MCG tenants on Grand Final day

What I love is this

When talking about Richmond's fixture: Docklands is still a home game, its only a few minutes up the road
When talking about GFs: Geelong and Docklands tenants don't count, they are disadvantaged in GFs so all their losses to non-vic teams aren't relevant.

You shouldnt be hanging on to the 1800s version of a home game, even if you need to ignore your club moving to the G for home games (you across that?), the VFL sent South to Sydney, the Bears and Eagles joined - but you need to stick with the 1800s version, move on ... understand its about the Tigers, dont fret.

West coast 4 from 7

2 of those were against sydney - pretty fair chance that an interstate team was gonna win right?

2 were against geelong - and we - according to bigfooty had both a state team AND a decent number of games at the mcg so we were nearly as familiar with the ground as geelong.

1 was against collingwood where we just overcame them

2 were against hawthorn who we lost to badly.

The things is ..all said and and done it’s working perfectly having the Grand final at the G.

Would you be fine if they moved it to Adelaide one year and you had to play Crows in the final and they beat you but you had beaten them previously in Perth.
Or they moved it to Metricon and west coast were allocated 5 000 tickets.?

I still am not grasping what is not healthy about footy, or being a member, or a supporter in WA? Can you elaborate please.

Most of the people posting about these perceived disadvantages of not being an mcg tenant on gf day seem to be supporters of WA teams.

That's not healthy from the perspective of diversity.

We arent the most successful club, the Cats & the Hawks, the LIons, all have more to boast about. I do understand the Tiges are your measure, mighty low bar.

So the top three performing teams in your opinion (not even including the Swans and Eagles) are two non-MCG tenants and the one that plays the least MCG games of all co-tenants, and regularly chooses to host its home games at a non-Vic venue. I know that correlation doesn't necessarily imply causation, but that data is getting mighty difficult to overlook. Is it really just coincidental that all these non-MCG tenants have consistently finished Top 4 over the last 20 years, or is there some decided advantages afforded to them by the H&A fixturing?

"The market' shouldn't be a consideration when it comes to the fairness of the competition. If we're making decisions based on money, than the possibility of an equal playing field is compromised.

Without all of the compromises in the AFL, of which there are way too many for me to list, there is no competition.

I thought you a had to be member if you wanted to watch West Coast play. I also heard that some person bought a Freo membership just to get to watch one West Coast game. Things have obviously changed since the new stadium . But it doesn’t sound healthy.

Might not float your boat, serves WA footy well enough to toss up the likes of Pickett & Stack for your lot.

You 'heard' wow ! You have demonstrated your knowledge of WA footy came from the same source, 'heard' .... same source tell you about Richmond Football Club Ltd?
Give 'heard' a miss?

Most of the people posting about these perceived disadvantages of not being an mcg tenant on gf day seem to be supporters of WA teams.

That's not healthy from the perspective of diversity.

In WA elitism is not regarded well, you join your footy club, you dont join the Cricket Club, you dont join the AFL Members - playing the GF every year in WA or SA or NSW is seen as no different to the G, unacceptable !!

I don't get where you are coming from, what is not healthy? In my experience no footy game no matter what it is is out of reach to go to, I have flown to Melbourne and got GF tickets the day of the game or on the Friday. If I want to go to a game at Optus I can always get a ticket one way or another.
I still am not grasping what is not healthy about footy, or being a member, or a supporter in WA? Can you elaborate please.

Basically I imagine that in WA the West Coast Eagles completely dominate the football landscape.

The things is ..all said and and done it’s working perfectly having the Grand final at the G.

Would you be fine if they moved it to Adelaide one year and you had to play Crows in the final and they beat you but you had beaten them previously in Perth.
Or they moved it to Metricon and west coast were allocated 5 000 tickets.?

How is it working perfectly?

West coast 4 from 7

2 of those were against sydney - pretty fair chance that an interstate team was gonna win right?

2 were against geelong - and we - according to bigfooty had both a state team AND a decent number of games at the mcg so we were nearly as familiar with the ground as geelong.

1 was against collingwood where we just overcame them

2 were against hawthorn who we lost to badly.
One of your GF losses to Hawthorn was at Waverly.

You shouldnt be hanging on to the 1800s version of a home game, even if you need to ignore your club moving to the G for home games (you across that?), the VFL sent South to Sydney, the Bears and Eagles joined - but you need to stick with the 1800s version, move on ... understand its about the Tigers, dont fret.
A home game is a game played at your home ground. Two of the past three years we have played a 'home' game against Sydney at Docklands, a ground they are more familiar with and play better than we do. We've regularly played 'home' games there against Dockland tenants North, St Kilda and the Bulldogs.

Non-Vic clubs get 10 home games per year against visiting interstate sides unfamiliar with their ground. We get four. The rest of our home games are against co-tenants.

Nothing is fair, including life.

In WA elitism is not regarded well, you join your footy club, you dont join the Cricket Club, you dont join the AFL Members...
What? Do you even WA? Elitism is alive and well here, in fact, anecdotal evidence would suggest the Eagles think their shit don’t stink and are an elitist outfit. Even having the audacity to crap all over WA footy and claim our state guernsey as yours and wearing said guernsey during heritage round. Cappucino club comes to mind. please don’t represent me in your fantastical meanderings. You are making us look like dills.

Basically I imagine that in WA the West Coast Eagles completely dominate the football landscape.

Ah good, you imagine this time, 'heard' temporarily incapacitated !!

That with the national comp WA footy took the opportunity to plan for the future is a plus.

Just as the AFL were forced to change to merit based finals, so will the GF, its only a matter of time, & calling out the elitists desperate to maintain their privilege.

Okay I’ll unpack this
“you shouldn’t be hanging onto the 1800s version of a home game”
I’m not exactly sure what an 1800s version of a home game is, but I’m guessing it means game on home ground = home game, game on other ground = away. This is a view similar to that which I’ve found non-Victorian supporters are likely to have, which is along the lines of home state = home game, interstate = away game.
This was a reasonable approximation in early years and is only slightly less reasonably for non-vic teams in the modern competition. The neutral game is a far more common thing in modern times, and in fact I suggest instead of ‘home games’ and ‘away games’ there is a spectrum where each game sits depending on a multitude of factors.
This type of thing is something I’ve found WC supporters have trouble with though.

What? Do you even WA? Elitism is alive and well here, in fact, anecdotal evidence would suggest the Eagles think their shit don’t stink and are an elitist outfit. Even having the audacity to crap all over WA footy and claim our state guernsey as yours and wearing said guernsey during heritage round. Cappucino club comes to mind. please don’t represent me in your fantastical meanderings. You are making us look like dills.

I dummed (sic) it down to the Melbourne audience - having lived in all the mainland States, there is a greater interest in the local media for the local audience .... surprise?

Living in Melbourne as I do, Tiges fans seem very keen to adopt the behaviour you ascribe to Eagles fans.

The guernsey bit, you lost me?

I reckon its about a 60-40 split but as you know that can change with success of teams. If Freo became the powerhouse club of the state which will happen one day then all of a sudden that split changes.
The Tigers have picked up 31k new members since 2016 and that is fantastic. Is that tied to them winning 2 flags in that time? One would think that has a lot to do with it.
Australians love to jump on winners and footy is no exception.
In Perth just like in Melbourne there would be plenty of people who take an interest in the sport without really deeply attaching themselves to the game or a club, if the Dockers became a powerhouse many of those would attach themselves to the Dockers.

At the minute while the Eagles are a powerhouse yes they dominate the landscape over here, with only two teams I guess one will always be bigger than the other.

The guernsey bit, you lost me?
Do some research, just reeked of arrogant elitism. And they did it come hell or high water, many were furious at this elitist attitude by the cappuccino sippers. For mine, unforgivable.
And of course we are inundated with local product. Even to the extent when the eagles or dockers (dockers, just lol), are not in finals they will still dominate news. Like all new franchises the Eagles had a detrimental impact on WA footy, like it or not. And why you ask...because they thought and still think they are WA footy not a team from WA that plays in a national competition and made up of players from all over Australia.

Attachments

• E579A524-8666-4AE9-A586-98E57CA3C8FF.png
    E579A524-8666-4AE9-A586-98E57CA3C8FF.png
    521 KB · Views: 26
This was a reasonable approximation in early years
The neutral game is a far more common thing in modern times

Things changed yes?
Home doesnt mean home, but its still regarded as gospel, by some .

I suggest instead of ‘home games’ and ‘away games’ there is a spectrum where each game sits depending on a multitude of factors.

We agree in principle, on the road is the reality, where the traveller is generally regarded as disadvantaged. Yes/ no? The Hawks have challenged that thinking with their success whilst moving home games interstate.

Home & away is only about money/memberships IMHO & we should clean the whiteboard to address today & tomorrow because there is a spectrum & its developed not managed.

BUT, its the GF in question here, not H&A.

Just read here and doesn’t take many posts to read comments claiming it as their heritage jumper...joke.
Anyway good luck. Will leave you here to argue hypotheticals that can never be settled.

Do some research, just reeked of arrogant elitism. And they did it come hell or high water, many were furious at this elitist attitude by the cappuccino sippers. For mine, unforgivable.
And of course we are inundated with local product. Even to the extent when the eagles or dockers (dockers, just lol), are not in finals they will still dominate news. Like all new franchises the Eagles had a detrimental impact on WA footy, like it or not. And why you ask...because they thought and still think they are WA footy not a team from WA that plays in a national competition and made up of players from all over Australia.

Having lived through Subi winning the last flag before the formation of the Eagles (as a franchise? :rolleyes: ), it certainly changed the landscape at the top level, the WAFL changed overnight to be a feeder comp.
The strength though of the WAFL clubs & their junior development infrastructure remained. WA footy was forced to restructure with the WAFC taking ownership of the Eagles in the early 90s. The recent review of the WA footy was informative.

a national competition and made up of players from all over Australia.
All clubs have people for whom its only about their club, others are genuinely interested in the game.
As for State based views, its as true in Vic & SA IMHO. Its not just WA & the Eagles.
Having a bit of fun on BF should be seen as that.

There is no doubt about what you say. The Eagles are a bit of that.

As for the jumper well the AFL approved to let you guys wear our state gurnsey and you won a GF in it.
That was a bit rude a suburban Melbourne club wearing the West Australian State gurnsey don't you think? I didn't like it at the time but there is probably 10 clubs in West australia that wear the Big white V so who really cares.

The AFL has had a huge impact on footy Australia wide, look what it's done in WA and SA to the two once big state leagues, look what it has done to the VFA in Victoria, country footy is struggling everywhere. All the money is at the top and that being the case everything else suffers. Victoria is no different to WA or anywhere else.

Might not float your boat, serves WA footy well enough to toss up the likes of Pickett & Stack for your lot.

You 'heard' wow ! You have demonstrated your knowledge of WA footy came from the same source, 'heard' .... same source tell you about Richmond Football Club Ltd?
Give 'heard' a miss?

Sorry that we took Pickett and Stack but you can’t really be sooking over that as well. Do you want change something about recruiting ?

As for State based views, its as true in Vic & SA IMHO. Its not just WA & the Eagles.
Having a bit of fun on BF should be seen as that.
I would argue our system here at the moment is very ordinary. Subi dominating and the rest (excluding franchise mobs 😂) are turning into A grade amateur standards. Being a junior coach I see first hand it is becoming increasingly hard to make up numbers across all age groups.
I digress, have you ever seen vic clubs have the audacity to claim the big V fir theirs?
*i do not care if west coast are a franchise or otherwise. First and foremost they are a footy club. We all support clubs that run business models and want to milk supporters.

Got it now, a well meaning mate gave me one those jumpers signed by Daniel Kerr for me to get framed - gave it to my nephew as a training jumper.
Outrage or who cares, its was a non event, ranks with Vic v the rest in the late 2000s to give Browny & Co another run in the big V. non event.

Ah good, you imagine this time, 'heard' temporarily incapacitated !!

That with the national comp WA footy took the opportunity to plan for the future is a plus.

Just as the AFL were forced to change to merit based finals, so will the GF, its only a matter of time, & calling out the elitists desperate to maintain their privilege.

What is it drug o’clock over there? Your rambling.

There is no doubt about what you say. The Eagles are a bit of that.

As for the jumper well the AFL approved to let you guys wear our state gurnsey and you won a GF in it.
That was a bit rude a suburban Melbourne club wearing the West Australian State gurnsey don't you think? I didn't like it at the time but there is probably 10 clubs in West australia that wear the Big white V so who really cares.

The AFL has had a huge impact on footy Australia wide, look what it's done in WA and SA to the two once big state leagues, look what it has done to the VFA in Victoria, country footy is struggling everywhere. All the money is at the top and that being the case everything else suffers. Victoria is no different to WA or anywhere else.
Agree that’s why I wrote, tongue firmly in cheek) all franchises that have come to be. It has eroded the game at a state level, in all states. No doubt about it.
Liking the counter argument of us wearing the state guernsey in the granny. Well played.

Sorry that we took Pickett and Stack but you can’t really be sooking over that as well. Do you want change something about recruiting ?

We chose to overlook them, so did you at the same time. Its relevant to your attempts to put WA footy down, its working for the Tiges.

MCG tenants on Grand Final day