Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Couldn't agree more he is a self indulgent wannabe who knows very little about the game, why do they call him Milky?

I have known Milky for a long time and he is a good bloke. I have always got on very well with him.

I can see however why some people may dislike him.

As for you saying he knows nothing about the game, you are wrong there. Milky has played a lot of football and was quite successful down Colac way in his younger days i believe. He has served on a number of match commitees at both Geelong Amateurs and Ocean Grove (during their premiership years) and even coached Ocean Grove 2's for a season. He does know what he is talking about.

It is interesting you make such a judgement on someone without knowing them. Unless you do know him. But if you really did you wouldnt say what you did i guess.

I have known Milky for a long time and he is a good bloke. I have always got on very well with him.

I can see however why some people may dislike him.

As for you saying he knows nothing about the game, you are wrong there. Milky has played a lot of football and was quite successful down Colac way in his younger days i believe. He has served on a number of match commitees at both Geelong Amateurs and Ocean Grove (during their premiership years) and even coached Ocean Grove 2's for a season. He does know what he is talking about.

It is interesting you make such a judgement on someone without knowing them. Unless you do know him. But if you really did you wouldnt say what you did i guess.

Yeah I heard he was turfed out of a few clubs as well!
If you have known him for some time can you tell mewhy is he called Milky?

Hows this news hot off the press. the GFL has released its ressies interleague side. due to play bfl firsts in what is tipped to be a tough game.

B- B.Lynch (BP) D.Friend (New) K.Carr (NS)

HB- M.Fenwick (SM) Chipperton (SB) T.Hughes (Lara)

C- S.Kenny (BP) D.Haugh (SJ) B.Greig (SM)

HF- B.Hauenstein (Gro) A.Sutej (NS) Butler (SB)

F- D.Hultgren (New) M.Smith (Gro) T.Ivermee (NS)

R.- D.Hoare (SM) J.DiBlasio (New) B.Podpury (SJ)

Int.- Voss (SJ) Spence (GWSP) Robbins (Lara)

Many St.Albans senior players were stiff to miss......

Players like Kenny and Podbury (not Podpury) have been injured for majority of the season and Hoare, Voss and Robbins may have played one or two games in ressies this year due to senior selection...

What was the purpose of this anyway? Where you being fair dinkum or was this an attempt of a cheap shot at St. Alban's and the BFL? Either way, shithouse.

Players like Kenny and Podbury (not Podpury) have been injured for majority of the season and Hoare, Voss and Robbins may have played one or two games in ressies this year due to senior selection...

What was the purpose of this anyway? Where you being fair dinkum or was this an attempt of a cheap shot at St. Alban's and the BFL? Either way, shithouse.

just think its fair that reserves players get a shot at something. something to aim for when you are squeezed out of the side. interleague selection for ressies would be great.

Cant agree, why reward mediocrity? Harsh maybe, but why should they be rewarded for playing 2's?

because some players are going to always be twos players. something to aim for, because a lot of players are quality players in the reserves but just know they are never going to get a senior look in

Very good win by GWSP out at North Shore today by 11pts. Lead by around 45 at one stage before the home side hit back hard in the last quarter. NS had a host of players out but GWSP also had two of their best out in Dyer and Jack. Carson & Jago 3 each with Whiteford close to BOG honours again. Roosters going along ok at 4-2. Bernie Lynch could have got the margin even closer but for some bad kicking for goal late in the last. Competition continues to get tighter and with Bell Park & Colac starting to wind up with wins again, a mad scramble for finals spots will be good for local footy.

St Albans win another!

Cant believe this, Newtown must of not shown up, Verco was out but didnt notice many more missing from there line up in paper. GWSP flogged them last week can someone who witnessed this game give the big footy public answers please, could be costly for the eagles.

no verco = no newtown is that what your saying?

i am still in disbelief at what i witnessed at hamlyn park yesterday as the leopold boys ran directly at 250th gamer marty barbaro and incited a melee while the bell park boys were carrying out their pre game warm ups around the square...

can someone from leopold give me an insight as to whether this was pre planned or simply a spur of the moment decision?? either way it did not have the desired effect as the dragons slammed home the first 3 goals of the game in quick succession then ran out comfortable winners at the end of the day!

no verco = no newtown is that what your saying?

i am still in disbelief at what i witnessed at hamlyn park yesterday as the leopold boys ran directly at 250th gamer marty barbaro and incited a melee while the bell park boys were carrying out their pre game warm ups around the square...

can someone from leopold give me an insight as to whether this was pre planned or simply a spur of the moment decision?? either way it did not have the desired effect as the dragons slammed home the first 3 goals of the game in quick succession then ran out comfortable winners at the end of the day!

Planned or not tomma this was one of the most despicable acts by a scum side i have ever seen. not only did they target barbaro but also young gun jase graham who they proceeded to rip the shoulder guard off which protects his shoulder from more dislocations which have already interrupted his short career. scum like this should be playing shit football in the gdfl where if your tough it apparently doesn't matter if you can't play football. the 12 goal drubbing leopold got also shows they are the same shit side as the last few years. the lack of respect they showed for one of the leagues greats is unforgivable. they gained nothing from it but lost any respect they might of had.

Very good win by GWSP out at North Shore today by 11pts. Lead by around 45 at one stage before the home side hit back hard in the last quarter. NS had a host of players out but GWSP also had two of their best out in Dyer and Jack. Carson & Jago 3 each with Whiteford close to BOG honours again. Roosters going along ok at 4-2. Bernie Lynch could have got the margin even closer but for some bad kicking for goal late in the last. Competition continues to get tighter and with Bell Park & Colac starting to wind up with wins again, a mad scramble for finals spots will be good for local footy.

Great win by GWSP - will be fighting it out for a top 5 position for sure and where is North Shore at??

lads how big was the melee? the poldas really struggling this year.

as far as before the bounce melees go it was a fair size, the bell park players were really not happy with the targeting of a club legend who at one stage had 3 blokes to deal with at once...

there were only a handfull of players throwing actual punches but many were involved in the scuffle. apparently nothing can come of it by way of reports because the game had not started and i dont think the umpires were even watching, there wasnt much they could do to stop it anyway...

it will be interesting to see if it gets a mention in the paper because it really did trigger the dragons in to action...

Planned or not tomma this was one of the most despicable acts by a scum side i have ever seen. not only did they target barbaro but also young gun jase graham who they proceeded to rip the shoulder guard off which protects his shoulder from more dislocations which have already interrupted his short career. scum like this should be playing shit football in the gdfl where if your tough it apparently doesn't matter if you can't play football. the 12 goal drubbing leopold got also shows they are the same shit side as the last few years. the lack of respect they showed for one of the leagues greats is unforgivable. they gained nothing from it but lost any respect they might of had.

I'm not going to name any names, but you can bet that one of the new players to Leopold this season would have had some involvement in this. I have heard this certain player in the past at 1/4, 3/4, huddles, and this incident stinks of him.
Obviously didn't work, as Barbaro was best for the Dragons.

Having seen a few GDFL games also this season, yet to witness any form of melee. Maybe they have matured, and more focused on winning the game, rather than the fights.

Obviouvly didn't battle the arctic weather or friday night 19th! Anakie vs Blue west had some good melee's in it, even some firey one on ones. Lets just say that the Cheetahs didn't win the battle, but they won the fights!

Actually, speaking of Anakie, can anyone tell me why Jeremy Sluggett left Lara and went to Anakie? Wasn't he playing regular ones at Lara?

Obviouvly didn't battle the arctic weather or friday night 19th! Anakie vs Blue west had some good melee's in it, even some firey one on ones. Lets just say that the Cheetahs didn't win the battle, but they won the fights!

Actually, speaking of Anakie, can anyone tell me why Jeremy Sluggett left Lara and went to Anakie? Wasn't he playing regular ones at Lara?

I have a fair idea, Jeremy tends to be a bit lazy at times. After starting the year at Lara under Normington who works the players nice and hard (as he should), Sluggett looks like he has decided to take the easy option and play with some mates at Anakie. Bit of the "big fish, little pond" syndrome...

Cant believe this, Newtown must of not shown up, Verco was out but didnt notice many more missing from there line up in paper. GWSP flogged them last week can someone who witnessed this game give the big footy public answers please, could be costly for the eagles.

I was at the Newtown vs St Albans game, and yes newtown did miss verco, but they were also without Condy, Wilkinson, spolding, brock bouch and one or two others, and their replacements just didnt do the job well enough. Personally i think St Albans just played their own ground a lot better than newtown did. Some very poor foot skills and some stupid free kicks and 50's cost them in the last quarter when it was still to be one. Jay bett stood up in the last and continually got town back with in a goal about 3 times, until albans kicked 2 in a row and that was game over.
It will be a interesting game next week thats for sure against NS.

i notice michael bright failed to register a goal or get in the best, this is unusual for a player of his ilk and one who has been a shining light for newtown this year. was he well held by someone or just had an off day?

Yound Pres you have a lot to learn. You sound so experienced and have so much knowledge about our great game. Have you ever played keep shit comments about other leagues to yourself. :(

Have you or do you actually play the game.

Yound Pres you have a lot to learn. You sound so experienced and have so much knowledge about our great game. Have you ever played keep shit comments about other leagues to yourself. :(

Have you or do you actually play the game.

I don't have to explain myself to you Mailboy. There is a reason the GDFL has its own thread, so cretins like you won't come into this one. Now go back there and discuss whether there is more sheep shit on Inverleigh's or Winchelsea's ground or whatever you bogans talk about...

Great win by GWSP - will be fighting it out for a top 5 position for sure and where is North Shore at??
Granted NS were a couple of quality players out inc. Nicholls, Villarosa, C.Chapman & Brody but what really pushed them was GWSP height down forward and obviously none of these good players would have made a difference in that respect. Their runners got them back into the game on Sat. Newtown no doubt will need to pick themselves up but Verco & Bett should have the ascendancy just like Carson, Saunders & Jago for the Roosters.