Magpies must look past Brown and into the midfield

I'd be keen to nab Rischitelli - I reckon Essendon would be after him too. I'd prefer him to Prismall - what do you reckon we would need to trade? maybe Rhyce and a 2nd for Rischitelli and a 3rd?

Why would you think Reid is the best Foward Prospect because I can not see why. His only thing he is good at is Taking Marks on the Lead.

Where Dawes takes contested marks, get Contested Footy on the ground and Kicking is better than Reid.
You might think that, but hear this around the club it is said that Rediy is still the best prospect infront of the ones i mentioned.

I disagree with that. Pendles not might win heaps on Clearances but I have seen put his body on the line to get 50/50 Balls Those

That's fine Dave, I think Pendle's is an absolute star, but just watch him closely mate and you'll see the only time he does something close to hard is when he doesn't know he's doing it.

I wish Pendles had Joel Selwood's hardness over the ball.....Then he'd be the best footballer in the comp!

Brown, for obvious reasons would be an amazing addition to Collingwood, but at what expense? Same for Kerr, what would we have to give up?

The Pies need to be on the ball come trade time as we could get our hands on some midfield talent like Rischitelli, Prismall or Adcock...

We could look to trade for one of the Brisbane boys with maybe Rhyce and a late draft pick. Now I think Rhyce has been great this year, but there is no chance of him getting any better. Runs all day, very outside and can't kick.

Also we could somehow trade up on our first pick, maybe our first pick and Rhyce or Rus and get our hands on a Zeibell or Hartlett early in the draft.

He was very succinct in his appraisal of Pendlebury....

"Scott Pendlebury, while immensely promising, doesn't shape as a clearance specialist or consummate inside player"

In other words.... "Scott Pendlebury has all the talent in the world, but is soft"

Spot on with all counts of the article

Agree with that.

Whilst I believe that Kerr should be priority #1, 2 and 3, we definitely need to approach this year's trade period aggressively and recruit for our needs. I remember Richo suggesting the draft is for taking the best youngsters available, whilst the trade period is for strengthening needs. Hopefully that theory is applied come trade time.

If we cannot secure Kerr (the only reason I can see is the asking price trade wise) then next in line should be Adcock or Rischitelli followed by Prismall. I rate Adcock as the best of that bunch but Rischitelli isn't far off. Hard to judge Prismall, however it is fair to say he is behind both of those boys.

Either way, this year is a wonderful opportunity to strengthen the list in what is said to be the last uncompromised drafts for the next few years. Now, whether that be by trading for picks or trading for players, we need to get this year right otherwise it's going to be a long time before drinks again.

You might think that, but hear this around the club it is said that Rediy is still the best prospect infront of the ones i mentioned.
Yep and interesting that Miller named the trio of Reid, Dawes and Cloke.

He's been written off a little bit on this site but Reid has all the tools - he just needs some more bulk and composure. My thinking is once he gets some bulk and feels like he can mix it with the big defenders the composure will come and then we will see his full range.

Yep and interesting that Miller named the trio of Reid, Dawes and Cloke.

He's been written off a little bit on this site but Reid has all the tools - he just needs some more bulk and composure. My thinking is once he gets some bulk and feels like he can mix it with the big defenders the composure will come and then we will see his full range.

Saw Reid in one of the Black and White shows, think ti was the one hosted by Presti. It looked as though Reid had been hitting the weights pretty hard, and even Presti commented him on his 'guns'.

I think people have forgotten that he was the youngest of his draft and did show a bit at VFL level last year especially. I think he'll add some real athleticism to our forward line, he just needs time.

Saw Reid in one of the Black and White shows, think ti was the one hosted by Presti. It looked as though Reid had been hitting the weights pretty hard, and even Presti commented him on his 'guns'.

I think people have forgotten that he was the youngest of his draft and did show a bit at VFL level last year especially. I think he'll add some real athleticism to our forward line, he just needs time.

Reid will put on some muscle however I don't believe he has the frame to ever become a strong forward. Someone once wrote that they saw him having a frame similar to Jeff White which I agree with.

Would you call Buddy a strong forward?

I see Reid having a similiar body type to Franklin, quite lean but still very strong.

I think Reid eventually will be a very difficult matchup for opposition....just as long as someone teaches him to keep him feet!!

That's actually what really impresses me about Dawes.

Would you call Buddy a strong forward?

I see Reid having a similiar body type to Franklin, quite lean but still very strong.

I think Reid eventually will be a very difficult matchup for opposition....just as long as someone teaches him to keep him feet!!

That's actually what really impresses me about Dawes.

Buddy is strong however it is his pace that worries most defenses. Reid has that pace too. I still think that Buddy will be much stronger one-on-one than Reid though. This isn't a bad thing though... We have Cloke and Dawes who are very big boys so having Reid playing a different role is actually good for our forward composition IMO

If Reid is our best forward prospect , we are in serious trouble. The guy is a dreadful kick, will always be a dreadful kick and is not a goalkicker. Sure, he's a great athlete, but as a dangerous goalkicking machine, no way in the world.

i agree when need midfielders, our forward stocks are good even great when the delivery is good to them... but if we do draft 2 quality midfielders....who goes out of the team out of our midfield group?

Two names? Easy.

Ben Johnson
Shane O'Bree

Agree 10000000% with this article.

We have invested heavily in youth up forward and ignored midfield talent by drafting Cloke, Rusling, Reid and Dawes which one could even argue is even too much. By going for Brown you would be taking a very different path to what has been set out years ago.

Even if it means we have to trade Didak and any West Aussies, we need to land someone of Kerr's class.

I would refuse to trade our 1st round pick however as we desperately need to find an 18 year old midfielder with this to come in also.

The Pies need to be on the ball come trade time as we could get our hands on some midfield talent like Rischitelli, Prismall or Adcock...

We could look to trade for one of the Brisbane boys with maybe Rhyce and a late draft pick. Now I think Rhyce has been great this year, but there is no chance of him getting any better. Runs all day, very outside and can't kick.
You guys just don't get trading do you?

Does anyone unless you are Actually working for the Club in that Department because it's just guess work if you are not

We can debate all we like but the club will make the decision in the end, I think Brown sits as the No1 target so we just need to wait and see what happens next.

I'd be happy to see us just keep building through the draft, hopefully take the best available midfielder this year, maybe find a bargain in round 2 and 3 and go from there, add them to Pendlebury, Thomas and McCarthy in the midfield.

Develop Reid into a key defender down back with Brown, Dawes improving and Cloke up forward, young Cam developing in the ruck add the rest and we have a strong base for a serious tilt.

Sounds easy in theory to me.

Never been one for poaching.

Maybe add Cousins in the short term.

Exactly what i was thinking lol. Especially the Reid as a defender part. With Brown as the Gorilla and Reid as the tall athletic type I think they could make up a promising duo down back.

Does anyone unless you are Actually working for the Club in that Department because it's just guess work if you are not
I'll take a guess Dave.

Brisbane will not trade Jed Adcock or Michael Rischitelli for Rhyce Shaw + any pick. Tell me why exactly (a club that accepted pick 14 for Suncoast's ruckman) would trade future captain Adcock (a player who last year signed a new 3-year contract with the club) for Rhyce Shaw and a late pick?

And I don't even work in "that Department".

I'll take a guess Dave.

Brisbane will not trade Jed Adcock or Michael Rischitelli for Rhyce Shaw + any pick. Tell me why exactly (a club that accepted pick 14 for Suncoast's ruckman) would trade future captain Adcock (a player who last year signed a new 3-year contract with the club) for Rhyce Shaw and a late pick?

Depends on if they Signed for Next Year on Not because you would not let them go for Nothing?

I agree i think we need to go for a big name mid we have enough kids out there and in reserve so i reckon a little experience and a big name would be great.

If Reid is our best forward prospect , we are in serious trouble. The guy is a dreadful kick, will always be a dreadful kick and is not a goalkicker. Sure, he's a great athlete, but as a dangerous goalkicking machine, no way in the world.

Cloke was shocking at his kicking when he went to the Pies.
Reid id the same.
Take a look at Cloke his not the best acurate kick but then again who is these days.

Walls and Lyon would be only too happy to see Collingwood waste $5 mill on Brown, losing important draft picks and a few of our young guns...
They would get thousands of column inches out bagging us for the decision for the four years to come.

Guaranteed.

Brown is a gun now but not what we need and price way to high.

We need a gun midfielder. Kerr and/or Cousins I'm all for.

Rischitelli and Adcock. No thanks. These guys will not lead us to a flag. We already have some good average midfielders.

Cloke was shocking at his kicking when he went to the Pies.
Reid id the same.
Take a look at Cloke his not the best acurate kick but then again who is these days.

Cloke was never a shocking kick, He is a lot like Riewoldt, an excellent kick with good technique, but prone to innacuracy on set shots. Reid is simply, by AFL standards, a very poor kick and always will be. Wishing and hoping unfortunately won't make a player a good kick.

I'll take a guess Dave.

Dave the Man is obviously hoping you guys have had too much sun up there.

COMPLETELY DISAGREE!

If we can get Jonathan Brown, and we don't; It will be AS BIG AS AN STUFF UP as it was not getting Tony Lockett.

Yes, we definitely need help in the midfield. Blind Freddy can see that. However, Midfielders are EASY TO FIND compared with GUN CENTRE HALF FORWARDS.

Jonathan Brown is a Champion; what's to say he wont last as long as Matthew Richardson?

How do we know Rusling will last more than 5 more games?
How do we know Reid will ever put on size and make it?
How do we know that Dawes will continue his outstanding form (i.e 2 games) for the rest of his career?