• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

rich u r the most sensibl one on here
the striped boys from avoca any chance or is the lack of discipline mentiond by othr posters there downfall

rich u r the most sensibl one on here
the striped boys from avoca any chance or is the lack of discipline mentiond by othr posters there downfall

Thanks for that heartfelt compliment Zakster.

I think Avoca are a real chance however Harcourt will go in favourites. Anyone who has seen Avoca this year will know they are well coached and run games out well. There will be a bit of feeling in the game after the ugly incidents at Avoca earlier in the year which should make it good viewing.

In all honesty they weren't that undisciplined last week. They have a couple of hot heads but other than that the team is fairly disciplined. I believe that Harcourt are a far more physical side and if Avoca can stand up to this they have a chance of winning. Harcourt are probably more susceptible to undisciplined acts when they are under pressure if anything.

I believe it will either be a close game or Harcourt will blow them away early. Avoca need to stay in touch and hopefully their large following will help them over the line. Hopefully Avoca doesn't get stage fright.

Chipper came = runner up with marc robins.

Luke Tracey - 38
Justin Harris - 26
Marc Robins - 26
Nathan Right - 21

Was the club happy with these results?? Always a bit of a sour taste I reckon when a player comes in half way through the year and wins a major award like that. Both Robins and Wright had good years. Not denying Harris is a very good player mind you. Brilliant ball winner, perhaps could be more damaging with disposal at times though.

Seniors.

Harcourt ($1.35) v Avoca ($2.90)

Reserves.

Trentham ($1.70) v Carisbrook ($2.05)

U/17's.

Maldon ($1.90) v Carisbrook ($1.90)

Netball- don't even know who plays.

If I was a betting man i would load up on Brook in the Reserves and Under 17s! I reckon the Brook reserves got the wake up they needed against Trentham in the 2nd week of finals and will smash them this time. The Under 17 game will be a cracker actually... 2 very even sides, reckon Brook will get up!

I'd have a little bit on Avoca too just quietly

If I was a betting man i would load up on Brook in the Reserves and Under 17s! I reckon the Brook reserves got the wake up they needed against Trentham in the 2nd week of finals and will smash them this time. The Under 17 game will be a cracker actually... 2 very even sides, reckon Brook will get up!

I'd have a little bit on Avoca too just quietly
You're potting the old boys again King. Mate, will tell you again, you can't buy experience.

You're potting the old boys again King. Mate, will tell you again, you can'y buy experience.

Its more the fact that I need Brook is a very good reserves side! They have been the yardstick all year and Trenthams form has been patchy during the year. THey have played well in the finals but I expect Brook to be too good! Feel free to give it to me if I'm wrong though! :)

Fair enough call and I realise that Carisbrook will be getting a couple back more than likely. Don't worry about the form of Trentham through the year as it has only been the last few weeks that they have been able to get everyone fit and on the ball park. Hopefully a good close game with the Trentham boys to get over the line by 7 points. :thumbsu:

wear is the grandfinal played

i know for sure that jason chivers will be available to play reserves on the weekend, but not sure on any others, chief will definately be a handy inclusion that will bolster the brook forward line, trentham have a good chance of winning but i think brook will be too strong and too quick, was pretty impressed with how they played against our boys last week. has been a great effort by trentham to make the mark this year, but have pretty much stacked there two's side for most of the season, which makes brooks effort a little more rewarding for the club and it shows there clubs strenght on a whole. dont mean to be offensive to trenthem followers but its just the way it is,however im sure any other team in the same boat would have done the same thing. this game should hopefully be 1 of 3 nailbiters for the day!!!

chief what a legend :thumbsu: might hafta make the trip over to borogh to watch this one

Not too sure about the stacking of the second's comment. Remember, they have pulled quite a few out of retirement to get the club number's viable and these blokes shouldn't have been considered for a senior game, regardless of how they were going. I mean, surely you're not telling me that Bob Beare should have played seniors at the age of 46? He was their best player all year and blokes like Adam Williams came late and Eddie Tunn has been injured for most of the year. Alan Ackroyd only played home games and fairly often they were relying on kids from the thirds to make up four or five of their numbers. I think you need to take stock of what you are saying and get some facts about the matter before you go off making statements.

P.S. I don't follow Trentham, just know a couple of blokes who have gone out there and from talking to them, know what they have been through to get to the final:thumbsu:

Not too sure about the stacking of the second's comment. Remember, they have pulled quite a few out of retirement to get the club number's viable and these blokes shouldn't have been considered for a senior game, regardless of how they were going. I mean, surely you're not telling me that Bob Beare should have played seniors at the age of 46? He was their best player all year and blokes like Adam Williams came late and Eddie Tunn has been injured for most of the year. Alan Ackroyd only played home games and fairly often they were relying on kids from the thirds to make up four or five of their numbers. I think you need to take stock of what you are saying and get some facts about the matter before you go off making statements.

P.S. I don't follow Trentham, just know a couple of blokes who have gone out there and from talking to them, know what they have been through to get to the final:thumbsu:

fair enough, was only an opinion thats all, but if some of those guys cant get a game in the one's when they have blokes who cant even mark a footy playing they ill be stuffed!!!! yes im aware that there are a number of oldies running around for trentham but there are still some decent footballers running around there playing two's. i only make this assumption as the standard in which trentham dropped from the first time we played them to the 2nd was quite noticeable....like i said anyone else would have done the same thing but it cannot be denied.

i dont think they have massively stacked their twos but there are definately a few running around that I remember playing against in the seniors in the first round. I will be barracking for Trentham come Saturday!

trentham to make the mark this year, but have pretty much stacked there two's side for most of the season, which makes brooks effort a little more rewarding for the club and it shows there clubs strenght on a whole. dont mean to be offensive to trenthem followers but its just the way it is,!!!

Give it a break with the average age of Trentham being 36 what are they stacking?? Old age pensions??? just let the guys have some fun and enjoy their footy they have been stalwards in their previous comps and will add to the gate on Saturday with a bus from Kyneton and plenty coming from the RDFL, King Rich and co hope to catch up for an ale or two during the game.

Well the big day has arrived!

Looks like it is going to be a great day for footy. Best of luck to all teams competing today. Hopefully the Avoca boys and girls can come away with wins!

Rich/Sherm, looking forward to knocking the top off a couple of frothies with you boys on the fence today.

Out Shamui

Give it a break with the average age of Trentham being 36 what are they stacking?? Old age pensions??? just let the guys have some fun and enjoy their footy they have been stalwards in their previous comps and will add to the gate on Saturday with a bus from Kyneton and plenty coming from the RDFL, King Rich and co hope to catch up for an ale or two during the game.

Great job trentham with your reserves,great to see blokes just having fun with ther footy.Its easy to stand the other side of the fence and be critical, good to see they got of there asses and had a go. Also best of luck to Avoca today in the senior footy, senior netball and under 17 netball.

Good Luck to all competing on Saturday footy and Netball should be a great day for the MCDFL my prediction Avoca in a close one!!

Unforunately for Avoca, Harcourt used their many strengths to keep Avoca at bay, Congratulations to Harcourt for being 2007 premiers. I suppose it starts all over again. Silly season - bring it on.

8 snag rolls to 1 1st quartr thats the ball game
bye bye striped boyz coghln only avoca forward having a dip

That's because Makepeace and Berry dominated the backline. Avoca never gave in though. Coghlan is a genuine star and good luck to him in the future.

Harcourt's onballers, in particular, Jeff McMurtrie came out and smashed them in the first quarter. It was always going to be tough from then on.

Stoney also kicked his 100th for the season in the last term.

Well done Harcourt!!!

Unforunately for Avoca, Harcourt used their many strengths to keep Avoca at bay, Congratulations to Harcourt for being 2007 premiers. I suppose it starts all over again. Silly season - bring it on.

I think a lack of experience on the big stage hurt Avoca. The Bulldogs looked very unsure of themselves and didn't play to their potential. Coghlan had a red hot go but couldn't do it all by himself in the forward 50. Tony was sensational too. He would have touched it near 40 times.

At the start of the year nobody picked Avoca to be in the big game or probably even the finals. So a successful effort by the club.