Melbourne GONE in 2012.....

I was at the game and i don't think we were 'soft'. Players were throwing themselves at the ball in marking contests (we had to with our 'bomb it long' gameplan shit) and at stoppages all day. What we weren't doing was working hard enough.

Davey and Green need to be moved on.

The one positive - did people hear Neeld on the radio before the game?

Talked about the three parts of a footy game;

When you've got it.
When they've got it.
When no one has it.

Gave the distinct impression that he believed none of the players cared about the second two, and that he had a long road ahead to fix that.

I think Neeld knows he's got a big job ahead, but I reckon he can get them where they need to be - will be at least a couple of years though.

Needs to hurry though, because one of the Leagues Oldest teams is in danger of becoming irrelevant.

And remember when Aaron Davey was going to be one of the games best?

What a disappointment.

And forget about Jurrah - I don't think Neeld and him are going to be compatible.

Yeh, Jimmy's death may have had a negative effect. Not all the time does a death to a legend prove to be big motivater for a player to get up and play well, it effects everyone in a different way. Take nothing away from Brisbane though, they were terrific but i think the Dees are in for a long season, bottom 4 i think.

Next weeks game will be fantastic. Should give Geelong's 186 a real shake.

Really, we havent even played a game yet this year, have had a poor preseason injury wise and will be coming up against a team that will be given an absolute roast this week. I think we'll beat the dees but these sorts of comments only leave yourself open to looking like a fool.

While the dees performance today was pitiful imo and they were lucky in the first quarter or so with the umps you really shouldnt spruik your own side when we've shown nothing so far.

It's simple , we are awful , will be lucky to win 5 games this year , round 4 v Bulldogs 50/50 , round 13 v GWS , round 19 v Gold Coast , round 21 v GWS , these are the only games I think we can win . We are slow , can't handball , can't kick , can't hit a target by hand or foot , most of our goals today were from luck rather than by good play , we stuff around with the ball in defense , we need a leading forward , Watts was our best player today .... that's tragic .

Neeld shouldn't have been so opinionated during the off-season. Keep your mouth closed and worry about reversing the pathetic culture at Melbourne.

Joke of a club, I would be livid if I was a supporter

The players they have picked up in the last 4-5 years are either not good enough or always injured. Outside of Trengove and maybe Magner they haven't improved their team from the one that won back to back spoons.

They have a weird list where pretty much every player between 21-25 could end up being delisted. I guess they picked up Magner and Couch to try and cover that gap between the senior players and the younger guys.

I tipped them to be a slider this year

they arent a talented side, its going to be a rough year all year for them.

theyd be thankful gws and gc are around of theyd be out right facs for the spoon.

There is a fair bit of research about the perils of getting guys too pumped up emotionally.

If it does not work immediately it tends to backfire pretty hard.

It's simple , we are awful , will be lucky to win 5 games this year , round 4 v Bulldogs 50/50 , round 13 v GWS , round 19 v Gold Coast , round 21 v GWS , these are the only games I think we can win . We are slow , can't handball , can't kick , can't hit a target by hand or foot , most of our goals today were from luck rather than by good play , we stuff around with the ball in defense , we need a leading forward , Watts was our best player today .... that's tragic .

Your best player today was Magner, and it was his debut. 23 disposals and 2 goals, sums up Melbourne in a nut shell.

Neeld shouldn't have been so opinionated during the off-season. Keep your mouth closed and worry about reversing the pathetic culture at Melbourne.

Joke of a club, I would be livid if I was a supporter

Nailed it.

Maybe it was SA media but I didn't hear a word from Sanderson this off-season.

The one positive - did people hear Neeld on the radio before the game?

Talked about the three parts of a footy game;

When you've got it.
When they've got it.
When no one has it.

Gave the distinct impression that he believed none of the players cared about the second two, and that he had a long road ahead to fix that.

I think Neeld knows he's got a big job ahead, but I reckon he can get them where they need to be - will be at least a couple of years though.

Needs to hurry though, because one of the Leagues Oldest teams is in danger of becoming irrelevant.

And remember when Aaron Davey was going to be one of the games best?

What a disappointment.

And forget about Jurrah - I don't think Neeld and him are going to be compatible.

I heard that too and I think the assessment's bang on. Brisbane's intensity was consistently much higher than that of Melbourne and that alone was the reason we lost.

I'll give Melbourne a few weeks to assess where we're at, and not purely off the back of a stinker against what I think is a fairly underrated team. Richmond, Western Bulldogs and St Kilda, three teams above us, who we plays from Rounds 3-5 at the MCG - if we can pinch a win against most likely the Tigers I'll be happy, but if we crawl into our shell and get pumped by either the Saints or the Dogs I'll be very frustrated.

Davey seemed past it though, today, and I identify Neeld as a structural and strict sort of coach that won't work too well with Jurrah who prefers to do what he likes where he likes.

Tell you what, though - only Richmond and Essendon seem like possible wins before the Round 12 bye and even then...

:confused::confused:

Neeld wanted the Crows job - he was never offered it.

"The 40-year-old, who was Mick Malthouse's right-hand man at Collingwood, showed early on to the Demons hierarchy that they'd pulled the right rein by claiming Neeld just hours before he was going to accept the senior job at Adelaide."
http://m.news.com.au/AFL/pg/0/fi991445.htm

On topic, we are terrible. The long bombing over and over again to the forward line was atrociously predictable and gave none of our forwards any chance.

Is anyone kind of worried that Richmond and Melbourne just can't seem to get anywhere?

We keep waiting for them to do something every year, but it's just not happening. How long will they remain scraping the bottom before something clicks?
Well we were compared to Fitzroy mid 2010, before winning 6, and then 8 last year. On Thursday we played a potential top 4 side. Did Melbourne?

Melbourne from 1987 - 2006 fielded consistenly pretty good teams. Can't in my life time remember Richmond ever being a threat.

The Demons will be back, everyone assumes that because a club legend dies the players are supposed to just play above their capabilities. Why would an emotionally draining two weeks for the players be good preparation? It is without doubt that we had a significantly less than perfect preparation for this game.

Melbourne GONE in 2012.....