Mallee Football League 2009 PRE Season

Re: Mallee Football League Part 2

he doesnt play to contribute? really sounds like a team player. as far as bog in last years grand final i've stated in an earlier post that lucas cook was absolutely robbed of best on.sorry to upset you spidercoleman

I am sure he plays when and where he's told and what 15/16 kid was ever in charge of picking teams at any level. Should be barrelling someone else at Hoptoun over the point of him playing finals. But its just how it is. Weekly will play for Sea Lake, someone will miss out there as well.
I agree completely with you on Lucas Cook, last year's BOG for me as well.

he doesnt play to contribute? really sounds like a team player. as far as bog in last years grand final i've stated in an earlier post that lucas cook was absolutely robbed of best on.sorry to upset you spidercoleman

mate, im not coleman, although seeing he has a huge future i wouldn't mind being in his shoes.
i agree cook was extremley deservant on BOG, he was holding on to everything that came his way.
but just like in the afl, these days what stands out the most for the umps are the flashy midfielders, and coleman did get alot of touches that game.

would be good to see cook play a few more games for the devils before he gets drafted in a couple of years

It seems funny to me how all the young footballers that get chances to play elsewhere are from Hopetoun, i know for a fact there are a couple of other under 16 footballers in the Mallee League that are just as good footballers or even better or more talented than shache, that could go along way with there football but play for the wrong clubs. One from W/Lasc and one from Ouyen.

correct me if i'm wrong, but Bill Barry isn't from hopetoun

The reason the hopetoun kids get a better run is that the former junior development officer for the wimmera/mallee was from Hopetoun. So if any kid who had an ounce of talent from hopetoun was pointed in his direction, he'd set it up for them. If other clubs push for their talented juniors in his direction, he won't try quite as hard for them. Not that i'm sayin that the hopetoun boys don't deserve it, Shache and Cook are going to be very handy players, but i do agree that some of the boys from other clubs probably deserved more of a go than they got so far.

Just a quick one who's in the finals and where are they being played???
seniors;sea lake ouyen walpy beulah 2s ouyen sea lake jeparit hopetoun; under 16s ouyen jeparit hopetoun sealake
2nd semi beulah gf woomelang. 1st semi and prelim hopetoun and sea lake i believe though not sure who has which

Go the mighty Demons! Ouyen are finals specialists and Sea Lake has everything to lose after such a good season. It's going to be a repeat of 2005. Watch out for the Jardine brothers, they're all guns.

I think i will be difficult to repeat 2005 considering Beulah beat Woomelang in 2005. 2006 however, great game played by Ouyen to win the flag against the odds. Could be a repeat this year maybe but we'll have to wait until 5pm on Saturday I reckon. Agree that the Jardine's are all great players. The pressure will be on Sea Lake and it will be interesting to see if they can stand up in the most important game this year. My thoughts are that they will. What does everyone else think? On another note- have any clubs out of the finals made any progress for next year? Look forward to hearing other peoples thoughts

Col Durie captain of interleague teams in better leagues than this and Simon Weekley with a year of Bendigo Bombers under his belt, plus heaps of run from a week off, will belt the living suitcase out of Ouyen. No Sonny to save their bacon either.

I think i will be difficult to repeat 2005 considering Beulah beat Woomelang in 2005. 2006 however, great game played by Ouyen to win the flag against the odds. Could be a repeat this year maybe but we'll have to wait until 5pm on Saturday I reckon. Agree that the Jardine's are all great players. The pressure will be on Sea Lake and it will be interesting to see if they can stand up in the most important game this year. My thoughts are that they will. What does everyone else think? On another note- have any clubs out of the finals made any progress for next year? Look forward to hearing other peoples thoughts
Good call. Had a look at the ground the other day, it looks a treat-probably coz it hasn't been trained or played on for a while. Little bit of water to soften it up wouldn't go astray either. Smaller ground might suit Ouyen better like it did in 06, but i'm gunna go for the tigers in a close one. Less than 12pts. Both sides have classy midfield units and defences. Ouyen are definatly a good chance to upset the tigers thats for sure. let's hope the weather is not as s*%$ as last saturday.
Seconds will see Ouyen get over the line. But dunno how Noodle will go after being rubbed out after the second semi. I think they are appealin it.
Dunno about the unders haven't been there early enough to watch them. But will say Ouyen in a close one, just because they have been so successful in previous years.
Good luck to all sides:thumbsu:

Fair call, they are all great players, Col included. Hope the weather is good and the game is close, think they are forecasting wind again... Last weekend was the worst conditions I have ever seen for footy, not great for crops either.

funny how people r sayin the small ground will suit ouyen when the woomelang ground is 10 metres longer than ouyens.my predictions are ouyen in unders and 2s and sea lake just in seniors good luck to all involved

Yeah, Sea Lakes is bout 30m longer and wider, they don't seem to like the narrower grounds, narrower i can understand, but i would have thought that the length would have been an advantage, meaning that they should be able to run further. guess we will find out. Any tips for BOG? i'll go with either scott weekly or durie if sea lake win, pete caldow if ouyen win.

I dont think Ouyen are that flash on a smaller ground either, they like to get out wide and like room to run as much as anybody going around...

what a cracker...Ouyen in every grade got done, but the real win was watchin Phil Cox run throught the banner with his uniform on without playing and then putting it on again for the presentations....good win well deserved, but shoulda dressed like a coach. well done S/L. congrats all the same.

well done to all the winners on the weekend and commiserations to all the ouyen teams and especially to young josh coates who broke his leg again, noone likes to see a talented youngster go through that sort of injury twice in the one season.
On the b&f front dev pohlner won the ouyen unders from brad summerhayes scott clarke in the twos from ryan monaghan and danny obree from pete caldow in the ones.
like to know who picked up the other teams b&fs

Congrats to SLNT, Jeparit and Hopetoun for their respective wins. Bad luck to Ouyen - a great effort in the Ones (O'Bree is a gun), and it looked like their Twos through it away a bit with undisciplined acts. How many weeks will Scott Clarke get?
A tigerland Col Durie won from Scott Weekley, then Bill Barry. In the twos John Guthrie from Ant Bibby and Unders Andy Roberts followed by Georden McLoughlan. A great win at Tigerland - well overdue. But very well deserved to everyone involved. A lot of work goes into a successful team.