• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

KDFL Oct 06 -Feb 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

The big fella retired from KDL footy in 2003 after our prelim final loss to Lancaster (thanks largely to a rampaging performance from Cosby). As far as I know, he hasn't pulled on the boots since then and has been living in Melbourne.. Would be surprised if he played again.

I didn't realise the Hayden Best that Tally picked up was the same bloke who played at North Ballarat.. That bloke is a gun. Didn't he kick 12 goals in a senior GV match whilst playing for the swans, as a mid-fielder?? Does anyone know why he's gone to Tally - they've either thrown a packet at him, or he's got some extremely good mates there, or had a massive falling out at the swans..

As good as he and Walker are, I reckon the lions may have the recruit of the year in Troy Auld, if the rumours are true.. Though I did hear that his brother was being wooed by Colbo..

Christ Colbo has rang everyone bar me!!!! Would it be fair to assume Tally and the Towners the big improvers for 2007 even this far out???

Does anyone know why he's gone to Tally - they've either thrown a packet at him, or he's got some extremely good mates there, or had a massive falling out at the swans..

I think hima nd osbourne who is coaching are pretty close mates.

I agree though, a very silky player that will attract plent of leather in 2007.

Jack Smyth (Swans) would be a fair chance to head back to VT wouldn't he - and I guess the same Matty Sharp/Hayden Lamaro whispers to VT will surface again like last year.

yer jack smyth is already on the train!!

maybe some other benalla saints players accompanying sharpy

Christ Colbo has rang everyone bar me!!!! Would it be fair to assume Tally and the Towners the big improvers for 2007 even this far out???

Don't worry mate - it's still early.. Seeing you at the GV Grand final I'd say you were only a couple of gallops away from getting back into peak condition..;)

I'd reckon with who they've picked up so far, Tally would be odds on to make the 5 (or 6 if they change it), and the Towners odds on for a top 3 berth. The towners weren't far off it last year, but must be spending a fair packet if they're going to keep most from last year at the club. I thought Tally were a bit off the pace, though, and will no doubt be strong at the top end, but would need to improve their depth.. I think the finals race will be pretty even again, but the chasm between them and the bottom sides may be widening, which wouldn't be good for the comp. Have heard that Merrigum have heaps to spend, which is all well and good, but you have to get quality for $, and they might be running out of time to sign anyone of note, Gig's recruits are getting fatter living on their gravy train, don't think Nagambie have recruited anyone yet, and there hasn't been much word out of Yea. Avenel to improve, as well, though..

Don't worry mate - it's still early.. Seeing you at the GV Grand final I'd say you were only a couple of gallops away from getting back into peak condition..;)

......... don't think Nagambie have recruited anyone yet, and there hasn't been much word out of Yea. Avenel to improve, as well, though..

Ah yes Deakin October 1st was one of my bigger days for a while, still haven't seen the 2nd half and would love to know how that match panned out!!!

Not much word from the clubs down this way, Yea I believe will be announcing coaches shortly, Avenel I dunno as my mail has Pearcey staying on at Stanhope which to me says the Lions are determined to get that elusive flag.

Ah yes Deakin October 1st was one of my bigger days for a while, still haven't seen the 2nd half and would love to know how that match panned out!!!

Not much word from the clubs down this way, Yea I believe will be announcing coaches shortly, Avenel I dunno as my mail has Pearcey staying on at Stanhope which to me says the Lions are determined to get that elusive flag.
doona im pretty sure that avenel have signed pearce as coach was talking to someone that was interviewing him the other day and his the only one way they have so im pretty sure it will be in the paper in the next week or so they would want to hurry up there running out of time to recruit players

Well thats pretty interesting showy because I was just talking to him before and he said he had just put in for the stanhope assisstant job and if he gets he'll take it.

Heard the exact same thing Mattie - means this KDFL thread will make for some interesting reading in the coming days . . . . . as Showy said today Pearcey was apparently the Swans only applicant, lets hope its worked out as quick as possible to give everyone the best chance possible of firing up for 2007

I'd reckon with who they've picked up so far, Tally would be odds on to make the 5 (or 6 if they change it), and the Towners odds on for a top 3 berth. The towners weren't far off it last year, but must be spending a fair packet if they're going to keep most from last year at the club. I thought Tally were a bit off the pace, though, and will no doubt be strong at the top end, but would need to improve their depth.. I think the finals race will be pretty even again, but the chasm between them and the bottom sides may be widening, which wouldn't be good for the comp. Have heard that Merrigum have heaps to spend, which is all well and good, but you have to get quality for $, and they might be running out of time to sign anyone of note, Gig's recruits are getting fatter living on their gravy train, don't think Nagambie have recruited anyone yet, and there hasn't been much word out of Yea. Avenel to improve, as well, though..

What about our former team mate T-Man, Jake Lloyd going to Nagambie. Any truth in the rumour? Would think he will struggle down there, there isn't much to work with down at the lakers.

jakes lloyds uncle is coaching nagambie.(gav gledhill) think he has been doin some work with murch the last few yrs???
i know he has made a play at a few young kids from tatura. they wont be dominating in the kdfl but will be competitive players!

Hey boys is it true former Avenel player Patty Rattlesnake is in Darwin playing as we speak

Brad Lowe to sign with Yarroweyah for over $600 a game very soon

If that is true then Yarroweyah need to have a good hard look at themselves
because that is what is stuffin up country footy
firstly they should not be offered a ridiculous amount and secondly you would need to perorm every week game and clubwise to accept it

If that is true then Yarroweyah need to have a good hard look at themselves
because that is what is stuffin up country footy
firstly they should not be offered a ridiculous amount and secondly you would need to perorm every week game and clubwise to accept it

AGREE 100% Sparra - small clubs will die out pretty quickly if they go payin players that sort of money

And they will die out because hard working club persons will not hang around if they know there hard work is only to support 1 2 or maybe 3 players rather than an entire football club.

I personally as a committee person would not want to be involved with a club that pays out big money to strive for success.

And they will die out because hard working club persons will not hang around if they know there hard work is only to support 1 2 or maybe 3 players rather than an entire football club.

I personally as a committee person would not want to be involved with a club that pays out big money to strive for success.

If clubs do die because of this they can only blame themselves.

A player is only worth what someone is willing to pay them - so by paying Lowey $600 as reported says to me the Yarraweyah committee deems that's what he's worth to have him join their playing list.

admire your values there Sparra. players come and go and I reckon the majority of clubs feel short changed after they have spent big dollars but I guess the final decision is in the clubs hands and there are obviously not enough committe people around like you to cut out the big spending the way it gets handed out these days. For the sake of country footy something needs to be done about it

I reckon a lot of clubs will die out or barely hang on to existence unless the AFL steps in

For the amount of money raised by the AFL what do they give back to grass roots footy - absolutely f all

Sure if you are involved with the Bushies coaching etc expect handouts ( for doing f all also, but that's another story) but for the minor and for that matter the major leagues life is pretty tough and a few handouts would be nice, a few ideas -

A straight out cash donation - 10 or more free footballs each year - insurance assistance - all league fees subsidised by AFL -

Anyway they can stick the AFL I have put a ban on it and now only watch Country Footy

I reckon a lot of clubs will die out or barely hang on to existence unless the AFL steps in

For the amount of money raised by the AFL what do they give back to grass roots footy - absolutely f all

Sure if you are involved with the Bushies coaching etc expect handouts ( for doing f all also, but that's another story) but for the minor and for that matter the major leagues life is pretty tough and a few handouts would be nice, a few ideas -

A straight out cash donation - 10 or more free footballs each year - insurance assistance - all league fees subsidised by AFL -

Anyway they can stick the AFL I have put a ban on it and now only watch Country Footy

Agree with your comments Sparra but the AFL shouldn't be giving cash donations, I think they should get into the area of giving grants to assist with capital improvements for changerooms, lights, jumpers etc. or grants like you mentioned of 10 footballs.

Clubs have to spend within their means and it's up to clubs not to throw money away on average players who are demanding too much.