KDFL Oct 06 -Feb 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

CRAP! undera were a rabble so maybe that woz y. Only saw a few games but the only ones worth anything out there were someone they called choppa and I think it was # 9 but other than that wouldn't bother

What makes u come to the conclusion that Undera were a rabble B.O.G.

I had a little bit to do with those guys out there and they had some big wins through the year. Chopper Mahoney was a standout for sure and number nine was Ben Stoertebecker who I know pretty well. Things certainly look like they are on the improve for them next year with choppers uncle signing on to coach (fitness freak) and if Vanderzalm can get himself fit they will have a great target up forward. Don't know if Ben will be out there next year.

Just heard from a reliable source that 1989 Morrison medalist and 2005 Yea Premiership player Jon Solomon is gonna coach Avenel next year.
Some of the cattle he is said to be bringing include.
Doug Aldous & Chris Leatham(Yea) Simon Boruch, Jon & James Rudd, Patty Rattray & Michael Thomson (Seymour &
& rumour has it all the Potts boys will be returning & Jonno himself is a chance to don the red & white.
It is also said the Swannies are sitting on some cash
(What are your thoughts?)

Just heard from a reliable source that 1989 Morrison medalist and 2005 Yea Premiership player Jon Solomon is gonna coach Avenel next year.
Doug Aldous & Chris Leatham(Yea) Simon Boruch, Jon & James Rudd, Patty Rattray & Michael Thomson (Seymour &
& rumour has it all the Potts boys will be returning & Jonno himself is a chance to don the red & white.

Would be huge turnaround to the position they find themselves at the moment

Well what a note to leave for a holiday on :eek: I expect this to be confirmed or denied in my absence, along with some more believable gossip. In saying that be nice, play safely kiddies and I look forward to catching up upon my return early next week.

The Big D out :thumbsu:

The mail is that the KDFL won't have an Interleague game in 2007 because they think it costs to much money. I wonder if this is the case whether they will decrease league fees for clubs.

Is an interesting one, does cost a bit to run but they werent too worried about the cost when they were beating the Central Goulburn League every year, the big loss against the PDFL wouldnt have anything to do with it also?

What makes u come to the conclusion that Undera were a rabble B.O.G.

I had a little bit to do with those guys out there and they had some big wins through the year. Chopper Mahoney was a standout for sure and number nine was Ben Stoertebecker who I know pretty well. Things certainly look like they are on the improve for them next year with choppers uncle signing on to coach (fitness freak) and if Vanderzalm can get himself fit they will have a great target up forward. Don't know if Ben will be out there next year.

Nice of you to stand up for Undera Akka. Seem to be a club full of good people and part of a community banding together well during the drought. Training to start on the 29th of Jan and some pretty handy recruits already for seniors, reserves and thirds and some really good ideas to make it a great family club. Reserves coaches Travis Morrison and Glen McKay will bring a lot of fun to the club.

Also having a community Christmas Party out at the footy ground next friday night; the 8th, at the ground.

Nice of you to stand up for Undera Akka. Seem to be a club full of good people and part of a community banding together well during the drought. Training to start on the 29th of Jan and some pretty handy recruits already for seniors, reserves and thirds and some really good ideas to make it a great family club. Reserves coaches Travis Morrison and Glen McKay will bring a lot of fun to the club.

Also having a community Christmas Party out at the footy ground next friday night; the 8th, at the ground.

Geez with Travis and Glen, along with Vanderzalm, and 2 Mahoneys it is getting a real ex Murch flavor.

Travis and Glen leaving Murch is a real interesting one as they have been there a very long time, obviously things are a bit grim at Murch.

Whats going on Wade? Must be something wrong with these two leaving?:(

Geez with Travis and Glen, along with Vanderzalm, and 2 Mahoneys it is getting a real ex Murch flavor.

Travis and Glen leaving Murch is a real interesting one as they have been there a very long time, obviously things are a bit grim at Murch.

Whats going on Wade? Must be something wrong with these two leaving?:(

Wouldn't see it as an indication of anything wrong at Murch Hopper. Brett Hughes has got great footy brain and holds alot of respect out there. Trav and Glen were approached when last years Undera Seconds coach became unavailable. Murch have been thereabouts for the past 3 years, have a great ground that Richard Feehan Snr looks after and it wouln't take much to add to last years team for them to be up there again.

Having said that all of the ex Murch players now at Undera are all great people to have around the club for commitment and fun.

It's a shame that Trav & Glenno have both gone to Undera, and i'm sure that we will lose a few out of the reserves because of this, but this isn't an indication that all isn't well at Murch, it's just that they got an offer they couldn't refuse, such is life.

But, one thing I am annoyed with is the Shepp News, and it's negative article (buried way in the back of the sports section last week alongside the racing results), about our appointment of Brett Hughes as senior coach.

I find it piss weak of the Shepp News's sports department, that they could've taken the news of our long term appointment of Brett, and say that it was a leap of faith and a great responsibility for someone so young in the coaching game, but most of it was about us possibly losing Leigh Kellett, and not about the bloke who's got our top job.

I thought that it would've been a bit more prominent, becuase we gave them a photo of our President, Mick Kerrins, Brett & Reserves Coach, Jason Harlow, to use for the article.

But, they went with this instead, and I find it even more galling that a club like Ardmona , got more and better publicity for thier appointment of Clint Brereton, than we got for taking a chance on a local bloke.

It's a shame that Trav & Glenno have both gone to Undera, and i'm sure that we will lose a few out of the reserves because of this, but this isn't an indication that all isn't well at Murch, it's just that they got an offer they couldn't refuse, such is life.

But, one thing I am annoyed with is the Shepp News, and it's negative article (buried way in the back of the sports section last week alongside the racing results), about our appointment of Brett Hughes as senior coach.

I find it piss weak of the Shepp News's sports department, that they could've taken the news of our long term appointment of Brett, and say that it was a leap of faith and a great responsibility for someone so young in the coaching game, but most of it was about us possibly losing Leigh Kellett, and not about the bloke who's got our top job.

I thought that it would've been a bit more prominent, becuase we gave them a photo of our President, Mick Kerrins, Brett & Reserves Coach, Jason Harlow, to use for the article.

But, they went with this instead, and I find it even more galling that a club like Ardmona , got more and better publicity for thier appointment of Clint Brereton, than we got for taking a chance on a local bloke.

No offence Wade but the papers called the shepp news not the murch news, as for the ardomona article they are the reigning premiers and where did murch finish.

Doesn't matter, they should still give them a little bit of publicity with a photo in it. No, it's not the Murch News, but it's supposed to cover the whole of the GV. The Shepp News football coverage has been ordinary for the past 6 or so years. It's a 5 day paper and there's no reason they couldn't make some space in there for it.

im with you there on the ordinary football coverage, they could have put the photo in if they didnt have so much tennis

Still nothing coming outa Avenel about this massive whisper although Jonno's name was mentioned in todays "Have you heard" column in the Shepp News.

A very big first up big footy post there outsider01 but why wasn't Jon's brother in law Pliegs mentioned in his "cattle" and can jobbytonny, wheelbarrow, showy1 or another Swans fan confirm or deny this yet???

Be good to see Avenel competitive again -especially as I reckon the whole Nagambie/Avenel merger topic was gunna b on here again due to the reported dire situation the Swans were in prior to this big news.

im with you there on the ordinary football coverage, they could have put the photo in if they didnt have so much tennis

THe Shepp News has heaps of footy in it... especially when you compare it to papers like the Bendigo Advertiser..

Like it or loath it, a century goalkicker possibly leaving the club is a story that people want to read.

I dunno where you come from Woodlands but in my opinion the Shepp News is easily the best regional newspaper that I have read for coverage of all sports and particularly the footy.
For as long as Ardmona are as controversial as they are they will always attract interest from journalists because their job is to dig up the best stories they can

I dunno where you come from Woodlands but in my opinion the Shepp News is easily the best regional newspaper that I have read for coverage of all sports and particularly the footy.
For as long as Ardmona are as controversial as they are they will always attract interest from journalists because their job is to dig up the best stories they can

Ever heard of The Border Mail?
Gives the Shepp News an absolute hiding when it comes to football coverage.

Ever heard of The Border Mail?
Gives the Shepp News an absolute hiding when it comes to football coverage.

Spot on there Tusken. I got the bordr mail the day after the O&M Grand Final and it had about a 20 page lift out on the day, also had all the players stats in it. Unlike the shep news who didnt real give much insight on the GVFL grand finals.

i would have to agree..... i got the border mail and had a flick through it after the granny and they do a great job on their coverage of the day! shepp news is still doin ok for themselves but could be better!i still buy it.

Check out the Wimmera Mail-Times it has a good coverage of 4 leagues around the wimmera on Monday's Wednesday's and Fridays.

All newspapers could write more about footy if they wanted to they are just to slack.

All newspapers could write more about footy if they wanted to they are just to slack.[/quote]

Should start up a thread on which is the best newspaper boys...seem to be getting some really really interesting coversation going!!Its keeping me intrigued and i cant wait till someone else makes a post sharing which newspaper they beleive is the best. keep up the good work!!
Someone should talk about something interesting...who are the top 10 players in the league or something..something worth reading maybe..???

Check out the Wimmera Mail-Times it has a good coverage of 4 leagues around the wimmera on Monday's Wednesday's and Fridays.

All newspapers could write more about footy if they wanted to they are just to slack.

I think you'll find that isn't true RT.. With country papers, especially around this time of year, you have to cover many sports - not just football and there are space restraints.

Sports journos at country papers cop heaps about there being "too much footy in the paper."

haha i like your sarcasm Master...
cmon boys this debate has been milked a little to long...

is it to early yet for kdfl sides to be starting preseason? if so, whens the usual time things get under way?