Media duds trying to hijack Rising Star Award yet again

I think he's still eligible to win it, but my understanding is that, if you are under the age and games threshold, and have already earned a rising star nomination prior to the season, you can still win the award. No doubt Jones will be in the running, yet why bother nominating him, when he already has got a nomination last year. It's better to nominate another "rising star" and give them a chance at winning the award/ at least boosting their confidence knowing that they are "rising stars."

Jones definately has a chance to win it.

Unless they've changed the rules, you have to be nominated in the same year to win. Duncan Kellaway was nominated in different years, and I think there have been a couple of others.

Selwood should bolt it in and if it makes collingwood supporters sook more then that is a good thing.

We are going to more than happy when Martin Clarke wins the Brownlow, the Norm Smith & the Coleman and captains us to a premiership in the same year. Selwood can have the glory now.

meh shaw is way better than raines and pearce, so rising star doesn't really matter, but its a confidence booster, "hey hey im the best young player in the league

Yes because Selwood had been shithouse up until a fortnight ago

:rolleyes:

oh yeh.. hit the nail right on the head there.

I can't believe people are underestimating the season Selwood has had so far.

Anyways.. I guess they can compare stats to see how he ranks, IF they feel they need to.

well if a richmond player has been nominated he will definitely get KB's 5 votes like raines last year:eek: and deledio the year before when griffin didnt even make kb's top 5:confused:

so when it comes to richmond players and kb in the rising star i think the word UNBIASED doesnt spring to mind.....i guess they can't win anything else:cool:

With all due respect.............."After each round a player is nominated.........".
Or are you of the old "Can't be Nominated Twice" School?
I find it astonishing that so few can get their head around the 3 or so parameters.

because you cannot get nominated twice :rolleyes:

if what you are saying is true selwood and co would have been nominated multiple times :rolleyes:

get over it, jones won't win the rising star

because you cannot get nominated twice :rolleyes:

if what you are saying is true selwood and co would have been nominated multiple times :rolleyes:

get over it, jones won't win the rising star
The Rising Star is that player who totals the most votes awarded by the Expert Panel on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis which votes are cast from those 22 players nominated in that year.
Jones is indeed eligible for nomination this year. Sure, he's unlikely to win, but it annoys me that guys like Wood, Hawkins, Clark etc are nominated on the basis of one or a few games.
You'd do well to finally understand all of this.

Pendlebury is hardly the overwhelming favourite...
Selwood is at the very least equal favourite with Nathan Jones just behind the 2 of them.
Personally, I don't know how you'd split them, their stats are pretty similiar...
Selwood for me, I'm obviously biased though. :p

he is the lot. Talent, Poise, Kicking distance (60 metres), perfect disposal. Definately top 3 in the rising star.

Mate he is a talanted player but I have see quite a few north games and I would say he would be struggling to be in the top 5.

For mine
Pendles
Selwood
ryder
higgins
Pettard

Are all a long way in front of smith. He will be a very good player but has not had anywhere near enough of the footy to compete with these guys.

are you techincally a defender when you dont play on an opponent?

Shaw leads the comp in getting the footy from an opposition disposal. Would be one of the more important stats going around, especially for a defender. He generally has an opponent but is not affraid to pill of and take a risk. He reads the play as well as anyone allowing him to do this. Many HBFs rack up there stats by getting 20 mtr cheapies and getting it back again. Shaw gets a few cheapers but when he gets it he generally goes long and direct setting up many chances. That is why he will be selected as an AA small defender this year.

In a review of the Geelong vs Collingwood game on Saturday on the AFL website written by Jason Phelan, the following was stated

"and exciting youngster Joel Selwood must be the length of the Flemington straight ahead of the rest of the NAB Rising Star field".

http://www.afl.com.au/Default.aspx?tabid=208&newsId=47200

As no one takes anything on the AFL website seriously this shows that Pendlebury is clearly going to win the rising star.

Media duds trying to hijack Rising Star Award yet again