Beaussie

Jul 26, 2001
Western Sydney
Will this spell the end for Pay TV/Foxtel? Bring it on. Live footy each week nationwide on free to air tv. :thumbsu:

TV stations told to play fair over footy rights
Phillip Coorey
September 21, 2010

THE federal government has promised AFL fans that last week's debacle in which free-to-air TV delayed for two hours the telecast of the preliminary final between Collingwood and Geelong will never be repeated because of impending changes to the way live sport is broadcast.

Under changes to the anti-siphoning laws to be unveiled before Christmas, free-to-air television stations will be required to broadcast sport live or hand it over to pay TV.

However, the stations will have the option of broadcasting the event live on one of their secondary digital channels, instead of their main channel, giving them the best of both worlds.

Only if they choose to hoard the event and not run it live at all will they have to allow pay TV to broadcast it under a ''use-it-or-lose-it'' provision.

The changes have been ready since early this year but were delayed by the government's various misfortunes including the mining tax imbroglio, Kevin Rudd's ousting and then the election. They are awaiting sign-off by the cabinet and will be enacted by regulation before December 31, when the current anti-siphoning list expires.

On Friday night, viewers in Sydney, Brisbane and Canberra were unable to watch the preliminary final on Channel Seven or its regional affiliate, Prime, until 9.30pm, two hours after the game began. The event was made available live on Fox TV's Main Event channel.

Channel Seven and Prime were inundated with complaints from people without pay TV but they were told the AFL would rate poorly against the NRL final between the Canberra Raiders and Wests Tigers (on Channel Nine) so it was worth Seven's while to delay coverage.

The new regulations cover the next AFL TV rights contract which runs from 2012 to 2016 and is forecast to be worth $1 billion.

The latest figures show that as of June 30, 74 per cent of Australian households had converted to digital television. By contrast, 30 per cent subscribed to pay TV.

Analog TV is due to be phased out completely by 2013.

http://www.smh.com.au/sport/tv-stations-told-to-play-fair-over-footy-rights-20100921-15jxe.html

I really hope that means that WA finally gets live Friday night games. I'm sick to death of having to wait three hours for the game to start. They recently had the Fremantle/Geelong game live here and it was awesome.

Two things driving this..

The governments deregulation of the digital channels, which is a good thing for consumers.

And the AFL's obsession with live sport gambling. They are pushing live TV big time. The sportbetting cut will be huge.

While I like the idea, the 2nd point worries me.

I really hope that means that WA finally gets live Friday night games. I'm sick to death of having to wait three hours for the game to start. They recently had the Fremantle/Geelong game live here and it was awesome.

Come on, I love Better Homes and Gardens. Don't you?

Two things driving this..

The governments deregulation of the digital channels, which is a good thing for consumers.

And the AFL's obsession with live sport gambling. They are pushing live TV big time. The sportbetting cut will be huge.

While I like the idea, the 2nd point worries me.

Yeah I can just see the gambling ads going absolutely crazy, polluting our screens. It is bad enough as it is now. But that is a separate issue.

As for the new changes, this is brilliant news for the majority of us without Fox. Finally the digital channels will be used as they were set-up for...to show sport live!:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

I haven't watched a Friday Night game in years because the game is already finished by the time it gets on TV

it will open the way for WA to get footy friday and saturday nights live into WA on foxtel.

7 and 10 will never show those games live,they dont like showing games live.

AFL will be on foxtel in some shape or form. the AFL would be stupid not too include them in the next deal if people want live footy on a friday night in WA QLD & NSW fox will have to be included.

FOX footy coverage>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 10 and 7
50 bucks a month to watch live ad free footy worth every cent IMO.

perth footy problems go deeper than friday night.

10 on saturday show before the game when the game is on delaying it by 90 mins at least
if its a WA team they go live.

Then there are the games that dont get shown at all,when 7 or 10 show the same game fox does.

What it could mean is that 7 or ten on saturday and Sunday in paticular could show two or more games at once.

For seven on Sunday The early and late game on MATE and the mid afternoon game on SEVEN

For Ten on Saturday , 2 day games on on 1HD and 10 and the same again for the night games. If this happends its farewell foxtel at my place.

Seven and Ten aren't going to cannibalize their AFL audience by showing two games at once.

This.

The only hope for non-Eagles/Freo fans is that they either show the game they didn't show straight after the WA team plays, or they give it to Fox to show like the old agreement was.

They won't show two games at once.

Then there are the games that dont get shown at all,when 7 or 10 show the same game fox does.

This would seem to be a problem caused exclusively by the anti-siphoning rules.
There's no reason why they wouldn't show those games on a secondary digital channel if they were allowed to. I don't buy the 'cannibalising their audience' argument, as they wouldn't particularly care which channel people were watching and it would, almost certainly, increase their total audience.

Seven and Ten aren't going to cannibalize their AFL audience by showing two games at once.

Bingo.

When it comes down to it I just can't see how they would want to be forking over what Foxtel previously paid for the tv rights, then the cost of producing the games (all those extra cameras and commentators) and then to be showing different games at the same time on different channels.

Particularly when ratings have tanked this year.

7 and 10 rarely have to provide a crew to broadcast games in perth,as they leave all those for fox to do.
that being the case fox will not relinquish those games seeing they go to the expense of providing the broadcast.

i will keep foxtel for as long as they show footy without ad breaks.

its worth the money just for that i reckon.

I meant in Khan's example of Seven or Ten producing and broadcasting two games at the same time.

Well, I think it was the example of showing a Fox game and blacking out a 7 or 10 game on 7 or 10. It wouldn't increase production costs showing that game on 7Two, 7mate or One. And would almost certainly increase total audience.

But even so, it wasn't that long ago (well, 15+ years ago anyway) that Channel 7 used to cover the occasional game exclusively for the Perth market.

Live broadcasts of the AFL nationwide coming soon