TAS Looks like Tassie are serious.

Holy shit, that'd make things interesting wouldn't it?

I dunno what his link to Tassie is (if any), but you're not going to turn someone worth $10 billion down.....

Very true.... that would make things very interesting indeed!!

Even my mother, who isn't a big AFL fan, said she would go to Tassie games because she believes we deserve a team... and I reckon there'd be a lot of people like that.

I can't see myself buying a lot more iron ore even if Fortescue sponsor the Tassie team. But then again, you're not a real world-class multi-billionaire until you've got a sports team to own. Maybe the guy likes footy.

Fortescue and Andrew Forrest in particular will end up owing a lot of real estate, like most billionaires and blokes who have made hundreds of millions of dollars in Australia. Maybe he has long term investments in Tassie lined up. Andrew Forrest was chairman of Athletics Australia between 1999 and 2004, so he is a sports fan.

I was reading todays "The Examiner" (Launceston newspaper), and i flicked thorugh the sports pages at the back. From memory the first 5 pages were about football. There was 2 articles on golf, one on the tour de france, one on rugby union, and one on soccer.
The rest of the sport covered the VFL, NTFL, and AFL. They had very good articles on the lower league like NTFL.

Tasmanians are really really into their football and nothing else.

Is it just me or does anyone get the feeling that its increasing likley that by 2015 Gold Coast, Tasmania and Western Sydney will all be running around in the AFL at the expense of two Melbourne teams Merging?
No, it's not just you. Infact I would think the AFL would very much like that to be the case! Melbourne Kangaroos anyone??

I myself would very much agree to two melbourne clubs merging.

Clubs which could possible merge are:

- Melbourne
- Kangaroos
- Richmond
- Hawthorn
- St Kilda
- Western Bulldogs

But if a merger was to take place, we need to look at other sports where mergers have taken place as well. Learn from them, and improve the merge a lot to satisfy a lot of people, and try and keep most of the previous supporters.

We need to remove the Victorian Centric aura.

I find it strange that clubs would rather merge than relocate....Maybe that would change if Tassie had a side and i could actually go to games

Well maybe we should start a merger thread on Big Footy, and do all the analysis for the AFL, compile a report, send it off to them, and get a merger, and then get a Tassie team.

It would do a lot for Tassie to have a team; for starters, just to remind the rest of Australia that tassie actually exists! And is full of Aussies.

AFL isn't interested in a footy team in Tasmania, because Tasmanians really like footy. Crazy eh?

the AFL would LOVE that, to merge the roos and demons into a superclub with the support of both sides, and admit a tassie side backed by a rich benefactor, but they just cant get it to happen. there is too many tenacious people at both clubs, and whatever gets written, those clubs are way too far from the line for the AFL to force anything like that.

AFL in Tasmania....would be the prudent idea. AFL doesn't want it? For all intent Tasmania deserves it for a number of reasons...the main in my book being a histrorical one. Tasmania is a football state...and allways has been. Offcourse they dont have a conclusive backing.... yet. It's all so uncertain. And buisness and commerce hate uncertainties. But I know that as soon as AFL sets a date for acception the companies and home support would flock.
So why doesnt AFL want tassie in...well they want to get outside footy states and codes and divert supporters from other competitions, Rugby U, Leugue and so on. They allready have Tasmania as an AFL following state, the best and great players from those states will no doubt be filtered out.
Personally I dont think Sydney have reached there full potential to warrant another team in the district nor does Queensland. Once the Swans are spilling over from talent wanting, youth willing and crowds needing there might be a issue. Another club thier will only divert from the Swans in part or at the least weaken there backing somewhat. At present AFL needs to exploit what they have to the fullest and search for new unpastured grounds.
Division the AFL in an 18 club supreme and 16 club premiere division. Relogation and promotion included. Make an interstate championsleaugue. The champs would play the woodenspooner from the premiere division. Should they win there competition would have two one relogating instead of two, and two going up (to fill the empty slot). The AFL team that lost would go back to there state championship, and would relogate down and one come up (The relogation would fill that empty slot). The wooden spooners would have the need to fight to the very last...more clubs involved froms more districts and statesand will have more followers that in turn gather more commerce. From this more players are needed that will inturn need more youth programmes which will increase the capability and knowledge level of the game.

However....Tasmania are deserving of a footy team. Why...well there isnt one there yet and AFL does start with Australia, and they are the only state excluded....and on purpose. Strange.

It would do a lot for Tassie to have a team; for starters, just to remind the rest of Australia that tassie actually exists! And is full of Aussies.

AFL isn't interested in a footy team in Tasmania, because Tasmanians really like footy. Crazy eh?
Its ridiculous that alot of Australians dont even know Tassie exists as a state. I get sick and tired of ringing companies through work and when i mention i'm in Tassie they cant find our location, but then check under Victoria and there is our store classed as being in Victoria its a bunch of BS

Fitzpatrick and King Andrew say we cannot afford a team from Tassie and will have to be propped up by the AFL, weel here is some news my friends, State Govt down here a bunch of football tragics and will lose next election unless they get a team up and about. The are currently in negotiations with TOLL Transport and a mining magnate, Australia's richest man whom happens to be a golf Buddy of the former premier and will soon announce naming rights and tier 2 sponsors. They will get 17K plus to every home game and fill the joint against Melb based clubs. How many to last Gold Coast game, attendences say 9K but ticket sales say 3 K and AFL give aways 6K well well! King Andrew just fudging the figures.

Don't worry though everyone, If King Andrew gets any bigger he wont be able to fit through the doors of AFL headquarters, he should get back into some training again me thinks!

Anyway seriously Tassie are close to getting the coin but I'm not holding my breathe, I am sure that King Andrew will do what ever he wants!

Clubs which could possible merge are:

- Melbourne
- Kangaroos
- Richmond
- Hawthorn
- St Kilda
- Western Bulldogs

I believe there is a major point about merging besides money, and that is expansion opportunity. Melbourne, North & Richmond are 'landlocked' and makes it very hard for them.
However, St.Kilda can expand south, Bulldogs to the west and Hawthorn in the east. Therefore they should, by logic, have healthy futures.

Very crazy. There are two basic rules of marketing. First is that you give the customer what they want. To satisfy demand, not create demand. Second, it takes six times as much energy to get a new customer as to develop an existing one. All the expansion of the AFL over the last 30 years has been a classic example. The vast majority of membership growth has come from football cities such as Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth. For example, in the Dockers, you have a membership base which is almost equal to Sydney and Brisbane combined.

I am supportive of AFL development in Qld and NSW but you'd get better value for money with a state of origin carnival or getting kids drafted and then have local newspapers run a profile. This emotional desire to see two new teams succeed and take over is nothing but a dream disconnected from reality.

Merging teams is a bad idea. I want a Tassie team in the AFL more than anything, but if two clubs had to die to bring it into existence I wouldn't be happy.

The thing that annoys me most about this whole situation is the AFL's lack of respect for culture and history. And I don't just mean overlooking a heartland for two areas who have given nothing to the game without even looking at the business proposals first, I mean trying to move North Melbourne, trying to kill the Hip & Shoulder, trying to kill one on one footy, refusing to bring back proper State of Origin and showing no respect to states other than Victoria, the lack of funding for country leagues and in fact footy in general outside the big cities and the areas they want to expand into (e.g Tasmania) etc. etc. The AFL have just prove time and time again that they don't care about any of the things that make the game they govern great, and only about the money. They seem to forget they run a sport not just a bloody business.

Point being that killing of clubs is wrong for all the same reasons that overlooking Tasmania for the Gold Coast/West Sydney is (and right for the same ones too I guess, e.g money). I'll find it very hard to maintain my love for the AFL if either of those things eventuate, as it will mean a little bit more tradition, history and culture being destroyed for the sake of some extra money.

TAS Looks like Tassie are serious.