List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread - Part 3

This thread has reached a whole other level, we now have opposition supporters telling us what we'll trade pick 2 for in trades that don't even involve their club.

To be fair, we've got a lot of delusional NMFC posters who are over-valuing Pick 2 right here, as well as communicating on oppo boards and the main board.

He said in another post that port would end up with p10 if it happened. Check their board.

Now when you have GWS Richmond and port getting pick 10.

Why would the tigers part with 6?

If they just gave you 6 and 18/20 it’s probably a done deal as it is.
Why would we trade out pick 2 and get pick 11 as the best pick back and allow Port to trade pick 13 and get back pick 10 in the same deal?

We obviously don’t know the specifics but it would look like the tigers are trying to move 10 and extras and offer something like 13+15 and maybe some change.

That obviously sorts out your pick needs for this draft and you retain your first. But you miss out on the top 10.

The counter offer seems to be my clubs which it was confirmed is 7+f1.

You get the rumoured player you want and then have to do the leg work for more picks armed with all your 2025 picks plus our first.

7 obviously meets the small slide down criteria Rawlings set. But you need to work on what else you get.
13 + 15 + change definitely won't cut it for pick 2. But I can see that being an initial offer from Richmond.

Same as 7 + F1 is likely an initial offer from the Saints.

We have the list spots to be flexible now, and zero rush to trade pick 2. Saints and Richmond obviously want it, so the onus is on them to give us an offer that we deem acceptable.

And if we can't come to an agreement, we just take the 2nd best kid in the draft, which would still be a fantastic outcome.

I think we should try and get on the front foot and do a deal with GWS for our F1. Something like 15 and 21.

Then we can sit back with 2, 15 and 21 and say to Richmond, "now what?"
Yeah, nah.

They would reply with: "that's a good deal for you guys, if you win the premiership".

Ah, ok. I was going off this:

"There are also several clear reasons why Humphries is having such an unlikely impact.

The Pilbara native learned his footy at Wickham, a mining town more than 1500km, or 16 hours' drive, north of Perth - so a regional community like Geelong suits him well.

He also went to boarding school at Hale in Perth, so moving across to the other side of Australia for his career was not too big a stretch.

Last year was the third time Humphries had nominated for the draft, so he'd been made well-aware there were areas of his game that needed work."

Only thing is, Wickham and Geelong are polar opposites though, in so many aspects
why does reading this thread always make trade period always feel like this.
Animated GIF
“She wants the Hector-2 roof lights, uh... the stylish ash-framed furniture and the scatter cushions with the matching shag pile covering.
Right. And she's terrible partial to the periwinkle blue, boys. Have I made myself clear, boys?”

So that means we have 4 primary list spots and no rookie list spots?

One of the primary list spots likely going to River Stevens?

3 picks at the ND.
It could just be insurance in case someone bids late after we have already filled our primary list. If nobody bids, we rookie him.

I reckon both clubs would be happy we didn't trade last year mate.
Both clubs got jets.

100% but boy was it fun to discuss.

Also couldn't be happier to see Darling get to you, will certainly be tuning into more North games. Hoping he performs.

I think there is truth in that, but to reframe it, perhaps it is just dealing with the changing reality of our situation.

Pre trade-period, I thought we were in the fortunate position of having plenty of draft capital and having sereral targets who were not in high demand from other clubs. 2 and 24 could've easily been turned into three teen picks or better allowing us to pick a few tall forwards and perhaps a small, allowing us to largely rebalance the list in a single draft with high draft picks.

I'm disappointed we took Daniel period, but especially disappointed to have spent 24 which I continue to believe is a pick we needed to use to acquire talls one way or another.

I still think the best thing for us would be if we can find a way to turn 2 into several talls without losing too much value.

That being said, I've come round to the view that the best thing for us to do is to plan to use 2 on an elite mid. Essentially it's because we've got ourselves in this situation where it appears that other options are too costly.

I read people saying just take Tauru with 2. Crazytalk to me. Throwing away value. He's not worth that pick. Picking him is like trading 2 for 10 with nothing back. We shouldn't make that trade.

I read people wanting to trade in F1. I'd be supportive of that if we got value but it would be fair to say that's not the feeling in the air right now. There seems to be some groupthink about this draft being a superdraft when I would argue it's really just flat without being that good. There seems to be a premium (above the standard time premium) for trading in to this draft when I'm really not sure if that's right. Our F1 could be a very very valuable pick and the offers reportedly don't come close to this value. Trading out F1 seems likely to be a massive value loss.

Trading f2 to this draft seems attractive, and maybe we will, but it will be a fair bit down the order, well past the better selections from the already questionable cohort of talls. It will weaken us for next year too. I'd still do it though.

There may be some plan or some trade already agreed to which converts our 2 and change into a set of picks which match our needs, but from where things stand, it looks like wishful thinking to hope this eventuates.

If one of this fantastic scenarios doesn't eventuate, we'll be heading to the draft with 2, and we better be prepared to take the best mid we can. We can still use another and these are the selections most likely to make the biggest improvement to our list short and long term.

OR we can go with fantasy, like this:

Pick 1: Lalor (Richmond)
Pick 2: Ashcroft (Brisbane - matching bid)
Call Carlton "Hey we're taking FOS"
Live trade NM 3 > Carlton, Carlton 4 + 39 + F2 > NM
Pick 3: FOS (Carlton)
Call Adelaide "Hey we're taking Draper"
Live trade NM 4 + F2 > Ade, Ade 5 + F1 > NM
Pick 4: Draper (Ade)
Call StK "Hey you can still get Jagga"
Live trade NM 5 + 39 + F2 (Cartlon) > StK, StK 8 + F1 > NM
Pick 5: Jagga (StK)

then take Tauru with 8. After calling out Kako of course.
Id send you in to negotiate anytime
wins moneyball GIF by AskMen

Pick 1: Lalor (Richmond)
Pick 2: Ashcroft (Brisbane - matching bid)
Call Carlton "Hey we're taking FOS"
Live trade NM 3 > Carlton, Carlton 4 + 39 + F2 > NM
Pick 3: FOS (Carlton)
Call Adelaide "Hey we're taking Draper"
Live trade NM 4 + F2 > Ade, Ade 5 + F1 > NM
Pick 4: Draper (Ade)
Call StK "Hey you can still get Jagga"
Live trade NM 5 + 39 + F2 (Cartlon) > StK, StK 8 + F1 > NM
Pick 5: Jagga (StK)

then take Tauru with 8. After calling out Kako of course.
This sounds great, but... apart from Viking what else do we (eventually) end up with?..