Leon Davis (p.s i am not a troll, just raising a discussion)

There's no doubt that Leon's form in finals has been very worrying, last night he had little effect on the match, and for some odd reason his kicking went down the crapper. Constant turnovers from a usually very accurate kick of the football; very uncharacteristic, which either suggests that he is not right from a physical standpoint or it's all a mental thing where he gets overwhelmed by the occasion. Either way he was terribly disappointing, albeit so were many players.

Reputations are built on players' abilities to perform in finals, and so far Leon has really let himself and the club down. In fairness, he does play a role where you tend to look good when the team's playing well, he's the kind of player who you need to capitalise on the momentum you have but they don't look so great when the momentum swings, as it did last night.

I think it's pretty unfair to single Davis out. Sure his finals record is poor, especially for a player of his calibre, but our whole team was pretty poor come finals.

I think our backline was generally ok, but I thought Presti was pretty disappointing this final series, some very clumsy, costly mistakes.

Midfield- Our major problem. O'Bree was pretty consistent, Swan was commendable but below his best. Beams, Sidebottom etc are promising, but really need to hit the gym over the summer I think. Thomas has really stood up lately, definitely a big game player. Wellingham pretty disappointing. Obviously losing Pendlebury hurt a lot but still not enough hard bodies in the midfield.

Forwards- Jack Anthony barely sighted, I have question marks about his ability to stand up against quality opposition. Travis has been talked about enough. Didak was sadly well below his best, we really need him to fire to take down top teams.

2010- I think we need to chase a good hard midfielder!

Can't believe the negativity in regards to wanting to trade Davis.

Just reading his stats he only had the 13 possessions but he also laid a game-high 8 tackles. In any other game his work-rate and efforts "off-the-ball" would have been praised.

Cannot afford to lose a player of his quality. Sure, he tapered off- like many others, yet was still AA this season.

I think it's pretty unfair to single Davis out. Sure his finals record is poor, especially for a player of his calibre, but our whole team was pretty poor come finals.

I only mean to single leon out because he is a quality player, it could be interpreted as a sign of respect, there is no point pointing out, say cameron cloke if he plays a bad game, because he has no trade value

Yeah I get that, and it's a valid point you're raising.
I know it's a bit of a weak defence, but Davis, as a creative forward/mid needs the team to be functioning in order for him to really get his hands on the ball. Look at Varcoe last night, he was served the ball on a plate last night for his goals.

I don't think there's any point trading him, don't think we'd get a whole lot for him given his age, finals rep. Still a star player.

Leon was a school yard bully this season, brilliant in the home and away season, went missing when it really counts, finals footy. He will be looked at when the list is reviewed, l will bet my house on it. He was given the opportunity to really shine this finals series and he didn't give a yelp.

I thought it was his best H & A season yet, and I (like many pies fans I'm sure) was really looking forward to big things from him and Didak. I think Didak was even worse than Leon during the finals. Being younger than Leon I'd have thought that he also may be up for trade?

I would trade Leon tomorrow for the right player. He is a huge disappointment and we need to recruit a ruckman or key forward with testicular fortitude and size. This is the year to take the plunge and trade for the future. If Leon has trade value then let's see what is on offer and cut our losses with him.

Is Barry Hall on the radar for the pies? He's got the balls and the size, and probably two good years left in him?

Definitely worth entertaining, although it is highly unlikely... And by highly unlikely, I'd say like 0%.
Malthouse already said he wouldn't go near him I think.

Davis does not have the trade value..he is worth more to Collingwood than what he would bring on the open market ..he has never been a valuable finals player but has been more than decent during the home & away season .

While he was pretty ordinary last night ..he wasn't alone.

please, you'll be putting down both davis and collingwood by comparing davis to mcmahon or TJ. Don't get me wrong, leon davis is cream of the crop, he is a top quality player and demands at least a 1st and 2nd rounder pick (assuming that a good side would get him, as the icing on the cake). He is only 27 if my calculations are correct, and he is better than your average cream of the crop. As a neutral supporter,i beleive collingwood's first priority is to develop a strong, premiership winning midfield, and a key forward.which although would need a cream of the crop midfielder, leon davis would be the quickest route to either of these deficiencies (and i am aware of how important pendles is to your midfield). Its all abouit looking at priorities, and from a personal perspective, collingwood have enough little x-factor players that can turn a match apart to makke up for leon davis, just not enough grunt midfielders and big bodies to win a premiership. And leon's trade value would be high enough to deliver that

I'm with Juddsentant - I really hoped that Leon would stand up this finals series and to fall so far short of expectations is sad and must be deeply troubling for Mick. We all know Mick places uptmost importance on a players importance to perform come finals yet Davis has failed yet again. His averages of 13 possessions and only 1 goal in total are just not good enough.

Something needs to be done with Leon - I'm not sure what it is, a trade, a hypnotist (a la Tambling) or what....but something needs to happen. It's simply not good enough.

Davis's best work comes when your midfield dominates and it was clear to see last night your midfield didn't get near it. Someone mentioned this before and I saw first hand how he dismantled the eagles at subiaco early in the year, when swan and pendles where chopping up.

I was disappointed he didn't push up the ground when the heat was on. (MM's call?)
If anything it's your midfield that needs to rise up. Swan, Pendles - guns
O'bree, Tarks, B. Johnson - serviceable but maybe on the decline
Beams, Sidebottom, Wellingham, Toovey - more games needed.
Didak & Leon guns but need good supply and better team efforts so they won't fade out of games

Has looked injured, no doubt he can turn it around next year. By the way, Thomas was close to your best last night, tried his guts out.

A good and relevant thread.

There is a lot of suggestion (on the internet at least), that Leon has been carrying an injury. If true you'd have to give him the benefit of the doubt.

I love the little guy but, if he has been fit and just not firing and there is a club prepared to pay over the odds, then you'd certainly strongly consider it given his age -but that is unlikely IMHO.

He seems to have dropped of as soon as there was that 2 page interview with him in the HS midseason...maybe resting on his laurels or getting a little lazy?.....

Game-high 8 tackles last night.

This lazy argument is bullshit.

His year has been consistent, electric and earnt recognition when named in the AA line-up.

Leon is clearly injured and probably been playing courageously, he can not accelerate, it's very obvious.

Leave the hate off him, he was an amazing midfielder this year when fit, and some of his matchwinning performances saved our season. Pity he didn't hit the finals fit, but that could be said for Pendlebury, Swan, and Fraser.

I'd be more inclined to be questioning fit players like Paul Medhurst...wtf seasoned player who can only get 4 touches a game for a month.

Davis and Didak very soft.

Have to agree with this (will probably get slaughtered because I'm not a Collingwood supporter but it is true).

Davis and Didak need the team to be up and running for them to be relevant like someone else said they are the icing on the cake if the cake isn't performing both of those players will disappear never to be heard from.

It's a shame really because they both have great talents they would both be so much better if they could do the tough stuff and win they're own ball and perform under pressure.

Just simply NOT A FINALS PLAYER.
Gets the job done for 15 of 22 weeks, then should be spelled during the finals.

Kicked 3 goals in our famous win against port adelaide playing in the pocket....
Kicked 3 goals in our pre lim the next year as a forward pocket.
In the 2003 grand final got 10 touches and a goal, which if you take out his fine year this year is about his average over his career.
People also forget his 18 touches, 10 tackles and one goal performance against west coast in the final that went to extra time.
20 touches and 1 goal 1, with 4 tackles against adelaide last year wasn't bad either.

Theres no doubt he just doesn't dominate in finals like he does, or at least has this year, in the home and away... but its not like he has played bad in every final...

Kicked 3 goals in our famous win against port adelaide playing in the pocket....
Kicked 3 goals in our pre lim the next year as a forward pocket.
In the 2003 grand final got 10 touches and a goal, which if you take out his fine year this year is about his average over his career.
People also forget his 18 touches, 10 tackles and one goal performance against west coast in the final that went to extra time.
20 touches and 1 goal 1, with 4 tackles against adelaide last year wasn't bad either.

Theres no doubt he just doesn't dominate in finals like he does, or at least has this year, in the home and away... but its not like he has played bad in every final...
He doesn't play 1 on 1 football well.

It's all a media beat up..

What do you want him to do? Sit on the bottom of packs?

He is the silk in our team and he tackles his ass off. If we are getting flogged in the middle (as we have been for weeks) how the hell is he going to kick goals?

It's not Leon's job to win clearances and when we stop winning them he has little to no influence.

In my books he is still a gun and does more of the team things than ever before. We will need him when our time comes.

Didak needs to work on the team things. He doesn't tackle, block or chase. Watching him at contests with his hands on his knees disgusts me. He is the Fevola of our football club.

I know he is a gun play, but as a neutral supporter, i reckon ( i know my opinion doesnt count for much) that leon davis will never have a premiership medallion around his neck. Football is all about premierships, and although he was a major contributor in getting collingwood there, he will never lead you or win you a win on the big stage. The best move in my opinion would be to trade him for, say a 1st and 2nd rounder and a gun players. I am trying to put my hatred of collingwood behind me in my opinion, and i am sure i am way off, but just an opinion (the same applies with travis cloke by the way)

anyways im back to my own territory
Actually mate unlike a few on this site who are too blinded by good performances in home and away games (as opposed to finals where it really matters), I reckon that you make a lot of sense. In this new era of restructed drafts, etc, etc, I think that Collingwood has to ask one question. That is; will Leon Davis get any better? Methinks not. Therefore if he was part of a deal to get a physicaly imposing key forward or ruckman I would go for it. Totally.

Please get off Leon's back, AA this year and he is an out and out star. Does he choke in the big games? I don't think so. It is a very long season, he has carried a few niggles over the year and for him to be expected to run out games in the middle is a little unfair.

People seem to have short memories, when our season was on the line in round 9 at West Coast, Leon had the best game of his life and sparked us into action for the second half of the year.

He won't be traded and expect another bug year next year from Neon leon

Leon Davis (p.s i am not a troll, just raising a discussion)