KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Ran into a guy on the weekend who lives in Adelaide and plays for a team Aldinga Sharks? I think. He used to play there with a guy who came from a local KDL club, Lancaster? This bloke apperantly beleives he was the best full back of the 90's and was the only guy who could hold Gavin Excell close to goaless. Goes by the name of Ice Pick!!!
Any one no this apparent super star???

You should know Barty - he's your cousin isn't he? You would have played with him at Lancaster and didn't you even live with him for a while? A pretty dumb way to try to make yourself look smart mate:rolleyes:

The dumbest thing about it is Flamin Homer and Michael Dudikoff are the same person. You don't look that smart at all Barty when you quote your own quotes.:eek:

If your going to accuse someone of being someone else at least get your facts right Tommy, Yes I am happy to admit I'm Flamin Homer. But can gaurantee I am Not Michael Dudikoff.
And to Dudikoff, I found out 2 days ago Tom was Ice Pick, just wanted everyone else to no on this forum, could have just come out and said, but wheres the fun in that.

I wonder if Ice Pick will keep writing now we no who you are, I tip NO as most of your posts are just takin cheap shots at people or clubs. Just ask Gav Canute.:thumbsdown:

Keep on Truckin!

Can anyone tell me how Murchison is going for numbers, I read today they have entered the Gig night series, but looking at all the departing players in the league transfers, there wouldnt be many left to play.

how did rob saker go i herd it was his 21st but ice man 49 rated him a smokey for the b&f in the league.... did he match up to the expectation or did he let himself go to much on sat night??

God_5 Robby 'The human highlight' machine Saker kicked a ripper goal in the 3rd quarter on sunday following his form from the early hours of sunday morning where he kicked a ripper goal on the way home after his party.....where he managed to snag one from the boundary luring a young lass into the kindergarten facilities for a quick round of arse slapping...:thumbsu:
He was well congratulated before the game sunday n as a true champion would he backed it up on the field!!

How is tally going along this year? i no they have picked up well, but have they lost anyone along the way?

heard a couple of ineresting things around the traps fellas. the first is that the vcfl has issued a directive to all leagues fo fall in line with the afl in regards to the length of quarters, thus taking the length of seniors games down from 25 minutes plus time on to 20 minutes plus time on. i reckon this is a great thing, coz as it was last year with only 3 on the bench was a bit much on the players IMHO.
the other thing i heard was that murchison has put in a notice of motion to be tabled at the next KDFL meeting to have the 2nds games reduced to 16 a side on the field, ie. the same as the thirds. i think that there will be a couple of sides that will probably support them here, such as nagambie and maybe yea. i hope it doesnt happen, but thats just me.

Gig night series starts on monday night.
We got Rushy first up. You playing Tav?
I'm not sure how they are travelling but we'll be playing a couple of thirds I'd think as a few blokes from Bendigo and Melbourne will be unavailable. Will be good to have a decent run, I need it.

heard a couple of ineresting things around the traps fellas. the first is that the vcfl has issued a directive to all leagues fo fall in line with the afl in regards to the length of quarters, thus taking the length of seniors games down from 25 minutes plus time on to 20 minutes plus time on. i reckon this is a great thing, coz as it was last year with only 3 on the bench was a bit much on the players IMHO.
the other thing i heard was that murchison has put in a notice of motion to be tabled at the next KDFL meeting to have the 2nds games reduced to 16 a side on the field, ie. the same as the thirds. i think that there will be a couple of sides that will probably support them here, such as nagambie and maybe yea. i hope it doesnt happen, but thats just me.
The league up here runs 16 a field in the magoos and the dew kickers and it works fine they then allow 18 and 3 on bench for finals, which sometimes makes it hard on clubs with all three teams in finals. Perhaps there's an in between or a combination of the 2 conditions that would give clubs flexibillity.

That's fine re the length of quarters, but do the KDFL, GVFL etc. blow time-on for boundary throw-ins like they do in the AFL? Because years ago there was no time on for boundary throw ins for the AFL except if the ball was over the fence or a fair distance from the boundary umpire etc. Pretty sure the length of quarters is fairly similar due to that difference. ie. they are adding more time on to the 20 min quarters and net result is quarter length not much different.

Other than that 20 minute quarters are plenty anyway I reckon.

Has anyone any reports on Nagambie??? have they picked up anyone?? Tally seem to have picked up a few from United and Swans. Buggered if i know where they get all there money..... a mate of mine is heading out that way and he reckens they are throwing it about.... put it this way hes getting $250 a game and reckens thats just great... money for jam!... I think that they will be SMOKEN BIG CIGARS!!! + a bit more!! lets just hope that they don't bring in drug testing in the KDL..

Big news from VT's practice match from tonight with an easy 57 point win over Greta. Big scare in the second quarter as VT's Matt Holmes had to be strechered off the ground with a knee injury though its not thought to be serious. Personally i think its holmesy being weak. Altough VT was not at its best players like Ross, Dukic, Mills, Enright, Bluchske and T Saker really shone under lights.

is that the same matt holmes that played against gigarre last year, picking up league votes in one of his only games?

That's fine re the length of quarters, but do the KDFL, GVFL etc. blow time-on for boundary throw-ins like they do in the AFL? Because years ago there was no time on for boundary throw ins for the AFL except if the ball was over the fence or a fair distance from the boundary umpire etc. Pretty sure the length of quarters is fairly similar due to that difference. ie. they are adding more time on to the 20 min quarters and net result is quarter length not much different.

Other than that 20 minute quarters are plenty anyway I reckon.

not entirely sure tusken. obviosly they do if the ball is kicked over the fence after a goal, but other than that i don't really know. :eek:

No dramas, pretty sure they've always blown time on after goals in the GVFL, but the boundary throw ins are a shady area. Hence the times of quarters overall staying generally similar.

Being a VT person l think playing 16 on the ground in the reserves is a good thing,last year we battled for numbers and wasnt a good thing for us or footy in general,this year we will be fine but their are other sides in the comp that will struggle a bit,this is a topic that you shouldnt change your opinion from year to year pending on the situation of your club.l think what is best for footy is the best for everyone,forfeiting and whippings arent good for anyone..

yeh good comment there i think reserves is about giving players a run and enjoying you footy they play 16 side in NSW in a few comps and it works well you just cut the wings off. i am all for it

I think its pretty simple and common sense should prevail, start with the 16 a side as a rule and then if both sides agree on the day to play 18 then go for it, should be the same in the 3rds, shouldnt have two sides with 22-24 to pick from and only playing 16 a side and kids missing out on a run, same if clubs have 42+ to pick from give them all a run if at all possible, the old player swapping in the 3rds was/is good and if needed in the twos why not.

yeh spot on hank thats what they do and yes common sense is the key

long time reader, first time poster.

after looking at Violet town... i think they a massively over rated.

there seems to be alot of hype around them doing well but i have my suspicisons... round 1 will indeed paint the picture for their season.. but i can see another lack luster season down by the honeysuckle for the 'towners'

can anyone from Violet Town explain to me why you will go any good this year? because i am yet to read any reason on here why i should change my mind