Let's talk Ports! Part 3

Saw this on Twitter today - a famous kick decides it..

Not only do they run through the 'protected zone' they run in front of the man taking the kick!!!

That is a better sport than the 'modwern game'.

Some sports have got better with professionalism, soccer being one, the skill levels increasing has made it better, rugby league is another.

Footy however has gone backwards as a spectacle with the increased fitness, tactics etc. I reckon it's probably to do with the large amount of players on the oval.

Rugby Union has gone backwards too, same issue as footy, crowded field that professionally trained giants can easily cover.

lol how casual was that last kick.

What amazed me was when Souths got their last goal to put them in front with less than a minute to go, there was maybe one bloke that came up to the goal kicker and gave him a bit of a pat on the back - you'd have thought they were still ten goals down by the lack of reaction.

David Kantilla must've been a great player to watch in those days too.

What amazed me was when Souths got their last goal to put them in front with less than a minute to go, there was maybe one bloke that came up to the goal kicker and gave him a bit of a pat on the back - you'd have thought they were still ten goals down by the lack of reaction.

How was the kid at the end trying to get Kerley's autograph? Was waiting for Kerley to snot him.

David 'Soapy' Kantilla was a highly skilled and brilliant player. He didn't stay long enough and went back to the NT.

Peter Mead certainly wouldn't have been the first choice to kick that distance as he was never noted as a long kick. Mead later went on to become a respected SANFL umpire. A very reliable player without being spectacular - apart from that kick.

...and it was old mate K-K-K-KG Cunningham that gave that free kick, bless him :D

Probably thought it was unkickable and wanted to waste the last few seconds.

How many players would have been dragged by the coach for doing dropkicks?

How many 50m penalties would have been paid if that was the AFL today?

I reckon it shows how far Australian Rules Football has deteriorated. They simply played hard contested play-on footy with minimal intrusion from the ump.

Classic Port Adelaide football - Carter, Chalmers, Poole, Rohan Smith, Malakellis, Hodges!!!, Magpiespowaz silver jacket.

Is that the game we were 7 points down late in normal time and Hodges kicked a behind then a goal to level the score to take it to xtra time?

That would be the one

This is my jam.

FUN FACT: I was dead keen on the bomber jacket old mate is wearing on the far right. But George had sold out at Port Sports. He only had the Ports Silver Disco jacket left.

Gotta admit, I was pretty disappointed at the time. Especially since I was leaving for London in a few days and wasn't gonna be around when the next lot came in. "F@%k it," I thought and bought that shiny bitch anyway.

Took it with me to London. Every time I wore it to a Millwall game, I got bailed up by security. Meanwhile, bona fide hooligans are just waltzing right in to The New Den.

All these years on, I'm so glad George sold out of those bomber jackets and if they ever bring back the Pumping Fist float, I should absolutely be the fan to ride it, pimpin' Ports Silver Disco in all its goddamn glory, farken...
Screen Shot 2022-06-02 at 8.21.18 pm.png

How are these SANFL players from 30 years ago able to repeatedly one grab contested marks easily, late in the game, at night; when our pRoFfEsSiOnAl modern AFL players handle it like it's a piece of soap?

Because as the leagues gone more professional even though the number of hours these players put in to work I maintain that fitness work and time put into it has increased massively but time on skills, even with the extra workload that players put in, Is way less.

Because once upon a time footballers trained to actually mark, kick, handball and tackle, today they play with soccer balls and they seem to avoid the weights room at Alberton.

The coaches fill their heads full of game plans and keeping shape, they forget that it's a simple game, of kicking marking and scoring goals.

I still believe that football 30 year's ago was just as fast if not faster and dam sight more entertaining and exciting.

Let's talk Ports! Part 3