KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

And Skinny absolutely gave fat a bath.
Fat dropped about 3 chest marks and missed a few goals from about 20m out straight in front.
Huge crowd there at Tally. In another feral incident involving Ardy the cops had to get called to escort the umpires off the ground. Apparently the umpires didn't get sucked in to their shit so they all went a bit feral again. Have only ever been to a couple of Ardy games and there has been cops at all of them.

why do u presume that just because the cops were there its because ardy where playing?
and also the only reason they were dirty at the umps was because they did a shit job on the ground and payed alot of frees to tally n none to ardy but that comes with back chatting the umpire.
and there are usually cops at every football game not just ardy ones mate :thumbsdown:

If that is what happened you just proved that perry is a moron.

He has no excuse to hit people for mouthing off. You cant do ti to your opponent let alone a member of the crowd.

If he cant stand the heat he should get out of the kitchen.

Typical gutless Perry.

yeah i understand were you are coming from but it was pretty gutless of the kids to be saying that to perry and not expecting to cop a slap. same goes for the kids though if you cant take it dont give it!

Specatators are allowed to yell what they like within the law.

If Perry cant stand it he shouldnt play.

Is he going to hit 5 year old as well if they slag him?

It is beyond belief.

Gday boys been awhile since lve been on here and l guess there is still no love for merry peka looks as though he is still hitting kids and talking shit to get out of it,and apart from the usual Ardmona crap sounds like its been a good year in the kdfl

we should all be ashamed of ourselves for victimising poor perry. Clearly his actions were in self defence as there was no way he could avoid the menacing teenager.
I feel for the bloke.
his reputation has been dragged through the mud and all he did was clip a 16 yo kid.
i mean what's next? soon you won't be able to bash women!

by the way here's a translation for our ardmona poster's
victimising = pickin on
menacing = arkin up
women = bitches
:thumbsu:

I don't expect there will be too many clubs voting to keep Yea in the KD. Hopefully YVMDFL is a better fit, cos they have really struggled since returning to the KDFL.

Making a 12 team KDFL, no bye.

Interesting to note that the Picola League has been really strict on not allowing jumper/nickname clashes with its latest inclusions. What are the ideas behind letting 3 teams participate as the Lions and 2 teams as the Tigers. Good to keep their names I suppose.

Well now lets see , big fat perry has 93 goals , a bye this week and and then playing stanhope in the last , wouldnt it be great to see him miss his 100 or get stuck on 99 ,

jealous thats all it sounds like.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

get of his back not his fault the tribunal did the backflip, give the man a break, if he was smart enough to talk the tribunal or appeals board into changing there decision good luck to him:D:D:D:D

I don't expect there will be too many clubs voting to keep Yea in the KD. Hopefully YVMDFL is a better fit, cos they have really struggled since returning to the KDFL.

Bit harsh on the old Tiges their iwantanotherflag, lost the 1st semi to lancy last season after competing in 7-8 straight finals series - clubs will always have a down period after such a good run as opportunities and new challenges present elsewhere. The YVMFL will cater to those young players lost this year as Yea will be the furtherest trip out of Melbourne and every second week they'll meet these youngsters at Uni or doing trades half way.

Unsure of the uniforms down there but may also see the return of the mighty "Yellow & Black" . . . . oh we're from Tigerland!!!

jealous thats all it sounds like.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

get of his back not his fault the tribunal did the backflip, give the man a break, if he was smart enough to talk the tribunal or appeals board into changing there decision good luck to him:D:D:D:D

A smart man would not have put himself in this position in the first place

Heading (no Pun) down to the banks of the Honey Suckle this week end watch a bit of KDFL. Spots on the ladder of the 2 teams reflects a good game. Anyone care to give us a match preveiw? Looking forward to catching up with a few past ledgends.

why do u presume that just because the cops were there its because ardy where playing?
and also the only reason they were dirty at the umps was because they did a shit job on the ground and payed alot of frees to tally n none to ardy but that comes with back chatting the umpire.
and there are usually cops at every football game not just ardy ones mate :thumbsdown:

First time I've seen cops at a Tally game all year. Maybe you just think they go to every game coz you are always at Ardy games.

You just contradicted yourself too by saying the umpires were shit and then saying that Ardy were mouthing off all day. What do you expect??

Ardmona, its juices flowing, deserves a good canning
Paul Daffey | August 14, 2007

AS A journalist who writes about local footy, I go to many games. Usually, I find myself supporting one team over the other. But never have I barracked as hard as I did for the home team in the Tallygaroopna-Ardmona match last Saturday.
Ardmona played like two-bit thugs. When the final siren signalled victory to Tallygaroopna by four goals, I was among those whose roar of approval could be heard across the Goulburn Valley.
The match was between the teams ranked fourth and second in the Kyabram District Football League. During the function at half-time, a league official was spruiking the decision to play this year's grand final at the ground of a Goulburn Valley league club, Mooroopna, in the hope of attracting more spectators.
But from what I saw on Saturday, Kyabram league officials should be hoping that people stay at home if Ardmona, the premier, makes the grand final.
An air of malice hung over the ground. Whenever there was a contest, I braced myself in anticipation of a cheap shot. More often than not, a Tallygaroopna player emerged from the contest holding his head.
The villain in the crowd's eyes was Perry Meka, the full-forward who has kicked almost 2500 goals in country footy, including a good number with Ardmona. Meka was playing his first game after serving a two-match suspension — reduced from six games on appeal — for belting an Avenel supporter after a recent match.
Whenever the 40-year-old dropped a chest mark or missed a goal from close range, which, uncharacteristically, was often, he was hooted. His performance suggested that the uproar over his appeal had shaken him. Apart from the odd histrionic appeal for a free kick, Meka went out of his way to be a good citizen.
But spectators continued to jeer him because they regard him as responsible for Ardmona's lamentable culture. Meka was playing-coach when the Cats acquired a reputation for what euphemistically might be called combativeness.
The club has its share of outsiders — Meka is a Muslim of Albanian descent, while there are a handful of Aboriginal players — but, if Saturday is any guide, the club has the biggest chip on its shoulder that I've seen in a decade of covering local footy.
After four quarters of exhilarating football mixed in with sniping, the worst moment came late in the game when Tallygaroopna's playing-coach Robert Osborne took a towering grab on the edge of the goal square. An Ardmona defender rode him into the ground before cuffing him over the ears. A brawl, of course, ensued.
After the match, two police stood near the umpires' rooms, defusing a volatile situation with their presence.
In the Tallygaroopna rooms, Redlegs president Dennis Patterson was beside himself with glee at his club's stirring victory over such a hated rival.
The feeling in the Tallygaroopna rooms was as happy as I could remember.
It was the circumstances that made it such a good win that were sad.

Heading (no Pun) down to the banks of the Honey Suckle this week end watch a bit of KDFL. Spots on the ladder of the 2 teams reflects a good game. Anyone care to give us a match preveiw? Looking forward to catching up with a few past ledgends.

i thought u were taking the piss, but then i went to the kdfl website and it says we play stanhope, thats wrong head, we play murch, so its really 2nd v 12th, not as good as the game u thought was happening... should be a good nite, think most of the old fellas r heading back for it.. the pezzas said macca is coming all the way down, now thts a real towner for ya. true committment.

Yeah i was stunned to see the article on the back page of The Age sport section today. I often log on here and all i read is abuse and Ardmona hate mail. Its a real slur on the KDFL to get that sort of coverage for such a disapointing article. Very interesting, obviously a passionate topic for a lot of people.

Very interesting to see this coming from a complete outsider from the League.

I like Paul Daffey. He's written some really good books and articles about country footy. That article didn't seem to live up to the headline. He didn't really give them a massive spray.

Well the truth hurts, and if the league had any balls (like what the Heathcote League had when they brought Broadford to heel for their obnoxious behaviour, by kicking them out for a while, before letting them back in ON THEIR TERMS, and when was the last time you heard a horror story coming from Broadford), we wouldn't have this problem, BECAUSE THERE IS A PRECEDENT THAT'S BEEN SET, and the worst thing is that the league is run well by good people, but sadly, as the old saying goes, bad things happen when good people DO NOTHING.

Paul Daffy is a good journalist and a good man (I've actually met him, and he is very insightful when it comes to local football), and I have two of his books on local football at home, and his articles are well written and researched (there's another bloke called Adam McNichol, who writes for the Age on country football who's also a great story teller), and I highly reccomend his work.

I think that it's wonderful that the truth comes out from such a distinguished newspaper like The Age, and not the dreck that comes from the Herald Sun, (especially when it came to the Ardmona incident against Avenel), which was one sided, inaccurate and disgracefully portrayed a negative picture of a decent club (Avenel) made up of decent people.

Thought I'd get the topic off Pez and give a review of the Rushy v Merrigum game, in which we only won by 5 goals, but given our situation, needed to boost our % and win by heaps more than that.. We were disappointing, but full credit to the dogs - they kicked 2 quick goals against the wind, which really got them fired up, they rotated well through the mid-field, matched up our forwards really well and had a crack all day.. They also kicked their highest score for the year, and no doubt there's gotta be question marks on our abilty to put away sides we're supposed to "kill", given that we only beat Murch by 4 points 1st round, lost to Yea, and only just got over Merrigum.

Now, even though we currently sit in 5th, we have to win the next 2 games (against Undera and Tally) to make the finals, coz undera have Yea last round, and, IF we get over Undera, but lose to Tally, Undera would only need to beat Yea by 10 goals or so to beat our % (which is why it was important that we won by more on Sat).. Should be a good one this week, though I imagine Undera would go in as warm favourites now..