It shouldn't get to me but it does... Whenever we are mentioned on FB or Twitter nearly all the replies say we won 3 Premierships because of concessions. No discussions just waves of pot shots.
Asked about a PP for the Lions and Gil says that "He hasn't thought about it and that he expects the Lions to ask and when they do the AFL will assess it." I think based off those comments it is at least a possibility. Wasn't he just straight up saying "No" this time last year? I'm sceptical over whether we will actually end up with one but I think unlike last year the AFL will at least consider it.
I think the fact that Gill's comments can be read as either positive or negative, indicates that they either haven't made a decision and are testing the waters, or have made a decision and making out like it is a tough choice that they'll need to give a lot of consideration.Possibly, but then he also said this “He’s got a very talented group of young players and they’ve had a very tough time. He’s got a heap of injuries..." - to me, that sounds like he is paving the way for a list of reasons to explain why the answer will be NO.
I sincerely hope you are right and I am wrong. We need a lot of things, and a PP certainly is one of those things that will definitely help. ESPECIALLY in this draft.
Hey don't forget when it comes to Gil it'll also come with a smile cause every thing is just fine!I think the fact that Gill's comments can be read as either positive or negative, indicates that they either haven't made a decision and are testing the waters, or have made a decision and making out like it is a tough choice that they'll need to give a lot of consideration.
If they are undecided, these type of comments will get tossed around and they can gauge how that decision might be received by big stakeholders (like other clubs and league sponsor, general footy public etc). Will they get away with giving us a PP without tooo much criticism or backlash?
If they have decided in the positive, they don't want it to look clear cut, or an easy or lightly made decision. "Oohhhh, we dunnooo. Mayyybeeee". They'll want it to appear as though they had to agonise about such a thing. They won't give any definitive indicators either way until the 11th hour. Certainly not before end of season.
Until then, we'll get non-committal comments that could be read as positive or negative.
*Generally pleasing.Hey don't forget when it comes to Gil it'll also come with a smile cause every thing is just fine!
Players have their level and so do coaches. I think both (O'Brien and Leppa) have been out of their depth. I think a good AFL coach would have this team playing much more competitively, if not winning. Of course, the thing is to pick a coach who can coach. We may have to take a chance on another rookie given senior coaches won't be lining up for the opportunity. Could work out, might not. Of course, as supporters we reserve the right to be outraged if it doesn't.
It's ok, I like James Blunt
THE AFL is open to looking at different draft models as a way to help battling clubs rejuvenate quicker, according to football operations manager Mark Evans.
With concerns about the Brisbane Lions' ability to regenerate their list after seven years without playing a final, debate has resurfaced about whether the club deserves a priority pick.
AFL chief executive Gillon McLachlan said on Tuesday he expected the Lions would apply for such assistance.
Evans said the AFL would prefer to investigate structures for helping clubs rebound outside the old priority pick system, which was scrapped in 2012.
"I think we would like to consider how you could get clubs to rejuvenate quicker than the current system, but there are dangers with the priority pick system we had – that's why we took it out," Evans told 3AW radio on Tuesday night.
"Now it is [awarded through] an application to the Commission, and I think it'll be very rarely implemented.
"So there is a possibility of looking at different drafting models."
Before 2012, teams received a priority pick if they had five wins or fewer during the season.
Melbourne, the Lions and Carlton have all applied for assistance in recent seasons, but the AFL's general counsel, Andrew Dillon, and Evans have recommended to the Commission that their bids be denied.
Evans said he remained committed in principle to the first round of the NAB AFL Draft having all clubs represented in reverse ladder order, but there could be room for assistance to clubs in later rounds.
"I think there is something worth looking at, as to whether there is an extra pick somewhere for either sides not in the finals or maybe repeated not in finals," he said.
Meanwhile, the League's football boss ruled out any reduction to the interchange cap of 90 in 2017.
Evans also said free agency would need to be monitored as it was not having the desired impact on equalisation.
"I think we say that the draft and the salary cap is a great equaliser, and we've added in free agency, which doesn't seem to have the same equalising effect," he said.
Dee Lusion.
I understand this as Ive been in the same boat this year but each week after my frustration and hurt are swallowed back down I realise that Leppa is not the problem! It is infact the environment and personnel! Jesus Christ himself would not have made a difference this year. I still feel that if Leppa was given more time and quality support staff and development coaches/psychs and of course a quality base to feel belonging and confident about where the club is headed then they could buy in and believe and BELONG! Oh wait the players are buying in and belonging! I hope the club is very careful in their next steps. Constant change is NOT the answer.
Wouldn't play on Sunday's eitherDecent small forward but he had his crosses to bear, which ultimately limited his time in the game.
http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/afl...h/news-story/f3f438fd4e625fd7c807a9a69f1f1cf6
I understand this is still only a media report, however I do remember saying I was of the belief that the AFL had questioned Swan on the 4th year and that essentially, the AFL were not impressed.
This media leak / story is only adding to the fact Leppa will be sacked, can't see (on top of everything else) the AFL starting a rescue package / rebuild with him at the club, they won't support us any further. They will point to previous concerns as having been proven correct.
I had heard in mid 2015 the AFL were not at all pleased with Leppa and what they were hearing out of Brisbane, nothing has changed. Others laughed off suggestions that the AFL would do this and get involved in dictating our next appointment, but they are in it up the their necks as far as I am concerned.
That's how it reads doesn't it. Pick 19 here we come, pfft, seriously either give a pick 1 or just scrap it.PP looks gone for good. Start of second round picks the likely replacement IMO.
Isn't this just re-reporting on a story from the beginning of the season? I could have sworn I saw something more or less identical in the Fairfax press.
Don't worry mate, you will get over it.It shouldn't get to me but it does... Whenever we are mentioned on FB or Twitter nearly all the replies say we won 3 Premierships because of concessions. No discussions just waves of pot shots.
I think you're onto something there.If I was the coach the AFL were trying to earmark as our coach I'd be demanding a PP I reckon.
We've already got the extra $$$ assistance to improve the coaching staff and will be able to use 100% of our salary cap. While we have some good young players we still need lots more talent. We'd be silly not to apply for a PP.I really think priority picks don't do squat to solve our issues. Would much rather we just focused on getting as much assistance with facilities and development as possible and didn't bother applying for an extra draft pick.
Too busy turning water into wineDecent small forward but he had his crosses to bear, which ultimately limited his time in the game.
Might be outta luck there mate...I really think priority picks don't do squat to solve our issues. Would much rather we just focused on getting as much assistance with facilities and development as possible and didn't bother applying for an extra draft pick.