MCDFL - 2011 PRE Season

Re: MCDFL - Part 3

come on guys lets get realistic etc!!!

lexton will have a target on there head ..why? think they would just be like all other clubs trying hard to better and improve there list at the present time. and knowing this site its more like all the other clubs trying make out lexton miles above to keep a low profile and making one side seem ahead of the rest

they have lost 4 players from there grand final side and gained a few. think they will be up there so maybe top 4

dunolly have matt bond going with woodward so there is two good players even though they will need a few more

talbot will improve with a few recruits but how much improvement will be the key

natte have heaps of dollars to spend with a bank balance of 71000 they hopefully can draw some key players and be a threat

navarre will be very good let me warn you, 2 to 3 more melb recruits and a healthy side as it is

carrisbrook will be the big big improvers. traecy wright signed plus maryborough captain and chb i have heard all to brook plus 2 from kerang will dramitcally imrpove them

rovers getting few from maryborough but hopefully they keep it all together

bushy in trouble make no mistake or excuses

maldon be the team to beat again as list very healthy

newstead be up there no doubt

harcourt???

creek under peak again will be the big watch team as will challenge in my eyes

avoca is the interesting one? money? coach?

trentham ?

should be a very enjoyable year for all clubs and i look forward to once again umpiring all sides

top 8 very early prediction

navarre
carrisbrook
maldon
rovers
lexton
creek
avoca
newstead

spoon- no one as i think its rude to pick this

league b&f- L woodward dunolly/ m peake creek tie

By the looks of things Maryborough stocks are getting very debilitated by the district league, what Maryborough boys are thought to be joining Rovers?

Shouldn't be too hard to work out: All the ones who aren't going to Carisbrook or Lexton!!!

You seem a bit Agro towards things cousin ben?
You obviously aligned with maryborough?
All fair in love and footy! I'm sure over the journey you guys take from district wouldn't you? Only natural it come back at you also I would feel

Lexton have rightly or wrongly been talked up as the team to beat so unfortunately for them every side will be gunning for them as well as Natte and Navarre. Most outside pundits are saying the 3 new teams that have come from the 'superior' league will all be top 6 so all previous MCDFL teams will be keen to knock them off.

Matt Bond will not be going to Dunolly.

Apparently Martin Dell was on his way to Brook, but may have re-considered now after the appointment of Aston.
No bullshit big statements from Trentham this year. We are going along fairly well with coach Dale Cowell continuing on the good work from last season. What does speak volumes for the feeling around the club is that we have only lost one player from last years list, with most players saying that this is one of the best clubs that they have been around and that they want to stay around to help us back up the ladder.
We have picked up several new recruits who help us take the next step up the ladder

has anyone heard on news or Reading the Courier about a gold Digger
been digging holes at Princes Park on the ground? :thumbsdown: I hope the police gets the culprits involved and throw the book at them they deserve what's going to come to them :thumbsu:

About 45 to Newsteads first session last night, plenty of new faces - Not too sure the Magpies (castlemaine variety) would be too happy to see some of them there!

Carisbrook also had around 45 turn out for our first run. around 8 new additions, all will be very good senior players !! The new lights are fantastic, no doubt up to scratch for Night Footy !! Hopefully an exciting year at Brook. Also heard from someone that Natte had 45 at there first hitout, they would be fairly pleased with that !!

I was in Darwin lAst week and heard that Dunolly are getting back James McNamee plus Richmond discard Relton Roberts & a couple of other handy Tiwi Islanders. Sounds like they'll need them?

Carisbrook also had around 45 turn out for our first run. around 8 new additions, all will be very good senior players !! The new lights are fantastic, no doubt up to scratch for Night Footy !! Hopefully an exciting year at Brook. Also heard from someone that Natte had 45 at there first hitout, they would be fairly pleased with that !!

why dont u spend some money on the away rooms

Very selfish unit out there from all reports tasty cheese

Don't see how raising over a $100,000 through grants and the community for community lights that can be used for footy, cricket and festivals and more is selfish. Maybe you could care to enlighten us?

Very easy to make statements like that mate, it's another thing to back them up ! I disagree with you, as Rojer said, raising money through Grants and community funding, for lights that will serve the community of Carisbrook in so many ways, i would say thats not selfish !

And yeah, the away rooms arent flash, hopefully they will get some work on them soon so we stop copping flack about them !! I suppose we have to learn off clubs like Rovers and Trentham on what our away rooms should look like !!:thumbsu:

This is a club that gives back to the community.This year they gave money to a family with a sick mum so they could go on a holiday.They also gave to the local school and the list goes on.
How very SELFISH OF THEM.

This is a club that gives back to the community.This year they gave money to a family with a sick mum so they could go on a holiday.They also gave to the local school and the list goes on.

Brissy & Tasty_Cheese - Cat got your tongue now has it? If you or your club got off there *** and applied for these Grants you also might see some benefits to your facilities. Sorry your club would be footy oriented only gaining all Bar proceeds for a start, unlike C/B which has to divi there's up with the Community once again.Yes it also makes for a great place to play at and enjoy.
:cool:

Im not denying that the club does a lot for the community etc and im sure the lights are fantastic. But lets get serious the away rooms are sh!thouse and in desperate need of an upgrade. This must be the next project undertaken IMO as it seems to be just pushed back and put on the backburner...

Carisbrook is known as a financially stable club with good facililites (for them) and it has defiantely irritated opposition teams for years that this upgrade hasnt gone through. Surely there are some people around the club who know a thing or two about building.

Im not denying that the club does a lot for the community etc and im sure the lights are fantastic. But lets get serious the away rooms are sh!thouse and in desperate need of an upgrade. This must be the next project undertaken IMO as it seems to be just pushed back and put on the backburner...

Carisbrook is known as a financially stable club with good facililites (for them) and it has defiantely irritated opposition teams for years that this upgrade hasnt gone through. Surely there are some people around the club who know a thing or two about building.

Fairly similar to the state of Talbot's surface noone calls them selfish...

Gee I couldnt see that response coming.....I think you will find that over the last few years there has been a lot of work put into that ground by hard working members to try and improve it. It is slowly getting better and it has been made a priority for years. Unfortunately Talbot missed out on a massive grant for the ground etc due to the election result, so atleast they are doing something about it!!

Your postage stamp ground and changerooms arn't the best either so I wouldnt be throwing stones. Most clubs have a flaw and thats ok because we are only country clubs, but we all know the state of the visitors rooms at brook and what needs to be done.

Gee I couldnt see that response coming.....I think you will find that over the last few years there has been a lot of work put into that ground by hard working members to try and improve it. It is slowly getting better and it has been made a priority for years. Unfortunately Talbot missed out on a massive grant for the ground etc due to the election result, so atleast they are doing something about it!!

Your postage stamp ground and changerooms arn't the best either so I wouldnt be throwing stones. Most clubs have a flaw and thats ok because we are only country clubs, but we all know the state of the visitors rooms at brook and what needs to be done.

You threw them first fella....and i'm not sure if you know what Carisbrooks ground looks like but i don't think it is a postage stamp ground could be wrong though ?

I think we have lost sight of the argument here boys, The issue is labelling brook as a "selfish" club, which still is yet to be backed up with some actual hard evidence !! - We know our visitor rooms are a disgrace, and we are not proud of them, hopefully there will be work done on them very soon !!
Perhaps the better thing to do is move onto some actual Footy !!
How are things looking out at Talbot ? any recruits that are worthy of a mention ? how about the draw ? and word on when it will be finalised ?

I may be a little naive, but I always thought that a football clubs major concern was to be successful and win premierships (something Brook have been pretty good at of recent times) and be financially secure, not to worry about whether other clubs are comfortable in their opposing changerooms!

I personally think the Brook away rooms are a hole but they are not on their Pat Malone in this league, but it works in their favour as it is hard to be on top of your game when you get ready in a shoe box

All credit to Carisbrook for the hard work that they have put into improving their facilities and common sense dictates that they should look after their own players and ground first. It is hard to raise money with poor facilities and if the home teams facilities are not up to scratch how the hell are they going to get recruits. I for one say that while the visitor rooms are below par they are adequate(just) and when the club gets the money perhaps the work will be done

MCDFL - 2011 PRE Season