Kyabram DFL discussion 2023

The notion leagues will be reformed for less travel is garbage, travel will be a part of footy now, you can't have small comps, with no 3rds, the perception that clubs will jump into other leagues for travel is nonsense.

Aflvic will push for minor clubs to enter the Murray league to have a two tiered comp, the only reason they're doing this is to blow up the picola league, so all clubs are under the afl.

clubs need to think a bit further into the future and ask afl vic how do they see juniors been allocated from hunior comps into the murray league arlund shepp, so clubs can continue we'll into the future
The league additions or restructures is only one opinion. Don’t think it will fix anything long term.

Agree the juniors are the things that need the most attention. Clubs will only last so long without solid junior involvement.

I have heard today Div 2 in the Murray League is a goer next season, with 8 clubs committed.
At least 3 KDL clubs already committed, but maybe 4.

Thank god we have some clubs looking to the future as what we have at the moment is not working.

I have heard today Div 2 in the Murray League is a goer next season, with 8 clubs committed.
At least 3 KDL clubs already committed, but maybe 4.

Thank god we have some clubs looking to the future as what we have at the moment is not working.
I haven't heard of any Clubs having a members vote to change leagues which is the normal procedure.

Shepp East , Dookie and Murch-Tool are the 3 I’ve heard . Keeping in mind anyone who doesn’t hang straight up is seemingly being claimed as going .
I'll trade your Dookie for Undera! That's what I'm hearing! We played Dookie 2 weeks ago & the topic was brought up & word straight out of the horses mouth was they're really happy in the KDFL! I've been told MFL had spoken to Undera & as you say Roar, they didn't hang up so probably assuming that's classed as interest! 🤔🤷🏽‍♂️

Whoever, it is or isn’t all it builds is speculation and questioning of clubs integrity and honesty, in particular amongst its peers .
What an unfortunate position it is going to be for the clubs implicated for the rest of the year and there is little doubt recruiting staff from clubs in the area would have already uppped the ante .

Surely tally would have to enter the conversation as well mate?

Whoever, it is or isn’t all it builds is speculation and questioning of clubs integrity and honesty, in particular amongst its peers .
What an unfortunate position it is going to be for the clubs implicated for the rest of the year and there is little doubt recruiting staff from clubs in the area would have already uppped the ante .

Totally agree mate, I had a conversation with the club today in regards to exactly what you just said? As a coach you can't expect to be resigning or recruiting players especially when you don't even know what geographic you'll be up against?

Surely tally would have to enter the conversation as well mate?

No doubt there'll be plenty of speculation around regarding Tally, even just for the fact that we are the north most club, same with Dookie? But to my knowledge as I haven't yet been involved in any official discussions around this matter Tally are absolutely happy with staying put & I'm sure going forward I'll be involved in any club discussions about the future if I'm still in my position when that time comes?

Totally agree mate, I had a conversation with the club today in regards to exactly what you just said? As a coach you can't expect to be resigning or recruiting players especially when you don't even know what geographic you'll be up against?

No doubt there'll be plenty of speculation around regarding Tally, even just for the fact that we are the north most club, same with Dookie? But to my knowledge as I haven't yet been involved in any official discussions around this matter Tally are absolutely happy with staying put & I'm sure going forward I'll be involved in any club discussions about the future if I'm still in my position when that time comes?
So which of the clubs involved are you honing in on . 🤷‍♂️

None of the MFL clubs , Toc included, are impacted negatively by rumours of clubs moving and that Toc are potentially getting a new home.
It’s in their best interest to fuel speculation of clubs moving .

Don't you have to put paperwork in by the start of august to change leagues?
AFL has apparently removed that rule , which is causing massive issues down south where Mornington have called for expressions of interest .
Leagues should and need to include clauses within their own rules to avoid this type of speculation being driven by nearby leagues .

Shepp East , Dookie and Murch-Tool are the 3 I’ve heard . Keeping in mind anyone who doesn’t hang straight up is seemingly being claimed as going .

Here you go again speculating. At least these clubs can do due diligence without threats of suspension from the league unlike Katandra and Tungamah and Toc last year.

Not speculating on anything , stated exactly what I have heard .
Do you actually know what ‘ threat’ ‘threats’ or ‘ threatened ‘ means ?

Why are you a hard no? Would be interested in your thoughts
35 mins closer to Melbourne than anyone else which puts them in a great recruiting spot to our league (people will say well why aren’t they recruiting now and it is because of the terrible league they are in geographically, but people like playing in our league), population almost twice as big as Nagambie. A massive growth area with housing estates popping up left right and centre at the moment.
They have extremely good Junior numbers which is great, but let’s be real no one else in KDL has this. People might say why wouldn’t we want that? Well because they are in a much better spot as a club than all 14 of our clubs, even if they aren’t going great at the moment, it was only 6/7 years ago they had 5 Ex afl players (Brodie holland, Russell robertson) on their list and played off in rdfl finals (a pretty strong league mind you as that’s where I came from prior to following the kdl). We are full of very small country towns. They are not a small country town.
And my biggest query is 4 leagues in 15 years, they’ve tried to buy flags in the past, seem to wanna get out as soon as things get hard. What happens if they come to our league and seek to go somewhere else in 3 years? What a waste of time & effort that would be.
I’m totally against it, but would love to see the flip side of the argument.

Their netball would also be a class above as they are paid players, not sure how many kdl clubs play netballers.

Look forward to everyone’s thoughts. Whether it be with or against me

I’ve said it before, but lm looking at the KDFNL like this ,OEFL div2 is stuffed , not enough clubs and to much travel, if Broadford gets in to the KDFL , nothing stopping Yea and Alexandra joining.
MFL are circling a few teams to join their div 2, and it may be hard to keep them, who would you rather play in the 2nd week of July, Alexandra or Tocumwal on a Sunday when it’s 16 at Toc or 3 at Alex.
I also think clubs are sick of waiting for direction when it comes to change and are starting to think they may have to do it themselves, l would reckon there is some pretty honest discussions happen at clubs not only in theKD but across the area.

35 mins closer to Melbourne than anyone else which puts them in a great recruiting spot to our league (people will say well why aren’t they recruiting now and it is because of the terrible league they are in geographically, but people like playing in our league), population almost twice as big as Nagambie. A massive growth area with housing estates popping up left right and centre at the moment.
They have extremely good Junior numbers which is great, but let’s be real no one else in KDL has this. People might say why wouldn’t we want that? Well because they are in a much better spot as a club than all 14 of our clubs, even if they aren’t going great at the moment, it was only 6/7 years ago they had 5 Ex afl players (Brodie holland, Russell robertson) on their list and played off in rdfl finals (a pretty strong league mind you as that’s where I came from prior to following the kdl). We are full of very small country towns. They are not a small country town.
And my biggest query is 4 leagues in 15 years, they’ve tried to buy flags in the past, seem to wanna get out as soon as things get hard. What happens if they come to our league and seek to go somewhere else in 3 years? What a waste of time & effort that would be.

Their netball would also be a class above as they are paid players, not sure how many kdl clubs play netballers.

Agreed woodduckling that is not best 👍🏻👌🏻

just in reference to junior numbers for football, had a quick look on playhq and there highest grade of junior footy is under 14's and arent travelling to well so might not be the best in the juniors, I obviously have no idea the netball, but this is just an observation ive found

Kyabram DFL discussion 2023