M. Stevens

Cam Crognale

Draftee
Jan 29, 2003
Kangaroos
Just wanted to mention how good a game Michael had. He ran hard and straight . I was very impressed with his leg speed and kicking skills. I thought he and David King where great as sweepers in the back half. They seem to straighten us up as a team and were responsible for getting it forward quickly. l believe we have found a future back pocket player. This will take the pressure off Makepeace. Also thought the move of Drew Petrie taking the centre bounces, and Hale taking over the ruck duties was a great coaching move. The ruck rotation with Porter was great all day. 5 more kgs and Hale will be a regular next year.

On a different note: What do people think of this trade.
Teague and Dylan Smith for Carltons Priority pick
Maybe include S. Motlop for Carlton 3rd round pick

Firrito seems to have the leg speed and recovery when the ball hits the ground that Teague does'nt, as well as courage and skills. Same height, and can play on the small quicks.

J. Clayton has taken a step ahead of Dylan Smith. Jeremy is a powerful tackler, and never wastes a possession. He is also very dangerous around goals, something Dylan has'nt shown enough of. Saying this disappoints me because l'm a big Dylan Fan, and believe he will be a good player eventually.
l think we need some bigger midfielders who can kick 50 metres plus.

All our recruits this year (2002) are big kicks of the footy.

Originally posted by Cam Crognale

I think that it is a load of bollocks!

Honestly, why on earth would Carlton do that?

Sure, it would be lovely to get a priority pick for two players who don't even make our senior side, but don't you think that Carlton just might ask for a bit more?

And don't you think that there are 14 other teams out there who would be prepared to give them more?

Carlton would be after a ready made elite player with lots of footy in front of them if they are going to trade their pick. From our list that would be Boomer, Shagga, Simmo or maybe Petrie (given a big man's extra value).

But I wouldn't be up for swapping any of them.

Very impressed with Stevens. I will be wrapt if he can take a role in the backline, and make me look silly in the process. Great game.

I would keep Firrito over Teague also, but it doesn't mean he may not be of some value. Firrito could turn into a very good wingman, and he is still only a teenager despite his body shape.

J Clayton has the talent and then some. Boy doesn't make mistakes, and has some dirty pr1ck in him.

Carlton would laugh at the first trade you mentioned. I think Pagan would be interested in both, but not for that pick.

Just realised that that probably came over a bit harsh on a new poster!

Sorry mate, it's just that the stream of 'lets trade Shane Clayton for Nick Riewolt' threads really annoy me! ;)

For what it's worth, I agree with your assessment of J Clayton and Dylan... it upsets me that Dylan won't make it, but for all his good attitude and hard work, he just doesn't seem to have enough weapons for the top level.

Listening to Tim Harrington the other night, he seems to agree with you on the need for bigger midfielders.

Originally posted by hurricane
, he just doesn't seem to have enough weapons for the top level.

Neither did Peter Bell.....

Do you reckon we need bigger midfielders?

Simmo is tallish, Motlop will move there, Harris is an animal and Grima is a solid bugger. Maybe one more marking onballer.

Leigh Brown to CHB, or trade for one is priority 1 IMO.

If Browny can make a few adjustments, he can be the man.

I think we need another tallish option in the middle, to handle the Pavlich/Hird/Koutas of the comp. This is the role that Brown has filled on occasions, and would allow him to move to CHB - I also see him in this position longer term.

Motlop is a good size, but I'm not sure he has the engine to run in the middle for a whole match. I also think we get more out of his marking ability when he's on a flank at either end.

It's very early to know, but perhaps Shore or Perry could be developed into this role?

Originally posted by hurricane
I think we need another tallish option in the middle, to handle the Pavlich/Hird/Koutas of the comp. This is the role that Brown has filled on occasions, and would allow him to move to CHB - I also see him in this position longer term.

Motlop is a good size, but I'm not sure he has the engine to run in the middle for a whole match. I also think we get more out of his marking ability when he's on a flank at either end.

It's very early to know, but perhaps Shore or Perry could be developed into this role?

I have only seen Perry play, and he is nothing near midfiel material. I know he is 17, but he is not put together that way. Shore moves well, but I haven't seen him play. The numbers look ok though.

I think you would agree that JNR has twice the tank he had last year, so if he can make another jump, he could cope. Jones looks to have some major fans in the coaching box, and could play in this type of role.

Hopefully it all comes together to allow the following:

Harvey Petrie Grant

Harding Hamish Wells

Just give us the cup now!!!!

Northbhoy, you are missing Jeremy Clayton in that little line up you have there:)

Jeremy Clayton, I love the boy.. has a good work ethic, is tough- and so far the 2 goals he has kicked have been the type of goals you expect a crumber to kick.. crumbing/opportunistic goals.

Carlton wouldnt take that trade in a million years- they would want Boomer or someone of his quality for that pick (and it scares me that such a trade involving Boomer might occur if his current contract situation isnt cleared up ..:(). And Carlton are going to have a lack of draft picks, so I dont think they will be trading off that 3rd round pick in a hurry. Would like to keep SMotlop anyway.

We do need another tall midfielder.. Tenace sounds like a nice prospect, but we wont get him. See what happens come draft/trade time..

I would be keeping Firrito ahead of Teague also..

MStevens.. he did indeed play a pretty good game.. couple more possesions and he will be dandy.

Go Roos

Originally posted by Scottroo
Boomer to Carlton--for priority pick+Beaumant ????? fair?

Would prefer priority pick & Fisher.. and Carlton wouldnt trade Fisher. (and I dont think they can?)

Don't like Beaumont all that much.. and we have Sinclair, Rawlings, Archer, Teague, Firrito, MStevens.. even Urch for a BP/HBF.. we dont really need Beaumont.

Go Roos

Originally posted by Cam Crognale
Maybe include S. Motlop for Carlton 3rd round pick

Do you think Denis is that thick? Smith couldn't get a regular game with Pagan or Laidley. Sure he was top 10 in the draft, but no one will offer more than a third round for him. The priority pick will be either #1 or #2 in the whole draft. Carlton would want something like Petrie and a midfielder or just Wells for that pick!

M. Stevens