MCG tenants on Grand Final day

Got it now, a well meaning mate gave me one those jumpers signed by Daniel Kerr for me to get framed - gave it to my nephew as a training jumper.
Them jumpers would be like hens teeth now. Good job giving it to your nephew to wear. My boys wear their 2017 premiership jumpers to training and will do same with 2019. They’re footy jumpers and made to be worn. Not paying 100+ for them to sit in the cupboard or a frame.
Good luck next year gents. Hopefully we clash twice.
over and out for this revolving door thread.

I would argue our system here at the moment is very ordinary. Subi dominating and the rest (excluding franchise mobs 😂) are turning into A grade amateur standards. Being a junior coach I see first hand it is becoming increasingly hard to make up numbers across all age groups.
I digress, have you ever seen vic clubs have the audacity to claim the big V fir theirs?
*i do not care if west coast are a franchise or otherwise. First and foremost they are a footy club. We all support clubs that run business models and want to milk supporters.

Mixed messages, but how does the ownership structure make any difference to junior development?
Interested in your views on improving junior development, the impact of school footy at the Colts level.
Getting kids to play footy, thats a different subject.

We can always do better, but the gap between AFL footy & the rest exacerbates giving the game away when AFL footy is out of reach.

The State guernsey thing is trotted out in SA too, sorry I just dont buy it as worth discussing, a non event.

Well we have a fairly good case. 2017 team turned out to be in hindsight one of the great teams of the VFL/AFL. Adelaide in hindsight we’re a very average team.

They still would have still done the power stance if it was played Adelaide.
I think we can all agree the power stance is hilarious and outside of all this siscussion we sho
The things is ..all said and and done it’s working perfectly having the Grand final at the G.

Would you be fine if they moved it to Adelaide one year and you had to play Crows in the final and they beat you but you had beaten them previously in Perth.
Or they moved it to Metricon and west coast were allocated 5 000 tickets.?
seeing as we have without fail stipulated that the stadiums involved would have to be of a minimum size youare throwing up red herrings

As for the adelaide thing - there is a 2/17 chance of meeting adelaide at ao in a gf theres around a 1/3 chance of meeting an mcg tenant at the g.

Id happily take the odds on ao myself

I have no interest in ownership structure that is not my argument in regards to failings I am seeing.
The birth of these clubs started a downward spiral for many reasons.
So I suppose I could go even further and say it is the advent of the AFL which started the death knell for state football.
As for fixing...it is complicated but I think we can agree that the product juniors get now is diluted. Nothing like how we learnt and this points to the AFL trying be social engineers and please everyone. People are put off, players and parents alike.
I also wish the AFL would stop messing with the game as this is hurting to.
My final solution, bring back dropping/holding the ball!
To much to discuss. I go to symposiums and they are just shit fights with everybody disagreeing on most things but the one thing that the majority agree with, it is rubbish we don’t have ladders and keep scores for our juniors. Everyone’s a winner everyone gets a prize. Children are losing their competitive edge and would rather do something where they get an outcome. Like play video games.
I could go on but won’t.
Another notion comes to mind and that is clubs that produce AFL players, on an even playing field, should be compensated down the line. South Freo produce Pickett, South Freo get monetary remuneration or part there of. The amount shall also be distributed to the club where they played juniors, say 1-2k. Or if that doesn’t suit to the district where they originated from. Then we are seeing real cash go to grass roots and that money can help with so much.
Sorry to babble. Please let me leave this thread 😂.

Ok then you win. I go for the Richmond Football Club Limited and you go for the Indian Pacific Limited.
Mate this has been explained to you - indian pacific was a group of footy fans who put in money and became noteholders of the wce - the notes were purchased by the wafc who now own wce and freo

Indian pacific no longer exists

So how about the MCG being LOCKED in via contract for the near future. Thats pretty cool hey. How do interstate fans feel about this? Would you rather the GF be played at Manuka oval?

I have no interest in ownership structure that is not my argument in regards to failings I am seeing.
The birth of these clubs started a downward spiral for many reasons.
So I suppose I could go even further and say it is the advent of the AFL which started the death knell for state football.
As for fixing...it is complicated but I think we can agree that the product juniors get now is diluted. Nothing like how we learnt and this points to the AFL trying be social engineers and please everyone. People are put off, players and parents alike.
I also wish the AFL would stop messing with the game as this is hurting to.
My final solution, bring back dropping/holding the ball!
To much to discuss. I go to symposiums and they are just shit fights with everybody disagreeing on most things but the one thing that the majority agree with, it is rubbish we don’t have ladders and keep scores for our juniors. Everyone’s a winner everyone gets a prize. Children are losing their competitive edge and would rather do something where they get an outcome. Like play video games.
I could go on but won’t.
Another notion comes to mind and that is clubs that produce AFL players, on an even playing field, should be compensated down the line. South Freo produce Pickett, South Freo get monetary remuneration or part there of. The amount shall also be distributed to the club where they played juniors, say 1-2k. Or if that doesn’t suit to the district where they originated from. Then we are seeing real cash go to grass roots and that money can help with so much.
Sorry to babble. Please let me leave this thread 😂.
Great post actually.

Teams that develop players should be recompensed - not just the wafl / vfl / sanfl etc but the juniors club should as well.

Theres a fkkload goes into juniors development and so often its unpaid coaches and other vollees dipping into their own pockets to make stuff happen.

Things changed yes?
Home doesnt mean home, but its still regarded as gospel, by some .

We agree in principle, on the road is the reality, where the traveller is generally regarded as disadvantaged. Yes/ no? The Hawks have challenged that thinking with their success whilst moving home games interstate.

Home & away is only about money/memberships IMHO & we should clean the whiteboard to address today & tomorrow because there is a spectrum & its developed not managed.

BUT, its the GF in question here, not H&A.

As I said earlier, this thread has gone way off topic & turned in to WCE vs Richmond

So how about the MCG being LOCKED in via contract for the near future. Thats pretty cool hey. How do interstate fans feel about this? Would you rather the GF be played at Manuka oval?

Would that be the equivalent of playing AFL footy in Ballarat?

What non vic fans/clubs would like to see is the GF shared around. Manuka?

isnt it perpetually amazing how a disadvantage to an interstate club such as the mcg gf issue that is brought up to be discussed on a football forum is whining, salt etc etc

Yet a disadvantage to a victorian club such as cola can have a hundred threads with a thousand posts - but thats a legitimate topic.

F#%* off

We arent dropping it - we arent going anywhere
Ok mate, like I said in my previous post which you failed to read properly, my club has absolutely no be
isnt it perpetually amazing how a disadvantage to an interstate club such as the mcg gf issue that is brought up to be discussed on a football forum is whining, salt etc etc

Yet a disadvantage to a victorian club such as cola can have a hundred threads with a thousand posts - but thats a legitimate topic.

F#%* off

like I said in my previous post, has nothing to do with my club. Take your tears to the afl, I actually agree the grand final should be played at the home of the top side.
Anyways keep fighting the good fight

Would that be the equivalent of playing AFL footy in Ballarat?

What non vic fans/clubs would like to see is the GF shared around. Manuka?
A grand final at a 50,000 or 60,000 capacity stadium??? This ain't the bush league, son. It's the big time. 100,000 or gtfo.

Where despite finishing first we had to play 3 finals in a row at waverly......

View attachment 770157

Well give you that one. It was extreme home ground advantage. That makes it hawks 4 eagles 4 premierships in AFL

Although wasnt the losing QF the first afl final outside victoria?

F#%* off

It’s been acknowledged many times in this thread how it’s a disadvantage.

I’m not sure what constantly whining about it wil do. The draw is another one. The only way forward with that one is each team plays each other twice, but that’s not going to happen.

The biggest problem with the MCG grand final was the signing of the long term agreement with the MCG this year.

It was sneaky by the Vic govt but it also showed up the SA and WA premiers as so called leaders who sit on their hands then complain about the outcome. I’d be livid with these guys if I supported a club out of that state. Especially WA, who built a shiny new stadium that has the capacity and capability to host a GF, yet the guy at the top was too busy cutting ribbons and smiling for photos to get a deal done.

Whinging about something that can’t be changed is a pointless exercise. If you are really upset about it, start a campaign to displace that useless premier of yours.

It’s been acknowledged many times in this thread how it’s a disadvantage.

I’m not sure what constantly whining about it wil do. The draw is another one. The only way forward with that one is each team plays each other twice, but that’s not going to happen.

The biggest problem with the MCG grand final was the signing of the long term agreement with the MCG this year.

It was sneaky by the Vic govt but it also showed up the SA and WA premiers as so called leaders who sit on their hands then complain about the outcome. I’d be livid with these guys if I supported a club out of that state. Especially WA, who built a shiny new stadium that has the capacity and capability to host a GF, yet the guy at the top was too busy cutting ribbons and smiling for photos to get a deal done.

Whinging about something that can’t be changed is a pointless exercise. If you are really upset about it, start a campaign to displace that useless premier of yours.

Theres plenty dont acknowledge it in this thread and others.

Mate we werent in the race - the afl could have played all the states off against victoria and cleaned up - absolutely cleaned up

The victorian premier made out like a bandit - the vic taxpayers are laughing and the afl gave away a few hundred million for beads

In 1999 there were 6 non Vic clubs. That’s almost 3 games each

Now with 8 teams, we averaged one game less
MCG games for Vic teams

In 99 v 2019

Richmond played 17 v 13
Essendon played 16 v 8
Melbourne played 14 v 12
North played 13 v 1
Collingwood played 13 v 14
Carlton played 9 v 7
Dogs play 7 v 2
Geel 5 v 5
StKilda 3 v 3
Hawks 3 v 9

Give you the heads up, Melbourne teams avg more than just one game less!!

Another swing and a miss.

Nup. Non tenants when they play a vic club can play them on as many as 7 different venues. A very similar number to the era before Etihad was built
LoL

Yeah instead of a Melbourne team in Melbourne, the Melbourne team now has to travel, sleep in a hotel, miss their usual routine...all things nuffies like you trot out as being huge issues

So a clear advantage to non Melbourne clubs

A number of mcg tenants will only be fixtured games against fellow Victorian clubs on one of only two familiar, local grounds.

West Coast played on 3 different venues last season within Victoria. Collingwood hasn’t done that in 20 years!! And you only leave the state 5 times a season!
Pies only travelled 3-4 times in 90s, now is 5 dudded again.

Eagles were 11 times early 90s, now just 10

**** me, advantage Eagles again!!

Hawthorn and north have built a nice hga each in Tasmania now. They’ve grown a loyal fan base and play on a familiar ground just a hop, skip and a jump from home and play against sides who rarely play there
LoL

Yeah traveling and playing 3-4 games in a state somehow generates a home ground advantage if your a Melbourne team.

WC travelling to Melbourne 4-5 times is a HUGE disadvantage

When I looked up the most successful h&a seasons in afl / vfl history, I did see teams like Collingwood, St Kilda, Geelong, Essendon and Carlton appearing. All successful post 2000 after ground rationalisation was fully implemented. With Carlton achieving their record season in the progressive phase

But I didn’t see the names of any non Victorian sides.

123 years of football and we have 5 record breaking seasons from vic clubs affected by ground rationalisation

Seems like it’s advantage Vics in the h&a
Why don’t you look up GF results?

9-9 in vic v non-vic - no advantage.

And LoL at you actually locking down on outliers!!

A grand final at a 50,000 or 60,000 capacity stadium??? This ain't the bush league, son. It's the big time. 100,000 or gtfo.
The soccer world cup doesnt require 100k stadium nor does the superbowl.

The world cup is the biggest sporting event on the planet

Consistently all the interstaters have agreed that a 50 or 60k stadium wont work - 70k is around the right size for an affordable stadium that wont be a white elephant the rest of the time

And every interstate team has a losing record at the g ranging from the highest - sydney @42% to the lowest - brisbane @ 9.5%

The eagles - one of the most successful clubs in the afl era sit on 37%

While your club sits on 61.3%
Try thinking it through

Who were the best teams of the 2010s

Geelong, Hawthorn, Sydney and Collingwood were the four teams who won 60%+ in the decade. Tigers went ok with a 56% win rate.

So when the Eagles and Swans were playing at the G, it was against the best teams - Hawks and Pies

Geelong, Hawks and Pies also have best records at Etihad.

Hawks and Pies have better win ratio at Optus than Freo...

The same website you love pulling crap from even gives you a home ground advantage piece...which unsurprisingly for anyone who gets it, has Pies, Melbourne, Richmond the MCG tenants right at the bottom with the worst advantage.

Attachments

• 301AA72B-0494-49C5-B0C5-4210D16301F8.jpeg
    301AA72B-0494-49C5-B0C5-4210D16301F8.jpeg
    238.7 KB · Views: 22
Theres plenty dont acknowledge it in this thread and others.

Mate we werent in the race - the afl could have played all the states off against victoria and cleaned up - absolutely cleaned up

The victorian premier made out like a bandit - the vic taxpayers are laughing and the afl gave away a few hundred million for beads
WA were never in the race because they didn’t engage. I’d be livid too if that muppet represented me.

Consistently all the interstaters have agreed that a 50 or 60k stadium wont work - 70k is around the right size for an affordable stadium that wont be a white elephant the rest of the time
Yep, so who is the person that would represent you in those discussions? You have the product. Why the silence? Big questions need to be asked of your premier.

A West Aussie I heard speak recently put it quite well. When you fail, look inward, don’t blame others, but get better. Gotta love Justin Langer.

Mate this has been explained to you - indian pacific was a group of footy fans who put in money and became noteholders of the wce - the notes were purchased by the wafc who now own wce and freo

Indian pacific no longer exists

In name it does

”Indian Pacific was delisted in 1990 and all of its shares are now owned by the WAFC. The WAFC now holds the licences for West Coast & Freo and sub-licences them to Indian Pacific Ltd & Fremantle Football Club Ltd. Both then operate the football clubs through those unlisted public companies under the ultimate control of their sole shareholder.

Indian Pacific Ltd does operate a sub-licence which it trades as West Coast Eagles

This is AFL, not soccer or Amercian football.

Yes playing the gf at your home ground is an advantage but you missed my entire point.
We get maybe 4 or 5 games per year with a true home advantage our first true home game was round 12 this year. Brisbane get 11 games.

In regards to travel and repeat advantage you have no idea

Dogs played in perth, hawks at the g, gws in Sydney then the gf
2017 we played cats at g so no advantage then gws and adelaide at the g
2018 for example we finished on top had 2 finals with no advantage. West coast played in perth twice and then the mcg
2019 played in brisbane then the g twice

Dogs traveled heaps
2017 was the only year out of those with perceived advantage

So in short you have no idea what you are talking about

?? All you have done is post a selective bunch of games to support your argument where they have no correlation with a season or outcomes, they are meaningless. You don't understand data.

If a team gets 7 games or more in a row at home they win the grand final

Since AFL:

Times 7 X home games in a row has occurred: Twice
Percentage chance to win grand final: 100% (2/2)

It's a massive advantage.

Try thinking it through

Who were the best teams of the 2010s

Geelong, Hawthorn, Sydney and Collingwood were the four teams who won 60%+ in the decade. Tigers went ok with a 56% win rate.

So when the Eagles and Swans were playing at the G, it was against the best teams - Hawks and Pies

Geelong, Hawks and Pies also have best records at Etihad.

Hawks and Pies have better win ratio at Optus than Freo...

The same website you love pulling crap from even gives you a home ground advantage piece...which unsurprisingly for anyone who gets it, has Pies, Melbourne, Richmond the MCG tenants right at the bottom with the worst advantage.
We also played melbourne there most years

Bzzt

MCG tenants on Grand Final day