KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

I don't expect there will be too many clubs voting to keep Yea in the KD. Hopefully YVMDFL is a better fit, cos they have really struggled since returning to the KDFL.

Making a 12 team KDFL, no bye.

Interesting to note that the Picola League has been really strict on not allowing jumper/nickname clashes with its latest inclusions. What are the ideas behind letting 3 teams participate as the Lions and 2 teams as the Tigers. Good to keep their names I suppose.

It would be good if we did have a 12 team league, (with a Top 5), and you're right, there would be a few clubs that would be glad in not having to travel to Yea next season, but whatever Yea decide to do, I wish them the best of luck next season, wherever they end up.

As far as Nickname/Jumper clashes go, I'm surprised that the league has been so lax in this regard, because I think it's silly to allow 3 teams to be called "The Lions" and two teams to be called "The Tigers" in a 13 team competition, considering that the PDFL's bigger and doesn't seem to have this problem, even though those nicknames are the best ones around.

And also, Stanhope should at least be forced to wear gold or white shorts, to lessen the awful jumper clash between them and Undera, (Undera should also be forced to wear Blue shorts instead of Maroon, to look more like Fitzroy), Violet Town should just stay as they are, because the Red in their jumper doesn't clash much with anyone, even Undera.

Also Murchison & Lancaster clashe as well since we moved from Emerald Green to Forest Green (I think that we should go back to wearing a Green jumper with a Gold MFC Monogram, that would look really good, and different to all the other clubs).

And another thing, what's Jerilderie going to wear when they're in the PDFL next season ?.

Thought I'd get the topic off Pez and give a review of the Rushy v Merrigum game, in which we only won by 5 goals, but given our situation, needed to boost our % and win by heaps more than that.. We were disappointing, but full credit to the dogs - they kicked 2 quick goals against the wind, which really got them fired up, they rotated well through the mid-field, matched up our forwards really well and had a crack all day.. They also kicked their highest score for the year, and no doubt there's gotta be question marks on our abilty to put away sides we're supposed to "kill", given that we only beat Murch by 4 points 1st round, lost to Yea, and only just got over Merrigum.

Now, even though we currently sit in 5th, we have to win the next 2 games (against Undera and Tally) to make the finals, coz undera have Yea last round, and, IF we get over Undera, but lose to Tally, Undera would only need to beat Yea by 10 goals or so to beat our % (which is why it was important that we won by more on Sat).. Should be a good one this week, though I imagine Undera would go in as warm favourites now..

Well regardless of what happens now, that loss to Yea has really thrown a spanner in the works as far as the finals are concerned.

Qualifying @ Stanhope
Elimination @ VT

Semis @ Tally & Rushy (i think)

Prelim @ Merrigum

Granny @ Mooroopna

I know that I'm biased, but I think that it's a disgrace that Rushworth (ordinary ground, with rooms that are miles away from the fence), Violet Town (great facilities, but little to no parking) and Merrigum (No parking, with an average ground & facilities) get to host finals, and the ground with the best surface in the league with plenty of Parking and gradually improving facilities in Murchison won't be used until the start of the Cricket Season in Mid October.

I know why they do it (to spread the finals around the league), but this is the worst list of finals locations I've read in ages (It's almost just as bad as having DVFL Grand Finals held at North Heidelberg, which to those who are unfamiliar to that area, is the old run down Melbourne Olympic Village from 1956).

Despite everything bad I said about having the Grand Final at Mooroopna, I think that the likes of Lancaster, Undera & Murchison still should have got the chance to host finals considering that these grounds have a good track record in hosting big events.

Anyway, at least this means that we can prepare the wicket a lot sooner than most years in preparation for season 2007/08.

I know that I'm biased, but I think that it's a disgrace that Rushworth (ordinary ground, with rooms that are miles away from the fence), Violet Town (great facilities, but little to no parking) and Merrigum (No parking, with an average ground & facilities) get to host finals, and the ground with the best surface in the league with plenty of Parking and gradually improving facilities in Murchison won't be used until the start of the Cricket Season in Mid October.

I know why they do it (to spread the finals around the league), but this is the worst list of finals locations I've read in ages (It's almost just as bad as having DVFL Grand Finals held at North Heidelberg, which to those who are unfamiliar to that area, is the old run down Melbourne Olympic Village from 1956).

Despite everything bad I said about having the Grand Final at Mooroopna, I think that the likes of Lancaster, Undera & Murchison still should have got the chance to host finals considering that these grounds have a good track record in hosting big events.

Anyway, at least this means that we can prepare the wicket a lot sooner than most years in preparation for season 2007/08.

Isn't Violet Town one of the few, if not the only ground in the league with seating completely around the ground, which gives everyone a fair go, not just the ones that get there early to park on the fence and not let anyone else in. Plus they did host the Central Goulburn league grand final a couple of years ago.

Well now lets see , big fat perry has 93 goals , a bye this week and and then playing stanhope in the last , wouldnt it be great to see him miss his 100 or get stuck on 99 ,
are you jealous that you cant do what perry done for him self in football wake up to your self w***er:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Isn't Violet Town one of the few, if not the only ground in the league with seating completely around the ground, which gives everyone a fair go, not just the ones that get there early to park on the fence and not let anyone else in. Plus they did host the Central Goulburn league grand final a couple of years ago.

Theres plenty of parking inbetween the netball rooms and social rooms and along either side of the fence line and as sparra said about the seating i don't see many grounds with seats right around the ground.....
Also you gotta give other clubs a chance at hosting finals and i think good on the league for sharing it around. Next year it will probably go to a different spread of clubs once again and thats the way it should be i believe.... regardless of ground surface which as Wayde said i agree that the likes of us and Rushy don't have great grounds but at our standard we all have to play on them.

Well done to N.44 from Ardy, got 4th best for the Ardy twos today and see there ones lost so he may get his chance back in the ones next week, he is really making them people eat their words still.;)

How is TONGALA goin compared to ARDMONA hank. We got the bye ********. An there a reason why i playin 2's an it personal so if you want to talk about it you can talk to my fists cos i am sick of all your anti ardmona shit fool. Tally played well to beat ARDMONA congrats to tally you loose some you win some but you live to fight another day

Great article in the Age, Keep up the Honesty.
I heard an interesting story over the weekend from a reliable source. A KDL league official compiled an email that stated VCFL clauses and also KDFL clauses, that allow the league to strip any club of premiership points, from the date that league fees were due to be paid, to when that club finally coughs up the dough. He sent it to all league officials to check out for feed back before he sent it further to all clubs and the VCFL, But all officials then recieved an email off league president Sev Cortese, stating that the Ardmona football club has been through enough lately, so he has pulled up stumps on the email and comments going any further.
Obviously Ardy havent paid any money to the league again, and most officials are interested in seeing someone made an example of, But not big Sev.
A vote of no confidence in this clown by officials and club delegates might not be far away. We can only hope.
Weak as piss.

Theres plenty of parking inbetween the netball rooms and social rooms and along either side of the fence line and as sparra said about the seating i don't see many grounds with seats right around the ground.....
Also you gotta give other clubs a chance at hosting finals and i think good on the league for sharing it around. Next year it will probably go to a different spread of clubs once again and thats the way it should be i believe.... regardless of ground surface which as Wayde said i agree that the likes of us and Rushy don't have great grounds but at our standard we all have to play on them.
Violet Town has good enough facilities along with Tally. Merrigum is a good central location as well (not great facilities to change though). But i will be buggered how Rushy get a final. The ground is filth, and the facilities (change rooms) are absolute rubbish. I could clear a few trees and lob a tent out the state park and get a better facility then Rushy.

How is TONGALA goin compared to ARDMONA hank. We got the bye ********. An there a reason why i playin 2's an it personal so if you want to talk about it you can talk to my fists cos i am sick of all your anti ardmona shit fool. Tally played well to beat ARDMONA congrats to tally you loose some you win some but you live to fight another day

captain catdog, tonny would beat the merry peka **** sucking clan any day of the week, old mate. good to see ya got good form in the 2's keep up the good work.:thumbsu:

I didnt actually think you were No.44, because the way you were talking him up sounded like you were his No.1 fan. I had to check the program to see who the gun was.

Hey did anyone see the artical on the back of the Sport in THE AGE, some bloke watched the Tally Ardy game, the artical says that Ardy are a disgrace, that they are lead by a hitman Perry Meka and that they all just run around sniping, and it is the worst culture he has seen in ten years, calls the ardy fans ferals and so on. interesting read.

I haven't said anything about Ardmona, just having a crack at u buddy, as you're the one talking yourself up. Tongala's future is looking bright and everything is going along well. Interesting how it always ends in fists with you. All the best with finding that FOOTBALLING ability come last game v Stanhope and finals to show all the people who have been bagging you how good you are:thumbsu:

Hey did anyone see the artical on the back of the Sport in THE AGE, some bloke watched the Tally Ardy game, the artical says that Ardy are a disgrace, that they are lead by a hitman Perry Meka and that they all just run around sniping, and it is the worst culture he has seen in ten years, calls the ardy fans ferals and so on. interesting read.

Didn't actually call the supporters "feral", just that they "have the biggest chip on their shoulders that he has seen in ten years of following country football". He did, however, call the Ardmona footy club the "Goulburn Valley's two bit thugs". This was priceless journalism. Can't wait to see the response from Sev and all the Ardy posters.

Man what a great article, I do think two bit thugs is over rating them though.:)

I haven't said anything about Ardmona, just having a crack at u buddy, as you're the one talking yourself up. Tongala's future is looking bright and everything is going along well. Interesting how it always ends in fists with you. All the best with finding that FOOTBALLING ability come last game v Stanhope and finals to show all the people who have been bagging you how good you are:thumbsu:

Surprise surprise a Ardmona person wanting to resort to fighting go easy Hank a big bastard like you might hurt someone haha go tonny

haha, yeah actually might be in the same weight division, he is a stick like me, although I would have to watch the kicks and headbuts(the ones to the back of the head might be a bit hard to dodge!).

Well the truth hurts, and if the league had any balls (like what the Heathcote League had when they brought Broadford to heel for their obnoxious behaviour, by kicking them out for a while, before letting them back in ON THEIR TERMS, and when was the last time you heard a horror story coming from Broadford), we wouldn't have this problem, BECAUSE THERE IS A PRECEDENT THAT'S BEEN SET, and the worst thing is that the league is run well by good people, but sadly, as the old saying goes, bad things happen when good people DO NOTHING.

The sad thing about that whole Broadford beat up is that it was driven by a local Strath Creek resident who tried and tried for the 4 years I worked at the Kilmore paper to get bad publicity printed by me about the club I grew up at. It appears this old fella's son (in his mid 30s) played at LBU and got hurt in a game against the Roos.

When I asked him to pen his thoughts and that Id be happy to whack his name to it in a letter to the editor type spiel he back pedalled, all the way to the phone and rang the Herald-Sun. All of a sudden Broadford is the worst club in Australia, couldnt be any further from the truth.

Tough? no way, all I see these days is white boots, fancy hair doos and a que to the mirror after the game.

They portrayed the trouble to be the Vigilantes Bike Club, had a picture of a bearded chap standing behind Adrian Baker in the paper. Little did they know it was in fact a Colbo bloke, when told they ran with it anyway to get the reaction they were after - wasn't fair on the Vigilantes who were fantastic supporters, never once was there trouble and 2-3 isolated onfield incidents set the BFNC back a few years.

It hurt to be a local although I was at Yea thru that period - its still a work in progress and hopefully soon enough this perceived perception we have can be erased forever.

The power of the pen - it can either make you or break you!!!

haha, yeah actually might be in the same weight division, he is a stick like me, although I would have to watch the kicks and headbuts(the ones to the back of the head might be a bit hard to dodge!).

I just wanted to see how many people would read my quote an it looks like it worked it sucked all you fools in. i'll show u when we play stanhope i opposite to what u sayin f.uck head i dont resolve things with my fist maybe 5 year ago you all get off on baggin ARDMONA so just be very careful what u say as we have three sides lookin to make finals:cool::cool::cool::cool::cool:

The sad thing about that whole Broadford beat up is that it was driven by a local Strath Creek resident who tried and tried for the 4 years I worked at the Kilmore paper to get bad publicity printed by me about the club I grew up at. It appears this old fella's son (in his mid 30s) played at LBU and got hurt in a game against the Roos.

When I asked him to pen his thoughts and that Id be happy to whack his name to it in a letter to the editor type spiel he back pedalled, all the way to the phone and rang the Herald-Sun. All of a sudden Broadford is the worst club in Australia, couldnt be any further from the truth.

Tough? no way, all I see these days is white boots, fancy hair doos and a que to the mirror after the game.

They portrayed the trouble to be the Vigilantes Bike Club, had a picture of a bearded chap standing behind Adrian Baker in the paper. Little did they know it was in fact a Colbo bloke, when told they ran with it anyway to get the reaction they were after - wasn't fair on the Vigilantes who were fantastic supporters, never once was there trouble and 2-3 isolated onfield incidents set the BFNC back a few years.

It hurt to be a local although I was at Yea thru that period - its still a work in progress and hopefully soon enough this perceived perception we have can be erased forever.

The power of the pen - it can either make you or break you!!!

I agree with you, although Broadford did have a few troubles,(which they seem to be slowly working at eradicating), they were nowhere near as bad as what they were portrayed by the media, but at least the HDFL did something about it before it got too bad by saying to them "Enough of this, until you keep out the idiots that are giving you a bad name, we won't let you back into the league", and although it looked bad there for a while, it seems that in the long term, that was one of the best things to ever happen to the club, and to the Heathcote League.

And really, I've never wanted to kick Ardmona out of the KDFL, I just want the likes of Sev Cortese, Greg Watson, Stuart Mann and the like, to grow a spine and put an end to this crap, and not cave in all the time.

And the way to do that is to do what the Heathcote League did in regards to Broadford, so at least it shows to everyone who's boss and who's really running the league, and remove the attitude from the Ardmona people that the league's executive is a weak, pathetic joke, that they can just rip off (and treat like a Swiss Bank Account) and walk all over at will.

Paul Daffy played in the tough Essendon League, and if he reckons that they are one of the worst he's ever seen, then they must be bad.

I'm not totally against having Violet Town host a final (and you can't do much about the surface, because of the conditions), I'm just saying, why is it that Tally seem to host a Prelim. every year, and Merrigum a Semi Final every year, and Rushworth getting a final all the time, when the likes of Girgarre and Avenel who have better grounds & facilities don't seem to host their fair share of finals (BTW, I'm all for sharing finals around, it's just the one's that they've selected that I have an issue with).

Also, I believe that Undera & Lancaster should've been given a final as compensation for being stooged in regards to the Grand Final being at Mooroopna, because they are far better places to host finals compared to what they've allocated.

I knew that Murch wouldn't get a final, that was a given, but I still believe that Lancaster & Undera have been badly done by in this issue.

A Few Of Us Ardy Boys Grew Up Playing Footy At Mooroopna, Hope We Make The Granny Just To Play On A Very Familiar Ground...AGAIN;)

I'm not totally against having Violet Town host a final (and you can't do much about the surface, because of the conditions), I'm just saying, why is it that Tally seem to host a Prelim. every year, and Merrigum a Semi Final every year, and Rushworth getting a final all the time,

If you saw the surface at Tally on the Weekend and also the new change room facilities you would understand why Tally got a final this year.

I don't know how you can call Girgarre's ground and facilities good either