Speculation Liam Baker

Time for some house cleaning.

1) Do not drag discussions or individual posts over here from other threads or boards.

Feel free to respond to those posts wherever they were posted, if you so choose.

2) Enough with the personal attacks. It’s a long season and this one may go the distance, so if you want to remain a part of the discussion, do it respectfully.

We will use thread bans and infractions if necessary.

Again your going on recent form 2 games what a mentality. You lost me there straight away.

Wrong.

Even when he was younger and in better form he isnt a top 6 player in any team. Was he top 6 in the Tigers flag years? No.

Thats the point. Not then and certainly not now.

In the form he currently is in he isnt top 15 and is borderline getting dropped, that is how poor his recent is from the last few games.

Feel free to name any team Baker is a top 6 player in. ANY. And the rest of us will name a mInimum of six players ahead of him.

At the Eagles its Allen, McGovern, Barrass, Yeo, Reid and Waterman. That doesnt even include Duggan, Ryan, Cripps and Kelly. Thats 10.

You and your mates here are totally overrating Baker.

You are wasting your time with this one mate, time to flick the beanie I reckon.

Never a waste of time engaging and learning from other peoples perspectives.

Feel free to name a club where Baker would sit in the top 6 players.

No wishy washy BS comments. Put up an arguement. Not a baseless fan opinion.

Im guessing you wont because you know the more detailed the discussion gets the less logical you sound.

Never a waste of time engaging and learning from other peoples perspectives.

Feel free to name a club where Baker would sit in the top 6 players.

No wishy washy BS comments. Put up an arguement. Not a baseless fan opinion.

Im guessing you wont because you know the more detailed the discussion gets the less logical you sound.
Great rant, but that isnt what I was replying to so why would I comment?
but if I had to, and as much as this tastes like shit, and i will deny it if you mention this to anyone, I agree with your point on being in the top 100 players.

Sick Vomit GIF by CBS

Wrong.

Even when he was younger and in better form he isnt a top 6 player in any team. Was he top 6 in the Tigers flag years? No.

In the form he currently is in he isnt top 15 and is borderline getting dropped, that is how poor his recent is from the last few games.

Feel free to name any team Baker is a top 6 player in. ANY. And the rest of us will name a mInimum of six players ahead of him.

At the Eagles its Allen, McGovern, Barrass, Yeo, Reid and Waterman. That doesnt even include Duggan, Ryan, Cripps and Kelly. Thats 10.

LOL

Wrong.

Baker might not be "top 6 player" but IMO it's partly because he's a jack of all trades, a utility which is a valuable thing in itself, but doesn't elevate him clearly above others who are more specialised.

But anyway list managers don't give a crap about how football pundits power rank players against eachother on internet forums... list managers care about bringing in players that enhance their list by filling a skill/leadership gap, complementing the existing list and making others better around them. Baker brings those qualities to any side.

I hope we keep him personally.

So he's a smaller James Aish?

View attachment 2050701

(Yeah, I think he's better, but still a utility with no stand out position)

(And yes, he's probably a bit tougher than Aishy as well)

:D
He is a utility, but he's proven when left in a position he plays HB or HF to a very high level. Leave him there and he will perform to a very good level. Midfield is not his go, but on occasion he can add something different. He isnt a utility because he is just ok on every line, he is a utility because he is more flexible than most and coaches love flexibility.

Like Aish.

Dude, you are better than that. Aish is a HB at best and doesnt offer much anywhere else.
Has played at a decent level in midfield, wing and tagger since he joined Freo.

Some stints at half forward (not great there).

Moved to Half back for this season with Sharp and Fyfe back in the squad. He's actually been a pretty solid player across all lines.

Has played at a decent level in midfield, wing and tagger since he joined Freo.

Some stints at half forward (not great there).

Moved to Half back for this season with Sharp and Fyfe back in the squad. He's actually been a pretty solid player across all lines.
Has also struggled to cement a best 22 spot on occasions and at his 3rd club.

Aish is actually who I see Baker replacing in the side. He's a slight upgrade, with a few more years in the tank.

I've said I'm happy to pay the latest 1st with a second or 3rd back. Mainly due to the hand we currently have. But an early second on it's own is not out of the realms of possibility.

Aish is actually who I see Baker replacing in the side. He's a slight upgrade, with a few more years in the tank.

I've said I'm happy to pay the latest 1st with a second or 3rd back. Mainly due to the hand we currently have. But an early second on it's own is not out of the realms of possibility.
A late first is on the money I reckon, but I couldnt see us giving anything back but a token if anything at all.

By your estimate, you give us a pick in the teens and we give you baker and a pick in the 20's???

Has also struggled to cement a best 22 spot on occasions and at his 3rd club.
He hasn't.

lowest games in a year was 16 in his first year, which was 2020. which, you know.

Every game this year, 22,23,20 games in 21,22 & 23 and has only missed through injury.

A late first is on the money I reckon, but I couldnt see us giving anything back but a token if anything at all.

By your estimate, you give us a pick in the teens and we give you baker and a pick in the 20's???
Sure, why not?

More reasonable than calls for pick 3 or a pick inside 10.

He hasn't.

lowest games in a year was 16 in his first year, which was 2020. which, you know.

Every game this year, 22,23,20 games in 21,22 & 23 and has only missed through injury.
Yes but at his 2 previous clubs, he was chosen approx 50% of the time

I would say both are crazy.

Pick 15ish for Baker, I haven't changed on that.
I think the late second back, that could be around pick 35 by the time the rort is through, isn't asking a lot.

Otherwise I agree.

Just having a look at utility vs utility. They're pretty evenly matched. The Baker madness would give him a slight edge, Aish is more laid back.

I think the late second back, that could be around pick 35 by the time the rort is through, isn't asking a lot.

Otherwise I agree.

Just having a look at utility vs utility. They're pretty evenly matched. The Baker madness would give him a slight edge, Aish is more laid back.
Mate you have 3 first rounders, **** off ya selfish ****er 😂

Otherwise I agree.

Funny way to spell soft ;)

Speculation Liam Baker