List Management | End of year discussion

OUT: SMitchell, Lewis, Hill, Shem, ???, ???.
IN: TMitchell, O'Meara, Vickery, Draft, Draft, Draft.

Who goes?

Litherland - Unsigned.
Spangher - Unsigned.

Brand - Signed?
Willsmore - Signed?
O'Rourke - Signed?
Webster - Signed?
Fitzpatrick - Signed?

Our rubbish draft picks this year might save one of those boys. Reckon we will de-list Spangher then rookie him.

latest

HMMMMM, this would be nice....

SMitchell - TMitchell
Lewis - O'Meara
Spangher - Vickery
Hill - Jarmen (F/S)
Shem - Surman ( Rookie Upgrade )

Webster OR Litherland - Woodward OR Draft.

Jarman is no chance we won't use next years 2nd round pick on a kid likely to go in the 3rd round this year

The million dollar question is what have we got planned for the draft?

Do we delist players and re draft them?

Do we upgrade rookies?

Either way it's going to be genius list management, who would have thought last week when we got pick 88 for Mitchell that it would be our 1st pick in the draft

I've been thinking in context of what we 'actually' received:

Jaeger O’Meara:

Pre injury JOM was almost exclusively anointed the number 1 draft pick in everything but name. When comparing his first season to other number 1 draft picks he was the best of the last decade. In 2013 and 2014 JOM ranked above average for a midfielder in disposals, contested possessions, clearances, score involvements and goals. JOM is a big game player, and is only second behind GAJ when playing top 8 sides. JOM is ranked elite by champion data in regard to pressure acts and laid the 9th most tackles of any midfielder in the competition in 2014. JOM is almost a perfect mix of inside/outside midfielder. Pre draft JOM had elite speed and stamina recording a 2.80 over 20m and endurance of 14+ beep. JOM is efficient on both feet and most pleasing of all is a consummate professional. Injury history obviously a concern but on potential alone he could literally be anything. HFC would have done plenty of homework on his troublesome knees. Tim Watson said not so long ago he could be the greatest midfielder ever and on his first two seasons it’s hard to argue with that.

22 years of age.

Tom Mitchell:

2016 Stats include:

Ranked 3rd in Total Handballs
Ranked 5th in Total Tackles
Ranked 11th in Total Uncontested Possessions
Ranked 6th in Handballs Per Game
Ranked 20th in Tackles Per Game
Ranked 20th in Contested Possessions Per Game
Ranked 5th in Total Disposals
Ranked 9th in Total Contested Possessions
Ranked 8th in Total Effective Disposals
Ranked 16th in Disposals Per Game

Originally considered easily a top 10 draft pick TOM was taken at 21 by Sydney under F/S. After absolutely dominated the NEAFL for years he has transitioned to AFL with almost as much prowess but with little fanfare. He has the lowest kick to handball ratio of any player and is consistently finds targets by hand but struggles to deliver inside 50. Ranked as elite for pressure acts and tackles TOM heaps huge pressure on opponents causing turnovers regularly. Elite endurance, contested ball winner and clearance machine. Has added the ability to kick goals from stoppages but will need to work on his delivery in the forward 50, the only true deficiency in a otherwise very accomplished and adaptive midfielder.

23 years of age.

Ty Vickery:

Originally drafted as a ruckman that ‘could’ become a power forward TV has been much maligned by his own supporters. The whipping boy at first glance seems to be everything they say. But when you look closer you discover just how valuable he could be. He is, in my humble opinion, the best ruck/forward in the competition behind potentially Tom Boyd but a fraction of the cost. In 2015 when he was asked to go into the ruck he produced some of the best tap work of the competition ranked 2nd in the league for hitouts-to-advantage. He also ranked 15th for goals per game as a key forward and was second only to Tory Dickson in kick rating in front of goals. You may very well point out the disciplinary issues of the past or the fact that times he appeared ‘lazy’. However, we have a player here that is absolutely thrilled to be at hawthorn (and has had a gut full of Richmond). Vickery in combination with Bruest, Rioli, Puopolo, Roughead, Shoenmakers and Gunston makes for a very impressive forward line. I believe we were ranked first in 2015 for forward line and I think TV will further enhance that reputation. A fresh start with more support with a talented coach and team.

26 years of age.

Essentially we picked players worth picks 1, 6, 8. Three picks in the top ten is a fairly successful trade period.

I understand that we have given much, but regeneration is never easy and often misunderstood. We can’t obtain young talented players living in the past and certainly risks are very real when trading large amounts of picks and decorated players for seemingly nothing.

Or did we?

People will be unhappy, angry and hurt with decision over the next couple of years but results dictate the action. Is it not better to risk it all then to slowly fade away paying tribute to stars that cannot be our future?

Development is difficult, ride the bumps with a grin boys/girls because I feel something special is in the pipeline.

40 -

Mitch
Lewis
Hill
Willsmore
Webster
Spang

------
JML
Shem

Upgrade -

Woodward

( 2 x rookie openings )
( 5 x senior openings )

-- 2 x draft selections--

------------------

= 3 senior list openings from the PSD or Rookie positions.
2 Rookie positions

My thoughts -

Morabito - worth the risk

Grimes - exceptional training leadership

Lowden - familiar with system as a back up

KPD - we are very ligh with an injury to Chip

Speculative - GW special

Any list upgrades to be on final list lodgement.

Surman & Glass a sneaky chance for an upgrade & Spang could get a rookie spot.

40 -

Mitch
Lewis
Hill
Willsmore
Webster
Spang

------
JML
Shem

Upgrade -

Woodward

( 2 x rookie openings )
( 5 x senior openings )

-- 2 x draft selections--

------------------

= 3 senior list openings from the PSD or Rookie positions.
2 Rookie positions

My thoughts -

Morabito - worth the risk

Grimes - exceptional training leadership

Lowden - familiar with system as a back up

KPD - we are very ligh with an injury to Chip

Speculative - GW special

Any list upgrades to be on final list lodgement.

Surman & Glass a sneaky chance for an upgrade & Spang could get a rookie spot.

We will keep Spang as KPD Depth IMO for that reason

We are a chance to get in quite a few:
Possible:
Trengove - Port have apparently floated his name around as they are VERY short on picks and with Hammer now more likely to stay
Rumored:
Barrett - Apparently we have enquired and are seeing what can be done
Harry Dear - We are apparently trying to work something there late in the draft
EMac - Not likely anymore
Likely:
Mitchell - Will be announced today
O'Meara - Nominated and Wrighty confident it will get done
Vickery - Done and dusted - Find out when Richmond say no to matching at 3pm this arvo

There are plenty I would say we are a chance of losing:
Possible:
Willsmore - Delisted
JML - Delisted
Rumored:
Puopolo - To GC as part of the GCS trade for O'Meara
McEvoy - Retirement
Brand - Return to SA
Sicily - To GC as part of the GCS trade for O'Meara
Langford - As part of the Mitchell deal
Likely:
Hill - To Freo
Spangher - To retirement

These are just opinion and rumored moves. There could be something completely out of the blue. Considering the fact that we haven't openly chased a replacement first ruck, I would think that the McEvoy rumor is not happening. Brand is apparently now likely to stay with us. I think JML is done, Willsmore is the other Rookie that is at risk as many believe he went backwards this year. Poppy has been quite heavily linked to the GCS trade, rightly or wrongly. Wrighty said no to getting rid of Sicily but stranger things have happened. Langers has been thrown around as part of the GCS and Sydney trade. Hill is gone and many think Spangh will retire.

Who knows really but we will likely need to lose a best 22 to facilitate what we need to get in

Why are we trying to retire a 27 year old???

We aren't. There was a rumor during the year that BB was out of contract and looking at retirement.
Nat Edwards said BB told her directly he is contracted for next year but the rumor persists this being social media and all that

We will keep Spang as KPD Depth IMO for that reason
In 2 seasons he hasn't played in the seniors for 40+games... delisted or Rookie for me. It's not like he has the potential of a Morabito to keep your hopes up as well as we have Kiwi, Surman & Brand all needing games.

Need a ruckman. Can't go into a season with big boy and pitto as the ruck team.

We all seem to be counting Vickery as a forward who can get 50 goals AND a ruckman who can lead our ruck team.

He can't. He's not that good and he hasn't been de-Richmonded. (Although, possibly due to the contempt everyone else has for him, he's quickly becoming a favourite of mine).

Need a ruckman.

Really think we need to turn over the bottom end of our list - the talent is just not there and we could do worse with picking up some delisted free agents (can't be much worse than pick 88).

I have real concerns over the lack of under 23/25 afl quality talent on our list - probably worst in the league and our older guys are on the decline. Our list is in really bad shape.

Really think we need to turn over the bottom end of our list - the talent is just not there and we could do worse with picking up some delisted free agents (can't be much worse than pick 88).

I have real concerns over the lack of under 23/25 afl quality talent on our list - probably worst in the league and our older guys are on the decline. Our list is in really bad shape.

.... generally accepted best years for players are once they turn 24 and have played 100 games.

Pretty sure that most of the guys we have under both of those, that aren't getting a game, almost certainly would in most other teams.

We are desperate for KPD depth and ruck depth.

Mitch Brown would be tempting at 88. Ruck could be addressed in the rookie draft.

Yeah I suppose unfortunately thats just what happens when you have been top 4 for basically a decade and have won 4 Premierships and played in 5 Grand Finals.

List Management | End of year discussion