Matt Rendell - Not Racist

Former Saints assistant coach Matt Rendell has resigned his position as recruitment officer for the Adelaide Football Club after a "throw away line" about only drafting Aboriginal players with at least one white parent.

Sorry Rendell: I'm not racist
Jesse Hogan
March 20, 2012

[He] insists it was simply an example of what could occur if the AFL did not immediately help remedy the high attrition rate among young indigenous players.

Rendell said he had made the comment when Mifsud made an unannounced visit to Adelaide in January. He said he used the opportunity to float a policy based on the experience of Hawthorn dynamo Cyril Rioli, who was educated in Melbourne before he was drafted. Rendell told Mifsud it was essential to create a program where the top 30 under-16 indigenous players of every year were given scholarships to study in Melbourne as a means of preparing them for the strictly regimented life of a modern AFL footballer.

"I said to 'Jase' [Mifsud] that the attrition rate was too high at the moment. He agreed that there were too many indigenous players dropping out of the system. I said, 'I've got my theories, tell me if you reckon I'm right'," Rendell said. When he then declared indigenous players generally came from more laidback families and were "not prepared for AFL life as others . . . he [Mifsud] said, 'That's a fair assumption of Aboriginal life' ".

"I was using that as a basis for an idea I had to help more indigenous players stay in the system. I want every kid to play 10 years no matter where they are from," he said. "I said to Jason there is a serious issue that needs to be addressed right now. It was a throwaway line — a ridiculous line — but I said you might find we only recruit players with only one white parent."

"People don't like talking about it for fear of being branded because you might get one word in the wrong place," he said. "In my eyes, there is no racism in footy. We [recruiters] don't talk about that sort of stuff, we just want to pick the best players."

Storm in a teacup only an issue because of the pigmentation of the skin, if this was instead about a country v metropolitan argument it would hardly be at the stage that it is, but instead since it focused on abroginals, woah man, immediately racist. There's still a rather large gulf between the cultures of the "two sides", the argument can be had with any differing lifestyles, classes of society and etc, people just get pissy when the term "white" is used since it infers "black". When how else are you really going to say it?

Saying you're not willing to draft a guy who has a criminal record or a troubled upbringing is fine. Generalising and saying you're not drafting anyone with two black parents is not defensible in any way, shape or form. It's straight out racism and you can't massage that. Judge a man by his character, not his race.

Life just got a lot harder for Jason.

If there is to be solution, it will need to be modelled and actioned by only the few, as nobody will dare help or provoke change now.

Saying you're not willing to draft a guy who has a criminal record or a troubled upbringing is fine. Generalising and saying you're not drafting anyone with two black parents is not defensible in any way, shape or form. It's straight out racism and you can't massage that. Judge a man by his character, not his race.

An exercise in acceptable levels of racism in this country;

Do you find the phrase "Aboriginal" racist?

It's a label.
Applied to a group of people.
Included: Specific shades of skin tones.
Excluded: Every other skin tone.
Discriminatory? Or a necessary evil since we need labels and colours were deemed offensive?

You want to scream racism, the apply it to everything the literal meaning was made to represent, an excluded, isolated community which refuses entry based on race, creed and etc.

Next question;

How many times have you heard a talk, prior to a game about their history? Can you recall how they address everyone in it?

"Our people"
"The native people of..."
Included: This specific race in this specific location
Excluded: Everything else

This, this is the world we live in, every comment made by every single individual commenting on everything to do with race, with history, with words discriminates and engages in racism and we accept it, tolerate it and grow up with it, yet when a guy says "black" instead of "aboriginal" we throw our hands up whilst bearing pitchforks and bay for blood because that's just not cricket.

We all have our own opinion on how these things are graded, me, I move past the language, it's obstructive, clunky and when it boils down to what truly matters, useless. I hear tone, I see intent, passion, I try to see what the person wishes to convey as opposed to what words they use to convey it.

Matt Rendell says: you might as well draft a black man with one white parent.

Matt Rendell means: Aboriginal communities cannot prepare a kid to handle AFL life away from it. You need a marriage of the two lifestyles.

Since this event, you've seen nothing but a broken man.

You've got it wrong whats happened is like if I looked in my wardrobe and saw my pants were all old and crappy, and said to my wife, " If you don't buy me some new pants , I'll have to go to work naked "
My wife has then gone screaming to the national media about what an exhibitionist pervert I am.

Mifsud is an ass.

Rendell was effectively saying that if nothing was done, the clubs would become more racist.

http://thedailymaggot.com/?p=1653

In the wake of the Matthew Rendell racism saga, the board of the Adelaide Football Club has sensationally amended its constitution to allow for the possibility of a brunette to play in the Crows’ midfield.

After years of only allowing pure blondes including Nathan Van Berlo, Scott Thompson, David McKay, Bernie Vince and Rory Sloan to rotate through the club’s engine room, the board took swift action at an extraordinary board meeting last night.

The Maggot understands that a motion to amend clause 429.3(jj) of the club’s constitution to allow midfielders to be selected regardless of “hair pigment, tone or colouring” was successful.

However, a dubious attempt to remove the requirement for all Adelaide players to possess a deep and unnatural year-long tan was resoundingly defeated.

its a shame that the truth cost him his job and credibility.

its is unfortunate that most Aboriginal players do not last long in the AFL system, but it is the truth.

its a shame that the truth cost him his job and credibility.

its is unfortunate that most Aboriginal players do not last long in the AFL system, but it is the truth.

Shot the messenger, and the still didn't get the message.

Just because you are self righteous doesn't make you right.

I watched him last night.

I got the feeling (correct me if I'm wrong) that he welcomes the fact that people will shy away from this now. He wants to be the one that finds a solution, as there wasn't even so much of a vibe of we welcome input about it.

I think the point will be taken on board across club level, don't attempt to help, we're handling it.

Mifsud has engaged in cake eating, on the one hand the comment was "throwaway" and "not worth it" yet on the other it was entirely unprofessional, racist and the man needed to be fired over it, but we're still mates even though this is a months old comment I'm dredging up from the lake.

I'm guessing that something happened on TFS last night re this?

How Mifsud is copping the crap on this site when Rendell has admitted saying that Indigenous kids are being judged on the race of their parents is just beyond me.

Hope some of you blokes watched Marn Grook last night.

Perhaps all that glitters is not gold....don't judge a book by its cover

"People don't like talking about it for fear of being branded because you might get one word in the wrong place," he said. "In my eyes, there is no racism in footy. We [recruiters] don't talk about that sort of stuff, we just want to pick the best players."[/QUOTE]

I feel for Matt and I believe he believes he is not a racist, however there is racism in football and that is why it remains such a sensitive subject. Pre-emptimg an racist remark, with, "I'm not racist, but...." doesn't help. In the crowd you hear racist remarks which are anything but throwaway lines. These people look to their players and club administrators as examples to emulate.

So as much as I feel sorry for Matt, I think when you do the crime, you do the time. I hope there is a way to rehabilitate his reputation and that he is not lost to the game.

"People don't like talking about it for fear of being branded because you might get one word in the wrong place," he said. "In my eyes, there is no racism in footy. We [recruiters] don't talk about that sort of stuff, we just want to pick the best players."

I feel for Matt and I believe he believes he is not a racist, however there is racism in football and that is why it remains such a sensitive subject. Pre-emptimg an racist remark, with, "I'm not racist, but...." doesn't help. In the crowd you hear racist remarks which are anything but throwaway lines. These people look to their players and club administrators as examples to emulate.

So as much as I feel sorry for Matt, I think when you do the crime, you do the time. I hope there is a way to rehabilitate his reputation and that he is not lost to the game.

Nice post, Jack. I think Rendell's comments were totally indefensible, but I also don't think they necessarily define the man. We all say and do stupid things.

Last night on Marn Grook, Gilbert McAdam (I love that man) spoke about Rendell. They played together in SA, and Gilby said he had no doubt that Rendell was not a racist, but he was disappointed by his misunderstanding of the issues. It was a really heartfelt and sensitive speech by Gilby and I've no doubt that people like him, Michael Long and the many other Indigenous role models in our game would welcome the chance to work with Rendell for the benefit of Indigenous kids in the future.

I hope positives come out of this for Indigenous players, for Indigenous people in general, and for Matt Rendell.

WTF. Whilst not as bizarre as the umpiring on the weekend, this is getting very, very odd.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...press-conference/story-e6frf9jf-1226317721248

AFL employee Jason Mifsud has apologised to Melbourne coach Mark Neeld for "clearly inappropriate" comments about the club's management of indigenous players.

Melbourne were furious at the allegation that Neeld spoke with non-indigenous players individually over the pre-season, but only addressed indigenous players as a group.

Former St Kilda coach Grant Thomas made the rumour public in a blog posted on Monday, but took down the comment after Neeld rang him to protest.

Demetriou said the AFL launched an investigation today and discovered that Mifsud was the source of the comments to Thomas.

Mifsud has been reprimanded and counselled for raising the unfounded issues in a conversation with Thomas.

"Notwithstanding that Jason never intended for that conversation to appear in the public domain, it still remained an unacceptable comment," Demetriou said.

Can someone run this down for me. Cause i sort of missed the start of the saga, and now I'm completely lost.

Rendell hung out to dry and sacked, while Mifsud keeps his after making comments that were alot more damaging, and at the same time completely false?

Is that the general gist? Or is there more to the story?

Can someone run this down for me. Cause i sort of missed the start of the saga, and now I'm completely lost.

Rendell hung out to dry and sacked, while Mifsud keeps his after making comments that were alot more damaging, and at the same time completely false?

Is that the general gist? Or is there more to the story?
Sounds about right to me. Neeld said on the couch last night that he was hurt by those comments so I think it's only fair that flog loses his job after making up something like that.

Is Mifsud just going around calling everyone racist these days?

Matt Rendell - Not Racist