances are of the towners finishing in the top 5?

big tony said:
with violet town now at 3-3 there season is back on track.
With players such as frankie macak, bo harrison and ryan trotter dominant through the midfield they are improving each week.
wat do you think the chances are of the towners finishing in the top 5?

They would be a very outside chance I'd think without knowing their draw Lancaster, Stanhope, Yea, Rushworth and Ardmona would all seem to be better accomplished teams while Tally will be somewhere on the edge of the five too.

both stanhope and lancaster have copped injuries playing yea recently. is this bad luck or are yea physically having an impact on the opposition. i have heard that they are very physical in close. good effort by lanc if they played without parsons, he is a very good player. thomas is good in the ruck also, if he has been playing there. on the other hand yea would be different side with wilson playing, was he injured. rushworth and lanc will be good this week. heard both these teams have injuries, like all clubs seem to have at the moment.

Lancy and Rushy will be an excellent game. They have played some good footy over the last 5 years these two teams. Like Cosby said, Rushy has probably had an advantage. The injuries Sly Dog refers to wouldnt be waarsdorp at Rushy and thomas at Lancy would it. What is the latest with waarsdorps injury? He hasnt done asnother knee surely?

Sly Dog said:
both stanhope and lancaster have copped injuries playing yea recently. is this bad luck or are yea physically having an impact on the opposition. i have heard that they are very physical in close. good effort by lanc if they played without parsons, he is a very good player. thomas is good in the ruck also, if he has been playing there. on the other hand yea would be different side with wilson playing, was he injured. rushworth and lanc will be good this week. heard both these teams have injuries, like all clubs seem to have at the moment.

Yea are not any more physical than they have been in recent times. The Butterworth boys, Mark Nicholls and James Frankcombe are straight at it types, but I dont see it as having a physical impact.

Wilson was away with work, as was their top wingman Jimmy Stephens, and I think Groves & Mayne coulda been also. The Tige's sole ruckman Dougie Aldous suffered a busted hand, had it operated on meaning poor Tom Butterworth's gunna be run into the ground over the next 5-6 weeks.

Lancy looked quite comfortable without Thomas, their runners very good, they switched thru Orr (#19) quite a bit.

GALON said:
Does anyone know if David Saywell is still playing for Merrigum? Hows he going?
Yes Dave is still playing for the bullies. And has been solid in the backline this year.

Just on VT, I think they'll struggle to make the 5. Undera would be a better chance but just can't get their full team on the park.

Have Murch picked up some new recruits? As they were touted as being very undermanned early on in the season but look to have competed pretty well the last two weeks.

Doona2 said:
Wilson was away with work, as was their top wingman Jimmy Stephens, and I think Groves & Mayne coulda been also. The Tige's sole ruckman Dougie Aldous suffered a busted hand, had it operated on meaning poor Tom Butterworth's gunna be run into the ground over the next 5-6 weeks.
Is the Groves you speak of the same one that played at Avenel?

Just wondering if there where ne vt boys in the interleague squad? and how does the kdfl think it will go against the pdfl?