Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL) 2

Bfl tips.

Anglesea vs Barwon Heads- chucky smith to get the roo's home 9pts
Drysdale vs Ocean Grove- could be the game of the year if there last games anything to go by 3pts
Newcomb vs Torquay- someone could break the 20 goal barrier this week 326pts
Moddewarre vs Portarlington- warriors to bring the dee's back down to earth 21pts
Geelong Ammo's vs Queenscliff- couta's to give ammo's a huge test 34pts

Tips for this week. Winners in red.
Grovedale vs Lara- Toss of the coin job 19pts
Bell Park vs Newtown- Dragons easy 45pts
Leopold vs St Marys- St Marys to run away after half time 36pts
St Albans vs South Barwon- Swans in another % booster 109pts
West Saints vs St Joeys- Joeys to roll on 65pts

North Shore vs Colac- Seagulls to be competetive but colac comfortably 53pts

People, let's stop calling GWSP West Saints. People at the club hate it and that's not their name. Geelong West-St Peters Roosters. They are not called the Saints.

Come on mate everyone calls em west saints or red west. Do you think if i ask someone "who did you play today"? or "who did you go watch today"? their gonna say "oh, we played geelong west-st peters roosters".
Doestn't happen mate, unfortunately besides the people at your club, everyone else just calls them by their abbreviated name.

hardly a kid, isnt he 24??

Welcome back tommahawk! Your insightful posts have been sadly lacking on this thread for far to long:thumbsu:

How are the grovey old boys doing out at hamyln park this year? Saw that davenport was dropped last game and went out and got best on ground against nth shore. Is he a gonna come straight back up this week or will they give him another run in the 2's?
His attitude must have improved signifingantly this year coz if that had ever happened when he was at grovey it wouldv'e cause ww3!

Come on mate everyone calls em west saints or red west. Do you think if i ask someone "who did you play today"? or "who did you go watch today"? their gonna say "oh, we played geelong west-st peters roosters".
Doestn't happen mate, unfortunately besides the people at your club, everyone else just calls them by their abbreviated name.

Interesting that people have that perception, football folk don't refer to Sth Barwon as Belmont or Barwon anymore do they? Or Belmont whatever Barwon's mascot was? Geelong West, Roosters, etc wopuld be fine; it's just the 'West Saints' moniker that gives them the sh!ts as it was made up by the media not the club themselves. Anyway, hard to change people's views I suppose. If that's my biggest issue at the moment, then i'm going alright.
PS. If Newcomb has come out and said they will be around in 2010; i'm sure North Shore have nothing to worry about. They just need to start relying on other income streams other than pokies; like most clubs have been doing and .... keep building their footy club from the ground up.

Interesting that people have that perception, football folk don't refer to Sth Barwon as Belmont or Barwon anymore do they? Or Belmont whatever Barwon's mascot was? Geelong West, Roosters, etc wopuld be fine; it's just the 'West Saints' moniker that gives them the sh!ts as it was made up by the media not the club themselves. Anyway, hard to change people's views I suppose. If that's my biggest issue at the moment, then i'm going alright.
PS. If Newcomb has come out and said they will be around in 2010; i'm sure North Shore have nothing to worry about. They just need to start relying on other income streams other than pokies; like most clubs have been doing and .... keep building their footy club from the ground up.

The only reason i can give you brownsugar is that west saints or red west just rolls off the tongue so easily! All well and good for newcomb to come out and say they'll be around in 2010 but ill believe it when i see them run out in round 1 next year. I may be soft or get called weak or whatever but i couldn't see myself lasting to long in a side that constantly get's beaten by 200 points each week. So its going to be extremely hard for them to survive although this is just my opinion which of course doesnt stand for much.

I think we all hope Newcomb survive. We should look at a club like Portarlingotn who were in a simular situation and they have been able to get out of it. Lets hope Newcomb can do what Port have done. But there is no quick fix and it sounds like they are doing the right things. I think patience is needed.

As for GWSP, i usually say Red West mainly because it is easy to say, also the same with West Saints. GWSP is just to long maybe they need to become know as The Roosters much as North Melbourne became The Kangaroos.

Welcome back tommahawk! Your insightful posts have been sadly lacking on this thread for far to long:thumbsu:

How are the grovey old boys doing out at hamyln park this year? Saw that davenport was dropped last game and went out and got best on ground against nth shore. Is he a gonna come straight back up this week or will they give him another run in the 2's?
His attitude must have improved signifingantly this year coz if that had ever happened when he was at grovey it wouldv'e cause ww3!

i've been reading timmy but do not post unless i have something worth contributing...

yeh they have all fitted in well, they've all had big jobs to do especially hayden graham who has had to try and cover for johnson who has played vfl all year. i think pete knew he was a bit out of form and like anyone who is out of form, you take your medicine and go and find some. he took it exceptionally well and will probably come back in tonight i'd say...

seems to me brown sugar that you no nothing about north shore cause if you did you would know that the pokies had very little(and i mean little)to do with the footy club,north shore can now start using there bar takings like all clubs in geelong do to help there footy section.

i've been reading timmy but do not post unless i have something worth contributing...

yeh they have all fitted in well, they've all had big jobs to do especially hayden graham who has had to try and cover for johnson who has played vfl all year. i think pete knew he was a bit out of form and like anyone who is out of form, you take your medicine and go and find some. he took it exceptionally well and will probably come back in tonight i'd say...

Now lt's be honest here; have Bell Park been the Big Underachievers in GFL football in the past two seasons? Group comment....
For sure especially when you spend one hundred and twenty grand yeah i know for a fact thats how much they spent... most clubs us

aully have sixty grand or so to spend... they should be a power house
icon6.gif

For sure especially when you spend one hundred and twenty grand yeah i know for a fact thats how much they spent... most clubs us

aully have sixty grand or so to spend... they should be a power house
icon6.gif

Are they a new side in the region?? I reckn Bell Park definately failed last year with the side they had. This year they've lost Garth and Broom anyone else tommohawk? I think i had them tipped for a top 3 finish at the start of this season and so far they have under achieved.

But there's still half a season left and i feel they probably will make finals although they really need to start beating sides above them to be considered a serious threat.

Are they a new side in the region?? I reckn Bell Park definately failed last year with the side they had. This year they've lost Garth and Broom anyone else tommohawk? I think i had them tipped for a top 3 finish at the start of this season and so far they have under achieved.

But there's still half a season left and i feel they probably will make finals although they really need to start beating sides above them to be considered a serious threat.

Lost Garth & Broom but gained Barrett, Graham, J.Sherringham & Davenport. I think this should take care of there outs.

seems to me brown sugar that you no nothing about north shore cause if you did you would know that the pokies had very little(and i mean little)to do with the footy club,north shore can now start using there bar takings like all clubs in geelong do to help there footy section.

Where did the money from the pokies go? Back on improving the look of the place (as it is built into other pokie venues' charters) or did they run at a loss? Surely there would have been some benefit to to the club by having them, especially if they only have to now start using bar takings.

Lost Garth & Broom but gained Barrett, Graham, J.Sherringham & Davenport. I think this should take care of there outs.

I agree, they set themselves to be one of the big guns last year and failed to make the finals. The loss to North Shore one of the biggest shock losses in recent GFL memory. This year could well go the same. Any fingers being pointed at Fitzgerald? Possibly one of the best sides around on paper. I have been able to get to a few games this year and as always, they seem to play like millionaires but when the going gets tough they go missing and can't dig deep enough.

bloody hell theres a lot to cover here, kinda wish i stayed in hiding!

theres is no way you know how much is being spent on players and it wouldnt be more than any other club eg south barwon, st marys, colac, etc. the money doesnt go straight from the pokies to the footy club, that is just an ignorant way to look at things. the whole pokies/bistro area is a business that supports the footy club and all the other sporting clubs that play under the bell park name (netball, cricket, darts, junior football etc.) its not as if they have thousands of dollars to spend straight from pokies and a lot of the players are bell park juniors that are on base payments...

we lost garth, broom, blair robertson, kane robertson plus jackson sheringham and ben johnson have been playing vfl all year and mitch cuthill has played half a game. johnson has been the biggest loss as he would have been able to cover for garth and the others will make a huge difference if we get them back. the season is not over, if we can squeeze in to 5th i reckon we will worry a few in finals...

I totally forgot about Cuthill, very good player. Robertson is just ok ( IN MY MIND) the only VFL problem you will have is Johnson, Sherringham will play majority of the rest of the games at Bell Park. Reading previous post can you tell us why Davenport played in the 2's last week?

Why did Davenport leave Grovey? Have heard conflicting reports.

Queenscliff knocking off the Ammos at Queens Park really opens up the competition. Very quick and young the coutas

I dont the full reason why dav left grovey same as the other 2 that went out there. Good on em tho if they think there doin the right thing but it remains to be seem:thumbsu: tim finnigan will post 2moro when he's seeing straight:D coz it was a massive game up at burdoo today!

tim finnigan, so an interesrting game at burdoo reserve. i heard from all reports umpire was terrible and that it maybe played a part in the end result??

I dont the full reason why dav left grovey same as the other 2 that went out there. Good on em tho if they think there doin the right thing but it remains to be seem:thumbsu: tim finnigan will post 2moro when he's seeing straight:D coz it was a massive game up at burdoo today!
Did you have your two cans for the day.:D:D:D