Let's still get Rawlings...for FREE!

Mar 19, 2001
S.A Spurs, Liverpool
Can anyone tell me why this wouldn't work...

Rawlings should nominate for the draft, specifying a 1 year contract at $800000 with a verbal agreement with Roos that his next 2 years will be at base salary of 56k.

If anyone else tries to draft him, he does not offer years 2 and 3 at that lower rate and insists on a contract of $800,000. At worst, someone pays it and we don't get him (which is what we've got now). That is also pretty good for Jade, as he gets to play footy for one year and earn $800,000.

Yes, it is draft tampering, but hey, if it's good enough for the goose, it's good enough for the gander. Plus, we'd still have Pick 9 and 24!

I just texted this idea to Harrington. Feel a bit bad using his number like that, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Who's with me. RAWLINGS FOR FREE!

Originally posted by Jabba
Has Harro Snr replied yet?

No, I don't really expect him to either. I don't care, as long as the idea gets there.

I texted him to say thank you after they retained Motlop. He texted back "thank you". That was nice.

Originally posted by Yianni
Can anyone tell me why this wouldn't work...

Rawlings should nominate for the draft, specifying a 1 year contract at $800000 with a verbal agreement with Roos that his next 2 years will be at base salary of 56k.

If anyone else tries to draft him, he does not offer years 2 and 3 at that lower rate and insists on a contract of $800,000. At worst, someone pays it and we don't get him (which is what we've got now). That is also pretty good for Jade, as he gets to play footy for one year and earn $800,000.

Yes, it is draft tampering, but hey, if it's good enough for the goose, it's good enough for the gander. Plus, we'd still have Pick 9 and 24!

I just texted this idea to Harrington. Feel a bit bad using his number like that, but desperate times call for desperate measures.

Who's with me. RAWLINGS FOR FREE!

I came up with idea in one of the other threads...500k would do. No need to go for 800k.

Re: Re: Let's still get Rawlings...for FREE!

Originally posted by vlad76
I came up with idea in one of the other threads...500k would do. No need to go for 800k.

I reckon that Bulldogs and Geelong would pay 500k though.

Originally posted by rednugget
My understanding is that you also have to nominate the length of contract you want aswell as other clubs had done this in the past.

Yeah, that's fine. He nominates his initial contract as:

1 YEAR @ 500,000 or 600,000 or whatever we've got left in the cap really!

But then has a verbal agreement with North (his club of choice) that when they renew the contract he plays for the next 2 years for 100,000 a year.

If anyone else tries to draft him, his demands are the same, but he doesn't make any promises regarding how much he will cost in years 2 and 3.

Anyway, surely Jade would be ropeable about this whole thing. How can the Bullies absolutely shaft him then expect him to come and play for them

Just got a textie back from him, saying "these are the type of scenarios racing thru my mind"

It aint about Jade anymore, not from me anyway.

It's about making all these smart pricks at Hawthorn and Footscray sh1t their pants, even for a little while.

Just got a textie back from him, saying "these are the type of scenarios racing thru my mind"

Nice of him to reply.

I'm shure he wouldn't be feeling the best at the moment

(Lucky Spurs hasn't got his phone number).

Jade would probably feel like cr@p as well.
How committed will he be to the doggies after this?

R:E

Jade should just come out and say he wants to be playing for an AFL side in 2 years because North are doing something positive about their financial issues unlike the Bulldogs.

Love to have Jade f@ck the Bullies by sitting out the year, paid to do so by the Roos! LOL He could be a runner or something. He'd get to be on the field with Brady! :D

Originally posted by Kimbo
Love to have Jade f@ck the Bullies by sitting out the year, paid to do so by the Roos! LOL He could be a runner or something. He'd get to be on the field with Brady! :D

Or he could turn up for the doggies against the hawks and try to take every one of them out.

For every other game he could take some tips from Richo - aren't they related now?

We are at 92.5% or the salary cap. so we would have room for Rawlings to nominate a huge amount, with an agreement to pay only his going rate. Some clubs wouldn't have room to accommadate him, and the Bulldogs who are in our position wouldn't be in a position to cough up the cash.
IT JUST MIGHT WORK

i think you will get a huge shock. The money i am getting is exactly what this thread is about. I didn't say anything but when you hear jade speak about it for the first time you will see. Jade a roo, still a very strong possibility

Originally posted by carlos' roos
i think you will get a huge shock. The money i am getting is exactly what this thread is about. I didn't say anything but when you hear jade speak about it for the first time you will see. Jade a roo, still a very strong possibility

How? The dogs have the first pick in the draft.. Carlton have the 2nd..

And although I cant see many clubs entering the preseason draft.. there will be a few clubs after Carlton and the dogs that are before us I am sure.

How much room approx would the dogs have in their cap?

Go Roos

It would be good for us if Jade had a press conference or made an announcement that he does not want to play for any club at all costs and that his heart will not be in it if he gets picked by another team in the draft. Surely this would put off some clubs in picking him... who wants a player that doesn't want to be there?

Grrr... I still want jade so bad!

Originally posted by tashibatts
How? The dogs have the first pick in the draft.. Carlton have the 2nd..

And although I cant see many clubs entering the preseason draft.. there will be a few clubs after Carlton and the dogs that are before us I am sure.

Go Roos

its business, all money money money, the price jade will be asking will either see him roo or an unhappy footballer at another club around pick 8. Only the saints would entertain him under their SC. Thats why he will be a roo, i've been told this will be what he is aiming for. Mate of mine talking to hawks players (still some mates with jade) Daniel Elstone, coming back home to our country league, thinks jade is really dead set on playing with brady. We'll see how it goes, he can be either real honest or a complete bulls*it artist. Seemed cool though, haven;t seen him for about 2 years

So Jade would nominate at say.. 500k for one year - which other clubs would be unlikely to pay him.. and then we could pick him up (unless someone was that desperate for him) and he would then renegotiate with the Roos for a 2 year contract after his 1 year contract ends (to create 3 years) for a lesser price (200k a year, still works out at 900k over 3 years)

Am I on the right track here?

Go Roos
I wish Jade would speak out as well, would love to know what the bloke is thinking.

Re: R:E

Originally posted by TheNextBigThing
Jade should just come out and say he wants to be playing for an AFL side in 2 years because North are doing something positive about their financial issues unlike the Bulldogs.

We did far, far better financially than we did last year, despite coming last. We also got 3 big sponsorships during the year and a new major sponsor late last season. We are playing in Cairns for at least the next 3 years which will help also help us further. Ever since our CEO Cameron Rose came in how situation has improved a hell of a lot. This stuff isn't positive???

You're not the first North supporter to get all arrogant about you're financial position in comparison to ours over the last 12 hours. You'd swear North were laughing all the way to the bank.

U should remember that we're not the only team that could fall on our arses in the near future

Originally posted by tashibatts

How much room approx would the dogs have in their cap?

We were at something like 94% this season, and have lost one of our highest payed players. We'd have plenty of room to move

Originally posted by The_Flying_Egg
We were at something like 94% this season, and have lost one of our highest payed players. We'd have plenty of room to move

Given that JRawlings nor Stevens would be too keen on playing for the Bulldogs, you may end up paying big dollars for one year of unhappy service.

I don't think JRawlings will be playing for the Roos next year, but it is not out of the realms of possibility. Either way JRawlings will be getting the $$$ next year, and after getting shafted by Hawthorn he deserves every dollar.

Let's still get Rawlings...for FREE!