Roast Maxwell's big mouth

It shouldn't matter. Maxwell, or any other Collingwood player or official, can say whatever they want as far as I'm concerned. If we need opposition players making statements before a game to get fired up there's something wrong.

One part of this current Geelong side I absolutely love is for the most part we say absolutely nothing before a game. The way I figure it the less a club says the better.

Collingwood thorougly deserve to be favourites. Anyone who thinks we can magically flick a switch and blow them away is being fanciful. What occurred in 2007 and 2009 is irrelevant. Right now they are the side to beat.

Spot on. You must give credit that they are playing their best footy in a long time. But at the same time there is a lot of talk when they have no runs on the board.

It shouldn't matter. Maxwell, or any other Collingwood player or official, can say whatever they want as far as I'm concerned. If we need opposition players making statements before a game to get fired up there's something wrong.

One part of this current Geelong side I absolutely love is for the most part we say absolutely nothing before a game. The way I figure it the less a club says the better.

Collingwood thorougly deserve to be favourites. Anyone who thinks we can magically flick a switch and blow them away is being fanciful. What occurred in 2007 and 2009 is irrelevant. Right now they are the side to beat.

Yep! And none other than our last captain is of a similar view

DUAL premiership captain Tom Harley says Collingwood is ominously reminiscent of the Geelong team he led to the flag in 2007.
"There's no reason they can't go on and win the premiership because they're a great unit and they've got some superstars in their ranks.
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...ptain-tom-harley/story-e6frf9jf-1225900255438

We were St Kilda's bitches too. The wheel turns.

One win doesn't mean jack.

Beat St Kilda in a meaningful game, beat them a number of times, or win a flag, and then you can talk. Until then, I am sure that they would be happy to take their recent record against you.

So basically he should have said:

"Geelong are a far superior team to us, but we are going to try our best."

Isn't that pretty much what Lucas Neill said before the game against Germany?

How about this:

"We were disappointed with our performance last time against Geelong because we know we are better than that and we have played better than that since that game.

"We've been waiting for an opportunity to make amends and we can't wait for Saturday night to do so.

?

No ammunition for the opposition. No room to be criticised for not respecting the opposition. Message is much stronger and positive if you must have a public rev-up anyway.

As it was, it sounded (a) factually false, (b) sore loser-ish and (c) it unnecesarily gave Geelong ammunition.

I know which I'd prefer my captain to be saying. Actually, I'd prefer my captain to do as he does and STFU, but that's just me.

He should have said what all sensible captains do. Nothing. There is a perfectly good reason why footballers and captains in particular talk in cliches. They refuse to give the slightest motivation or spur to the opposition.
Internally you would demand that he both say and believe that Collingwood can and should win this game, but he should recognise that like a politician in an election campaign, every word and innuendo will be scrutinised and magnified out of all proportion.
As I said earlier in this thread...don't poke the bear!

Do you reckon some of their supporters are getting a little ahead of themselves too.:eek:

And now Geelong this Friday. We’ve got 'em rattled. They’re worried, I can just tell. We’re coming to get ‘em - and you can tell them that from me. The black-and-white army, we’re on the march. If you’re with us, get on board; if you’re not, get out of the way. 1958, 1990, 2010 ... I can feel it in my waters; this is our year. ''Side by side we stick together to uphold the Magpie name ....''
http://www.backpagelead.com.au/afl/2085-oh-the-premierships-a-cakewalk
Hope he's all set to watch Essendon v Carlton at the MCG. Personally, I'll wait another 24 hours before I head to the match. :D

As a Collingwood fan, perhaps [strike]he's so rattled[/strike] he can't read [strike]a fixture[/strike]? :p

Didn't mind the article itself though - it was just a Collingwood fan's perspective of coming up against a team that's had their measure, and believing that this match could be the catalyst for change (and a flag). Even poked fun at Pies supporter's desperation to cling to their 2008 win.

Even poked fun at Pies supporter's desperation to cling to their 2008 win.

Don't forget the '07 prelim when they got 'close' in a knockout final.

How about this:

"We were disappointed with our performance last time against Geelong because we know we are better than that and we have played better than that since that game.

"We've been waiting for an opportunity to make amends and we can't wait for Saturday night to do so.

?

No ammunition for the opposition. No room to be criticised for not respecting the opposition. Message is much stronger and positive if you must have a public rev-up anyway.

As it was, it sounded (a) factually false, (b) sore loser-ish and (c) it unnecesarily gave Geelong ammunition.

I know which I'd prefer my captain to be saying. Actually, I'd prefer my captain to do as he does and STFU, but that's just me.

Fair enough.

Maxy's a pretty honest bloke, and it wouldn't surprise me if our internal indicators showed it as a game that could have easily gone the other way. From memory we were but a couple of wayward Brent Macaffer set shots away from being right in it halfway through the last quarter so what he said maybe wasn't all that far off the mark.

When it comes down to it a 6-goal loss is a 6-goal loss though so I understand why he is copping it from all and sundry in this thread.

Fair enough.

Maxy's a pretty honest bloke, and it wouldn't surprise me if our internal indicators showed it as a game that could have easily gone the other way. From memory we were but a couple of wayward Brent Macaffer set shots away from being right in it halfway through the last quarter so what he said maybe wasn't all that far off the mark.

When it comes down to it a 6-goal loss is a 6-goal loss though so I understand why he is copping it from all and sundry in this thread.

Yep, agree.

The bolded bit though, is really what most people are on about - what is said and used internally is one thing, what is said publicly is (or should be) another.

I don't know why some of you are getting bent out of shape. Geelong are clearly the favourites and clearly the better side. Despite some thinking Pies are over-cocky I have heard little cockiness from Pies supporters - I have seen the Herald Sun blow our achievements out of proportion. I don't know how that is our fault though. Herald Sun reporters are dumbasses. I am under no illusions.

In relation to the last time we played, Geelong clearly deserved to win and when you turned it on we couldn't get near you. But we were leading half way through the third by ten points so to say Geelong controlled the whole game is not something I can agree with.

To be honest I think both sides will finish top 2 - it is a big game that I hope we win, but I almost dread us winning. We would definitely start believing our own hype if we do win.

“They’re just another team,” Maxwell said of Geelong.

That's smacks of arrogance, Collingwood have been our bitches over the last two years and now we are just another team

Shit dude - every team has been your bitches in the last two years (except, for reasons I don't understand, Carlton)

I just find it incredible that Maxwell would provide us with even more ammunition to beat them than we would already have.

I can envisage it now; Ling lining up for the game winning goal, thinking "Geez, I don't really care if I kick this goal to win the game against the current #1 threat to us being one of the greatest teams of all time. Hang on wait....Maxwell said the stats indicated Collingwood went ok last time we played them. Those mongrels! NOW I HAVE TO KICK IT!"

Probably not.

But if Geelong are up by 8+ goals at three quarter time, I can see Bomber telling the boys to use Maxwell's comments as motivation to turn it into an 80+ point thumping, setting the Colliwobbles into full effect and helping derail the magpie premiership chances once again.

Probably not.

But if Geelong are up by 8+ goals at three quarter time, I can see Bomber telling the boys to use Maxwell's comments as motivation to turn it into an 80+ point thumping, setting the Colliwobbles into full effect and helping derail the magpie premiership chances once again.

Looks like I can get a coaching gig, all I have to do is cut and paste any article about the team that doesn't paint them in a good light and show it to them. If a quote from an opponent saying statistics indicates they were close to winning the last game is worth around 40 points, then I could cook up a story about the other team calling their mums' fat. Surely that's worth a few goals.

Bang! Bang! Maxwell's silver hammer
Came down upon his head.
Clang! Clang! Maxwell's silver hammer
Made sure that he was dead.

Love that song, fits perfectly in the album

P.S. Did you buy the mono box set? It is awesome.

And this is where you are wrong.

Mate, with all due respect, you weren't even close to winning that RD 9 game.
Like I said once you get the yips it's only a matter of time before you give it up, you know this from the 08 GF

Anyway does anyone really want to win this game?

If we finish 1 and 2 and don't meet before the GF then this is the curse game, whoever wins it loses the flag historically, last 8 years in a row so far.

Not once in round 9 was I worried, and yes you were playing well. Yes you missed a couple and then you were smashed.

Ever thought you might not get the chance to miss this time around?

Not really, you'll be playing a different side this time around, Jolly and Ball started very slowly, they needed time to adjust to a different group and game plan, other players like Reid and Dawes have come in and settled into key posts and generally speaking there has been a lift from all our players and it has been reflected in our ladder position and pushed players like Lockyer, O'Bree, Medhurst, Anthony, Wood and Fraser out of the team.

Having said that you have the score on the board and are the reigning champs so we don't kid ourselves about how hard it is to win a blockbuster against a champion team.

Collingwood's biggest problem in beating Geelong has been finding competitive match ups for Scarlett, Taylor, Enright and Mackie. If you can't occupy these guys with an elite forward you really can't beat Geelong - when it matters. Bulldogs have the same problem.

St Kilda have had more success because Riewoldt at least demands attention. Hawthorn had the ultimate success because of Franklin, Rioli and Roughead demanded they play tight and respect them.

If Scarlett is allowed to play on someone like John Anthony, he will really dominate the game. This is Geelong's main strength.

Now maybe the structure with Dawes is better, but is Scarlett really going to have trouble with him, is he really? Cloke has had a good season (and caused us problems here and there) but physically he is a great match up for Taylor and I am very confident the 2010 version of Taylor is too good for him.

Collingwood will need huge games from Leon Davis and Alan Didak to beat us. Particuarly Davis, as that would suprise us and potentially unsettle the back 6.

Possible but not likely (even less likely in September).