MCDFL - 2011 PRE Season

Re: MCDFL - Part 3

I think you will find the message was they're happy to resume old rivalries. Don't shoot the messenger about the fact it may provide more competition for players around that area and to win a premiership. I think it's going to be a great country football league!

Stating a Captain Obvious about the LPFL teams and Hepburn. Not interested. Maybe in two years when it's 2 divisions I may take some interest again.

Avoca is a proud club, and over the last 4 or 5 years have been a consistent perormer since transfering in 05, but will next year be a rebuilding year at the Kennel ? they have some good young kids, but if they lose the calibre of players rumoured, then it could be a long year.

anyone know anything on the fixture ?? in my oppinion Rd 1 should see some rivalries renewed (Dunolly VS Natte) (Avoca vs Navarre) and purely geographically based (Talbot vs Lexton), would imagine some handy crowds would get along !!

Brooks pre season begins 3rd of December at the ground, all new and past players and supporters welcome !! - Christmas party to follow the training session.

The MCDFL season will start on April 9 with a rematch of this year’s grand final between Maldon and Avoca.That game will be the only match on April 9, with the remainder of the round one matches to be played on April 16. saw it on Bendigo advertiser website also dropping 3 rounds form 19 to 16 rounds .

Trenm s preseason started tonight with around 40 players attending.about 10 new players down having their 1st look, hopefully we can hold on to them as they looked quite handy.new coach Dale Cowell has the place buzzing

am also lead to believe that Lexton had 60 show up for their first run monday night. are they gonna be the yardstick next year? think they are setting the bar fairly high already

Lexton are making the most noise so far but have to wait and see what happens. Plenty of rumours this time of year and usually less than half of what you hear comes to fruition. Talbot poised to annouce a couple of signings hopefully in the next week.

Maldon have meant to have lost noone and picked up 5 (not sure how good)
Creek have picked up 10 (not sure how good)
Harcourt have picked up 10 (not sure how good)
Newstead have picked up Christmas & Collins from Castlemaine.

That is all pub talk boys so take it as you will...

Think the league will be improve dramatically this year.

I expect all the sides coming from the LPFL to play finals and I think you will see Brook, Newstead Harcourt and Dunolly improve so it should be a tight race for finals despite it being an 8.

Hi all,

Just finished reading about the mcdfl league, sounds very promising and exciting next year. As a former lpfl player and not to shore weather to saty at skipton where i have been lucky enough to play in the last couple of wining GF.

What would be good club to go to in your league, besides Lexton.
just couldnt bring myself to go there after beating them by 85 points.

Somwhere closer to Ballarat as i live here.

And a side that isnt going to get floged every week?

Cheers

Maldon have meant to have lost noone and picked up 5 (not sure how good)
Creek have picked up 10 (not sure how good)
Harcourt have picked up 10 (not sure how good)
Newstead have picked up Christmas & Collins from Castlemaine.

That is all pub talk boys so take it as you will...

Unfortunately for Danny Xmas he might have missed the boat and come back 2 years too late!

Dunolly are losing more than they are gaining as far as I know. Not sure Woodward will be able to draw too many players either.

Unfortunately for Danny Xmas he might have missed the boat and come back 2 years too late!

Dunolly are losing more than they are gaining as far as I know. Not sure Woodward will be able to draw too many players either.
I hear McNammee's are set to return with a few more from up north can anyone shed some light on this?

Maldon Football Club to commence pre season training Friday 26-11-2010 @
6 pm at Maldon. Looking forward to seeing all present and prospective player there.

Thanks for the observation there Snakey. The Ashes start tomorrow too so could you keep up the stats for us?;). Even in 2009 we didn't have big numbers early so we'll keep doing our best and see what happens. Time will tell as they say:).

IF you play qualifying finals in a Top 8 system on the Saturday, will these spill over into Saturday night at Princes Park?

In the AFL system of four (senior) matches on the 1st weekend of the finals, they use 3 days: Friday night, Saturday arvo and Sat. night and then the Sunday.

In the MCDFL you'll have the Threes and the Magoos to contest their qual. finals before the Ones get their turn to have a gallop.
Same at Hedges for the elim. finals set-up on the Sunday.

Looks like a very busy, if not crowded, schedule to me. Eases off a bit as the Final 8 system enters its 2nd and 3rd weeks !

IF you play qualifying finals in a Top 8 system on the Saturday, will these spill over into Saturday night at Princes Park?

In the AFL system of four (senior) matches on the 1st weekend of the finals, they use 3 days: Friday night, Saturday arvo and Sat. night and then the Sunday.

In the MCDFL you'll have the Threes and the Magoos to contest their qual. finals before the Ones get their turn to have a gallop.
Same at Hedges for the elim. finals set-up on the Sunday.

Looks like a very busy, if not crowded, schedule to me. Eases off a bit as the Final 8 system enters its 2nd and 3rd weeks !

Dont't forget the 4ths, the new Under 14 comp could still become under 15s as the CDJFL may look to fold as Castlemaine are going full steam ahead on trying to fill under 13 and under 15 teams in the BFL. I think the Under 15 age group may perhaps be a better alternative, in some circumstances 14 year olds will be playing under 17s Footy. And already 5 of the MCDFL teams already field under 15 teams, along with With Avoca,Talbot,Navarre,Natte and Trentham, could turn into a good little junior Comp !!

Plenty of finals alternative ground wise, Avoca, Bushy,Princess Park, Dunolly and Brook . Also hear Brook has 2 night games penciled in next year, would be exciting !!

Dont't forget the 4ths, the new Under 14 comp could still become under 15s as the CDJFL may look to fold as Castlemaine are going full steam ahead on trying to fill under 13 and under 15 teams in the BFL. I think the Under 15 age group may perhaps be a better alternative, in some circumstances 14 year olds will be playing under 17s Footy. And already 5 of the MCDFL teams already field under 15 teams, along with With Avoca,Talbot,Navarre,Natte and Trentham, could turn into a good little junior Comp !!

Plenty of finals alternative ground wise, Avoca, Bushy,Princess Park, Dunolly and Brook . Also hear Brook has 2 night games penciled in next year, would be exciting !!
would it change to 15s and 18s?

Im not sure mate, I wouldnt imagine the league would want to change it up that much, If the league decides to adopt the under 14 comp, i think it makes it a little hard for the 5 teams in the MCDFL (Brook,Stead,Creek,Maldon and Harcourt) who all have teams in the CDJFL to field 4 junior teams (10s,13s,14s and 15s). If Castlemaine do get there under 13s and 15s teams up, then the CDJFL is not viable !! and Under 14 footy will ok, time will tell i suppose !! the LPFL made under 14 and 17 football work, why cant We ?

Would Trentham be ok with Under 14 or 15 footy ?? MY oppinion does not count for much, but if i was Royal Park, i would invest as much money into trying to get a junior side running, as i was in my senior team. No offence against the struggling sides but Champion senior sides USUALLY have a strong emphasis on Junior Football !! any Bushy boys agree ?? - the easy way out is not to field junior teams, but if they want to improve long term, Under 14 and 17 footy need to return for them !!

Agree with the need for good juniors in particular good junior coaches. The development of a Footballer is done in the early years so by the time they get to Senior level you can really only refine the skills as it is difficult to change bad habits that have been picked up over the course of time.

Snake- From what I have heard I think Dunolly will be ok this year. Poor numbers at training would be pretty common for all district clubs when its only November. Good on them and all the clubs that have got into it early.. At the end of the day the 10 guys out on the track at Dunolly are all still working harder than you driving and throwing stones mate!

Is there any more word on player movements in the region?

Lexton had 40+ at there first session. They will dominate this league and not be beaten all year.

Lexton will have a nice target on their head thats for sure!

JMAC to return for Max 10 games plus finals for Dunolly so my Ballarat scout informs me. Reckon they will need a lot more than that personally to get anywhere near it.

Talbot had a good blow out tonight with 25 on the track. Few old and new faces running around. Hopefully Helper can get over the line on Saturday and we can get hold of the 250k and finally get the ground fixed. I for one cant wait to run around on decent surface and Im sure the rest of the league would agree.

Lexton will have a nice target on their head thats for sure!

JMAC to return for Max 10 games plus finals for Dunolly so my Ballarat scout informs me. Reckon they will need a lot more than that personally to get anywhere near it.

Talbot had a good blow out tonight with 25 on the track. Few old and new faces running around. Hopefully Helper can get over the line on Saturday and we can get hold of the 250k and finally get the ground fixed. I for one cant wait to run around on decent surface and Im sure the rest of the league would agree.

come on guys lets get realistic etc!!!

lexton will have a target on there head ..why? think they would just be like all other clubs trying hard to better and improve there list at the present time. and knowing this site its more like all the other clubs trying make out lexton miles above to keep a low profile and making one side seem ahead of the rest

they have lost 4 players from there grand final side and gained a few. think they will be up there so maybe top 4

dunolly have matt bond going with woodward so there is two good players even though they will need a few more

talbot will improve with a few recruits but how much improvement will be the key

natte have heaps of dollars to spend with a bank balance of 71000 they hopefully can draw some key players and be a threat

navarre will be very good let me warn you, 2 to 3 more melb recruits and a healthy side as it is

carrisbrook will be the big big improvers. traecy wright signed plus maryborough captain and chb i have heard all to brook plus 2 from kerang will dramitcally imrpove them

rovers getting few from maryborough but hopefully they keep it all together

bushy in trouble make no mistake or excuses

maldon be the team to beat again as list very healthy

newstead be up there no doubt

harcourt???

creek under peak again will be the big watch team as will challenge in my eyes

avoca is the interesting one? money? coach?

trentham ?

should be a very enjoyable year for all clubs and i look forward to once again umpiring all sides

top 8 very early prediction

navarre
carrisbrook
maldon
rovers
lexton
creek
avoca
newstead

spoon- no one as i think its rude to pick this

league b&f- L woodward dunolly/ m peake creek tie

Lexton have rightly or wrongly been talked up as the team to beat so unfortunately for them every side will be gunning for them as well as Natte and Navarre. Most outside pundits are saying the 3 new teams that have come from the 'superior' league will all be top 6 so all previous MCDFL teams will be keen to knock them off.

Matt Bond will not be going to Dunolly.

Apparently Martin Dell was on his way to Brook, but may have re-considered now after the appointment of Aston.

Agree with the need for good juniors in particular good junior coaches. The development of a Footballer is done in the early years so by the time they get to Senior level you can really only refine the skills as it is difficult to change bad habits that have been picked up over the course of time.

Snake- From what I have heard I think Dunolly will be ok this year. Poor numbers at training would be pretty common for all district clubs when its only November. Good on them and all the clubs that have got into it early.. At the end of the day the 10 guys out on the track at Dunolly are all still working harder than you driving and throwing stones mate!

Is there any more word on player movements in the region?
I am not throwing stones or driving anywhere to look, i was going for a run past the hockey oval (on one of the main roads into Maryborough) and seen a few Dunollys boys doing a bit of training, when i seen one of the Dunollys boys the next day he told me it was there first training run to under lockie last night.

MCDFL - 2011 PRE Season