Autopsy Marsh Community Series - Game 2, 2020: Collingwood v St.Kilda

It's not a secret i have been a major detractor of Long. Yesterday he turned it around and sent a benchmark for himself that he needs to stay at. I feel like he may have read some social media this week or Ratts had a good talk with him as it appeared to me from the outset he was playing with a rocket up his ass. Hands down the best game he has played for us. If he continues in the same vein then i don't see him as a weak link in the chain as yesterday he was doing everything right. I must concede on this effort and from the club reports he plays round one however if he starts going missing in games down the road and reverts to his "usual" form i hope the club can remove the rose colored glasses but i truly hope it doesn't come to that.
With all due respect mate, I highly doubt your social media posts played any part in Longs game yesterday.

Marsh Cup 1 was his first full game at AFL level in that position so it's no surprise it took him a couple of games to get into it.

He was still solid enough last week and was best on ground at half time yesterday.

The coaches clearly see something there so let's give him time.

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

Edit then u look at the stats and see hanners actually did ok
9 contested
A goal
Some clearances
All from 62% game time

Tbh i dont notice alot of the stuff he does

I have a theory that if I'm not noticing a player, they're either (a) doing nothing, which will be borne out in the stats, or (b) not doing anything bad to draw attention to themselves, which is not inherently a bad thing in itself.

We tend to hone in on the mistakes, so if I'm not noticing a player, it's often because they're not doing a lot wrong, albeit not necessarily doing anything spectacular (though I think we're going to notice MKing a bit this year ... he's kinda hard not to notice when he does the 6'8" rover act ... if he keeps sharking off packs like that we're going to be happy little Sainters)

Winx 2 games 2 wins

Can't spell Winx without Win, I guess :moustache:
Hopefully with experience we’ll see his kicking become more reliable.

Then again the original Winx was an ordinary kick and retired without a goal to her name 😐

aI5wZu0.jpg

Harsh? His kicking is atrocious for an AFL player! Ratts has explicitly asked for better skills.
I like Dunstan as a person don't get me wrong, nothing personal. Hard ball gets and clearances ok. But he can't hit a target 20m away.
The only thing he is consistent with by foot is missing targets. Sorry people, truth hurts sometimes.
He'll play round one, he's our best clearance player by far and his work on the spread was really impressive yesterday compared to previous years. His kicking leaves a lot to be desired but we just don't have anyone else right now that can do what he can do on the inside. The idea that Ross can come in and play the inside bull roll is a bit optimistic.

Reid was not playing, that hurts, despite his sh1tful injury record. But Cox has "some" credits in the bank.
Statistically he's ok, but we have higher expectations than ok.
Cameron has zero credits and no history of credits.
We'll rely on Stephenson (back from glandular fever today) Elliot, DeGoey and WHE to kick a winning score

Our fwd line is painful
Hey toxic the question of why Collingwood didn't try to get Bruce is interesting. He would have assisted your team.

With all due respect mate, I highly doubt your social media posts played any part in Longs game yesterday.

Marsh Cup 1 was his first full game at AFL level in that position so it's no surprise it took him a couple of games to get into it.

He was still solid enough last week and was best on ground at half time yesterday.

The coaches clearly see something there so let's give him time.

Long isn't reading BigFooty but I do reckon that there's a potential link between Long playing like he did, and Geary being back in the backline providing leadership and instruction. Would be interested to hear if anyone at the game noticed anything in that regard.

Hard to get a good read of the side from that match for mine, some good individual flashes from players but it will take a while to build a cohesive unit with so many new faces out there. Collingwood clearly not too fussed about the result with Pendlebury playing the least minutes of any player, but hopefully the wins help build confidence for the boys.

Long is a much better player when he can get involved and use the ball.

Still not a fan of Zak Jones, think he'll be in the fringe of our best side with his kicking… happy to proven wrong though.

Round 1 will be very interesting!

Steelo stepped it up a bit today, I was getting a bit worried about him. Dunstan as well becoming more consistent.

Different kettle of fish against a full strength pies midfield.
Sure we were missing seb and gresh, but our inside mids will be our achillies heel again this year.

What do we do with battle. Obviously we can’t play battle Ryder membery and king so I think the poor guy struggled to play with is tragic

Did manage 12 possies in 50% game time though.
To me that suggests enough progress for ratts to continue the jason blake everyman experiment. (Unfortunately).

Seeing how much work king needs to do on his endurance, if I had it my way, this year I'd do with king what WC do with nic nat.

Which is- only play him ~50% of the game and have him on the bench the other 50%.

Nic nat come off the bench exploding with power and energy for WC- I'd much rather at this stage king running around full of energy for half a game than plodding around knackered for a full one.

Battle can play 50% of time king is on the bench at CHF and 30% of the game plugging holes elsewhere.

How impressive was Battle getting a contested mark on the 50 arc on the far side, getting called to play on for some inexplicable reason, and drilling a 50 metre pass on his non-preferred left to hit Marshall on the chest in the goal square. He just needs to play even though I don't think he'll line up round 1. Gresham/Ross going out was a bit of a blessing in disguise in that he could remind us what he can do when he's in a position he feels comfortable with.

Long isn't reading BigFooty but I do reckon that there's a potential link between Long playing like he did, and Geary being back in the backline providing leadership and instruction. Would be interested to hear if anyone at the game noticed anything in that regard.
Good point regarding Geary and this instruction he would have brought to the backline, which looked like it lacked structure in the first Marsh game.

I'm also going to add Roberton to that as well - who has been a backline coach for 2 years.

Perhaps you need to reread what i said or are you suggesting i am social media. :rolleyes:

Long has been ordinary his entire career with flashes of what he can do from time to time. It's easy to swing things out of context to suit an argument but come on be honest we are riding a high and expect good things from the team. Long played well yesterday and lets hope his form continues.

I reckon some of the Hanners talk has been a little harsh. For his first game I thought he was pretty good. Only played 60% of the game so 18 touches is plenty. Used it well. Five clearances and nine CPs. Kicked a goal.

He didn’t get into space much, but he was playing mainly an inside role.

I think he would be in the category of " its only a pre-season game, do well, but don't overdo it "

Dare i say Geary's presence may have also made a difference to Howard's game as well. Night and day compared to Marsh 1

Just saw that and posted on another thread.

He looks lost up the ground but looked dangerous when played across half forward.

I'd have him for 3 reasons.

1. Ryder isn't effective as a forward
2. King will struggle to run out game
3. He's too good to be playing at Sandy

I'll sound like a broken record, but If Ryder is to play, he needs to play 50% in the ruck and the other 50 on the bench.

Agree but it makes far more sense for king to be the one sitting on the bench for 50% of the game, not ryder- as he is the one struggling to run out games.

If you want to see how Richmond’s style of play is impacting the modern game watch Collingwoods 2 goals in the last. It’s pressuring the ball forward at all cost particularly by mids. It’s frenetic. Those wanting just players who are pin point accurate take note. Dunstan plays each week and every week whist he brings that attack. You don’t just have a team of nice kicks.

Hi guys!

v Collingwood.
- Howards game was great. Loved his defense / interception / hardness.
- Long. Wow. Its like we have 2 BHills.
- Clark. This is kid is special. Elite disposal and footy brain.
- Sinclair, not happy cant see him
in rnd 1
- Dunstan has improved. Love his work ethic and inside work.
- Ryder. Wow. Tap work is insanely good.
- Lonie and Butler. We have 2 gun smalls there which means Gresham goes to middle.
- Steele: solid performer.

Defense and Midfield very impressive.
Forward structure and entries are concerning .

[QUOTE="PoppedCorn, post: 64570143]

And im not confident on hanners at all
Seriously all jokes aside from the last fortnight i was expecting to see him not dominate but be quite involved and was a little disappointed tbh
Obviously taking it slow but apparently its been his best preseason in years, although i dunno how with a foot injury

Selection night is going to see some massive melts lol

Edit then u look at the stats and see hanners actually did ok
9 contested
A goal
Some clearances
All from 62% game time

Tbh i dont notice alot of the stuff he does
[/QUOTE]

Just watch the man make a decision and kick the football- it's poetry.

He is the best kick in our team, better than hill

Autopsy Marsh Community Series - Game 2, 2020: Collingwood v St.Kilda