Luke Hodge - where is he at?

into what?

we aren't allowed to criticise our senior players after a gut wrenching loss to our bitter rivals?

if you don't like my opinion, deal with it, but i don't get what hole i'm digging myself into?

Seriously, mate, I know youre just a young kid, but its so immature and embarrassing to keep spouting on.

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

The hole where you start insulting anyone who has the temerity to disagree with you as a 'fan boy'

read some of the posts above that. it seems like you can't say anything negative on here (unless it's about murphy or cheney then it's dealer's choice).

Seriously, mate, I know youre just a young kid, but its so immature and embarrassing to keep spouting on.

almost as immature as your patronising replies 4 minutes later, old fella.

imo hodge has been ordinary, particularly in big games for a while. he played really well on the weekend in an easy win, and hopefully he'll have a great game next time we play geelong.

i haven't written him off yet, but he needs to improve in big games, something that in the past he's been renowned for.

Hodge was just okay in the qualifying final against Sydney last year from memory, I suppose that is just another game.

This thread has missed the mark by a long way.

Hodge had a pretty good grand final, was in our best 5 last year.

I am excited to see if he can play more midfield time this year as he really adds another dimension in the middle.

He is so important down back but with a more settled backline now hopefully he can have stints down there whilst having a big influence in the middle regularly.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

In the last quarter hodge was easily our best player and almost the sole reason we hit the front. If we had a few more like him we would have won! People around here define 'stand up when it counts' as 'playing well when we win' when we lose a game and 'playing well in big game's' when we win. So basically playing well when we win isn't enough because the game wasn't big enough but lifting in a close game when we lose isn't good enough either because we lost. As far as I can tell the only way to satisfy people is a norm smith medal in a premiership team...which hodge has also done...

Sent from my HTC One XL using Tapatalk
Look I didn't have a dig at the dude, (the only player I have had a dig at on here lately is Lewis, and that was after a win. :p) I was just trying to stem the tide of angst at the couple of people in this thread, who have a right to express their opinions. Even if it is against the majorities favourite player.
My comment was also a general one not limited to the Geelong game, that it seems like a while since the captain pulled the team up by its bootstraps.. it has been burger and mitch not hodge, and that might be where some peoples opinions have started. Though from where I was sitting at the Geelong game I only saw his not that great performance elsewhere on the ground, not the middle, and the damn one-eyed bro deleted the game, so I can't rewatch to change opinion.
I actually think all the dudes coming in here that are using an 'easy' win to justify their standpoint on Hodge, are guilty of similar to those they say may be judging him harshly.

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm I think the mods are perfectly capable of dealing with opinions that have been proven stupid

To quote that article "What distinguishes fact from opinion is that facts are verifiable, i.e. can be objectively proven to have occurred...It can be reasoned that one opinion is better supported by the facts than another by analyzing the supporting arguments."

So in order to support your position you need to provide facts and demonstrate how they support your preposition. It is verifiable that Luke Hodge is not finished as a player as you suggested. It is verifiable that he was an effective against Geelong in the last quarter and did, in fact, stand up. Offering your opinion in the absence of facts gives you little right to suggest your opinion is valid, let alone more valid than any other opinion. All you have really done is argue for a redefinition of terms like 'big game', 'stand up' etc.

read some of the posts above that. it seems like you can't say anything negative on here (unless it's about murphy or cheney then it's dealer's choice).

imo hodge has been ordinary, particularly in big games for a while. he played really well on the weekend in an easy win, and hopefully he'll have a great game next time we play geelong.

i haven't written him off yet, but he needs to improve in big games, something that in the past he's been renowned for.

Ok,

So last years qualifying final, Hodge was arguably BOG. In the grand final, he was only behind Lake, Gunston, arguably Lewis. Are these big games?

As for "performing ordinarily in big games for a while", which of the 6 games since the 2 finals(big games, which he was very good in) has he failed to fire? Essendon? He was killing it until he was injured. He was poor against Geelong but so was everyone else. If you watch the replay of the Geelong match, he was also very good in the last when the game was on the line. Had we had Lake we could have won that game, and we would all be praising him for willing us on in the last.

Your entitled to your opinion, but your opinion is just very, very average, and based on absolutely nothing but anger over losing to Geelong.

Here is the truth. Whilst some of the other superstars of 01 are slowing down, Hodge is still producing elite football. This is because he is an Elite footballer.

DB_20120101184625623889-420x0.jpg

Isn't it time this thread was shut...

better not to feed the trolls my mother always said

Clarko used these famous words pre-match in 2008
"Sharks have to move forward. Sharks die if they get caught in nets because there is not water and oxygen under their gills. So as soon as they stop, they die"

A similar analogy here would be:
Trolls rely on content to feed. Deny the trolls content and the threads shall die, their existence shall pass and we shall forget them.

No idea

Lots of banter in here but when it boils down to it, he is still playing great footy 85% of the time. After a norm smith and very good performances in finals since I don't know why people say he does not stand up in big games. Games against the Cats are for 4 points at the end of the day. The hype and emotion about them is mainly from the supporters. Yes the players feel it but they are not going to kill themselves to risk 4 points and their season.

Title says it all.

Seems to have lost the ability to kick, he's always been slow and today he made some uncharacteristically bad decisions.

Hodgey's down in Tassie, doing as he pleases.

Where the f*** are you, scumbag?

If it is possible to say something about our captain without it creating further fuel for fires....

He is getting older and slower but with the former comes experience and an aura that others respect. Add to this that he is still more than often a bloody good footballer, I'd not pick another captain from any other team over him and it always strikes me that his premiership team mates value his opinion, his leadership, his abilit to deal with pressure and the control he brings.

Top bloke, top player and allowed, like others, to have poor games as the credit side is fully loaded.