Player Watch Lynden Dunn (Retired 2020)

I don’t think the club is particularly worried about his availability AtAFL for the first half of the year. It is the last two months that they are worried about. He is on the list if Keane or Madgen not seen as viable options come the pointy end. 8-10 games is all they want IF needed. It is back up on minimum coin.
The club has shown in the past couple of seasons that it's more than willing to drop players at the end of the H&A season even if they're not in bad form, for the pure reasoning of likely not being able to handle finals games. Will they do that with Dunn over Keane or Madgen? I mean Dunn has never played a final.

I don’t think the club is particularly worried about his availability AtAFL for the first half of the year. It is the last two months that they are worried about. He is on the list if Keane or Madgen not seen as viable options come the pointy end. 8-10 games is all they want IF needed. It is back up on minimum coin.

So you want to bring in a 32 year old who hasn't played Footy for 2 years with a crumbling body for the finals series?
The chance of him doing a soft tissue coming back and pushing himself to the limit after 2 years out will be extremely high, he'll be 33 before he's back !

So you want to bring in a 32 year old who hasn't played Footy for 2 years with a crumbling body for the finals series?
The chance of him doing a soft tissue coming back and pushing himself to the limit after 2 years out will be extremely high, he'll be 33 before he's back !

I think people forget how good he was playing in the 12 months before he did his knee.

If he's fit, he's our best defender, he'll play most of the year.

I think people forget how good he was playing in the 12 months before he did his knee.

I remember people back in the day saying presti should retire after he was injured for a fair while. Next year he made all australian. People shouldnt write off others so quickly imo.

So... remind us... when was Presti an AA?
You are correct he didn’t make AA in his 233 game career.

In 2009 he did make last 40 squad

Fair cop I wasn’t aware of that fact, I was merely responding to your comment about him not playing a practice game. . I don’t think he’s required either but given our injury history with our defenders you never know.

As I’ve stated a few times at least we are likely to have another spot open up if we can exit Beams in a timely manner , so maybe Dunn hasn’t taken “ the final listbspor”.

I'd assume that 6-8 weeks is senior ready which isn't so much of an issue. How many rookies taken through the sup and midyear drafts will play seniors in their 1st 6-8 weeks? How many will never be senior ready? How many will be able to match the senior performances of the guys they'll replace? Pickett was drafted midyear last year and didn't get a senior game until the end of September which is way more than 6-8 weeks.

Pickett had that finger problem at the time he was recruited, and couldn't play for the first couple of months. It ended up nicely enough! A similar fairytale with Dunn would be handy! I don't see it as a great problem that he's not ready to play immediately, but he just might be the player we need later in the year.

Noble has been great for us, not sure of the timeframe but played early.

As I said before, I would rather take a punt on Dunn than give list spots to players like Broomhead and Lynch, Dunn is one of the best one on one players in the comp.
Always had high hopes for Broomhead but I struggle to see how he gets back. Lynch I have no real Expectations, he is still on the list because someone in the know sees something.

I can’t see Dunny going around next year but if he does it means he impacted this year. I was a bit either way but now it’s done, I’m all for it.

Noble has been great for us, not sure of the timeframe but played early.

Yep, he has. It was 5-6 weeks I think, draft late May, debut mid July v the Weagles.

But he's not fit, he's spent 2 years out with a knee and now he will be 33 years old and right at the end of his career. Even if his knees hold up he's a super high risk of a hammy or calf going in a high intensity game after so much time out at his age.

There is a lot of predicting going on there, can you give me the tatts numbers please

I wish I could place my bets after the race was run and done, wouldn't get too many wrong.

My brother in law put our whole kitty and a horse paying $29.00, I told him he was a dic&*head but when it got up, he was a deadest genius.

Yep, he has. It was 5-6 weeks I think, draft late May, debut mid July v the Weagles.
This is where the dilemma for me is, take a chance on someone like Noble who fits a real need or a punt on Dunn, brain says no to Dunn, the rest of me says have a crack. A Grand Final Medal around his neck would make for and awesome story.

I get the feeling that the club likely wouldn't have filled that last list spot at all if Dunny wasn't an option given we're carrying a full quota of Cat B rookies. I think his signing is actually a very thing for the club, especially in terms of PR with the player group. He is likely very low cost, is undoubtedly highly respected, and if he can get back to senior level at anything like his pre-knee form as appeared likely before the recurrence, 1 of the better 1v1 KPD's in the league. I also think he could play on well into his 30's if the knee holds up as he's been very durable prior to this injury. If he doesn't make it then the positives still outweigh the negatives in my view.

Oh well, it's a moot point anyway as the season will be shut down by the time Dunn is back

I'd put money on him getting an extension for 2021 if that happens. The melts should be delicious.

He did the original one in June 2018 and the second one in March last year so he has actually done the last 3 pre seasons and basically missed 6 or so games at the end of 2018 and all of last season. I don’t think Fitness will be a massive issue, particularly for a key Backman.

I don't think people forget anything about him, including the wonderful rapport he has with the players and the 2 ACLs which have brought his last 2 seasons to an abrupt end.

How did Pickett go?

Good Luck to him, brutal is the meat grinder that churns talented young men onto and off our playing list each season, year in, year out.

Cruel, hard to take and at times heart breaking for players, team mates and supporters alike, these are the decisions we have become accustomed to, its the norm, we grieve and we move on in the blink of a media cycle. Next!

So, sometimes its good to see a heart warming decision, a popular decision among the players, the coaching staff, the supporters. A dream come true, a dark horse, a long shot, a career resurrected or saved, a last chance saloon.

He may be called on as a depth player, he may not but, you know if he is then he will give his all and leave it all out on the ground for his mates, his club and us supporters. If he isn't, then he will still be pitching in providing all sorts of help and assistance to those out there and those coming through.

I reckon its probably only one year and it could end up just being a nice little sub plot or it just might end up being the fairy tale story of our season.

Good Luck Dunny

Player Watch Lynden Dunn (Retired 2020)