• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

I don't have to explain myself to you Mailboy. There is a reason the GDFL has its own thread, so cretins like you won't come into this one. Now go back there and discuss whether there is more sheep shit on Inverleigh's or Winchelsea's ground or whatever you bogans talk about...

Hope to run into you soon :eek:

As you know all us GDFL blokes are dirty so keep looking straright ahead

Granted NS were a couple of quality players out inc. Nicholls, Villarosa, C.Chapman & Brody but what really pushed them was GWSP height down forward and obviously none of these good players would have made a difference in that respect. Their runners got them back into the game on Sat. Newtown no doubt will need to pick themselves up but Verco & Bett should have the ascendancy just like Carson, Saunders & Jago for the Roosters.
Dont underestimate the players the Roosters had out too. I would argue they would be just as, if not more important than the north shore absentees. I am talking Jeremy Dyer, Shane Jack and Tony Costa. Plus Faulkner didnt play after half time

what has happened to barwon heads this year, last year they were finalists now they have gone down the tube. lost by 130 something to drysdale, then 95 points to ocean grove. wondering whats going on down there????

Lost a stack of quality, experienced senior players and replaced with not much, local young kids mainly. Coaches wont be there in a coaching capacity next year.

I'm not going to name any names, but you can bet that one of the new players to Leopold this season would have had some involvement in this. I have heard this certain player in the past at 1/4, 3/4, huddles, and this incident stinks of him.
Obviously didn't work, as Barbaro was best for the Dragons.

Why post something like this and not give a name/s. Either say what you want to say or dont bother

I know they lost a few.. dont know about 'a stack'.
Can you name some names?

Ash, T.Milsome, Durran, S.Albon, O'Brien, Plowman, Hughes, Clinnick and T.Lord all gone - 9 players who were all regular senior players last year in a team that finished 3rd at end of regular season, i would call nearly half a side a stack.

Planned or not tomma this was one of the most despicable acts by a scum side i have ever seen. not only did they target barbaro but also young gun jase graham who they proceeded to rip the shoulder guard off which protects his shoulder from more dislocations which have already interrupted his short career. scum like this should be playing shit football in the gdfl where if your tough it apparently doesn't matter if you can't play football. the 12 goal drubbing leopold got also shows they are the same shit side as the last few years. the lack of respect they showed for one of the leagues greats is unforgivable. they gained nothing from it but lost any respect they might of had.

despicable? unforgiveable? scum? Words hardly needed to describe a scuffle between two senior football sides. Firstly, I can assure you that no individual players were targeted. Im guessing that you are a little boy young pres because i know a man would not say rubbish like that. You talk about respect, i dont think you have gained any by taking cheap shots at a club on an internet forum were your identity is anonymous. what happens on the footy field ends at the final siren, and i reckon most of your team mates would say the same thing.

i can see where your coming from polda but from a bell park point of view it seemed as though the whole incident was about targeting barbaro on his 250th. i have been told that the motivations were oherwise but the fact is he was the first hit and was ganged up on by a number of players after running straight out of the rooms on what was for him and the club a momentus occaision. this is what infuriated the bell park players and supporters at the time. surely you can see why they would think this act to be disrespectful, dispicable and so on? had it not been on this day and had they not gone straight to barbaro things might have been different but as it stands it does not present your club in the best of lights. surely you can see that to bell park it was not just a "scuffle between two senior football sides"...

Precisely tomma. I love a scuffle like the next bloke. During a game there is nothing to get a game going like an all in scuffle. What i don't think is needed is for players to be targeted before a game has started and when they are not ready for it. The instigation by leopold was despicable for two reasons. first of all at the end of the day its a footy game and no money (excluding the new GFL betting) was on the line. So why run straight for a guy who has earnt a lot of respect in the league for the FAIR way he plays and attack him. What if during the fight he had been knocked out or seriously injured and his only memories from his 250th game was running out and being attacked during the warm up? i can tell you right now a player such as barbaro will be respected and remembered for a lot longer than anyone who would commit such a cowardly act.

Secondly, the attack on graham was also unwarranted. were do you draw the line. would it be fair to rip tom lonergan's kidney guard off to be able to attack him better, how about justin koschitzke's helmet to be able to smack his fractured skull more easily?

I would have no problem if a leopold player had fairly laid out either of these two players during the game with a bump or a well timed sheppard. That is the time to do it, not when a player is warming up and unawares.

I have never had any beef with leopold as a club but if this kind of thing is condoned or tolerated then serious questions need to be asked. This must have been planned to a certain extent because barbaro was targeted.

Feel free to attack me for being weak or whatever but you need to remember at the end of the day it is just local footy, how you act on the football field is a reflection of who you are in life. There is no such thing as white line fever, it is a poor excuse for losing control and being undisciplined.

Precisely tomma. I love a scuffle like the next bloke. During a game there is nothing to get a game going like an all in scuffle. What i don't think is needed is for players to be targeted before a game has started and when they are not ready for it. The instigation by leopold was despicable for two reasons. first of all at the end of the day its a footy game and no money (excluding the new GFL betting) was on the line. So why run straight for a guy who has earnt a lot of respect in the league for the FAIR way he plays and attack him. What if during the fight he had been knocked out or seriously injured and his only memories from his 250th game was running out and being attacked during the warm up? i can tell you right now a player such as barbaro will be respected and remembered for a lot longer than anyone who would commit such a cowardly act.

Secondly, the attack on graham was also unwarranted. were do you draw the line. would it be fair to rip tom lonergan's kidney guard off to be able to attack him better, how about justin koschitzke's helmet to be able to smack his fractured skull more easily?

I would have no problem if a leopold player had fairly laid out either of these two players during the game with a bump or a well timed sheppard. That is the time to do it, not when a player is warming up and unawares.

I have never had any beef with leopold as a club but if this kind of thing is condoned or tolerated then serious questions need to be asked. This must have been planned to a certain extent because barbaro was targeted.

Feel free to attack me for being weak or whatever but you need to remember at the end of the day it is just local footy, how you act on the football field is a reflection of who you are in life. There is no such thing as white line fever, it is a poor excuse for losing control and being undisciplined.

Tomma, point taken and accepted!
Young Pres, as said before, no specific player was targeted, barbaro obviously was just the one who happened to be at the front. Another point, Barbaro must be a club legend, it takes a great effort to play 250 games but we play for Leopold, how would anyone from Leopold know it was his 250th???
I also find it very hard to believe your strong words on the subject, wouldnt you have been in the rooms singing the song when the scuffle happened??? You have very strong words for someone who didnt even see what happened.
Was speaking to a Bell Park reserves player today and according to him, the Bell Park boys were in the middle of the song when the fight started and as he said, he didnt have a comment about it because he didnt see it.

Actually tommahawk, I dont know if i can believe your comments, werent you hiding behind your car while it was all going on??????

hahahahah yeh may as well have been! u know as well as i do that kind of thing is not my scene but to be honest i was in shock at what was going on....

i heard that you got stretchered off for a sprained ankle any truth to that rumour? word has it you were close to tears in the emergency ward all this was going on so how much does your opinion count? i'm surprised they didnt need a forklift or a crane to get you off the ground!

Tomma, point taken and accepted!
Young Pres, as said before, no specific player was targeted, barbaro obviously was just the one who happened to be at the front. Another point, Barbaro must be a club legend, it takes a great effort to play 250 games but we play for Leopold, how would anyone from Leopold know it was his 250th???
I also find it very hard to believe your strong words on the subject, wouldnt you have been in the rooms singing the song when the scuffle happened??? You have very strong words for someone who didnt even see what happened.
Was speaking to a Bell Park reserves player today and according to him, the Bell Park boys were in the middle of the song when the fight started and as he said, he didnt have a comment about it because he didnt see it.

I know it isn't the most reliable source around town polda but the advertiser did run a story on marty's 250th on its back page and a couple of pages in too.

I was singing the song when it happened and relied on hearing about the incident from senior coaching staff and players.

I hope as you say it was just an unhappy coincidence and that there wasn't a malicious intent.

That is all i will say on the subject.

Granted NS were a couple of quality players out inc. Nicholls, Villarosa, C.Chapman & Brody but what really pushed them was GWSP height down forward and obviously none of these good players would have made a difference in that respect. Their runners got them back into the game on Sat. Newtown no doubt will need to pick themselves up but Verco & Bett should have the ascendancy just like Carson, Saunders & Jago for the Roosters.

players out of the nth shore side. B.Nicholls(calf), D.Villarosa(work), C.Chapman(unsure), G.Brody(hamstring) N.Peoples(groin), M.Connolly(hamstring), T.Stickland(disciplinary reasons), P.Williams(hand) all played pretty good footy to start the year minus Nicholls.

lara football club went back to playing in the gfl this year ;)

Ash, T.Milsome, Durran, S.Albon, O'Brien, Plowman, Hughes, Clinnick and T.Lord all gone - 9 players who were all regular senior players last year in a team that finished 3rd at end of regular season, i would call nearly half a side a stack.

Yes all regulars, probably Milsome, O'Brien, Plowman and Clinnick are big losses. The others are just solid players and should have been replaced.

I rated them a finals chance at start of the year after their solid season last year. What happened to Clinnick?? I thought he was playing for Heads this year. Also, is Kershaw fit? haven't seen too much of him in goals/best, when fully fit he is a handful

players out of the nth shore side. B.Nicholls(calf), D.Villarosa(work), C.Chapman(unsure), G.Brody(hamstring) N.Peoples(groin), M.Connolly(hamstring), T.Stickland(disciplinary reasons), P.Williams(hand) all played pretty good footy to start the year minus Nicholls.

Pretty sure it would've involved alcohol! Sticko thought he was going to get dropped due to performance but I guess he has just shot himself in the foot with this one.

Speaking of the North Shore vs Grovey match on Saturday, why the hell is Brad Edwards playing 2's footy? Is he coming back from injury? With him in the side (fit?) I reckon Grovedale could see themselves top 3 at seasons end.

This was my prediction before the start of the season...

My Ladder prediction:
Sth Barwon
Colac
Bell Park
St. Joeys
Leopold

Newtown
North Shore
GWSP
St. Marys
Grovedale
Lara
St. Albans

(3rd to 8th - A dog fight!)

This is the current ladder....

South Barwon
Geelong West St Peters
Bell Park
Newtown & Chilwell
St Joseph's

Grovedale
Colac
St Mary's
North Shore
St Albans
Leopold
Lara

3 teams out of the current top 5 I have predicted to finish in the top 5 at season end and I can't see my other two selections of Leopold (11th) and Colac (7th) making it by round 16, especially Colac who will have plenty of road trips in the second half of the season.

I apoligise to GWSP and Grovedale supporters at the moment for not rating them too highly at the start of the season but glad to see they have proved me wrong. Leopold have let me down so far and I was predicting Lara to be the improvers, not St. Albans...

But anyway, it is only 6 games in so another 10 games to go so anything can happen!

Yes all regulars, probably Milsome, O'Brien, Plowman and Clinnick are big losses. The others are just solid players and should have been replaced.

I rated them a finals chance at start of the year after their solid season last year. What happened to Clinnick?? I thought he was playing for Heads this year. Also, is Kershaw fit? haven't seen too much of him in goals/best, when fully fit he is a handful

I think Clinnick cracked the sh*ts after being suspended yet again, claimed the league was too soft, and went back to Keilor.

I dont think they recruited very well at all this season, but losing half of your starting 18 is hard to replace...

thats what you get if you recruit shitloads of players, once its over they piss off with all your money

But tell me, wouldnt all of these players leaving free up a lot of money for new players? It doesnt need to go towards their debt, cos that got all paid off by the new big sponsor they trumpeted, so who are they paying now?

hahahahah yeh may as well have been! u know as well as i do that kind of thing is not my scene but to be honest i was in shock at what was going on....

i heard that you got stretchered off for a sprained ankle any truth to that rumour? word has it you were close to tears in the emergency ward all this was going on so how much does your opinion count? i'm surprised they didnt need a forklift or a crane to get you off the ground!

No, no forklift, just 15 people to carry the stretcher!!!
Just glad that will only miss 2-3 weeks of footy instead of the season which was what was first predicted.
They average weight of the side will definitely be down for the next couple of weeks but i tell you what, moving around on crutches aint easy, i reckon ive dropped a couple of kgs already haha

I know it isn't the most reliable source around town polda but the advertiser did run a story on marty's 250th on its back page and a couple of pages in too.

I was singing the song when it happened and relied on hearing about the incident from senior coaching staff and players.

I hope as you say it was just an unhappy coincidence and that there wasn't a malicious intent.

That is all i will say on the subject.

Your right, the addy is a terrible read, guarenteed to find a few errors each day!!
One thing that i can tell you for sure is that there was no malicious intent to hurt a particular player, if the aim was to take out an individual then it would not have been done pre-game when a bloke is surrounded by 20 of his team-mates.
It should add a nice bit of spice to the next Leopold v Bell Park game

I think that for mine GWSP & Grovedale are the big surprises. GWSP I think had already stamped themselves as a big improver in theory before the start of the season due to some heavy and smart recruiting; Grovey however, who lost a few quality players, have turned things around and are belying the form that many thought they would have. Leopold are the big shocks. Everything that was read and spoken about after last year was that they would be the real deal and the big danger. However, a few stars fall over and the wheels fall off. Recruiting quality players is one thing but depth is something else altogether. Having said that, in local footy most sides will struggle if their big guns go over. With the Lions however, it has not so much been the results but the margins. St Mary's a bit of a surprise considering their traditional strength while let's not get too far ahead of ourselves with St Albans. A win against the wooden spooner and a quality upset does not make them a big improver just yet. Turn those 2 wins into 6 by the end of the year and then we'll see. It's a bit hard to forecast at this stage with the comp so tight but the fact that GWSP & Grovey are amongst it make them the surprise packets for me.