Media alert

If we are happy keeping Sharpless we should be delighted to keep Leppa ... both proposed under the same banner of consistency after a time of major change.
Are we happy keeping Sharpless? Or am I in bizarro land...but would he then be called Bluntmore...and be competent.

At training this arvo. I introduced him to my youngest boy and my wife after meeting him 4 weeks ago. I understand your preservations though.
Craig is the most honest and open footy person I have met. Had a chat to him last Monday and he told us then that Stef was close. Also told us that all the other names that have been floated as wanting out is just rubbish. As a side note don't think he is a big fan of Rob Kerr-from what he said the Yeo deal was absolutely butchered and for the sake of some additional coin at the start of negotiations he would still be here.

Wow thats really dissapointing regarding yeo.

Considering he wasn't at the club at the time of the trade I'd suggest his opinion of what happened with Yeo must have come from someone else.

I honestly find the way Lambert is prepared to engage with fans both ridiculous and amazing in the sense that he seems to have a chat with everyone and followers many supporters on twitter, for me that's completely unique. It would be a tiresome job without a doubt, but judging from his twitter he and Melissa love it, couldn't think of better people to have at the club.

Just spitballing, but is it possible that Lambo might've got in touch with players who've left in recent years to discuss what went wrong for them? It would rely on clubs ticking off that sort of chat with their players, but that would be good due diligence on accepting the role IMO.

Either way, it makes sense that he would've gone back and done work on why we lost those kids.

It was really great to see the passion that the three boys who re-signed yesterday had for the club. All three were great but Hanley especially seems to be a real club man :thumbsu:

What the hell?

Leppa has done absolutely nothing to warrant a fourth year in fact he has to be considered to be very luck to be allowed the third year. Let him coach the year and see if he can actually coach. They have let him clean out the team and get in who he wanted. Okay now its time for some coherent vision on the field and to present a team that actually looks capable of winning games. That has not been the case so far in his first two years.

Personally I doubt Leppa is up to it. If I am right then that will be clear over the year and we will be committed to another year of ineptitude next year or alternatively paying him out at a time when we cannot really afford to do so. If we wait and I am wrong then we have lost nothing. He is not going anywhere and we can have confidence that he is the right guy to lead us forward.

Stability for stability's sake seems moronic to me. How about we demand a show of competence first.

What the hell?

Leppa has done absolutely nothing to warrant a fourth year in fact he has to be considered to be very luck to be allowed the third year. Let him coach the year and see if he can actually coach. They have let him clean out the team and get in who he wanted. Okay now its time for some coherent vision on the field and to present a team that actually looks capable of winning games. That has not been the case so far in his first two years.

Personally I doubt Leppa is up to it. If I am right then that will be clear over the year and we will be committed to another year of ineptitude next year or alternatively paying him out at a time when we cannot really afford to do so. If we wait and I am wrong then we have lost nothing. He is not going anywhere and we can have confidence that he is the right guy to lead us forward.

Stability for stability's sake seems moronic to me. How about we demand a show of competence first.
Whilst I get what you are trying to say (although I don't agree) I'm in particular not sure about the 'lost nothing' component. We have a high number of players critical to our future off-contract this year. They will be looking for signs that the club is stable, has a clear and coherent vision and is prepared to back itself and all of it's staff.

Playing 'sit on the fence' with the coach won't help achieve that at all. Players will be looking at the club and thinking 'are we about to have yet another new coach and yet another rebuild?' If so, I reckon you will find we will have yet more unwanted player turnover.

I understand you might not feel Leppa is the right person for the job, but if they are going to get rid of Leppa, they would need to do it now, allowing a new person time to convince players of the worth of sticking around.

Personally I would be happy to see Leppa be given a 2 year extension.

Whilst I get what you are trying to say (although I don't agree) I'm in particular not sure about the 'lost nothing' component. We have a high number of players critical to our future off-contract this year. They will be looking for signs that the club is stable, has a clear and coherent vision and is prepared to back itself and all of it's staff.

Playing 'sit on the fence' with the coach won't help achieve that at all. Players will be looking at the club and thinking 'are we about to have yet another new coach and yet another rebuild?' If so, I reckon you will find we will have yet more unwanted player turnover.

I understand you might not feel Leppa is the right person for the job, but if they are going to get rid of Leppa, they would need to do it now, allowing a new person time to convince players of the worth of sticking around.

Players want to win games. What Leppa definitely has not demonstrated so far is that he can get teams to win games. If that continues and they see that we are continuing in the same vein for another year or two then I could more easily see them saying to hell with this I am going somewhere where I can have some success.

The team needs to sell hope to both the players and the membership. If it gets to midseason and we are where we were this year what hope is there if we are locked into another year of the same? At least wait until midseason to see where we are heading before making any decisions on Leppa imo.

Yeah definitely agree with this. Also think the board - Leigh Matthews in particular would know how competent leppa is as a coach compared to the average footy watcher. No disrespect to Quigley as he definitely would know more about footy than 90% of us here. But I think that reaction is a little knee jerk. More confident in the direction of the club than I have been in years.

I see no need to renew Leppa until the end of the season.

As Quigley said, let Leppa see this year out and see how he goes before offering any new deals.

Maybe even mid-year if we start the year well.

Reading between the lines - the club would love stability in their coaching staff but aren't yet convinced about Leppa long term. Not sure what the summer is going to bring to that equation. Better off seeing how the year progresses. The only measure that matters is wins and losses.

Players want to win games. What Leppa definitely has not demonstrated so far is that he can get teams to win games. If that continues and they see that we are continuing in the same vein for another year or two then I could more easily see them saying to hell with this I am going somewhere where I can have some success.

The team needs to sell hope to both the players and the membership. If it gets to midseason and we are where we were this year what hope is there if we are locked into another year of the same? At least wait until midseason to see where we are heading before making any decisions on Leppa imo.

I would be most surprised, as part of the end of year player reviews, if the club didn’t request player input linked to some sort of coaches/assistant coaches performance review – this combined with a management review would, I imagine, have been completed by now.

One then can only assume then that ‘this’ process had reflected positively enough on Leppa for Swann, as is reported in the above link, to be suggesting “a new deal could be settled early in the new year.”

I see no problem problem "if" the majority of players and management are on the same page.

Leppa has done a clean-out over the last two years (I hear his "95% planned" statement is pretty accurate) and within that, one of them was full of a massive injury list as others have indicated. It was a terrible year.

Our list hasn't looked this good for quite some time - honestly, we've expected way too much from the players over the last several years. I think Lethal said that "we just didn't have the cattle" or something to that effect last year.

Now that he's got a level playing field in terms of staff and players, we give him one year to see how he goes?

Probably the wrong thread for this - I'm sure there were 4 others.

Contract or not, they'll make a hard decision on the coach if things are deteriorating mid-year. The problem with just 'leaving things till the end of the season' - as completely sensible as that sounds - is it becomes a major focus of every post-match, every media spot, every Footy Classified/AFL 360 discussion about the Brisbane Lions from about a month into the season. "Will they re-sign? Should they re-sign? What's the pass mark? When should it happen? Who's the next in line?".

The coach can be doing pretty well, but the 'does he get an extension?' talk eats up all the air in the room. We saw it with Malthouse. It was a funeral procession from round 1. I'm not saying Mick deserved an extension, and he was especially belligerent, but the club stepped back and let the media slow roast him from the start of the season.

If we've given up on Leppa, fine, sack him. But if we're backing him, back him in a way that gives him his best chance to be successful for us.

A contract won't save him if he can't get the job done.