Merged clash jumper threads

Re: Collingwood's Away Jumper!!

Home

Dale_thomas_160.jpg

Away

camCarl10_gallery__370x400.jpg

We will never wear anything again besides the two above. Ipso Facto.

But it does address the clash vs North Melbourne, the one that started this whole clash strip problem in the first place.

solve that and everyone will be happy. bring in the pie strip
It doesn't solve it, as it still predominately has black and white stripes.

I'm sure they'd happily use that one, but the clash strip we have now with a white back is a better solution imo.

Although I reckon against North we'd both be better off in our home strips and the clash wouldn't be a problem, maybe us in home jumper and away shorts to make sure.

PS: check it out, Daisy even went to the trouble of wearing white boots with the away strip and black with the home strip, don't say we don't make an effort guys....!

FFS Collingwood do have a bloody away jumper, as do Essendon.

Think about it logically, if we wore our away jumper against the Roos' home jumper it would be a massive clash, it's always gonna happen against the Roos where our jumpers clash.

Get over it.

Collingwood do have a clash guernsey, but no matter what, Away vs Nth Melbourne both versions clash.

The all white is the same as Nth, so can't wear that. And the white shorts with the black top make the white stripes very prominent and hard to distinguish amongst the two.

The problem is the white shorts, everyone knows it, the AFL wont change it. But they are quick to change other rules. Idiots.

Collingwood do have a clash guernsey, but no matter what, Away vs Nth Melbourne both versions clash.

The all white is the same as Nth, so can't wear that. And the white shorts with the black top make the white stripes very prominent and hard to distinguish amongst the two.

The problem is the white shorts, everyone knows it, the AFL wont change it. But they are quick to change other rules. Idiots.

The incompetence in regard to this non-issue is astonishing, is it not? As my Collingwood brethren have very nicely pointed out, look at the difference between Daisy's uniforms.

THERE IS NO CLASH. YOU ARE ALL ARGUING ABOUT NOTHING.

The incompetence in regard to this non-issue is astonishing, is it not? As my Collingwood brethren have very nicely pointed out, look at the difference between Daisy's uniforms.

THERE IS NO CLASH. YOU ARE ALL ARGUING ABOUT NOTHING.

Collingwood obviously believe they are on some ethereal plane (although they will struggle to understand the meaning of that), that places them above every mortal being on earth.

Please note stripes clash with stripes - they even clash with hoops.

The answer is a jumper without stripes. That could be avhieved with all black and could include a logo in white or all white with a logo in black. The logo could even be strategically placed as a patch of black and white stripe. For pity sake they have even used warm up tops that would easily eliminate the problem and satisfy spectators who do not have the perfect one eyed Collingwood vision.
It is after all the AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE not the Collingwood Football League.

Get with the program and consider what is best for the game not the Collingwood Religious fervour.

Collingwood obviously believe they are on some ethereal plane (although they will struggle to understand the meaning of that), that places them above every mortal being on earth.

The answer is a jumper without stripes. That could be avhieved with all black and could include a logo in white or all white with a logo in black. The logo could even be strategically placed as a patch of black and white stripe. For pity sake they have even used warm up tops that would easily eliminate the problem and satisfy spectators who do not have the perfect one eyed Collingwood vision.
It is after all the AUSTRALIAN FOOTBALL LEAGUE not the Collingwood Football League.

Get with the program and consider what is best for the game not the Collingwood Religious fervour.
Why bother when the Kangaroos have a jumper which is their original jumper with no stripes, no hoops, one main colour that is different to our jumper, no need for us to create a clash strip

Why did the AFL need to change the rules? Under the laws of the game for over 100 years it is the Kangaroos job to avoid a clash, not ours

Why bother when the Kangaroos have a jumper which is their original jumper with no stripes, no hoops, one main colour that is different to our jumper, no need for us to create a clash strip

Why did the AFL need to change the rules? Under the laws of the game for over 100 years it is the Kangaroos job to avoid a clash, not ours

That's not league policy today, otherwise Essendon would never need to wear a clash jumper.

Earth to Collingwood supporter, the stripes are our original jumper. We've been wearing them since before your club was even formed.

Earth to numchuks... you barrack for Port POWER.

You're talking about the Port Adelaide Magpies in the SANFL??? They still do wear the stripes your talking about... but they dont play in this league - because they're a different team!

The answer is a jumper without stripes.

Or they could use thinner stripes, which would appease the ridiculous "we wear Black and White stripes so you can all get stuffed, THERE IS NO PROBLEM ANYWAY" contingent, while at the same time avoiding the clash. Everybody wins! Yay!

Did Eddie decree how you should all think on the thickness of the stripes yet, or just that the stripes be there in either black or white?

*edit: you could use Port's 'prison bar' jumper (or similar). That is even more black again than what you changed to a few years back. That would work.

Port-6.gif

And? What about the year after that, and the year after? The problem will come up again whether or not the oh-so-generous collingwood 'supports' the Roos request for 2 matches.
Oh for goodness sake. Do you have difficulty in reading posts in their entirety? Collingwood's mainly black striped jumper does not clash with North's mainly white striped jumper. If Collingwood wears black shorts every time they play regardless of the home team, and if North wears white shorts every single time regardless of the home team, then there will be no worries. It won't happen next season because Collingwood will host the only meeting between the two teams, but this will be the solution in 2010 or 2011 when North hosts Collingwood next.
Just answer me these questions: 1. Were North allowed to wear their home strip last Friday at their home game?
I have no idea if a deal was done between Collingwood and the past North Melbourne administration or not, so I simply do not know if they were permitted to wear their traditional white jumper with royal blue stripes or not.
and 2. Will North be allowed to wear their home strip during future home matches against Collingwood?
I don't care which jumper North wears against Collingwood. I think they should wear white shorts each time, and Collingwood should wear black shorts each time as they will be against Geelong, and there isn't any clash.
Why won't people get this? I am sure that Collingwood will host the only match against North next season, but beyond that, the solution is clear. Every time that the teams play each other, Collingwood wears the mainly black jumper and white stripes with black shorts, and North wears the mainly white jumper with royal blue stripes and white shorts, regardless of which team is the home team.

Collingwood will be wearing black shorts each time they play Geelong from last years Preliminary Final onwards, and Geelong will be wearing white shorts. This is what should happen when Collingwood plays North Melbourne as well, and it will be quite easy to distinguish the two teams. If people think that the bloody awful Hawthorn, Brisbane, Western Bulldogs, St.Kilda, Carlton, and Melbourne clash jumpers are the answer, then they're dreaming. Those jumpers bring the game into disrepute, and the clubs should be fined for wearing them.

Re: Eddie on 3AW re clash jumpers - time for some facts

I can't believe I am listening to Caroline Wilson, but she is right; everybody have set light vs dark strips, and if there is a vague clash, then fricken live with it!

The Pies and Norf have played in mud wearing similar strips and have somehow managed to hit teammates; and the Bummer / Tiges "alternate" the other day, whilst close, was far enough different to focus on the bloody footy and not the jumpers.

FFS, it isn't English soccer where half the teams wear red or blue! Most teams already have sufficient differentiation. A couple of sane tweaks here or there can fix this up no worries!

If people think that the bloody awful Hawthorn, Brisbane, Western Bulldogs, St.Kilda, Carlton, and Melbourne clash jumpers are the answer, then they're dreaming. Those jumpers bring the game into disrepute, and the clubs should be fined for wearing them.

Get real.
I do agree the Brisbane and Melbourne strips are poor, but at least they provide a clear and easily distinguishable alternative. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the others apart from the "traditionalist viewpoint" that anything different is bad.

Incorrect. Collingwood playing in an alternative strip would be in the best interests of the game IF there was a tangible, quantifiable "clash" issue with Collingwood's uniform and that of North or Geelong. I'm not arguing with that at all. If you wish to see me as some rabid Collingwood acolyte, that's your choice. I must admit I'm used to it.

However, for decades there simply has not been such an issue, and nothing has changed in that regard. If anything our uniform is LESS similar to Geelong's now than ever before. Who was complaining about uniforms last time we played? I certainly wasn't.

rfGALLGEE6_gallery__324x400.jpg

(In case you're struggling and need me to be a patronising bastard, it's Geelong on the left and Collingwood on the right.)

A great deal of energy is being spent in attempting to create a solution to a fabricated problem. There simply isn't one. Your egregious attempt to belittle my intelligence is cringeworthy, however it's also to be expected. On this issue hatred for Collingwood clouds perspective.

Get real.
I do agree the Brisbane and Melbourne strips are poor, but at least they provide a clear and easily distinguishable alternative. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the others apart from the "traditionalist viewpoint" that anything different is bad.

The Brisbane one is a nightmare beyond description! The idea that someone was actually paid cash-money to design that is pretty amusing. I love seeing the Lions in the Fitzroy shirt, though. I reckon that should have been their uniform from day one.

BTW there is a third perspective... If a club doesn't want it, something different should be used only if required. Not simply because "everyone else does it".

Incorrect. Collingwood playing in an alternative strip would be in the best interests of the game IF there was a tangible, quantifiable "clash" issue with Collingwood's uniform and that of North or Geelong. I'm not arguing with that at all. If you wish to see me as some rabid Collingwood acolyte, that's your choice. I must admit I'm used to it.

However, for decades there simply has not been such an issue, and nothing has changed in that regard. If anything our uniform is LESS similar to Geelong's now than ever before. Who was complaining about uniforms last time we played? I certainly wasn't.

rfGALLGEE6_gallery__324x400.jpg

(In case you're struggling and need me to be a patronising bastard, it's Geelong on the left and Collingwood on the right.)

A great deal of energy is being spent in attempting to create a solution to a fabricated problem. There simply isn't one. Your egregious attempt to belittle my intelligence is cringeworthy, however it's also to be expected. On this issue hatred for Collingwood clouds perspective.

The problem isn't when you wear black shorts. It's when you are AWAY (in the home and away season). The shorts make you look majority white, which clash with Geelongs and Norths majority light home strips. :rolleyes:

Freo.... St Kilda???:rolleyes:

This has nothing to do with a perceived Collingwood hatred, although the Magpie attitude is creating more of a hatred. I am sure they actually like that and is the main reason they remain so recalcitrant.

The fact is that not every person on the planet has perfect vision.

There have been instances where umpires have awarded frees for an infringement when team mates get in a tangle.

How happy would Collingwood be if Cam Mooney got a free for high contact from Tom Lonergan in a goal square tangle in a finals match.

If one side wears a plain jumper (that is no stripes or hoops) the chance of that occurring is minimised.

I have been an avid follower all my life which does predate colour TV and I formally played for a team that used North Melbourne colours. I was not alone in having trouble distinguishing from opponents wearing Collingwood colours on the occasions we had that clash.

Why should Collingwood be the only team in any national/international competition not to use a clear alternative playing strip.

Despite the protestations of Collingwood supporters, their strip does provide a clash with North Melbourne and Geelong.

However, for decades there simply has not been such an issue, and nothing has changed in that regard.

You seem pretty reasonable, and not at all rabid. You must forgive some of the anti-Collingwood reaction in a thread like this, as there are a lot of "FFS! WE ARE COLLINGWOOD" responses, there are suggestions that the simple solution is just for every Collingwood v North game just be a Collingwood home game, problem solved.

You get tarred with the same brush because of who you support, unfairly or not.

And, to look at the substance of your post, you are expressing the idea which is always expressed by Collingwood fans in these threads: There is no clash.

You do it a little more eloquently, but it is the same sentiment. I'm telling you I do see a clash. North wore away strips at a home game, why would this happen if there were no clash? Why is there any talk about this at all if there are no clashes?

If I am the only person in the whole world who sees a clash, then the clash problem isn't really a problem at all, it is confined to me alone. But I am not the only person who sees a clash, the problem is not confined to me alone, and no matter how rabidly or how eloquently you tell me "THERE IS NO PROBLEM!!! FFS!!!" you will not change my opinion, you will not solve the problem.

Collingwood claims black and white stripes as their right, no other side can have them. Okay then, but recognise you have a strip that is light and dark simultaneously. There is no obvious remedy for this other than a proper clash strip for Collingwood. Your current white strip is good, but does not solve clashes with another 'light' team. "Well, that's what we wear. Make them wear something else." is not a fair and equitable solution to this problem that you cause by having a light/dark jumper.

If Collingwood wore a black jumper with thin white stripes (like the Port prison bar jumper above, but with no 'crossbar' and with perhaps thinner stripes) would this be so bad? It would certainly resolve the clash you have with North Melbourne and Geelong. I don't even think they would need to wear white shorts at home then.

Merged clash jumper threads