KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

a legend of our game deserves to be shown more respect,weak scumbags behind the goals potting him every week. enough is enough. weak c**** like yourselves on big footy. real tough behind a computer screen.

i have been to hundreds of his game and he cops nothing but abuse every game.

you are all redneck racists. go have another beer and a pie you bocco ******s.

ill leave you with this, how would you feel copping this abuse week in weekout??
Look Nick, perry is pathetic! any man that touches a kid under the age of 17 needs to have a good hard look in the mirror and see were their heading in life! Surely a man of his age and maturity can rise above a few childish comments made by young key word YOUNG children.
They whole Ardmona situation is a joke!

Weak effort by Perry, has always been a cat though. Back in his GV day's I remember him ducking the head constantly. Clearly lacks any integrity or courage and should be rubbed out for the remainder of the year to set an example.

Coping $hit from beyond the fence is no excuse. He is a grown man (possibly 2 men) and should be able to ignore insults after 25 years in the game. Imagine the consequences if an AFL player had a crack at a kid after being taunted..:eek: Primary school stuff from the fat man:thumbsdown:

Good to see the Big Fella Robby Harris of the Shepp News has got the key match ups right again this week.
Could be a very interesting duel at the bar.

Harris is a moron Horey1. You should just email him the info everyweek instead

He's a pretty good bloke actually. Just needs to get his facts right when it comes to the so called minor leagues. Unfortunately that seems to be how our league is viewed by the media. Minor.

The whole pregame write up for the VT, Tally game was about 5 words long.

It comes as no surprise that Meka is at it again.
Last week against Lancaster I watched him carry on for twenty minutes abusing a goal umpire (after the umpire adjudicated that Meka had taken a second bite at the footy over the goal line as he tried to mark), telling him he'd meet him after the game, saying things like "you piece of sh*t, that's the worst decision I've ever seen in my life...no wonder you're not umpiring GV.....you'll never umpire again, you just wait.....you f*cking fat piece of sh*t" Then whenever the ball came down he would belittle the umpire and question the umpire for all to hear. The whole time the goal umpire was telling him to get over it and just get on with the game and that he wouldn't put up with being stood over like others.
The abuse continued. more threats about what would happen after the game.
Until the goal umpire through frustration called him a 'lard head' and to get on withe the game. This gave Perry an 'out', from then on he whinged to the central umpires that he had been abused by the goal umpire and that he was going to make an official report. We went on like a 15yr old throwing a tantrum for all the spectators to see and hear. At this point a Lancaster supporter near me yelled out "You're a w***er Perry", so he then walked over to the fence and threatened the spectators in that group. Then, one of his 'mates' came around and stood very close to that group of spectator's, no doubt ready to rough any one up who made mention of Perry's childish performance on the ground.
Sadly as we all know the central umpires as always are too gutless to do anything and just speak softly to Meka and try to persuade him to settle down.
It happens week after week.
He is a product of the league and the umpires inability to take control of a situation. Any player that carried on like that and wasn't named Perry Meka wouldn't be treated with kiddie gloves, they'd be sent off the ground and reported for bringing the game into disrepute or something similar. It shouldn't be tolerated.
The league and umpires reluctance to do anything about these situations is a joke and always has been.

Similarly, Lancaster hosted Stanhope on the weekend. The game was played in good spirits for the most part. Lancaster sticking with the league leaders for the majority of the game before being blown away in the last.
However one player should hang his head in shame.
Deliberately gouging his fingers into players faces at the bottom of packs. Players going for the ball. Not once but twice.
In the rooms after the game one of Lancasters players had scratches on his neck and face and a black eye all from what he said(and other players saw) was his opponents fingers and hands.
This is a despicable act. Lower than low.

I've hear you post on here quite regularly and will be reading this.
Injuries will cause many players to give the game up over time, but most can be pushed to the side and a normal life can continue after a footy career is done. But losing your sight is a completely different circumstance that will be carried through the rest of the victims life.
What you're doing is a disgusting and terrible attempt to get one up on your opponent. This is KDL footy, and not worth losing your sight over.
What do you get out of it? Whats the point of digging your fingers into the oppositions face when you're winning the game and on top of the ladder?
Do you realise how dangerous it is?
If you'd succeeded in damaging these players eyes and sight would you be happy with that on your conscience?

Time to have a think about it.

He's a pretty good bloke actually. Just needs to get his facts right when it comes to the so called minor leagues. Unfortunately that seems to be how our league is viewed by the media. Minor.

The whole pregame write up for the VT, Tally game was about 5 words long.

The shepp news could do a lot better Job for the KDFL, PDFL, MFL and BDFL. They have great coverage for the GVFL. For example i would of thought yea would of got a bigger write up after beating Rushy who would of been favourites in there game.

It comes as no surprise that Meka is at it again.
Last week against Lancaster I watched him carry on for twenty minutes abusing a goal umpire (after the umpire adjudicated that Meka had taken a second bite at the footy over the goal line as he tried to mark), telling him he'd meet him after the game, saying things like "you piece of sh*t, that's the worst decision I've ever seen in my life...no wonder you're not umpiring GV.....you'll never umpire again, you just wait.....you f*cking fat piece of sh*t" Then whenever the ball came down he would belittle the umpire and question the umpire for all to hear. The whole time the goal umpire was telling him to get over it and just get on with the game and that he wouldn't put up with being stood over like others.
The abuse continued. more threats about what would happen after the game.
Until the goal umpire through frustration called him a 'lard head' and to get on withe the game. This gave Perry an 'out', from then on he whinged to the central umpires that he had been abused by the goal umpire and that he was going to make an official report. We went on like a 15yr old throwing a tantrum for all the spectators to see and hear. At this point a Lancaster supporter near me yelled out "You're a w***er Perry", so he then walked over to the fence and threatened the spectators in that group. Then, one of his 'mates' came around and stood very close to that group of spectator's, no doubt ready to rough any one up who made mention of Perry's childish performance on the ground.
Sadly as we all know the central umpires as always are too gutless to do anything and just speak softly to Meka and try to persuade him to settle down.
It happens week after week.
He is a product of the league and the umpires inability to take control of a situation. Any player that carried on like that and wasn't named Perry Meka wouldn't be treated with kiddie gloves, they'd be sent off the ground and reported for bringing the game into disrepute or something similar. It shouldn't be tolerated.
The league and umpires reluctance to do anything about these situations is a joke and always has been.

Similarly, Lancaster hosted Stanhope on the weekend. The game was played in good spirits for the most part. Lancaster sticking with the league leaders for the majority of the game before being blown away in the last.
Deliberately gouging his fingers into players faces at the bottom of packs. Players going for the ball. Not once but twice.
In the rooms after the game one of Lancasters players had scratches on his neck and face and a black eye all from what he said(and other players saw) was his opponents fingers and hands.

I've hear you post on here quite regularly and will be reading this.
Injuries will cause many players to give the game up over time, but most can be pushed to the side and a normal life can continue after a footy career is done. But losing your sight is a completely different circumstance that will be carried through the rest of the victims life.
What you're doing is a disgusting and terrible attempt to get one up on your opponent. This is KDL footy, and not worth losing your sight over.
What do you get out of it? Whats the point of digging your fingers into the oppositions face when you're winning the game and on top of the ladder?
Do you realise how dangerous it is?
If you'd succeeded in damaging these players eyes and sight would you be happy with that on your conscience?

Time to have a think about it.

On The Money with that one mate, well said.
Hope all is well for the bloke ya talking about.
Will have to watch him when we play them next week, he might get some of his own back.

The shepp news could do a lot better Job for the KDFL, PDFL, MFL and BDFL. They have great coverage for the GVFL. For example i would of thought yea would of got a bigger write up after beating Rushy who would of been favourites in there game.

The truth is much the same as any pecking order GVFL is the best local footy going around in the area therefor it will always get the most coverage, be it in the news paper or on the TV, its just the way it is,
Im sure that where all the other teams come from, their local paper covers them quite well, like you have said about the yea and rushy game, i bet they got the coverage in their local paper, but being The Shepp News to be honest i bet most the people in Shepparton wouldnt care about yea or rushy and why would they really

In regards to the posted comments there was never any intent to cause anyone a serious injury or touch there eyes which DIDN'T HAPPEN.

The incident you are talking about lasted for all of about 2 seconds when I grabbed a player by the mouth and was dragged off immediately after. I had been involved in a wrestle with the player earlier and we were having an ongoing battle. These actions to grab him in the first place were over the top and something I will have to address but not something that is a common occurance as up until saturday had never been reported in 130 odd games of senior footy.
Regards.

Just to weigh into the Shepp news coverage it seems to have dropped away again this season obviously the advertising dollar is what keeps them going but they need to have a decent product too.

The truth is much the same as any pecking order GVFL is the best local footy going around in the area therefor it will always get the most coverage, be it in the news paper or on the TV, its just the way it is,
Im sure that where all the other teams come from, their local paper covers them quite well, like you have said about the yea and rushy game, i bet they got the coverage in their local paper, but being The Shepp News to be honest i bet most the people in Shepparton wouldnt care about yea or rushy and why would they really
Bit of a low blow there to Yea and Rushy skillz. I'm not sure if you know this skillz, the Shepp News is sold in other towns other then Shepparton.

Was at that game, and the boy had a couple of brain implosions, but i certainly question the eye gouge accusation. The player in question likes to make himself noticed, but being a mongrel is not part of his make up, and he is one of those rare commodoties - a bloody good clubman who will do anything to help. He himself will be dissapointed with his little spurts of stupidity, but he did not gouge. I know how serious eye gouging is as i suffered a detached retina a few years ago from it, just happened to be against Lanky.

In regards to the posted comments there was never any intent to cause anyone a serious injury or touch there eyes which DIDN'T HAPPEN.

The incident you are talking about lasted for all of about 2 seconds when I grabbed a player by the mouth and was dragged off immediately after. I had been involved in a wrestle with the player earlier and we were having an ongoing battle. These actions to grab him in the first place were over the top and something I will have to address but not something that is a common occurance as up until saturday had never been reported in 130 odd games of senior footy.
Regards.
Not talking about that incident. Talking about the one where the ball was on the ground, your oponent went in to get it and you followed him into the pack with eyes only for his face. Michael Orr and others saw you do this and remonstrated immediately as a small fight started because of this. This incident happened after you'd already grabbed at his face earlier in the game while the ball was in the middle of the ground.
You say you didn't intend to do anything to his face, then what were your hands doing there? At half time his face was visibly red and irritated.
You may not have been reported for 130 games but that's most probably luck and the poor standard of umpiring more than anything else from what I've seen.
At least you realise the severity of your actions. It might be time to pull the head in.
The last thing Stanhope want this year is more Karma coming back to bite them in the arse come finals time.

Not talking about that incident. Talking about the one where the ball was on the ground, your oponent went in to get it and you followed him into the pack with eyes only for his face. Michael Orr and others saw you do this and remonstrated immediately as a small fight started because of this. This incident happened after you'd already grabbed at his face earlier in the game while the ball was in the middle of the ground.
You say you didn't intend to do anything to his face, then what were your hands doing there? At half time his face was visibly red and irritated.
You may not have been reported for 130 games but that's most probably luck and the poor standard of umpiring more than anything else from what I've seen.
At least you realise the severity of your actions. It might be time to pull the head in.
The last thing Stanhope want this year is more Karma coming back to bite them in the arse come finals time.

I have only been involved in a couple of games against OTM, this year and 2002 and definitely there was never any issue in the way he played the game in those encounters. Perhaps given a long playing history the benefit of the doubt can be given. People do grab each high and possibly contact with the eye was accidental. We lost one of our players just after half time against Avenel in a tackle that went into the eye and there were never any thoughts on our side that it was intentional.

I do agree with other sentiments in regards to what may have happened in the Avenel and Ardy game and control of games in general. If an umpire sees something cowardly done, they should act immediately and early. It is a mans game, but it should be an honourable game and an enjoyable hobby. Players should be able to go out and expect hard tackling and sometimes a bit of push and shove, but sniping and full on round arms should be dealt with. Unfortunately it always seems to be the players and teams that retaliate that get punished.

how can he play in a legends game when he is a kid basher...i went to a vt vs Ardmona game last year at vt and the boys behind the goals were sayin something to him and he came up to the fence and tryed to hit them.... he is a pig shouldnt be in the KDFL.......and yes sev should do something about it....

Maybe someone who has a copy of the video of the incident should send a copy to Brian Taylor or Gary Lyon. I am sure either of these blokes would be sure to reveal the true character or lack of it of the man.

Haven't re-subscribed to the Shepp News online yet lads, can anyone post match reports etc from the Swans/Ardy game sounds like it may be worth a read

Actions are under scrutiny

Prolific Ardmona goalkicker Perry Meka could be at the centre of a two-way Kyabram District Football League investigation after an altercation following the final siren on Saturday.
Ardmona and Avenel yesterday confirmed they had contacted the league seeking an inquiry into the circumstances surrounding an incident between Meka and two spectators.
It is alleged Meka was involved in a confrontation with two teenagers on the field following the Cats' 73-point victory.
The league yesterday confirmed Ardmona had requested an official investigation into the behaviour of members of the crowd during the day, claiming Meka had been subjected to abuse and that some of the crowd had been intoxicated.
Avenel president Martin White said his club would seek an investigation into the behaviour of Meka following the final siren and rejected the premise its supporters were intoxicated or racially vilified Meka.
"We will write to the league requesting an investigation and that's really where it's at," White said.
"It wasn't a comfortable situation following the match, but we think there is a case to be heard and we'll request that the league takes some action."
Meka yesterday welcomed any investigation the league would hold as he was confident it would clear him of any wrongdoing.
He said he had been subjected to abuse through the day and following the final siren by spectators and vehemently denied he had become involved in a physical altercation following the match.
"I'm pretty confident I'm not the one who's done anything wrong and really it's us (Ardmona) who have asked the league to look into it," Meka said.
Nagambie police said yesterday officers were present at the game and statements had been attained from the two alleged victims, but neither had made a formal complaint.
Meka was not interviewed and no charges would be laid, police said.
League president Sev Cortese - who was present at the match - said he had left following the final siren and had not witnessed any altercation, but was made aware of the situation following the game.

Seems we have all been a bit naughty - page 304 (from last night) has been removed. It was good reading, too. Time to settle down and let the enquiries take their course.

How do i get rid of the "newbie" tag?

Seems we have all been a bit naughty - page 304 has been removed. It was good reading, too. Time to settle down and let the enquiries take their course.

How do i get rid of the "newbie" tag?

Why do you reckon it got removed. Do we think the metro media got hold of it - the footy show would have a field day with all this.

You gotta just keep posting forty one, forget how many posts you need to get rid of the newbie tag

Bit of a low blow there to Yea and Rushy skillz. I'm not sure if you know this skillz, the Shepp News is sold in other towns other then Shepparton.

i know its sold in other towns but my point i was trying to make was that the other towns also have their own newspaper that covers them aswell, and i wasnt picking on yea and rushy they were just the 2 teams that were spoken about in the previos post

Actions are under scrutiny

Prolific Ardmona goalkicker Perry Meka could be at the centre of a two-way Kyabram District Football League investigation after an altercation following the final siren on Saturday.
Ardmona and Avenel yesterday confirmed they had contacted the league seeking an inquiry into the circumstances surrounding an incident between Meka and two spectators.
It is alleged Meka was involved in a confrontation with two teenagers on the field following the Cats' 73-point victory.
The league yesterday confirmed Ardmona had requested an official investigation into the behaviour of members of the crowd during the day, claiming Meka had been subjected to abuse and that some of the crowd had been intoxicated.
Avenel president Martin White said his club would seek an investigation into the behaviour of Meka following the final siren and rejected the premise its supporters were intoxicated or racially vilified Meka.
"We will write to the league requesting an investigation and that's really where it's at," White said.
"It wasn't a comfortable situation following the match, but we think there is a case to be heard and we'll request that the league takes some action."
Meka yesterday welcomed any investigation the league would hold as he was confident it would clear him of any wrongdoing.
He said he had been subjected to abuse through the day and following the final siren by spectators and vehemently denied he had become involved in a physical altercation following the match."I'm pretty confident I'm not the one who's done anything wrong and really it's us (Ardmona) who have asked the league to look into it," Meka said.
Nagambie police said yesterday officers were present at the game and statements had been attained from the two alleged victims, but neither had made a formal complaint.
Meka was not interviewed and no charges would be laid, police said.
League president Sev Cortese - who was present at the match - said he had left following the final siren and had not witnessed any altercation, but was made aware of the situation following the game.

"Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will never hurt me" Is he that insensitive, we are talking about teenage kids for Christ sake and if it's abuse about football ability or the condition you present yourself in to compete well it's fair game we've all copped that over the years. . . . . for an experienced man in his 40's must be very easy to suck in, or is it all part of the show?

Peka head meka is a fool , of course he gets sucked in , and he will always try and use the racial villa as an excuse , how many times can he get away with thsi stunt , surely all the others teams if need be could get something done about this if the league wont
hes a fool and everyone knows it