Mick McGuane is the footballer the mods wouldn't let us name

No thanks, we've had enough dispassionate coaches whose main claim to fame is the ability to come out with some decent one liners.

No wonder Matty Hogg punched him in the nose.
Other way around wasn’t it? I thought McGuane rolled up to training after a big night at Crown and belted Hogg – the reigning best clubman or something similar at the time. Never been a bright spark. Hell of a footballer and could have been even better had he had a bit more discipline and control but nonetheless a gun. I always said he was the key to Collingwood at the time. This story is a big part of the reason he isn’t coaching an AFL club. Has has the footy nouse but he is a big risk. There were always stories of his gambling and debts. You never know how much these things get exaggerated but it was no secret he had issues. Even Tony Shaw eventually cut him from the list.

It is a pity McGuane didn’t do a few things differently 25 years ago. He might have been an all time great as a player and a successful AFL coach. I hope it doesn’t transpire that McGuane has done any more than casually associate with some ordinary people.

Other way around wasn’t it? I thought McGuane rolled up to training after a big night at Crown and belted Hogg – the reigning best clubman or something similar at the time. Never been a bright spark. Hell of a footballer and could have been even better had he had a bit more discipline and control but nonetheless a gun. I always said he was the key to Collingwood at the time. This story is a big part of the reason he isn’t coaching an AFL club. Has has the footy nouse but he is a big risk. There were always stories of his gambling and debts. You never know how much these things get exaggerated but it was no secret he had issues. Even Tony Shaw eventually cut him from the list.

It is a pity McGuane didn’t do a few things differently 25 years ago. He might have been an all time great as a player and a successful AFL coach. I hope it doesn’t transpire that McGuane has done any more than casually associate with some ordinary people.

That what I recall happening, Hogg was a real stickler for training and doing all the right things, and imagine McGuane, the anti christ coming in half cut one morning and being confronted by this goody two shoes. It was a good story at the time. I think it was the bright spot in a few dark years in a lot of Collingwood supporters eyes.

But you're right, McGuane could have been anything and even in spite of himself, he did some pretty damn good things on the field.

Whilst all prior evidence pointed to a Victorian-based player, I think I just heard a collective sigh of relief as WA wakes to the news.

0,,5602430,00.jpg

"What's wrong with that? I've been caught on surveillance, so what? I can't visit a house?

"It's just like Alan Didak. It's the same thing."

That's not true. We recruit every player who plays a dominant game against us .... McGuane, Sean Charles, Heaver, McKernan ... it is practically in our constitution.

In other news, Carlton have asked the AFL for permission to extend their list to 300 players for the 2008 season.

lol just lol :thumbsu:

I remember Timmid Watson working through his 1990 nightmare by bringing tony francis and Monkhorst to st kilda... in 98 and 99.

obviously the pies traumatised him that day.

Biggest non-story of the year.
LOL yes. We thought they were going to reveal someone we would actually be surprised about. It's just Mick. Geez, had me there for a sec.

I can tell you with confidence from a mate who works in the tab industry, Mick and these guys got together through a mutual interest of being massive punters. would be surprised if it went any further than that although it wouldnt be the first time gambling debts get you sucked into places you dont want to go. It fair dinkum makes your toes curl when you get told the figures these guys turnover on the punt.

Is McGuane still assistant coach at St.Kilda?

He was last year....

Coaching Balwyn in Eastern FL Division 1 this year.

Currently has them 2nd or 3rd I think, in what is quite a strong league... though that may have something to do with the multitude of ex-AFL players on his list...

Mick McGuane is the footballer the mods wouldn't let us name